DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US2014/0293752A1) hereafter Fu, in view of Lee et al. (US2013/0194106A1) hereafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Fu discloses a telemetry system comprising:
a first bobbin, the first bobbin being located on a first side of the circuit board (fig 7:262A and 142; par[0071]: The bobbin 142 covers two sections the first recess 262A as technically equivalent to the first bobbin, and the second recess 262B as technically equivalent to the second bobbin. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142);
a first coil (fig 9:146A, par[0071]: Similar to the inner coil set 144, the outer coil set 146 also comprises an upper portion 146A), the first coil being wound on the first bobbin in a first direction (par[0068], [0071]: the bobbin 142 comprises a pair of axially-spaced recesses, including an upper annular recess 262A and a lower annular recess 262B, for receiving coils wound therein. FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142);
a second bobbin, the second bobbin being located on a second side of the circuit board (fig 7:262B and 142; par[0071]: The bobbin 142 covers two sections the first recess 262A as technically equivalent to the first bobbin, and the second recess 262B as technically equivalent to the second bobbin. As shown in FIG. 9, the lower portion 1468 of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 262B of the bobbin 142); and
a second coil (fig 9:146B, par[0071]: Similar to the inner coil set 144, the outer coil set 146 also comprises an upper portion 146A and a lower portion 146B), the second coil being wound on the second bobbin in a second direction (par[0068], [0071]: the bobbin 142 comprises a pair of axially-spaced recesses, including an upper annular recess 262A and a lower annular recess 262B, for receiving coils wound therein. FIG. 9, the lower portion 146B of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 2628 of the bobbin 142), the second direction being opposite the first direction (par[0071]: FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142, and the lower portion 1468 of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 2628 of the bobbin 142, with a winding direction opposite to that of the upper portion 146A);
wherein an outer loop of the first coil and an outer loop of the second coil are electrically coupled together (fig 13A:502A and 502B, par[0113]: wherein the coil set 502 comprises a an electrical coupling of the outer loop of 502A and an outer loop of 502B. The coil set 502, as described above, comprises an upper portion 502A and a lower portion 502B positioned in the upper and lower portions 504A and 504B of the magnetic field B, respectively. The winding direction of the upper portion 502A of the coil set 502 is clockwise, and the winding direction of the lower portion 502B of the coil set 502 is counter-clockwise, when viewed from top of the coil set 502. figure 13A is technically equivalent to figure 4 of the Applicant’s drawings).
Fu does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system comprising: telemetry circuitry configured to communicate with a first device and being located on a circuit board.
Lee discloses a telemetry system comprising:
telemetry circuitry (fig 3:34; par[0046]: FIG. 3 shows a functional block diagram of an example telemetry device 20 according to the present disclosure. Telemetry device 20 includes an RF antenna 30, a transmission line 32, and a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14) configured to communicate with a first device (fig 2:14; par[0046]: FIG. 3 shows a functional block diagram of an example telemetry device 20 according to the present disclosure. Telemetry device 20 includes an RF antenna 30, a transmission line 32, and a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14.) and being located on a circuit board (par[0047]: Modules included in telemetry device 20 represent functionality that may be included in telemetry device 20 of the present disclosure. Modules of the present disclosure may include any discrete and/or integrated electronic circuit components that implement analog and/or digital circuits capable of producing the functions attributed to the modules herein. For example, the modules may include analog circuits, e.g., amplification circuits, filtering circuits, and/or other signal conditioning circuits.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Fu and the Lee references since both pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the circuitry feature as disclosed by Lee to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of wirelessly communicating with a variety of different types of medical devices, and selectively adjusting the impedance value of the parasitic element in order to control the radiation pattern and receive pattern of the RF telemetry antenna (e.g., the directional strength of the radio waves transmitted from the RF telemetry antenna).
Regarding claim 2, Fu in view of Lee discloses the telemetry system of claim 1, wherein the outer loop of the first coil and the outer loop of the second coil are electrically coupled together by being coupled to a same pin or by being coupled in the circuit board (Fu fig 13A:502A and 502B, par[0113]: wherein the coil set 502 comprises a an electrical coupling of the outer loop of 502A and an outer loop of 502B. The coil set 502, as described above, comprises an upper portion 502A and a lower portion 502B positioned in the upper and lower portions 504A and 504B of the magnetic field B, respectively. The winding direction of the upper portion 502A of the coil set 502 is clockwise, and the winding direction of the lower portion 502B of the coil set 502 is counter-clockwise, when viewed from top of the coil set 502. figure 13A is technically equivalent to figure 4 of the Applicant’s drawings).
Regarding claim 11, Fu discloses a method comprising:
winding a first coil (fig 9:146A, par[0071]: Similar to the inner coil set 144, the outer coil set 146 also comprises an upper portion 146A) on a first bobbin in a first direction (par[0068], [0071]: the bobbin 142 comprises a pair of axially-spaced recesses, including an upper annular recess 262A and a lower annular recess 262B, for receiving coils wound therein. FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142);
winding a second coil (fig 9:146B, par[0071]: Similar to the inner coil set 144, the outer coil set 146 also comprises an upper portion 146A and a lower portion 146B) on a second bobbin in a second direction (par[0068], [0071]: the bobbin 142 comprises a pair of axially-spaced recesses, including an upper annular recess 262A and a lower annular recess 262B, for receiving coils wound therein. FIG. 9, the lower portion 146B of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 2628 of the bobbin 142), the second direction being opposite the first direction (par[0071]: FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142, and the lower portion 1468 of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 2628 of the bobbin 142, with a winding direction opposite to that of the upper portion 146A);
placing the circuit board between the first bobbin and the second bobbin such that the first bobbin is located on a first side of the circuit board (fig 7:262A and 142; par[0071]: The bobbin 142 covers two sections the first recess 262A as technically equivalent to the first bobbin, and the second recess 262B as technically equivalent to the second bobbin. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142) and the second bobbin is located on a second side of the circuit board (fig 7:262B and 142; par[0071]: The bobbin 142 covers two sections the first recess 262A as technically equivalent to the first bobbin, and the second recess 262B as technically equivalent to the second bobbin. As shown in FIG. 9, the lower portion 1468 of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 262B of the bobbin 142); and
electrically coupling an outer loop of the first coil to an outer loop of the second coil (fig 13A:502A and 502B, par[0113]: wherein the coil set 502 comprises a an electrical coupling of the outer loop of 502A and an outer loop of 502B. The coil set 502, as described above, comprises an upper portion 502A and a lower portion 502B positioned in the upper and lower portions 504A and 504B of the magnetic field B, respectively. The winding direction of the upper portion 502A of the coil set 502 is clockwise, and the winding direction of the lower portion 502B of the coil set 502 is counter-clockwise, when viewed from top of the coil set 502. figure 13A is technically equivalent to figure 4 of the Applicant’s drawings).
Fu does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: placing telemetry circuitry on a circuit board, the telemetry circuitry being configured to communicate with a device.
Lee discloses a telemetry system comprising:
placing telemetry circuitry (fig 3:34; par[0046]: FIG. 3 shows a functional block diagram of an example telemetry device 20 according to the present disclosure. Telemetry device 20 includes an RF antenna 30, a transmission line 32, and a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14) on a circuit board (par[0047]: Modules included in telemetry device 20 represent functionality that may be included in telemetry device 20 of the present disclosure. Modules of the present disclosure may include any discrete and/or integrated electronic circuit components that implement analog and/or digital circuits capable of producing the functions attributed to the modules herein. For example, the modules may include analog circuits, e.g., amplification circuits, filtering circuits, and/or other signal conditioning circuits.), the telemetry circuitry being configured to communicate with a device (fig 2:14; par[0046]: FIG. 3 shows a functional block diagram of an example telemetry device 20 according to the present disclosure. Telemetry device 20 includes an RF antenna 30, a transmission line 32, and a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Fu and the Lee references since both pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the circuitry feature as disclosed by Lee to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of wirelessly communicating with a variety of different types of medical devices, and selectively adjusting the impedance value of the parasitic element in order to control the radiation pattern and receive pattern of the RF telemetry antenna (e.g., the directional strength of the radio waves transmitted from the RF telemetry antenna).
Regarding claim 12, Fu in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 11, wherein electrically coupling the outer loop of the first coil to the outer loop of the second coil comprises electrically coupling the outer loop of the first coil and the outer loop of the second coil to a same pin or in the circuit board (Fu fig 13A:502A and 502B, par[0113]: wherein the coil set 502 comprises a an electrical coupling of the outer loop of 502A and an outer loop of 502B. The coil set 502, as described above, comprises an upper portion 502A and a lower portion 502B positioned in the upper and lower portions 504A and 504B of the magnetic field B, respectively. The winding direction of the upper portion 502A of the coil set 502 is clockwise, and the winding direction of the lower portion 502B of the coil set 502 is counter-clockwise, when viewed from top of the coil set 502. figure 13A is technically equivalent to figure 4 of the Applicant’s drawings).
Regarding claim 20, Fu discloses a telemetry system comprising:
At least one bobbin, the at least one bobbin being located on a first side of the circuit board (fig 7:262A and 142; par[0071]: The bobbin 142 covers two sections the first recess 262A as technically equivalent to the first bobbin, and the second recess 262B as technically equivalent to the second bobbin. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142);
a first coil (fig 9:146A, par[0071]: Similar to the inner coil set 144, the outer coil set 146 also comprises an upper portion 146A), the first coil being wound on the at least one bobbin in a first direction (par[0068], [0071]: the bobbin 142 comprises a pair of axially-spaced recesses, including an upper annular recess 262A and a lower annular recess 262B, for receiving coils wound therein. FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142);
a second coil (fig 9:146B, par[0071]: Similar to the inner coil set 144, the outer coil set 146 also comprises an upper portion 146A and a lower portion 146B), the second coil being wound on the at least one bobbin in a second direction (par[0068], [0071]: the bobbin 142 comprises a pair of axially-spaced recesses, including an upper annular recess 262A and a lower annular recess 262B, for receiving coils wound therein. FIG. 9, the lower portion 146B of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 2628 of the bobbin 142), the second direction being opposite the first direction (par[0071]: FIG. 9, the upper portion 146A of coil set 146 is wound over the upper portion 144A of coil set 144 in the upper recess 262A of the bobbin 142, and the lower portion 1468 of coil set 146 is wound over the lower portion 144B of coil set 144 in the lower recess 2628 of the bobbin 142, with a winding direction opposite to that of the upper portion 146A);
wherein an outer loop of the first coil and an outer loop of the second coil are electrically coupled together (fig 13A:502A and 502B, par[0113]: wherein the coil set 502 comprises a an electrical coupling of the outer loop of 502A and an outer loop of 502B. The coil set 502, as described above, comprises an upper portion 502A and a lower portion 502B positioned in the upper and lower portions 504A and 504B of the magnetic field B, respectively. The winding direction of the upper portion 502A of the coil set 502 is clockwise, and the winding direction of the lower portion 502B of the coil set 502 is counter-clockwise, when viewed from top of the coil set 502. figure 13A is technically equivalent to figure 4 of the Applicant’s drawings).
Fu does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system comprising: telemetry circuitry configured to communicate with a first device and being located on a circuit board.
Lee discloses a telemetry system comprising:
telemetry circuitry (fig 3:34; par[0046]: FIG. 3 shows a functional block diagram of an example telemetry device 20 according to the present disclosure. Telemetry device 20 includes an RF antenna 30, a transmission line 32, and a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14) configured to communicate with a first device (fig 2:14; par[0046]: FIG. 3 shows a functional block diagram of an example telemetry device 20 according to the present disclosure. Telemetry device 20 includes an RF antenna 30, a transmission line 32, and a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14.) and being located on a circuit board (par[0047]: Modules included in telemetry device 20 represent functionality that may be included in telemetry device 20 of the present disclosure. Modules of the present disclosure may include any discrete and/or integrated electronic circuit components that implement analog and/or digital circuits capable of producing the functions attributed to the modules herein. For example, the modules may include analog circuits, e.g., amplification circuits, filtering circuits, and/or other signal conditioning circuits.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Fu and the Lee references since both pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the circuitry feature as disclosed by Lee to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of wirelessly communicating with a variety of different types of medical devices, and selectively adjusting the impedance value of the parasitic element in order to control the radiation pattern and receive pattern of the RF telemetry antenna (e.g., the directional strength of the radio waves transmitted from the RF telemetry antenna).
2. Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Lee, and further in view of Nelson et al. (US2003/0052684A1) hereafter Nelson.
Regarding claim 3, Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system wherein the telemetry circuitry comprises a differential receiver, the differential receiver comprising a first receiver input and a second receiver input, an inner loop of the first coil being electrically coupled to the first receiver input and an inner loop of the second coil being electrically coupled to the second receiver input.
Nelson discloses the telemetry system wherein the telemetry circuitry comprises a differential receiver (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100), the differential receiver comprising a first receiver input and a second receiver input (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100), an inner loop of the first coil being electrically coupled to the first receiver input (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100. The differential amplifier 134 subtracts the two coil signals, and the result is an output of just the metal target decay signal.) and an inner loop of the second coil being electrically coupled to the second receiver input (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100. The differential amplifier 134 subtracts the two coil signals, and the result is an output of just the metal target decay signal.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Nelson references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the differential receiver as disclosed by Nelson to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of rejecting noise and ground bounce, enhancing signal integrity, reducing EMI, and enabling higher speeds with lower power, and sensitive analog systems by amplifying the difference between two complementary signals while canceling common-mode interference.
Regarding claim 13, Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the telemetry circuitry comprises a differential receiver, the differential receiver comprising a first receiver input and a second receiver input, and wherein the method further comprises: electrically coupling an inner loop of the first coil to the first receiver input; and electrically coupling an inner loop of the second coil to the second receiver input.
Nelson discloses the method wherein the telemetry circuitry comprises a differential receiver (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100), the differential receiver comprising a first receiver input and a second receiver input, and wherein the method further comprises:
electrically coupling an inner loop of the first coil to the first receiver input (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100. The differential amplifier 134 subtracts the two coil signals, and the result is an output of just the metal target decay signal.); and
electrically coupling an inner loop of the second coil to the second receiver input (fig 2:134; par[0051], [0062]: The receiver system 104 includes a first receiver coil 124 having a first damping resistor 126 mounted thereto and a second receiver coil 128 having a second damping resistor 130 mounted thereto. The two receiver coils 124, 128 are coupled to a low-pass filter 132 and a wide-band differential transconductance low-noise amplifier 134 technically equivalent to an differential receiver having a gain of approximately 100. The differential amplifier 134 subtracts the two coil signals, and the result is an output of just the metal target decay signal.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Nelson references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the differential receiver as disclosed by Nelson to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of rejecting noise and ground bounce, enhancing signal integrity, reducing EMI, and enabling higher speeds with lower power, and sensitive analog systems by amplifying the difference between two complementary signals while canceling common-mode interference.
3. Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Lee, and further in view of Klarer (Patent US6483201B1).
Regarding claim 4, Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system further comprising a switch configured to be open when the telemetry system receiver is not in use and to be closed when the telemetry system receiver is in use, wherein a first portion of the switch is electrically coupled to the outer loop of the first coil and the outer loop of the second coil, and a second portion of the switch is electrically coupled to ground.
Klarer discloses the telemetry system further comprising a switch (fig 4:22a/22b; col 5 ln 49-51: Through the switching circuits represented as switches 22a and 22b) configured to be open when the telemetry system receiver is not in use (col 5 ln 49-52: Through the switching circuits represented as switches 22a and 22b, the ignition module grounds each coil at a calculated time for a period of time to allow it to charge) and to be closed when the telemetry system receiver is in use (col 5 ln 52-56: This creates a magnetic field in the core. At the calculated time the grounded circuit is opened. As the magnetic field in the coil decays, it creates a current through the secondary winding of the coil which causes an arc across the contacts of the spark plug.), wherein a first portion of the switch is electrically coupled to the outer loop of the first coil and the outer loop of the second coil (fig 4:22a/22b: wherein figure 4 shows the second portion of the switches 22a and 22 b are electrically coupled to ground), and a second portion of the switch is electrically coupled to ground (fig 4:22a/22b: wherein figure 4 shows the first portion of the switches 22a and 22 b are electrically coupled to outer loop of coils 18a and 18b).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Klarer references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the switching feature as disclosed by Klarer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of allowing for a powerful initial action followed by minimal power use, or dynamically adapting coil configurations to optimize efficiency and performance for specific tasks, enabling optimized power delivery, and better energy harvesting by dynamically managing coil states for efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Fu in view of Lee discloses the method further comprising: electrically coupling a first portion of a switch to the outer loop of the first coil and the outer loop of the second coil; and electrically coupling a second portion of the switch to ground, wherein the switch is configured, during operation of a computing device, to be open when a telemetry system is not in use and to be closed when the telemetry system is in use.
Klarer discloses the method further comprising:
electrically coupling a first portion of a switch to the outer loop of the first coil and the outer loop of the second coil (fig 4:22a/22b: wherein figure 4 shows the second portion of the switches 22a and 22 b are electrically coupled to ground); and
electrically coupling a second portion of the switch to ground (fig 4:22a/22b: wherein figure 4 shows the first portion of the switches 22a and 22 b are electrically coupled to outer loop of coils 18a and 18b),
wherein the switch (fig 4:22a/22b; col 5 ln 49-51: Through the switching circuits represented as switches 22a and 22b) is configured, during operation of a computing device, to be open when a telemetry system is not in use (col 5 ln 49-52: Through the switching circuits represented as switches 22a and 22b, the ignition module grounds each coil at a calculated time for a period of time to allow it to charge) and to be closed when the telemetry system is in use (col 5 ln 52-56: This creates a magnetic field in the core. At the calculated time the grounded circuit is opened. As the magnetic field in the coil decays, it creates a current through the secondary winding of the coil which causes an arc across the contacts of the spark plug.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Klarer references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the switching feature as disclosed by Klarer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of allowing for a powerful initial action followed by minimal power use, or dynamically adapting coil configurations to optimize efficiency and performance for specific tasks, enabling optimized power delivery, and better energy harvesting by dynamically managing coil states for efficiency and reliability.
4. Claim(s) 5-8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US2014/0293752A1) hereafter Fu in view of Lee, and further in view of Naor-Pomerantz et al. (US2019/0355510A1) hereafter Naor-Pomerantz.
Regarding claim 5, Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system further comprising: a first conductive spray coating located on a surface of the first bobbin; and a second conductive spray coating located on a surface of the second bobbin, wherein the first conductive spray coating and the second conductive spray coating are electrically coupled to ground.
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the telemetry system further comprising:
a first conductive spray coating located on a surface of the first bobbin (fig 2A:201; par[0021], [0024], [0027]: Multiple bobbins, such as two or more bobbins, two or more bobbin parts, and/or the like, may be used for a transformer, such as one bobbin for the low voltage coils and another bobbin for the mid/high voltage coils. Each bobbin may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s) covering at least part of the bobbin. One bobbin, of two or more bobbins in a transformer, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). In other examples, more than one of the bobbins, or even all of the bobbins, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). A coating, paint, film, plating, fabric, sheet, casted particles, and/or the like, may be used on the inner and/or outer surface of the bobbin to achieve the desired resistivity. For example, a 2 ohm.Math.meter volume resistivity of a 1 millimeter (mm) thick bobbin material may be equivalent to a 2 kilo-ohm/square (K-ohm/sq) sheet resistivity of a conductive coating, such as a paint); and
a second conductive spray coating located on a surface of the second bobbin (fig 2A:201; par[0021], [0024], [0027]: Multiple bobbins, such as two or more bobbins, two or more bobbin parts, and/or the like, may be used for a transformer, such as one bobbin for the low voltage coils and another bobbin for the mid/high voltage coils. Each bobbin may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s) covering at least part of the bobbin. One bobbin, of two or more bobbins in a transformer, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). In other examples, more than one of the bobbins, or even all of the bobbins, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). A coating, paint, film, plating, fabric, sheet, casted particles, and/or the like, may be used on the inner and/or outer surface of the bobbin to achieve the desired resistivity. For example, a 2 ohm.Math.meter volume resistivity of a 1 millimeter (mm) thick bobbin material may be equivalent to a 2 kilo-ohm/square (K-ohm/sq) sheet resistivity of a conductive coating, such as a paint),
wherein the first conductive spray coating and the second conductive spray coating are electrically coupled to ground (par[0020]: The partially conducting regions of the bobbin may be grounded to allow accumulated charge on the regions to flow to ground, thereby reducing the electric field on the bobbin surface. For example, a surface coating or partially conductive bobbin may be grounded by contact with a grounded magnetic core. For example, an inner surface (such as distal from the magnetic core) of a bobbin may be grounded with an external electrical connection, such as an electrical conductor).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the coating feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of enhancing efficiency, durability, and EMI shielding by lowering resistance, preventing corrosion, improving heat/charge transfer (especially in batteries), and creating uniform layers even in complex geometries, ensuring smoother current flow, better performance.
Regarding claim 6, Fu in view of Eisele does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system further comprising: at least one shield cover, the at least one shield cover substantially surrounding the first bobbin and the second bobbin.
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the telemetry system further comprising: at least one shield cover, the at least one shield cover substantially surrounding the first bobbin and the second bobbin (Naor-Pomerantz par[0024]: A coating, paint, film, plating, fabric, sheet, casted particles, and/or the like, may be used on the inner and/or outer surface of the bobbin to achieve the desired resistivity. For example, a 2 ohm.Math.meter volume resistivity of a 1 millimeter (mm) thick bobbin material may be equivalent to a 2 kilo-ohm/square (K-ohm/sq) sheet resistivity of a conductive coating, such as a paint and/or the like. For example, a sheet resistivity of the bobbin material between 0.3 kilo-ohm/square and 10 kilo-ohm/square may be used for a transformer operating at or around 30 KV voltage. For example, a sheet resistivity of the bobbin material between 1 ohm/square and 100 kilo-ohm/square may be used for a transformer operating in the range of 10 to 50 KV voltage. For example, a sheet resistivity of the bobbin material between 0.1 ohm/square and 1 mega-ohm/square may be used for a transformer operating in the range of 1 to 500 KV voltage).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the covering feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of enhancing efficiency, durability, and EMI shielding by lowering resistance, preventing corrosion, improving heat/charge transfer (especially in batteries), and creating uniform layers even in complex geometries, ensuring smoother current flow, better performance.
Regarding claim 7, Fu in view of Eisele does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system wherein the first bobbin comprises a first plastic structure and the second bobbin comprises a second plastic structure
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the telemetry system wherein the first bobbin comprises a first plastic structure (Naor-Pomerantz par[0022]: The bobbin may be a shell, such as a hollow cylindrical shell, with flanges on one or both ends to partially or fully enclose the primary and/or secondary windings, such as primary and secondary coils. The bobbin may be embedded in a material, such as a polymer such as a resin, a plastic, and/or the like.) and the second bobbin comprises a second plastic structure (Naor-Pomerantz par[0022]: The bobbin may be a shell, such as a hollow cylindrical shell, with flanges on one or both ends to partially or fully enclose the primary and/or secondary windings, such as primary and secondary coils. The bobbin may be embedded in a material, such as a polymer such as a resin, a plastic, and/or the like.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the plastic feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial electrical insulation, preventing shorts, shocks, mechanical protection against abrasion, vibration, and environmental resistance, blocking moisture/dust, enhancing safety, reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Fu in view of Eisele does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system wherein the first bobbin and the second bobbin comprise a single plastic structure.
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the telemetry system wherein the first bobbin and the second bobbin comprise a single plastic structure (Naor-Pomerantz par[0022]: The bobbin may be a shell, such as a hollow cylindrical shell, with flanges on one or both ends to partially or fully enclose the primary and/or secondary windings, such as primary and secondary coils. The bobbin may be embedded in a material, such as a polymer such as a resin, a plastic, and/or the like.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the plastic feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial electrical insulation, preventing shorts, shocks, mechanical protection against abrasion, vibration, and environmental resistance, blocking moisture/dust, enhancing safety, reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: depositing a first conductive spray coating on a surface of the first bobbin; depositing a second conductive spray coating on a surface of the second bobbin; and electrically coupling the first conductive spray coating and the second conductive spray coating to ground.
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the method further comprising:
depositing a first conductive spray coating on a surface of the first bobbin (fig 2A:201; par[0021], [0024], [0027]: Multiple bobbins, such as two or more bobbins, two or more bobbin parts, and/or the like, may be used for a transformer, such as one bobbin for the low voltage coils and another bobbin for the mid/high voltage coils. Each bobbin may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s) covering at least part of the bobbin. One bobbin, of two or more bobbins in a transformer, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). In other examples, more than one of the bobbins, or even all of the bobbins, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). A coating, paint, film, plating, fabric, sheet, casted particles, and/or the like, may be used on the inner and/or outer surface of the bobbin to achieve the desired resistivity. For example, a 2 ohm.Math.meter volume resistivity of a 1 millimeter (mm) thick bobbin material may be equivalent to a 2 kilo-ohm/square (K-ohm/sq) sheet resistivity of a conductive coating, such as a paint);
depositing a second conductive spray coating on a surface of the second bobbin (fig 2A:201; par[0021], [0024], [0027]: Multiple bobbins, such as two or more bobbins, two or more bobbin parts, and/or the like, may be used for a transformer, such as one bobbin for the low voltage coils and another bobbin for the mid/high voltage coils. Each bobbin may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s) covering at least part of the bobbin. One bobbin, of two or more bobbins in a transformer, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). In other examples, more than one of the bobbins, or even all of the bobbins, may comprise a partially conducting material and/or partially conducting surface(s). A coating, paint, film, plating, fabric, sheet, casted particles, and/or the like, may be used on the inner and/or outer surface of the bobbin to achieve the desired resistivity. For example, a 2 ohm.Math.meter volume resistivity of a 1 millimeter (mm) thick bobbin material may be equivalent to a 2 kilo-ohm/square (K-ohm/sq) sheet resistivity of a conductive coating, such as a paint); and
electrically coupling the first conductive spray coating and the second conductive spray coating to ground (par[0020]: The partially conducting regions of the bobbin may be grounded to allow accumulated charge on the regions to flow to ground, thereby reducing the electric field on the bobbin surface. For example, a surface coating or partially conductive bobbin may be grounded by contact with a grounded magnetic core. For example, an inner surface (such as distal from the magnetic core) of a bobbin may be grounded with an external electrical connection, such as an electrical conductor).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the coating feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of enhancing efficiency, durability, and EMI shielding by lowering resistance, preventing corrosion, improving heat/charge transfer (especially in batteries), and creating uniform layers even in complex geometries, ensuring smoother current flow, better performance.
Regarding claim 16, Fu in view of Eisele does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: placing at least one shield cover to substantially surrounding the first bobbin and the second bobbin.
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the method discloses the method further comprising: placing at least one shield cover to substantially surrounding the first bobbin and the second bobbin (Naor-Pomerantz par[0024]: A coating, paint, film, plating, fabric, sheet, casted particles, and/or the like, may be used on the inner and/or outer surface of the bobbin to achieve the desired resistivity. For example, a 2 ohm.Math.meter volume resistivity of a 1 millimeter (mm) thick bobbin material may be equivalent to a 2 kilo-ohm/square (K-ohm/sq) sheet resistivity of a conductive coating, such as a paint and/or the like. For example, a sheet resistivity of the bobbin material between 0.3 kilo-ohm/square and 10 kilo-ohm/square may be used for a transformer operating at or around 30 KV voltage. For example, a sheet resistivity of the bobbin material between 1 ohm/square and 100 kilo-ohm/square may be used for a transformer operating in the range of 10 to 50 KV voltage. For example, a sheet resistivity of the bobbin material between 0.1 ohm/square and 1 mega-ohm/square may be used for a transformer operating in the range of 1 to 500 KV voltage).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the covering feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of enhancing efficiency, durability, and EMI shielding by lowering resistance, preventing corrosion, improving heat/charge transfer (especially in batteries), and creating uniform layers even in complex geometries, ensuring smoother current flow, better performance.
Regarding claim 17, Fu in view of Eisele does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the first bobbin comprises a first plastic structure and the second bobbin comprises a second plastic structure.
Naor-Pomerantz discloses the method wherein the first bobbin comprises a first plastic structure (Naor-Pomerantz par[0022]: The bobbin may be a shell, such as a hollow cylindrical shell, with flanges on one or both ends to partially or fully enclose the primary and/or secondary windings, such as primary and secondary coils. The bobbin may be embedded in a material, such as a polymer such as a resin, a plastic, and/or the like.) and the second bobbin comprises a second plastic structure (Naor-Pomerantz par[0022]: The bobbin may be a shell, such as a hollow cylindrical shell, with flanges on one or both ends to partially or fully enclose the primary and/or secondary windings, such as primary and secondary coils. The bobbin may be embedded in a material, such as a polymer such as a resin, a plastic, and/or the like.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Naor-Pomerantz references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the plastic feature as disclosed by Naor-Pomerantz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing crucial electrical insulation, preventing shorts, shocks, mechanical protection against abrasion, vibration, and environmental resistance, blocking moisture/dust, enhancing safety, reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Fu in view of Lee and Naor-Pomerantz discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the first plastic structure and the second plastic structure comprise a single plastic structure (Naor-Pomerantz par[0022]: The bobbin may be a shell, such as a hollow cylindrical shell, with flanges on one or both ends to partially or fully enclose the primary and/or secondary windings, such as primary and secondary coils. The bobbin may be embedded in a material, such as a polymer such as a resin, a plastic, and/or the like.).
5. Claim(s) 9-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of lee, and further in view of Eisele et al. (US2020/0129773A1) hereafter Eisele.
Regarding claim 9, Fu in view of Lee discloses the telemetry system of claim 1, wherein the first device is an implantable medical device (Lee fig 2:14-2; par[0042]: System 11 includes an IMD 14-2. For example, IMD 14-2 may be an implantable pacemaker, cardioverter, and/or defibrillator that monitors electrical activity of heart 13 and provides electrical stimulation to heart 13.) and wherein the telemetry circuitry is configured to receive data from the implantable medical device (Lee par[0046]: a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14. Antenna 30 and transmission line 32 may be configured to send and receive RF signals, e.g., in the MICS band. In some examples, antenna 30 may be a helical antenna that is mounted on a PCB within housing of telemetry device 20).
Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system wherein the telemetry circuitry is configured to receive data from the implantable medical device via the first coil and the second coil.
Eisele discloses the telemetry system wherein the telemetry circuitry is configured to receive data from the implantable medical device via the first coil and the second coil (Eisele par[0101], [[0112], [0113]: Model 1000 depicts an E-field overlay in Maxwell 3D model created by placing the programmer head's (e.g., part of external device 116) dual coils over an implantable device (e.g., implantable device 104) implanted in a human model. FIG. 13, external device 116 can communicate wirelessly via inductive coupling with an implantable device (e.g., implantable device 104 or 304) or other devices. To that end, as illustrated, external device 116 includes one or more induction coils 1312 functionally coupled to a signal processing component 1314. At least one of the induction coils 1312 can generate an alternating current by induction due to the presence of an alternating magnetic field generated at the implantable device, for example. The generated alternating current can be modulated according to a modulation of the alternating magnetic field. The signal processing component 1314 can receive the alternating current and can demodulate at least a portion thereof, thereby generating a signal that can convey information from the implantable device).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Eisele references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the dual coil feature as disclosed by Eisele to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing simplified wiring (fewer cables), improved reliability (redundancy/less interference), higher data rates (full-duplex), better performance with misalignment (wireless power/data), and reducing complexity and improving function.
Regarding claim 10, Fu in view of Lee and Eisele discloses the telemetry system of claim 9, further comprising a computing device comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to process the received data (Eisele fig 13:1314; par[0113]: Signal processing component 1314 can send a signal generated in response to an inductive current to communication component 1302, which can receive and process at least a portion of the signal. Communication component 1302 also can supply information to the signal processing component 1314, which can modulate at least a portion of the information for transmission to a device inductively coupled to external device 116. To that end, in one example, signal processing component 1314 can apply an alternating current to at least one of the induction coils 1312. The alternating current can be modulated in order to generate a modulated magnetic field and, thus, send information wirelessly to such a device. Therefore, communication component 1302 can transmit, receive, and/or exchange information (such as exchanging probe messages and related response messages) with a medical device (e.g., implantable device 104) inductively coupled thereto.).
Regarding claim 19, Fu in view of Lee discloses the method of claims 11, wherein the telemetry circuitry is configured to, during operation, receive data (Lee par[0046]: a telemetry module 34 that are configured to transmit data to medical device 14 and receive data from medical device 14) from an implantable medical device (Lee fig 2:14-2; par[0042]: System 11 includes an IMD 14-2. For example, IMD 14-2 may be an implantable pacemaker, cardioverter, and/or defibrillator that monitors electrical activity of heart 13 and provides electrical stimulation to heart 13.).
Fu in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose the telemetry system wherein the telemetry circuitry is configured to receive data from the implantable medical device via the first coil and the second coil.
Eisele discloses the telemetry system wherein the telemetry circuitry is configured to receive data from the implantable medical device via the first coil and the second coil (Eisele par[0101], [[0112], [0113]: Model 1000 depicts an E-field overlay in Maxwell 3D model created by placing the programmer head's (e.g., part of external device 116) dual coils over an implantable device (e.g., implantable device 104) implanted in a human model. FIG. 13, external device 116 can communicate wirelessly via inductive coupling with an implantable device (e.g., implantable device 104 or 304) or other devices. To that end, as illustrated, external device 116 includes one or more induction coils 1312 functionally coupled to a signal processing component 1314. At least one of the induction coils 1312 can generate an alternating current by induction due to the presence of an alternating magnetic field generated at the implantable device, for example. The generated alternating current can be modulated according to a modulation of the alternating magnetic field. The signal processing component 1314 can receive the alternating current and can demodulate at least a portion thereof, thereby generating a signal that can convey information from the implantable device).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Fu, Lee and Eisele references since all pertain to the field of telemetry systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the telemetry system of Fu with the dual coil feature as disclosed by Eisele to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing simplified wiring (fewer cables), improved reliability (redundancy/less interference), higher data rates (full-duplex), better performance with misalignment (wireless power/data), and reducing complexity and improving function.
Conclusion
US2021/0364263A1 to Knight discloses an apparatus for generating energy and a method of operating the apparatus to generate energy, where the apparatus comprises a coil assembly of a pair of coils circumscribing a magnet assembly that is held in a first position until, upon an acceleration event, the magnet moves from the first position to a second position, which imparts inductive energy into the coils.
US2012/0063263A1 to Kamata discloses methods and systems utilizing seismic sensors configured or designed for use in seismic signal detection. The seismic sensors output displacement signals of a displacement sensor superimposed on velocity signals generated by a moving coil of the seismic sensors.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688