Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dudee (US Pub No.: 2020/0237502).
Regarding claim 1, Dudee (US Pub No.: 2020/0237502) discloses an intraocular support apparatus (intraocular lens in the abstract with stanchions and base details also in the abstract) comprising: a base platform (the base ends part 60 in [0078]) and modular extensions (being the stanchions such as parts 28 and 23 in [0076]-[0078]. As the haptics are attached to part 116b, a modular attachment is present).
Regarding claim 2, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a base platform (in the abstract) wherein in it involves a stalk with 3 components: Insertion arms (the stanchions 28b and 32b in figure 9. Said stanchions are 42a and 60a in figure 10), a stabilizer (parts 122a, 124a, 126a, and 128a in figure 10), and a modular junction (part 120a, defined as a collar in [0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 2, further comprising insertion arms wherein they are arched allowing increased scleral entry without perforation of the outer scleral wall (the arms in figure 9 and 10 are depicted as being arched).
Regarding claim 5, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a stabilizer wherein it rests in the sulcus on the ciliary body promoting stability (as per [0104]. The base ends of parts 42 and 60 are in a supraciliary space).
Regarding claim 6, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a stabilizer wherein it rests in the sulcus on the ciliary body providing accommodation (in [0117], the haptic design is in the ciliary sulcus in [0117]).
Regarding claim 7, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a modular junction wherein it provides attachment of extensions (shown in figure 10).
Regarding claim 8, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 1, further comprising extensions wherein there are varied shapes, styles, and functions (in figure 5, a plurality of stanchion members with different shapes are depicted, with said stanchions defined in [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Dudee disclose a method of attaching the apparatus of claim 3 intraocularly to the globe wherein the arched insertion arms enter the internal scleral wall (attachment to the scleral wall with the extensions in figure 1 and 5), traverse in a curved fashion allowing greater tissue penetration, and avoid perforation of the outer scleral wall (shown in figure 5, [0022], [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Dudee disclose a method of stabilizing the apparatus of claim 6 intraocularly wherein the insertion arms and stabilizer prevent movement along a dimensional axis (while a movement along one dimensional axis is disclosed in [0118], a prevention of a rotation is disclosed in [0139], where said rotation is a movement along a dimensional axis).
Regarding claim 12, Dudee disclose a method of achieving accommodation wherein stabilizers of claim 6 that rest in the sulcus on the ciliary body amplify and transmit accommodative force to an intraocular lens (the accommodative force being the movement along an axis in [0118] and [0123]).
Regarding claim 13, Dudee disclose a method of attaching modular extensions of claim 7 wherein extensions of varied functions attach to the base at a modular junction (as multiple extensions that attach to different portions of the eye in figure 5, extensions with multiple functions are present in Dudee).
Regarding claim 14, Dudee disclose a method of utilizing extensions of claim 8 wherein they are varied in but not limited to size, shape, materials, and functions (the plurality of stanchions shown in figure 5 have varied shapes and sizes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudee (US Pub No.: 2020/0237502) in view of Rombach (US Pub No.: 2010/0106245).
Regarding claim 4, Dudee discloses the intraocular support apparatus of claim 3. However, Dudee does not teach a further comprising insertion arms wherein there are barb protrusions supporting retention in tissue.
Instead, Rombach (US Pub No.: 2010/0106245) teaches wherein there are barb protrusions supporting retention in tissue (in [0042], “barbs or other mechanical adaptions which ensure firm positioning and connection of the haptics to the sulcus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate said barbs onto the haptics as presented in Rombach to allow for the extensions of Dudee to be firmly positioned in the sulcus of the eye of the patient, as disclosed in [0042].
Regarding claim 10, Dudee discloses a method of attaching the apparatus of claim 4 intraocularly to the globe (via the stanchions such as parts 28 and 23 in [0076]-[0078]). However, Dudee does not teach a further comprising barb protrusions on the arched arms that prevent retraction.
Instead, Rombach (US Pub No.: 2010/0106245) teaches barb protrusions on the arched arms that prevent retraction (in [0042], “barbs or other mechanical adaptions which ensure firm positioning and connection of the haptics to the sulcus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate said barbs onto the haptics as presented in Rombach to allow for the extensions of Dudee to be firmly positioned in the sulcus of the eye of the patient, as disclosed in [0042].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cumming (US Pub No.: 2001/0016771) disclosed for the intraocular lens haptics with unique designs disclosed in figures 66-67. Ichikawa (US Pub No.: 2015/0305856) considered for an intraocular lens with branching haptics 3 and 3’ in figure 1.
/AREN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774