DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 06/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 16-17, 20, 22, 28-29, 34, and 43 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 16-17, 20, 22, 28-29, 34, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US 2022/0361164 A1(“LI”) in view of Zhou et al. US 2021/0037484 A1 (“Zhou”)
Regarding independent claim 1:
LI discloses a method for transmitting a repetition of a control channel, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device (e.g., Terminal device in Fig. 5), a time-domain resource location for transmitting a repetition of an uplink control channel, according to a slot configuration in a frame structure used by the terminal device (e.g., Fig. 5, 504-505, [0263]-[0266], [0269]-[0271], PUCCH 1, PUCCH 2, and PUCCH 3 in Fig. 7A, each transmits a repetition of the UCI, also see Fig. 7B-Fig. 7G), comprising: determining, by the terminal device from a starting slot, a slot for transmitting a kth repetition of the uplink control channel, according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, k being a positive integer (e.g., [0265]-[0266], in both Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B, slot 1 would be considered a starting slot, and a slot for transmitting the 1st repetition of UCI would be slot 1, and a slot for transmitting the 2nd repetition of UCI would be slot 2 in Fig. 7A, and slot 1 in Fig. 7B);
wherein the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset indicated by downlink control information (DCI), wherein the slot is for transmitting a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the slot offset is an offset of a slot for transmitting control information corresponding to the PDSCH relative to the slot for transmitting the PDSCH, and the uplink control channel is for carrying the control information (e.g., [0204], DCI is used to schedule a PDSCH, [0278], time domain offset between the PDSCH and the PUCCH carrying the UCI is indicated by k1, if PDSCH is transmitted in nth slot, the PUCCH corresponding to the PDSCH is transmitted in (n+k1)th slot);
wherein determining, by the terminal device, the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel, according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device comprises: determining the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device (e.g., Fig. 5, 505, repeatedly transmits UCI for M times by using the first PUCCH resource and the N quantity of repeated transmissions, [0260] and Fig. 7C describe transmitting 3 PUCCH repetitions, PUCCH 1, PUCCH 2 and PUCCH 3 with a PUCCH resource crossing the slot boundary, [0262] and Fig. 7G describe transmitting PUCCH 1 and PUCCH 3 only, PUCCH 2 is not transmitted because the PUCCH resource occupying a slot with both uplink symbols and downlink symbols, [0265]-[0266] describe transmitting 3 PUCCH repetitions without any PUCCH resource crossing the slot boundary respectively shown in Fig. 7A and 7B), when a number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to a first threshold (e.g., [0241]-[0243] and Fig. 6B describe the terminal determines the target PUCCH resource set, the first PUCCH resource, and the quantity of repeated transmissions, when the quantity of bits of the to-be-sent UCI within a range of [0,2], or [2,4]).
LI is silent regarding the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI).
Zhou teaches determining a starting slot for uplink control channel according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., [0300], [0318], DCI indicating a slot offset (K0) of the PDSCH from the slot of the DCI, and a slot offset (K1) of a PUCCH resource from the slot of PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of LI based on the teaching by Zhou to include the feature the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI), in order to reduce overhead for terminal device to determine the allocated resource for PUCCH transmission.
Regarding claim 2:
LI further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel comprises at least one of: a slot for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel; or a time-domain symbol, to which the uplink control channel is mapped, in the slot for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel (e.g., [0265]-[0266]).
Regarding claim 7:
LI further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the slot for transmitting the kth repetition of the uplink control channel by the terminal device satisfies at least one of: a number of available time-domain symbols in the slot being greater than or equal to a minimum number of time-domain symbols that can be transmitted in an uplink control channel format corresponding to the uplink control channel; or the number of available time-domain symbols in the slot being greater than or equal to a second threshold (e.g., [0262], Fig. 7G, because the symbol 0 is slot 2 is a downlink symbol, the corresponding PUCCH 2 is not transmitted)
Regarding claim 9:
LI further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a slot in which a number of transmissions of the uplink control channel reaches a preconfigured number of repetitions is an ending slot for transmitting repetitions of the uplink control channel by the terminal device (e.g., [0265]-[0266], the preconfigured number of repetition is 3, slot 3 is the ending slot in Fig. 7A, slot 1 is the ending slot in Fig. 7B).
Regarding independent claim 16:
LI discloses a method for transmitting a repetition of a control channel, comprising:
determining, by a network device (e.g., Network device in Fig. 5), a time-domain resource location for transmitting a repetition of an uplink control channel by a terminal device, according to a slot configuration in a frame structure used by the terminal device, comprising
determining, by the network device from a starting slot, a slot for transmitting a kth repetition of the uplink control channel, according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, k being a positive integer; wherein the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset indicated by downlink control information (DCI), wherein the slot is for transmitting a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the slot offset is an offset of a slot for transmitting control information corresponding to the PDSCH relative to the slot for transmitting the PDSCH, and the uplink control channel is for carrying the control information; wherein determining, by the network device, the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel, according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device comprises: determining the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, when a number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to a first threshold (see similar features discussed with respect to claim 1.)
LI is silent regarding the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI).
Zhou teaches determining a slot for uplink control channel according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., [0300], [0318], DCI indicating a slot offset (K0) of the PDSCH from the slot of the DCI, and a slot offset (K1) of a PUCCH resource from the slot of PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of LI based on the teaching by Zhou to include the feature the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI), in order to reduce overhead for terminal device to determine the allocated resource for PUCCH transmission.
Regarding claims 17, 20, and 22:
See similar features discussed with respect to claims 2, 7, and 9.
Regarding independent claim 28:
LI discloses a terminal device (e.g., Fig. 15, 1500), comprising: a processor (Fig. 15, 1502); and a memory (Fig. 15, 1501) configured to store a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to determine, according to a slot configuration in a frame structure used by the terminal device, a time-domain resource location for transmitting a repetition of an uplink control channel; wherein the processor configured to determine, according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel is configured to: determine, from a starting slot, a slot for transmitting a k” repetition of the uplink control channel, according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, « being a positive integer: wherein the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset indicated by downlink control information (DCD, wherein the slot is for transmitting a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the slot offset is an offset of a slot for transmitting control information corresponding to the PDSCH relative to the slot for transmitting the PDSCH, and the uplink control channel is for carrying the control information; wherein the processor configured to determine according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel is configured to: determine the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, when a number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to a first threshold (See similar features discussed with respect to claim 1.)
LI is silent regarding the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI).
Zhou teaches determining a slot for uplink control channel according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., [0300], [0318], DCI indicating a slot offset (K0) of the PDSCH from the slot of the DCI, and a slot offset (K1) of a PUCCH resource from the slot of PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of LI based on the teaching by Zhou to include the feature the starting slot is determined according to a slot and a slot offset both indicated by downlink control information (DCI), in order to reduce overhead for terminal device to determine the allocated resource for PUCCH transmission.
Regarding claims 29 and 34:
See similar features discussed with respect to claims 2 and 7.
Regarding independent claim 43:
LI discloses a network device (e.g., Fig. 15, 1500), comprising: a processor (Fig. 15, 1502); and a memory (Fig. 15, 1501) configured to store a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claim 16. (See rejection of claim 1.)
Response to Arguments
Rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over LI
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/05/2026 have been fully considered. The amendment of claim 1 has necessitated a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over LI and Zhou.
Furthermore, Remarks, pages 13-14, Applicant argues LI does not teach the following
that the object to be determined is the time-domain resource location;
that the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel is determined based on the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device; not based on the quantity of bits of the to-be-sent UCI;
that the requirement that the number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to the first threshold merely serves as the condition for performing the operation of determining the time-domain resource location according to the slot configuration, and is not itself used to determine the time-domain resource location;
that the operation of determining the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device is performed when the number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to the first threshold this particular condition is satisfied.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to 1), LI describes determining a slot and a specific PUCCH resource for transmitting a PUCCH repetition. E.g., [0278] of LI describes determining a slot for transmitting a PUCCH repetition based on a time domain offset between the slot for transmitting the PDSCH and the slot for transmitting the PUCCH. E.g., [0230]-[254] of Li describe determining the first PUCCH resource for transmitting a PUCCH repetition. Thus, the slot position and the specific PUCCH resource teach “time-domain resource location” for transmitting a PUCCH repetition. See e.g., Fig. 7A-7D of Li and related portions of the detailed rejection of claim 1.
With respect to 2), as discussed above, LI teaches determining a slot and a specific PUCCH resource for transmitting a PUCCH repetition. E.g., [0278] of Li describes determining a slot for transmitting a PUCCH repetition based on a time domain offset between the slot for transmitting the PDSCH and the slot for transmitting the PUCCH.
With respect to 3), the claim is directed to “determining the time-domain resource location … when a number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to a first threshold.” Thus, the claim language merely requires the time-domain resource location to be determined when the number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to the first threshold. [0241]-[0243] of Li describe how the terminal may determine the PUCCH resource for the PUCCH transmission when the quantity of bits of the to-be-sent UCI is within a range of [0,2], or [2,4]. See related portions of detailed rejection of claim 1.
With respect to 4), as discussed above, the claim language merely requires the time-domain resource location to be determined when the number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to the first threshold, and LI describes how the terminal determines the PUCCH resource for transmitting a PUCCH repetition when the quantity of bits of the to-be-sent UCI is within a predefined range.
Based on at least the reasons discussed above, by applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, LI has been shown to teach the claimed features “determining, by a terminal device a time-domain resource location for transmitting a repetition of an uplink control channel, according to a slot configuration in a frame structure used by the terminal device,” and “determining the time-domain resource location for transmitting the repetition of the uplink control channel according to the slot configuration in the frame structure used by the terminal device, when a number of bits of control information carried in the uplink control channel is less than or equal to a first threshold.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465