DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s response dated 12/05/2025, Applicant amended Claims 1, 2, 9, 11 and 13; added Claims 14 – 20 and argued against all rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 08/05/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2 and 5 – 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) and Claims 3, 4 and 14 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 – 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ruiz et al. (US 2011/0204720) (hereinafter, Ruiz).
Regarding Claim 1, Ruiz teaches an on-site integrated energy power and electric vehicle (EV) charging (IEP-EV) system (See Ruiz’ Abstract and par 0042) including:
a plurality of power loads (Ruiz in par 0052 - 0053 and Fig. 1, teaches that home energy management system (HEMS) 26 may include load priorities for various appliances throughout residential building. Battery management system (BMS) may be configured to control various energy sources and loads throughout commercial building 32) including:
at least a first building (Ruiz in par 0061, teaches that FIG. 3A is a schematic of residential building 28 having HEMS 26, showing an electrical demand response during a period of off peak demand (e.g., midnight) on electrical power grid 40); and
an electric charger module including at least a first electric vehicle (EV) charger for charging an electric vehicle when coupled to the EV charger (Ruiz in par 0061, further teaches that HEMS 26 may control battery chargers to recharge 120 vehicle and stationary batteries 38 and 46 with power grid electricity 122 or the local power source (e.g., wind turbines 54 or solar panels 50). For example, HEMS 26 may receive demand response signals 20 indicating a low energy demand on power grid 40 or a low real time pricing (RTP) of energy for low cost battery charging of vehicle and stationary batteries 38 and 46); and
at least a first on-site power source to provide power to the plurality of power loads (Ruiz in par 0045, teaches that vehicles 36 may be configured to be plugged in at home at night for charging. Ruiz in par 0049, teaches that HEMS 26 may be configured to control energy from electric power grid 40, energy from vehicle and stationery batteries 38 and 46, energy from solar panels 50, and energy from wind turbines 54. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204);
an on-site digital control module (DCM) power distribution system (Ruiz in par 0042, further teaches that a building or vehicle control system may integrate energy control features to optimize usage of energy sources and distribution of energy among various loads based on energy demand, real time pricing (RTP) of energy, and prioritization of loads) including:
a DCM control subsystem communicatively coupled to the first power source, the first building, and the electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0090, further teaches that BMS 30 and energy manager 350 may receive utility control and pricing signals 20 to trigger changes in the energy management throughout commercial building 32. Signals 20 may include a real time pricing (RTP) of energy signal, indicating a high or low price of electric power 356 received through meter 358 from electric power grid 40. If signals 20 indicate a high real time pricing (RTP) of energy from power grid 40, then energy manager 350 may control energy distribution to use electric power 360 from distributed energy sources 362 as a first priority, electric power 370 from energy storage 48 as a second priority, electric power 364 from fleet 366 as a third priority, and electric power 356 from power grid 40 as a fourth priority. Energy manager 350 also may charge energy storage 48 and vehicles 36 in fleet 366 during periods of low demand and low real time pricing (RTP) of energy from power grid 40), the DCM control subsystem configured to:
receive first power source data from the first power source, the first power source data including at least power availability data of the first power source (Ruiz in par 0068, further teaches that energy management may include usage of available energy sources in response to grid power shortages, grid power real time pricing (RTP) of energy, user comfort levels, daily, monthly, or yearly electrical usage/cost, and other factors. Ruiz in par 0074 – 0075, further teaches that electricity manager 210 may compare available energy 212 through 220 relative to home loads 204, time data 250, and utility signals 220 to intelligently use wind energy 212, solar energy 214, and battery energy 216 and 218 as a tradeoff with grid power 220. Electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads 204 as a first priority);
receive load data from the first building and the first electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0077, further teaches that electricity manager 210, may be configured to even a building load and reduce peak demand. If energy demands of home loads 204 vary over a period of time (e.g., sudden spikes and dips), then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution systems 200 to periodically charge and discharge batteries 46 and 38 to generally eliminate the spikes and dips on power grid 40), the load data including at least power requirement data of the first building and the electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0045, teaches that vehicles 36 may be configured to be plugged in at home at night for charging. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204. Ruiz in par 0148, further teaches that process 800 may monitor for a change in the power demand or load of the equipment (block 806). For example, the process 800 may query whether a motor demand is greater than the peak power threshold. If the threshold is exceeded at block 806, then the process 800 may use battery power to fill the power gap (block 808). For example, if the equipment has a continuous power load of one 1000 watts and a startup load of 2500 watts, then the process 800 may use the battery power to fill the 1500 watt gap between the continuous and startup loads);
determine, based on the first power source data and the load data, a plurality of power amounts to send to each of the plurality of power loads respectively, including a first power amount to the first building and a second power amount to send to at least the first EV charger of the electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40. If electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36. Ruiz in par 0160 – 0161, further teaches that a controller tracks where and when the energy is distributed throughout a building. For example, the controller may monitor energy demand throughout floors and vehicle power connections external to the building. During short term periods of low demand or low cost of energy, the controller may enable quick charging or trickle charging of one or more vehicles (e.g., vehicle batteries) connected to the building and/or stationary batteries located inside the building. FIG. 26A is a graph 920 of a load trend 922 of electricity demand or load 924 versus time 926. As illustrated, the load trend 922 gradually increases from a first minimum load 928 to a maximum load 930 (e.g., peak), and then gradually decreases from the maximum load 930 to a second minimum load 932);
a DCM power subsystem electrically coupled to the first power source, the first building, and the electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40), the DCM power subsystem configured to:
receive power from the first power source (Ruiz in par 0076, further teaches electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use wind and solar energy 212 and 214 as a first priority, grid power 220 as a second priority, stationary battery power 216 as a third priority, and a vehicle battery power 218 and a fourth priority. In view of utility signals 20, electricity manager 210 may reduce reliance and costs associated with power grid 40 by storing low cost grid power 220 into energy storage 252 and using energy storage 252 during periods of high cost grid power 220); and
send the first power amount to the first building and the second power amount to the electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0076, further teaches that if electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36).
wherein the IEP-EV system is configured to operate when isolated from a local public utility power grid (Ruiz in par 0041, teaches that the batteries may be connected to the power grid coming into a building, but could be an entirely separate power system for a building. Ruiz in par 0109, further teaches that a separate high capacity electrical wiring bus is connected between vehicle 36 and stationary battery 47 of charging station 42 and/or modular battery system 420, thereby enabling power transfer rates drastically greater than the building's electrical wiring system 423 permits. The battery to battery transfer substantially reduces the charge duration as compared with the grid to battery transfer).
.
Regarding Claim 2, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
further including an application interface platform (AIP) communicatively coupled to the DCM control subsystem for monitoring the IEP-EV system from offsite (Ruiz in par 0067, teaches user interface 140 enables user control of both operational settings of building systems and energy settings of various energy sources. Control panel 142 may be a stand-alone panel, such as a wireless remote control, or an integrated wall-mount control panel. Control panel 142 may be configured for use solely in residential building 28, or control panel 142 may be portable and modular for use in vehicle 36 and commercial building 32).
Regarding Claim 5, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein each power load of the plurality of power loads is assigned a hierarchical value and wherein the DCM control subsystem determines the plurality of power amounts using the hierarchical values of each power load (Ruiz in par 0042, teaches a building or vehicle control system may integrate energy control features to optimize usage of energy sources and distribution of energy among various loads based on energy demand, real time pricing (RTP) of energy, and prioritization of loads. Ruiz in par 0052, further teaches that HEMS 26 may include load priorities for various appliances throughout residential building. HEMS 26 may include preset and user selectable load priorities in the event of high demand, high real time pricing (RTP) of energy, power outages, and user schedules. For example, the load priority may include a high priority for refrigerators, freezers, security systems, and other important equipment. In the event of high demand, high pricing, or power outages, HEMS 26 may use energy from batteries 38 and 46, solar panels 50, and wind turbines 54 to power the various equipment in the preset or user defined order of priority).
Regarding Claim 6, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein the electric charger module includes:
an electric charger module (ECM) master supervisor device communicatively coupled to each of the first EV charger, at least a second EV charger, and the DCM control subsystem (Ruiz in par 0053, teaches that building management system (BMS) 30 may be configured to perform many similar functions as HEMS 26. For example, BMS 30 may be configured to control various energy sources and loads throughout commercial building 32. Energy sources may include electric power grid 40, batteries 38 in vehicles 36, stationary batteries 48 in commercial building 32, and solar panels 52 on commercial building 32. BMS 30 exchanges electricity 56 and control signal 58 with charging stations 42 and vehicles 36 disposed in parking lot 44. For example, parking lot 44 may include tens, hundreds, and thousands of charging stations 42 and plugged-in vehicles 36 with batteries 38. Each charging station 42 may include a stationary battery 47 configured to rapidly charge vehicle battery 38);
wherein the ECM master supervisor device is configured to receive load data from at least the first and second EV chargers and transmit the load data to the DCM control subsystem (Ruiz in par 0054, further teaches that BMS 30 may control charging stations 42 to charge vehicle batteries 38 and stationary batteries 47 and 48 during periods of low demand on electric power grid 40, low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, low building demand at commercial building 32, or based on minimum charge levels (e.g., sufficient to provide adequate range for vehicles 36); and
wherein the DCM control subsystem determines the plurality of power amounts to be sent to the electric charger module including a second power amount to be sent to the first EV charger and a third power amount to be sent to the second EV charger (Ruiz in par 0054, further teaches that BMS 30 may control charging stations 42 to charge vehicle batteries 38 and stationary batteries 47 and 48 during periods of low demand on electric power grid 40, low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, low building demand at commercial building 32, or based on minimum charge levels (e.g., sufficient to provide adequate range for vehicles 36. Ruiz in par 0088 – 0090 , further teaches that BMS 30 includes or communicates with an energy manager 350, which is configured to intelligently manage various energy sources throughout commercial building 32. For example, energy manager 350 may control 352 an electrical distribution panel 354 to distribute electric power 356 from a meter 358, electric power 360 from distributed energy sources 362, and electric power 364 from a fleet 366 of vehicles 36. BMS 30 also may use energy manager 350 to control 368 energy storage 48 to intelligently charge and discharge 370 into an electrical distribution system 372 within commercial building 32).
Regarding Claim 7, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
further including a second power source which is redundant with the first power source, wherein the DCM power subsystem is configured to receive power from the second power source (Ruiz in par 0075, teaches that the electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads 204 as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40).
Regarding Claim 8, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein the DCM control subsystem determines the plurality of power amounts based on additional data, wherein the additional data includes at least one of historical load data from the plurality of power loads, weather data, and temperature data (Ruiz in par 0049, teaches that HEMS 26 may be configured to control energy from electric power grid 40, energy from vehicle and stationery batteries 38 and 46, energy from solar panels 50, and energy from wind turbines 54. HEMS 26 may be programmable with user preferences of energy conservation, comfort levels, energy needs, work schedules, travel schedules, and other factors to optimize the usage of the energy sources for loads within residential building 28. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204).
Regarding Claim 9, Ruiz teaches a computer system for intelligently adapting to variable power loads for an integrated energy platform and electric vehicle charging (IEP-EV) system (See Ruiz’ Abstract and par 0041 – 0042),
the computer system comprising:
a memory in communication with a processor, the memory storing power source data and power load data for at least two power loads (Ruiz in par 0049, teaches that HEMS 26 may be configured to control energy from electric power grid 40, energy from vehicle and stationery batteries 38 and 46, energy from solar panels 50, and energy from wind turbines 54. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204. Ruiz in par 0087, further teaches that HEMS 26 may communicate with various communications partners, such as power utility 24, a bank, a cell phone, a remote computer, a PHEV, or another vehicle. For example, a user may remotely access and control HEMS 26 via a personal cell phone, computer, or vehicle),
the power source data including at least available power data for at least one power source, and the power load data including at least required power data for the at least two power loads (Ruiz in par 0052 - 0053 and Fig. 1, teaches that home energy management system (HEMS) 26 may include load priorities for various appliances throughout residential building. Battery management system (BMS) may be configured to control various energy sources and loads throughout commercial building 32. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204. Ruiz in par 0148, further teaches that process 800 may monitor for a change in the power demand or load of the equipment (block 806). For example, the process 800 may query whether a motor demand is greater than the peak power threshold. If the threshold is exceeded at block 806, then the process 800 may use battery power to fill the power gap (block 808). For example, if the equipment has a continuous power load of one 1000 watts and a startup load of 2500 watts, then the process 800 may use the battery power to fill the 1500 watt gap between the continuous and startup loads); and
a power amount determination module for execution by the processor (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40. If electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36); and
the processor configured to execute the power amount determination module to analyze the power source data and the power load data and to determine a plurality of power amounts to send to the at least two power loads (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40. If electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36. Ruiz in par 0160 – 0161, further teaches that a controller tracks where and when the energy is distributed throughout a building. For example, the controller may monitor energy demand throughout floors and vehicle power connections external to the building. During short term periods of low demand or low cost of energy, the controller may enable quick charging or trickle charging of one or more vehicles (e.g., vehicle batteries) connected to the building and/or stationary batteries located inside the building. FIG. 26A is a graph 920 of a load trend 922 of electricity demand or load 924 versus time 926. As illustrated, the load trend 922 gradually increases from a first minimum load 928 to a maximum load 930 (e.g., peak), and then gradually decreases from the maximum load 930 to a second minimum load 932),
wherein the computer system is configured to operate when isolated from a local public utility power grid (Ruiz in par 0041, teaches that the batteries may be connected to the power grid coming into a building, but could be an entirely separate power system for a building. Ruiz in par 0109, further teaches that a separate high capacity electrical wiring bus is connected between vehicle 36 and stationary battery 47 of charging station 42 and/or modular battery system 420, thereby enabling power transfer rates drastically greater than the building's electrical wiring system 423 permits. The battery to battery transfer substantially reduces the charge duration as compared with the grid to battery transfer).
Regarding Claim 10, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 9. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein the memory further stores power load hierarchy data and wherein the processor is further configured to analyze the power source data and the power load data with respect to the power load hierarchy data to determine the plurality of power amounts (Ruiz in par 0042, teaches a building or vehicle control system may integrate energy control features to optimize usage of energy sources and distribution of energy among various loads based on energy demand, real time pricing (RTP) of energy, and prioritization of loads. Ruiz in par 0052, further teaches that HEMS 26 may include load priorities for various appliances throughout residential building. HEMS 26 may include preset and user selectable load priorities in the event of high demand, high real time pricing (RTP) of energy, power outages, and user schedules. For example, the load priority may include a high priority for refrigerators, freezers, security systems, and other important equipment. In the event of high demand, high pricing, or power outages, HEMS 26 may use energy from batteries 38 and 46, solar panels 50, and wind turbines 54 to power the various equipment in the preset or user defined order of priority).
Regarding Claim 11, Ruiz teaches a method of enabling a private utility system at a building with an electric charger module including at least a first charger for charging electric vehicles (See Ruiz’ Abstract and par 0041 – 0042), the method comprising:
isolating the private utility from a local public utility power grid (Ruiz in par 0041, teaches that the batteries may be connected to the power grid coming into a building, but could be an entirely separate power system for a building. Ruiz in par 0109, further teaches that a separate high capacity electrical wiring bus is connected between vehicle 36 and stationary battery 47 of charging station 42 and/or modular battery system 420, thereby enabling power transfer rates drastically greater than the building's electrical wiring system 423 permits. The battery to battery transfer substantially reduces the charge duration as compared with the grid to battery transfer);
providing a plurality of onsite power sources, wherein a first power source is enabled to provide power to at least the building and the first charger Ruiz in par 0052 - 0053 and Fig. 1, teaches that home energy management system (HEMS) 26 may include load priorities for various appliances throughout residential building. Battery management system (BMS) may be configured to control various energy sources and loads throughout commercial building 32. Ruiz in par 0061, further teaches that HEMS 26 may control battery chargers to recharge 120 vehicle and stationary batteries 38 and 46 with power grid electricity 122 or the local power source (e.g., wind turbines 54 or solar panels 50);
determining a first power requirement of the building and a second power requirement of the electric charger module (Ruiz in par 0045, teaches that vehicles 36 may be configured to be plugged in at home at night for charging. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204. Ruiz in par 0148, further teaches that process 800 may monitor for a change in the power demand or load of the equipment (block 806). For example, the process 800 may query whether a motor demand is greater than the peak power threshold. If the threshold is exceeded at block 806, then the process 800 may use battery power to fill the power gap (block 808). For example, if the equipment has a continuous power load of one 1000 watts and a startup load of 2500 watts, then the process 800 may use the battery power to fill the 1500 watt gap between the continuous and startup loads);
determining a first power availability of the first power source (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40. If electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36); and
adjusting a first amount of power provided to the building and a second amount of power provided to the at least a first charger based on the first power availability, the first power requirement, and the second power requirement (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40. If electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36. Ruiz in par 0160 – 0161, further teaches that a controller tracks where and when the energy is distributed throughout a building. For example, the controller may monitor energy demand throughout floors and vehicle power connections external to the building. During short term periods of low demand or low cost of energy, the controller may enable quick charging or trickle charging of one or more vehicles (e.g., vehicle batteries) connected to the building and/or stationary batteries located inside the building. FIG. 26A is a graph 920 of a load trend 922 of electricity demand or load 924 versus time 926. As illustrated, the load trend 922 gradually increases from a first minimum load 928 to a maximum load 930 (e.g., peak), and then gradually decreases from the maximum load 930 to a second minimum load 932).
Regarding Claim 12, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 11. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein the building and the first charger are assigned a first hierarchical value and a second hierarchical value, respectively, and wherein changing the first amount of power and the second amount of power is further based on the first hierarchical value and the second hierarchical value (Ruiz in par 0042, teaches a building or vehicle control system may integrate energy control features to optimize usage of energy sources and distribution of energy among various loads based on energy demand, real time pricing (RTP) of energy, and prioritization of loads. Ruiz in par 0052, further teaches that HEMS 26 may include load priorities for various appliances throughout residential building. HEMS 26 may include preset and user selectable load priorities in the event of high demand, high real time pricing (RTP) of energy, power outages, and user schedules. For example, the load priority may include a high priority for refrigerators, freezers, security systems, and other important equipment. In the event of high demand, high pricing, or power outages, HEMS 26 may use energy from batteries 38 and 46, solar panels 50, and wind turbines 54 to power the various equipment in the preset or user defined order of priority).
Regarding Claim 13, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 11. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein a second power source is enabled to provide power to the building and the electric charger module when the first power source is disabled (Ruiz in par 0075, teaches that the electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads 204 as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40).
Regarding Claim 20, Ruiz teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 2. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein the AIP is configured to monitor weather data in real time and communicate severe weather data to the DCM control subsystem to adjust power generation and power distribution according to the severe weather data (Ruiz in par 0063 and Fig. 4A, teaches a schematic showing an electrical demand response during a period of power outage (e.g., storm or natural disaster) from electrical power grid 40. In the exemplary embodiment, a storm 130 produces a lightning strike 132, which causes an interruption 134 in power grid 40 leading to residential building 28. As a result of interruption 134, HEMS 26 may distribute local power in an order of priority starting with solar panels 50 and wind turbines 54 as a first priority, stationary batteries 46 as a second priority, and vehicle battery 38 as a third priority. Ruiz in par 0075, teaches that electricity manager 210 also may cut at least some or all of the power to home loads 204 depending on utility signals 20, time data 250, and available energy sources 202. For example, electricity manager 210 may cut low priority home loads 204 during periods of high power grid demand, high real time pricing (RTP) of energy, power outages, or natural disasters. Ruiz in par 0095, teaches that the building control algorithms 402 may be configured to adjust control outputs 410 based on available power input 404 and control signals 408. For example, building control algorithms 402 may shut down, turn on, or vary operation of building equipment based on available power inputs 404, projected air pollution, and real time pricing (RTP) of energy in control inputs 408).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz in view of Cooper (US 11,183,843) (hereinafter, Cooper).
Regarding Claim 3, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
Ruiz in par 0103, further teaches that system 10 may include a mesh network. Mesh network may include a building/parking area, a plurality of RF-enabled devices, a controller system, a network, and a workstation (e.g., a desktop computer, a personal digital assistant, a laptop, etc.). Controller system may be connected to workstation via network.
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose wherein the DCM control subsystem includes a programmable logic controller for receiving the first power source data and the load data and determining at least the first power amount and the second power amount.
Cooper in Col. 31, lines 39 – 59, further teaches that the processor circuit will include a processor, e.g., a digital machine performing logic, computing and/or program execution operations which machine accepts data and runs logic operations. The processor circuit will also include supporting circuitry to facilitate the processor accepting data, executing one or more logic operations, computing operations and/or program(s), produce and utilize the necessary results and communicate with other components and devices. The processor circuit and its various elements may be of any of the types suitable for performing the various desired ones of control, monitoring, storage, communications, calculation and decision making operations.
Cooper in Col. 36, lines 24 – 27, further teaches (109) Load control 25a may cause the load to be controlled in discrete levels, for example full, 75%, 50% etc. or may cause the load to be controlled in essentially continuous fashion, for example 1% or smaller increments from 0 to 100%. Cooper in Col. 43, lines 31 – 42, further teaches that low cost power is selected by load control 25b to power the loads while at the same time the load control will communicate to various components of the system to monitor (e.g. via load monitor 23c) and control power supplied to several loads each of differing types including high priority loads such as lights 19, switchable loads such as by load switch 22b to clothes dryer 17, limitable loads such as via load limit 43 to oven 16 and controllable loads such as the heater 48 to allow loads of various priorities to be powered by the low cost power source while at the same time preventing overload of that source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Cooper with the teachings as in Ruiz to run logic operations in Ruiz as disclosed in Cooper. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain power from the electric utility or elsewhere at lower cost during certain times, for example during the night, the invention can be utilized to control loads in a manner to best take advantage of the lower cost power. This can be done while still ensuring that the devices presenting the loads are available for use at other times if needed. Such use can include the device's intended function or use by a user, or as a load to improve power source efficiency (See Cooper’s Col. 8 lines 5 – 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose wherein the DCM power distribution system includes individual breakers and feeder cables for connecting to each EV charger at the electric charger module.
Cooper in Col. 14 lines 51 – 59 and FIG. 27, teaches that FIG. 27 shows a block diagram of a PWM inverter AC power source with load control embodiment 141 of the instant invention having a DC power input 137 to inverter 133 which converts the DC power to PWM AC which is then output from output circuit 138 which may include filter 135 which reduces harmonics, noise etc., the output AC being provided via load monitor 23 (or alt. 23) to outlets 139a-139e via load modules 143a-143e e.g. contactors, and circuit breakers 144a and 144e respectively.
Cooper in Col. 31, lines 39 – 59, further teaches that the processor circuit will include a processor, e.g., a digital machine performing logic, computing and/or program execution operations which machine accepts data and runs logic operations. The processor circuit will also include supporting circuitry to facilitate the processor accepting data, executing one or more logic operations, computing operations and/or program(s), produce and utilize the necessary results and communicate with other components and devices.
As shown in figure 25, Cooper teaches the use of multiple individual breakers and feeders for a plurality of connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Cooper with the teachings as in Ruiz to use breakers in Ruiz as disclosed in Cooper. The motivation for doing so would have been to protect the system by providing the capability of disconnecting a particular load from the system, thus preventing damages to the system (See Cooper’s Col. 6 lines 5 – 9).
Regarding Claim 18, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein DCM control subsystem includes a computing device and the AIP is configured to [create an image of the computing device] on a server from live and historical data (Ruiz in par 0068, teaches that Solar power selection 164 may enable user control of solar energy from solar panels 50 (FIG. 1A), assignment of loads to solar panels 50, viewing of historical energy generation and consumption of solar energy, and selling points for selling solar energy back to power grid 40. Wind power selection 166 may enable user control of wind energy from wind turbines 54 (FIG. 1A), assignment of loads to wind turbines 54, viewing of historical energy generation and usage of wind energy, and selling points for selling wind energy back to power grid 40. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204 and generated wind energy 212 and solar energy 214. Ruiz in par 0087, further teaches that a user may remotely access and control HEMS 26 via a personal cell phone, computer, or vehicle.
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose create an image of the computing device.
Cooper in Col. 90 lines 38 – 67 and Fig. 28, teaches a display 148, which may be a touch screen display, is included for displaying information to the operator as described herein. If a touch screen is utilized it may replace or supplement one or more of the priority switches 146 and/or load current switches as desired. A ground terminal 149 is also included for safety. Additionally, the panel 149 includes an off, run, start switch 147 for starting and stopping the internal combustion engine, or other power source which creates or stores and provides power to the inverter. For devices which start automatically this may simply be an off/on switch. Output power indicator 152 will be enabled when output power is being supplied by 133 for use by the loads.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Cooper with the teachings as in Ruiz to include a touchscreen in in Ruiz as disclosed in Cooper. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the user to view an interface and allowing further user interactions with load control (See Cooper’s Col. 38 lines 49 – 51).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz in view of Bazhinov et al. (US 2020/0286191) (hereinafter, Bazhinov).
Regarding Claim 4, Ruiz teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Ruiz further teaches:
Ruiz in par 0103, further teaches that system 10 may include a mesh network. Mesh network may include a building/parking area, a plurality of RF-enabled devices, a controller system, a network, and a workstation (e.g., a desktop computer, a personal digital assistant, a laptop, etc.). Controller system may be connected to workstation via network.
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose wherein the DCM control subsystem includes a chip-based control system.
Bazhinov teaches a simulated protected loads panel system for managing energy consumption and obviating the need to install a physical protected loads panel in conjunction with an energy storage system, comprising a controller, in operable communication with electrical current and/or voltage sensors and relays, which is configured to control the amount of and/or distribution of electrical power from a source of electrical power to an electrical load based on user preference, energy storage system charge, and/or available or anticipated power generation and/or usage (See Bazhinov’s Abstract).
Bazhinov in par 0112 – 0113, teaches controlling unit or units connected to hardware, one or more nodes, and/or parts thereof, wherein the controlling unit or controller is generally a computer chip that runs a pre-defined software code, pre-created set of codes, or algorithms and uses communication protocols. Processing unit or units connected to one or more nodes or controlling units, the processing unit(s) comprising a computer chip(s) that runs the software operating the device, a computer chip(s) designed to send and/or receive low-voltage signals to and/or from the aforementioned nodes, and/or a wireless communication module(s) enabling connection to external devices and/or internet connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Bazhinov with the teachings as in Ruiz, to include a chip-based control system in Ruiz as disclosed in the Bazhinov. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate the communication to receive voltage signals to and from loads (See Bazhinov’s par 0090).
Regarding Claim 19, Ruiz teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 2. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein the DCM control subsystem is further configured to receive the historical external data from the AIP and adjust power generation and power distribution according to the historical external data (Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40. If electricity manager 210 receives utility signals 20 indicating a low power grid demand or low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to charge 254 stationary battery 46 and charge 256 vehicle battery 38 in vehicle 36).
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose wherein the AIP is configured to communicate historical external data not stored onsite by the DCM control subsystem.
Bazhinov in par 0035, teaches ingesting historical data to train machine learning models, specifically models designed to estimate predicted energy consumption and/or models designed to predict near-term energy output from one or more energy generation sources, including solar PV. Bazhinov in par 0093, teaches a wireless communication module(s) enabling connection to external devices and/or internet connections. Bazhinov in par 0113, further teaches processing unit or units connected to one or more nodes or controlling units, the processing unit(s) comprising a computer chip(s) that runs the software operating the device, a computer chip(s) designed to send and/or receive low-voltage signals to and/or from the aforementioned nodes, and/or a wireless communication module(s) enabling connection to external devices and/or internet connection.
Bazhinov in par 0157, further teaches that the software may analyze previous consumption history of the user and/or other users and assign identified loads (such as a circuit, device, appliance, or outlet) with a number of characteristics that may be used in determining whether a particular load or loads can participate in distribution of an available and/or projected amount of electrical power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Bazhinov with the teachings as in Ruiz, to include a chip-based control system in Ruiz as disclosed in the Bazhinov. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate external communication to external devices and internet connection (See Bazhinov’s par 0113).
Claims 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0329000) (hereinafter, Kim).
Regarding Claim 14, Ruiz teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 11. Ruiz further teaches:
Ruiz in par 0045, teaches that vehicles 36 may be configured to be plugged in at home at night for charging. Ruiz in par 0084, further teaches that historical data collection 278 may record energy usage and local power generation, such as power demands of home loads 204. Ruiz in par 0148, further teaches that process 800 may monitor for a change in the power demand or load of the equipment (block 806).
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose wherein determining the second power requirement of the electric charger module comprises: determining if an EV is plugged into the first charger; and determining if the EV requires charging.
Kim in par 0029 and Fig. 1, teaches that when connected to an AC power source, the ICCB 100 starts operation and is connected to the on-board charger 122 when the connected 102 is connected to the inlet 121. Then, the battery 123 is charged by the on-board charger 122 that receives electric power from the ICCB 100. Kim in par 0034 - 0038 and Fig. 2, further teaches that the display unit 20 displays a charging state under control of the controller 70. The charging state may include at least one of power connection, vehicle connection, charging schedule, charging, charging termination and failure. When the starting mode is input through the input unit 1, the controller 70 checks the state of the on-board charger 122 and determines whether charging is possible. According to the states of the on-board charger 122, the controller 70 may determine whether the connector 102 is connected to the inlet 121, whether charging is possible, whether charging is impossible as charging is completed or as there is failure in the on-board charger 122, and so on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Kim with the teachings as in Ruiz, to charge an electric vehicle with required quantity of electricity at a desired time, thus reducing charging costs for electric vehicles (See Kim’s par 0056).
Regarding Claim 15, Ruiz in view of Kim teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 14. Ruiz further teaches:
wherein determining the first power availability of the first power source comprises: checking if the first power source has a current capacity to send power to the first charger (Ruiz in par 0054, further teaches that BMS 30 may control charging stations 42 to charge vehicle batteries 38 and stationary batteries 47 and 48 during periods of low demand on electric power grid 40, low real time pricing (RTP) of energy, low building demand at commercial building 32, or based on minimum charge levels (e.g., sufficient to provide adequate range for vehicles 36. Ruiz in par 0075 – 0076, teaches that electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to use available wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 to power various home loads as a first priority. If wind energy 212 and solar energy 214 is insufficient to power home loads 204, then electricity manager 210 may control 248 residential power distribution system 200 to either cut low priority home loads 204 or draw additional power from either energy storage 252 or electric power grid 40); and
checking if the first power source has a future capacity to send power to the first charger for a defined period of time (Ruiz in par 0074 and Fig. 6, further teaches that electricity manager 210 may compare available energy 212 through 220 relative to home loads 204, time data 250, and utility signals 220 to intelligently use wind energy 212, solar energy 214, and battery energy 216 and 218 as a tradeoff with grid power 220. Electricity manager 210 may prioritize energy usage and distribution to home loads 204 based on real time pricing (RTP) of energy, power grid demand, grid generation fuel mix (carbon generation), residential building demand, user comfort levels, power grid outages, and various user preferences).
Regarding Claim 16, Ruiz in view of Kim teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 14.
However, Ruiz does not specifically disclose further comprising:
monitoring one or more flags at the first charger to ensure the first charger is operating properly, wherein if there is a flag, discontinuing the second amount of power provided to the first charger until the flag is cleared, wherein if there is no flag, providing the second amount of power to the first charger.
Kim in par 0036, teaches that the warning unit 30 outputs a warning sound corresponding to change in the charging state under control of the controller 70. The warning sounds may be different corresponding to the change in the charging state and may include at least one of sound effects or audio guides. Kim in par 0043, further teaches that when failure of the in-cable control box is sensed through the sensing unit 40, the controller 70 cuts off the electric power supplied from the power supply 80 to the on-board charger 122. Then, the controller 70 controls the display unit 20 to display the kind of failure, and controls the warning unit 30 to output a warning sound corresponding to the kind of failure.
Kim in par 0054 and Fig. 3, further teaches if the charging termination time has not been reached, the controller 70 returns to operation S350 for determining whether charging is possible. On the other hand, if the charging termination time has been reached, the controller 70 cuts off electric power supplied from the power supply 80 to the on-board charger 120, controls the display unit 20 to display charging termination, and controls the warning unit 30 to output a warning sound corresponding to charging termination (S380).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Kim with the teachings as in Ruiz, to a charge an electric vehicle with required quantity of electricity at a desired time, thus reducing charging costs for electric vehicles (See Kim’s par 0056).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding new claims: See the corresponding above rejection for each of the new claims.
Regarding Claims 1, 9 and 11:
(1) Applicant argues: that claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein the IEP-EV system is isolated from a local public utility power grid”. Claims 9 and 11 have been similarly amended. The cited references all appear to teach systems connected to a public utility grid and further teach means of monitoring the grid to turn to alternative sources of power when the grid fails and/or or turning peak demand times. The above-noted amendments to claims 1, 9 and 11 make clear the claimed system and method are implemented “on-site” and configured to operate when isolated from a local public utility power grid”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 now recites wherein the IEP-EV system is configured to operate when isolated from a local public utility power grid.
Accordingly, the claim indicates that the system operate “when” isolated from a local public utility power grid, the claim is not indicating that the system is “off grid”, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, the system may be connected to the grid and operate when disconnected.
Ruiz in addition to the grid discloses a plurality of on-site energy sources such as solar and wind energy (See Ruiz par 0049).
Furthermore, Ruiz in par 0041, teaches that the batteries may be connected to the power grid coming into a building, but could be an entirely separate power system for a building.
Accordingly, Ruiz teaches that the system could be an entirely separate power system (off-grid), thus, providing the energy when isolated from the local public utility power grid.
Therefore, Ruiz discloses wherein the IEP-EV system is configured to operate when isolated from a local public utility power grid as claimed.
Applicant's remaining arguments with respect to claims are substantially encompassed in the arguments above, therefore examiner responds with the same rationale.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Examiner maintains prior art rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118