DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first seal and the second seal, disposed at opposite axial ends of the sowing disc assembly, in direct contact with the sowing disc assembly and a mounting shaft” of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites “a first seal and a second seal, disposed at opposite axial ends of the sowing disc assembly, in direct contact with the sowing disc assembly and a mounting shaft”. Neither the specification nor the drawings as originally filed disclose the features claimed. The seals are not shown or disclosed as directly contacting a mounting shaft. The drawings explicitly show the seals contacting the inner rings and not the mounting shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Redekop U.S. 2015/0289434.
Re clm 1, Redekop discloses a disc assembly, comprising: a hub body (32 as well as outer rings, Fig. 6) having an inner face (inner surfaces of outer races) that constitutes a first external raceway and a second external raceway configured for direct mounting of a first tapered roller (at 30) and a second tapered roller (at 30), respectively; the disc assembly further comprising a first internal cone (one of inner rings of bearings) and a second internal cone (other of inner rings of bearings) that define a first inner bearing ring and a second inner bearing ring of the first tapered roller and the second tapered roller, respectively.
The limitations “sowing” and “of a seeding machine” is considered intended use of the disc and is given little or no patentable weight.
Re clm 2, Redekop further discloses said first internal cone fits within a first cage and said second internal cone fits within a second cage (both inner rings are radially within cages at 30, as shown in Fig. 6).
Re clm 4, Redekop further discloses said first internal cone and said second internal cone are arranged facing each other in a mirrored manner (inner rings face in opposing directions; put another way, the inner ring rib of each inner ring is located on the axially outer side and thus mirrored about a radial plane located axially between the two inner rings).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fleischer EP 2664810.
Re clm 1, Fleischer discloses a sowing disc assembly (Fig. 2), comprising: a hub body (4 together with outer rings of bearings) having an inner face (inner surfaces of outer races) that constitutes a first external raceway and a second external raceway configured for direct mounting of a first tapered roller (at 6) and a second tapered roller (at 6), respectively; the disc assembly further comprising a first internal cone (one of inner rings of bearings) and a second internal cone (other of inner rings of bearings) that define a first inner bearing ring and a second inner bearing ring of the first tapered roller and the second tapered roller, respectively.
Re clm 2, Fleischer further discloses said first internal cone fits within a first cage and said second internal cone fits within a second cage (both inner rings are radially within cages at 6, as shown in Fig. 2).
Re clm 3, Fleischer further discloses a first seal (14 on left side, Fig. 2) and a second seal (unlabeled 14 or right side), disposed at opposite axial ends of the sowing disc assembly, in direct contact with the sowing disc assembly (via 4) and a mounting shaft (5 and 13 together can be considered the mounting shaft), jointly forming a sealing unit configured to retain a lubricant of the sowing disc assembly (the seals form a closed space at least capable of retaining a lubricant).
Re clm 4, Fleischer further discloses said first internal cone and said second internal cone are arranged facing each other in a mirrored manner (mirrored about E; [0016]).
Re clm 5, Fleischer further discloses the first internal cone comprises a first internal projection (axially central rib of one of inner rings) and a first outer projection (axially outer rib of one of inner rings), while the second internal cone comprises a second internal projection (axially central rib of the other of inner rings) and a second outer projection (axially outer rib of other of inner rings).
Re clm 6, Fleischer further discloses the first internal projection and the second internal projection and the first outer projection and the second outer projection define a first end of the first conical roller and a second end of the second conical roller (the projections of the inner rings bound the tapered rollers as shown in Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleischer EP 2664810 in view of GAO CN 112797069.
Assuming Applicant’s claims prevent the hub body as being defined as a grouping of multiple elements:
Re clm 1, Fleischer discloses a sowing disc assembly (Fig. 2), comprising: a hub body 4 having an inner face (inner surfaces of 4), a first external raceway (raceway of one outer ring) and a second external raceway (raceway of the other outer ring) configured for direct mounting of a first tapered roller (at 6) and a second tapered roller (at 6), respectively; the disc assembly further comprising a first internal cone (one of inner rings of bearings) and a second internal cone (other of inner rings of bearings) that define a first inner bearing ring and a second inner bearing ring of the first tapered roller and the second tapered roller, respectively.
Fleischer does not disclose the hub body and the first external raceway and the second external raceway are formed as a one-piece element such that the inner face constitutes a first external raceway and a second external raceway configured for direct mounting of a first tapered roller and a second tapered roller, respectively.
GAO discloses a hub body in which the outer rings of the tapered bearings are formed integrally with the hub (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the arrangement of Fleischer and provide the inner face constitutes a first external raceway and a second external raceway configured for direct mounting of a first tapered roller and a second tapered roller, respectively, since it has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). See MPEP §2144.04(V)(B). Furthermore, providing a one-piece structure would further provide the advantages of reducing the number of parts as well as reducing the number of assembly steps.
Re clm 2, Fleischer further discloses said first internal cone fits within a first cage and said second internal cone fits within a second cage (both inner rings are radially within cages at 6, as shown in Fig. 2).
Re clm 3, Fleischer further discloses a first seal (14 on left side, Fig. 2) and a second seal (unlabeled 14 or right side), disposed at opposite axial ends of the sowing disc assembly, in direct contact with the sowing disc assembly (via 4) and a mounting shaft (5 and 13 together can be considered the mounting shaft), jointly forming a sealing unit configured to retain a lubricant of the sowing disc assembly (the seals form a closed space at least capable of retaining a lubricant).
Re clm 4, Fleischer further discloses said first internal cone and said second internal cone are arranged facing each other in a mirrored manner (mirrored about E; [0016]).
Re clm 5, Fleischer further discloses the first internal cone comprises a first internal projection (axially central rib of one of inner rings) and a first outer projection (axially outer rib of one of inner rings), while the second internal cone comprises a second internal projection (axially central rib of the other of inner rings) and a second outer projection (axially outer rib of other of inner rings).
Re clm 6, Fleischer further discloses the first internal projection and the second internal projection and the first outer projection and the second outer projection define a first end of the first conical roller and a second end of the second conical roller (the projections of the inner rings bound the tapered rollers as shown in Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “unlike Fleischer, in the present application, the outer rings or cups are eliminated as independent parts”. This is incorrect. Applicant is arguing limitations not found in the claims. There is no requirement that the hub body and the external raceways are formed as a one-piece integral element. As noted in the rejection, the hub body of Fleischer is interpreted as element 4 together with the outer rings of the bearing. There is no limitation in the claims which prevent such an interpretation of the art.
Even if Applicant could reasonably argue that the claims require a one-piece construction, the claims have been rejected by Fleischer in view of GAO as noted above. GAO discloses a hub device using tapered bearings in which the hub and the external raceways are formed as a one-piece unit. The examiner emphasizes that the claims do not actually require a one-piece arrangement as argued. The obviousness rejection has been provided to facilitate compact prosecution by showing that even if the claims were correctly argued/amended to require a one-piece construction, the use of a one-piece hub is well-known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE 102013219118, DE 2001-2666, U.S. 9,107,340, U.S. 2018/0216667, U.S. 2015/0316103, U.S. 2010/0025057, and 2009/0095495 each disclose bearing arrangements in which a hub is formed integrally with the external raceways.
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617