DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 2 (figs. 3-4; claims 1, 4-10, and 13-18) in the reply filed on April 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings received December 23, 2022 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-9, and 13-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: having strange spacing within the claims (for non-limiting example, claim 1, line 1 has a large space between “portion” and “and”; claim 4, line 4 has a tiny or non-existent spacing between “bridge” and “is”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: not having “of the plurality of radiation portions” following “between two adjacent radiation portions” (line 5). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: not having “of the plurality of radiation portions” following “at least one radiation portion” (line 3). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: citing “the positioning grooves are plural” (lines 1-2), as positioning grooves is already plural, and thus the citation of being plural is redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for “at least one connecting bridge” (singular or plural) (line 5). Thus, any instance of claim 1 or its dependents referencing –
“the connecting bridge” (singular) (claim 1, lines 5-7 (multiple times); and
“the connecting bridges” (plural) (claim 4, line 4; claim 5, lines 1-2 (multiple times); claim 7, lines 2-3 (multiple times))
– are unclear and indefinite, as it is unclear how many connecting bridges are present. Since claims 4-10 and 13-18 are dependent upon claim 1, claims 5 and 14 are dependent upon claim 4, claim 14 is dependent upon claim 1, and claim 16 is dependent upon claim 7, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 5 recites that “the connecting bridges are provided in pairs” (lines 1-2). The metes and bounds of the claim is unclear as it is unsure if only one pair or connecting bridges is sufficient, or if more than one pair is present. Thus, the claim language is indefinite. (Claim interpretation: One pair being present is sufficient to meet the claim language.)
Claim 6 recites “both ends” (line 2). However, three-dimensional sides have 6 ends. Thus, it is unclear what both ends refers to. (Note: The use of “two opposing ends” can be used.) Since claim 15 id dependent upon claim 6, it is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 7-8 have a preamble that recites “the current collector plate according to any one of claims” (plural) followed by a singular claim number. Thus, the dependency of the claims is unclear (are the claims meant to be dependent upon multiple claims, or only one?). Thus, the claim language is indefinite. Since claim 16 is dependent upon claim 7, and claims 9 and 17-18 are dependent upon claim 8, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the thickness" in lines 2-3 (three times – once referring to the connecting bridge, once referring to the jellyroll connection portion, once referring to the pole connection portion). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the edge" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since claims 9 and 17-18 are dependent upon claim 8, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 9 cites “a plurality of positioning grooves” (line 2). However, claim 8, which claim 9 is dependent upon already cites “positioning grooves”. It is unclear if “a plurality of positioning grooves” is related to the “positioning grooves” or not. Thus, the claim language is unclear and indefinite. Since claim 18 is dependent upon claim 18, it is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 10, and 13-18 have a preamble that recites “the current collector plate according to claims” (plural) followed by a singular claim number. Thus, the dependency of the claims is unclear (are the claims meant to be dependent upon multiple claims, or only one?). Thus, the claim language is indefinite.
Claims 10 and 13-18 recite “a pole” (claim 10, lines 2-3; claim 13, lines 2-3; claim 14, line 3; claim 15, lines 2-3; claim 16, line 3; claim 17, lines 2-3; claim 18, lines 2-3). However, “a pole” has already been set forth in claim 1 (lines 3-4). It is unclear if the poles are meant to be the same or different. Thus, the claim language is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0231354 (Hwangbo et al.).
As to claim 1, Hwangbo et al. teach a current collector (first current collector [60]) having a jellyroll connection portion (uncoated region coupling portion [62]) and a pole connection portion (terminal coupling portion [63]), wherein
the jellyroll connection portion (uncoated region coupling portion [62]) is provided to be connected to a jellyroll of a battery (as it couples the uncoated region, and the battery is a jellyroll (para 0163, 0238);
the pole connection portion (terminal coupling portion [63]) is provided to be connected to a pole of the battery (para 0237);
the current collector plate [60] is provided with a dividing groove and at least one connecting bridge (bridge portion [64]) provided in the dividing groove; and
the connecting bridge (bridge portion [64]) connects the jellyroll connection portion and the pole connection portion (figs. 11-12), wherein
the connecting bridge is provided to be fused to disconnect the jellyroll connection and the pole connection portion when a thermal runaway of the battery occurs (via either a sectional area adjustment or notching portion [N]) (para 0239, 0245; figs. 11-12).
As to claim 4, Hwangbo et al. teach the pole connection portion (terminal coupling portion [63]) comprises a central portion and a plurality of radiation portions (plurality of bridge portions stated to be present between each pair of coupling portions; para 0243 applied to figs. 11-2 (not shown but taught));
the central portion is located in a central region of the current collector plate (figs. 11-12, where terminal coupling portion [63] is placed);
the plurality of radiation portions are provided around the central portion (plurality of bridge portions stated to be present between each pair of coupling portions; para 0243 applied to figs. 11-2 (not shown but taught); thus the two bridges placed next to the two uncoated region coupling portions [62] next to the shown bridge portion [64] of figs. 11-12)); and
the connecting bridge is provided at a position between two adjacent radiation portions (thus the two bridges placed next to the two uncoated region coupling portions [62] next to the shown bridge portion [64] of figs. 11-12); para 0243 applied to figs. 11-2 (not shown but taught)).
As to claim 5, Hwangbo et al. teach the connecting bridges are provided in pairs, and the connecting bridges provided in pairs are arranged symmetrically with respect to the central portion (plurality of bridge portions stated to be present between each pair of coupling portions; para 0243 applied to figs. 11-2 (not shown but taught); thus, the bridge that would be present across from the labeled bridge portion [64] of figs. 11-12 would constitute the claimed pair of connecting bridges)).
As to claim 6, Hwangbo et al. teach the pole connection portion (terminal coupling portion [63]) further comprises an outer peripheral portion spaced from the central portion (edge portion [61]) (figs. 11-12); and
both ends of at least one radiation portion are connected to the central portion and the outer peripheral portion, respectively (as it would have the same structure as bridge [62] as shown in figs. 11-12).
(Note, reiterated from the rejection of claim 4 regarding the interpretation of the radiation portion: a plurality of bridge portions stated to be present between each pair of coupling portions; para 0243 applied to figs. 11-2 (not shown but taught); thus the two bridges placed next to the two uncoated region coupling portions [62] next to the shown bridge portion [64] of figs. 11-12)).
As to claim 7, Hwangbo et al. teaches the thickness of the connecting bridge (bridge portion [64]) is less than the thickness of the jellyroll connection portion (first uncoated region coupling portion [62]) (figs. 11-12; para 0239) and the thickness of the connecting bridge is less than the thickness of the pole connection portion (terminal coupling portion [63]) (structurally impossible to fall outside of the claim language, given the proportional/relationship teachings in figs. 11-12).
As to claim 8, Hwangbo et al. teach the edge of the current collector plate is provided with positioning grooves (positioning grooves defined by empty space [S], each one located between adjacent first uncoated region coupling portions [62] constituting one groove, the grooves extend to the portion where the edge portion [61] starts) (figs. 11-12). Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Also, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. See In re Zletz, 893F.2d 319, 321-22,13 USPQ2d, 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
As to claim 9, Hwangbo et al. teach the positioning grooves (positioning grooves defined by empty space [S], each one located between adjacent first uncoated region coupling portions [62] constituting one groove) are plural; and a plurality of positioning grooves are provided at intervals along a profile direction of the current collector plate (figs. 11-12). Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Also, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. See In re Zletz, 893F.2d 319, 321-22,13 USPQ2d, 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
As to claim 10, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 1 (see the rejection to claim 1 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
As to claim 13, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 4 (see the rejection to claim 4 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
As to claim 14, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 4 (see the rejection to claim 4 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
As to claim 15, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 6 (see the rejection to claim 6 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
As to claim 16, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 7 (see the rejection to claim 7 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
As to claim 17, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 8 (see the rejection to claim 8 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
As to claim 18, Hwangbo et al. teach a battery comprising a case (battery can [241]; fig. 4), a jellyroll (electrode assembly [10]; para 0163, fig. 7), and the current collector plate according to claim 9 (see the rejection to claim 9 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake), wherein the jellyroll is provided in the case, the case being provided with a pole (penetrating terminal [40] (para 0161; fig. 7)); the jellyroll is connected to the jellyroll connection portion; and the pole is connected to the pole connection portion (figs. 4-7, 11-12; para 0236-0242).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0205288 (Jang et al.) teaches a current collector member [70] with a terminal connection portion [71], first slot [711], second slot [712] and fuse [80] (fig. 6).
/EUGENIA WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759