DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the submission filed 23 December 2022 for application 18/146,295. Currently claims 24-30 are canceled. Claims 1-23 are pending and have been examined.
Specification
The title is objected to because it includes the word “improve”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sapio et al (Scaling Distributed Machine Learning with In-Network Aggregation, 2021) in view of Lao et al (ATP: In-network Aggregation for Multi-tenant Learning, 2021).
Regarding claim 1:
Sapio teaches: An apparatus to accelerate processing iterations, comprising: train management circuitry to cause a first vector to be sent from a worker node to an in-network-aggregator (INA) after completion of a first processing iteration requested by a parameter server ([Page 786, Column 2, Paragraph 4] The parameter server (PS) approach. In this approach, workers compute model updates and send them to parameter servers. [Page 787, Column 1, Section 3 In-network aggregation] We propose an alternative approach to model update exchange for ML workloads: in-network aggregation. In this approach, workers send their model updates over the network, where an aggregation primitive in the network sums the updates. [Page 788, Column 1, Figure 1] Example of in-network aggregation of model updates. Ui is the model update computed by worker i. Workers stream pieces of model updates in a coordinated fashion);
and permit the second processing iteration when (a) an acknowledgement (ACK) from the INA corresponding to the first vector is received ([Page 790, Column 2, Paragraph 1] The worker consumes the result carried in the packet, copying that packet’s vector into the aggregated model update A at the offset carried in the packet (p.off). The worker then sends a new packet with the next piece of update to be aggregated. This reuses the same pool slot as the one just received, but contains a new set of k parameters, determined by advancing the previous offset by k ·s. Note: Also see Algorithm 2 showing for loop corresponding to iterations).
However, Sapio does not explicitly disclose: and protocol configuration circuitry to: prohibit a second processing iteration when an availability status of the INA is false; and (b) the availability status of the INA is true.
Lao teaches, in an analogous system: and protocol configuration circuitry to: prohibit a second processing iteration when an availability status of the INA is false ([Page 745, Column 2, Paragraph 1] The collision flag is marked by a switch when it forwards a gradient packet onward due to the aggregator not being available because it is in use by a different job. This flag helps PS choose another aggregator to avoid collision in the next round. Note: The aggregator not being available corresponds to the INA is false);
and (b) the availability status of the INA is true ([Page 749, Column 1, Last Paragraph] Control logic. This is responsible for checking whether an aggregator is available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Sapio to incorporate the teachings of Lao to use and protocol configuration circuitry to: prohibit a second processing iteration when an availability status of the INA is false; and (b) the availability status of the INA is true. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of choosing another aggregator to avoid collision in the next round as taught by Lao [Page 745, Column 2, Paragraph 1].
Regarding claim 2:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 1 (as shown above).
Sapio further teaches: further including resource location circuitry to select the worker node based on a proximity to the INA ([Page 786, Column 2, Paragraph 5] The workers communicate over an overlay network. A ring topology [6], where each worker communicates to the next neighboring worker on the ring).
Regarding claim 3:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 2 (as shown above).
Sapio further teaches: wherein the resource location circuitry is to determine the proximity is based on at least one of a physical distance metric or a node hop metric ([Page 786, Column 2, Paragraph 5] The workers communicate over an overlay network. A ring topology [6], where each worker communicates to the next neighboring worker on the ring. Note: The next neighboring corresponds to a physical distance metric).
Regarding claim 8:
Sapio teaches: An apparatus to facilitate distributed machine learning, comprising: memory; machine readable instructions ([Page 793, Column 2, Section 6, Paragraph 2] Testbed. We conduct most of our experiments on a testbed of 8 machines, each with 1 NVIDIA P100 16 GB GPU, dual 10-core CPU Intel Xeon E5-2630v4 at 2.20 GHz, 128 GB of RAM, and 3 ⇥ 1 TB disks for storage (as single RAID)).
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 1 except for the above limitations and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 10:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 17:
Sapio teaches: A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry to at least: complete a first processing iteration requested by an orchestrator computing device ([Page 796, Column 1, Paragraph 1] This is due to our use of x86 SSE/AVX instructions. When we use float16, performance doubles, as expected. However, these overheads become more relevant as data rates increase, requiring to offload type conversion operations to the GPU at 100 Gbps and scaling up the number of cores; RDMA alleviates the pressure for CPU cycles used for I/O (see the gap between DPDK- and RDMA-based performance in Figure 3)).
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 1 except for the above limitations and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 3.
Claims 4-7, 11-16, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sapio et al (Scaling Distributed Machine Learning with In-Network Aggregation, 2021) in view of Lao et al (ATP: In-network Aggregation for Multi-tenant Learning, 2021) and further in view of Gebara et al (IN-NETWORK AGGREGATION FOR SHARED MACHINE LEARNING CLUSTERS, 2021).
Regarding claim 4:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 1 (as shown above).
However, the system of Sapio and Lao does not explicitly disclose: further including resource determination circuitry to form an aggregation tree between the parameter server, a plurality of worker nodes, and a plurality of INAs.
Gebara teaches, in an analogous system: further including resource determination circuitry to form an aggregation tree between the parameter server, a plurality of worker nodes, and a plurality of INAs ([Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2] When the PANAMA controller selects in-network aggregation for a job, it initializes all the PSwitches belonging to the spanning trees connecting the workers. Note: Also see Figure 3 showing trees).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Sapio and Lao to incorporate the teachings of Gebara to further include resource determination circuitry to form an aggregation tree between the parameter server, a plurality of worker nodes, and a plurality of INAs. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of higher network efficiency and lower congestion as taught by Gebara [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2].
Regarding claim 5:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 4 (as shown above).
However, Sapio does not explicitly disclose: wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to prevent resource stalling by permitting the second processing iteration before the parameter server receives the first vector.
Lao teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to prevent resource stalling by permitting the second processing iteration before the parameter server receives the first vector ([Page 742, Column 1, Section 2.1, Last Paragraph] as shown in Figure 1 enables data-parallel training, where training data is partitioned and distributed to workers. There are two phases: gradient computation, where workers locally compute gra [Page 742, Column 2, Paragraph 1] dients; and gradient aggregation, where workers' gradients are transmitted over the network to be aggregated (which in volves the addition of gradients) at one or more end-hosts called parameter servers (PSs). Note: Figure 1 also shows calculations before the parameter server receives).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Sapio to incorporate the teachings of Lao wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to prevent resource stalling by permitting the second processing iteration before the parameter server receives the first vector. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of enables data-parallel training as taught by Lao [Page 742, Column 1, Section 2.1, Last Paragraph].
Regarding claim 6:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 1 (as shown above).
However, the system of Sapio and Lao does not explicitly disclose: wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to cause a first model to be sent from the parameter server to the worker node.
Gebara teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to cause a first model to be sent from the parameter server to the worker node ([Page 4, Column 1] Note: Figure 3 shows PS in step 2 corresponding to Parameter server and workers in step 3 corresponding to sending from parameter server to worker node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Sapio and Lao to incorporate the teachings of Gebara wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to cause a first model to be sent from the parameter server to the worker node. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of higher network efficiency and lower congestion as taught by Gebara [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2].
Regarding claim 7:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 6 (as shown above).
However, the system of Sapio and Lao does not explicitly disclose: wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to cause the worker node to calculate gradient data based on the first model, the worker node to send the gradient data to the INA as the first vector.
Gebara teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to cause the worker node to calculate gradient data based on the first model, the worker node to send the gradient data to the INA as the first vector ([Page 4, Column 2, Last Paragraph] Workers distribute the gradient packets to different trees in a round robin fashion. For instance, in the topology in Fig. 3, with four aggregation trees AggTreei, i = 1; : : : ; 4 and eight aggregation packets with IDs pj , j = 1; : : : ; 8, assuming workers start by sending a single packet to each of the trees).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Sapio and Lao to incorporate the teachings of Gebara wherein the protocol configuration circuitry is to cause the worker node to calculate gradient data based on the first model, the worker node to send the gradient data to the INA as the first vector. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of higher network efficiency and lower congestion as taught by Gebara [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2].
Regarding claim 11:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 12:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 13:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 11 (as shown above).
However, Sapio does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processor circuitry is to prevent INA stalling by permitting the second processing iteration when an indication of INA availability is detected.
Lao teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the processor circuitry is to prevent INA stalling by permitting the second processing iteration when an indication of INA availability is detected ([Page 745, Column 2, Paragraph 1] The collision flag is marked by a switch when it forwards a gradient packet onward due to the aggregator not being available because it is in use by a different job. This flag helps PS choose another aggregator to avoid collision in the next round).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sapio to incorporate the teachings of Lao wherein the processor circuitry is to prevent INA stalling by permitting the second processing iteration when an indication of INA availability is detected. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of avoiding collision in the next round as taught by Lao [Page 745, Column 2, Paragraph 1].
Regarding claim 14:
The system of Sapio and Lao teaches: The apparatus as defined in claim 13 (as shown above).
However, Sapio does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processor circuitry is to permit the second processing iteration before data corresponding to the first processing iteration has propagated from the computing resource to the parameter server.
Lao teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the processor circuitry is to permit the second processing iteration before data corresponding to the first processing iteration has propagated from the computing resource to the parameter server ([Page 742, Column 1, Section 2.1, Last Paragraph] as shown in Figure 1 enables data-parallel training, where training data is partitioned and distributed to workers. There are two phases: gradient computation, where workers locally compute gra [Page 742, Column 2, Paragraph 1] dients; and gradient aggregation, where workers' gradients are transmitted over the network to be aggregated (which in-volves the addition of gradients) at one or more end-hosts called parameter servers (PSs). Note: Figure 1 also shows calculations before the parameter server receives).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sapio to incorporate the teachings of Lao wherein the processor circuitry is to permit the second processing iteration before data corresponding to the first processing iteration has propagated from the computing resource to the parameter server. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of avoiding collision in the next round as taught by Lao [Page 745, Column 2, Paragraph 1].
Regarding claim 15:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 16:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 7 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 20:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 21:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 22:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 23:
The claim recites substantially same limitations as claim 7 and is therefore rejected for same rationale as claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (Is Network the Bottleneck of Distributed Training?, 2020) discloses a first-principles approach to measure and analyze the network performance of distributed training. As expected, our measurement confirms that communication is the component that blocks distributed training from linear scale-out. However, contrary to the common belief, we find that the network is running at low utilization and that if the network can be fully utilized, distributed training can achieve a scaling factor of close to one.
Abdelmoniem et al (DC2: Delay-aware Compression Control for Distributed Machine Learning, 2021) discloses advocate a more controlled use of com pression and propose DC2, a delay-aware compression control mechanism. DC2 couples compression control and network delays in applying compression adaptively. DC2 not only compensates for network variations but can also strike a better trade-off between training speed and accuracy. DC2 is implemented as a drop-in module to the communication library used by the ML toolkit and can operate in a variety of network settings.
/C.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128