DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/146,249, Specialized Fasteners And Holiday Light Clips For Gutters And Gutter Guards, filed on December 23, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14, 17-18, 20, 22, 28-29, 32, 34, and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,188,977 to Lough in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0047493 to Dickinson et al (Dickinson), and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,469,322 to Oxley.
Regarding claims 13, 28, and 36-37, Lough ‘977 discloses a single piece clip (10 - Fig. 1) configured to attach to a gutter guard screw and configured to provide support for a wire, comprising a body having a top member (30) and a side member (20) integrally joined to the top member and extended downward from the top member, wherein a form of the body has a generally inverted L-shaped cross section, and an attachment mechanism (40) disposed on the side member, the attachment mechanism is configured to receive the wire. However, Lough ‘977 fails to disclose wherein the top member having with opposing legs, a separation between the opposing legs forming an attachment structure; wherein when the clip is in use, the gutter guard screw attachment structure is configured to receive the gutter guard screw. Nevertheless, Dickinson ‘493 disclose wherein the top member (40) having with opposing legs (40 – Fig. 2), a separation (110) between the opposing legs forming an attachment structure.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top member of Lough ‘977 to include the opposing legs as taught by Dickinson’493 because one would have motivation to provide a means for attachment and removably hold to the building structure.
Next, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493 do not exactly disclose wherein the gutter guard screw attachment structure is configured to receive a screw. Nevertheless, Oxley ‘322 discloses a screw / fastener attached to the clip as shown in Figure 2. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clip of Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493 to include the screw as taught by Oxley ‘322 because one would have motivation to provide a means for alternative attachment to hold the clip to the building structure.
Regarding claims 14, and 29, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the side member is joined to the top member between 45 degrees.
Regarding claim 17, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the top member is shaped to be slightly non-planar.
Regarding claim 18, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the gutter guard screw attachment structure is an open ended slit (between legs).
Regarding claim 20, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the side member is multi-walled to form a well for fitment of the wire (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the top member is approximately 0.5 inches in length and the side member is approximately 0.5 inches in length.
Regarding claim 32, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the screw attachment portion is an open end slit.
Regarding claim 34, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 discloses wherein the second member is curved to form a well for fitment of the wire (Fig. 1).
Regarding new claim 38, “means” is not positively recited and is considered as a functional language.
Claim(s) 15, 19, 23, 30, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322, and in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,018,795 to Limber.
Regarding claims 15, 19, 30, and 33, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, in further view of Oxley ‘322 do not disclose wherein the gutter guard screw attachment structure further comprises first and second holes, each hole in line with each other and having a passage way therebetween. Nevertheless, Limber ‘795 discloses wherein the gutter guard screw attachment structure further comprises first and second holes (152), each hole in line with each other and having a passage way therebetween. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clip of Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 to include two holes (152) in the slit passage way because one would have a motivation to provide an attachment for removably securing an object as taught by Limber ‘795.
Regarding claim 23, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 and in view of Limber ‘795 discloses wherein the gutter guard screw attachment structure is at least one of shaped as a loop with an upper opening; or a main loop with a smaller diameter arc at a top of a main opening with a smaller diameter arc at a top of the main loop (Limber ‘795).
Claim(s) 16, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322, and in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,018,795 to Limber, and in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,575,676 to Prentice et al (Prentice).
Regarding claims 16, and 31, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322, and in view of Limber ‘795 fails to disclose a cut at an end of the hole. Nevertheless, Prentice ‘676 discloses a cut (28 – Fig. 1) at the end of the hole. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clip of Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 and in view of Limber ‘795 to include the cut because one would have a motivation to provide an ease for attachment as taught by Prentice ‘676.
Claim(s) 21, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322, and in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,861,632 to Siilats.
Regarding claims 21, and 35, Lough ‘977 in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 fails to exactly disclose wherein the clip is formed from polypropylene. Nevertheless, Siilats ‘632 discloses wherein the clip is formed from polypropylene (Siilat ‘632 - Fig. 3 cross section - plastic). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clip of Lough ‘977, in view of Dickinson ‘493, and in further view of Oxley ‘322 to include polypropylene plastic as taught by Siilats ‘632 since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material – plastic due to cheaper cost.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 24, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TODD M EPPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 August 7, 2026