Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 27, 2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the analog control module is detachably coupled to one or more external devices by serial interface coupling” in claim 1, “plasma generator, solenoid valve, flow valve, and barometer” and “plurality of instructions” in claim 3, and “a mechanical arm, which uses a servo motor as a driving power source, and the control host receives feedback signals from the mechanical arm in real time.” in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites:
“a plurality of operating units coupled to at least one of the main control module, the analog control module, and the digital control module, respectively, to control the plurality of working chambers for processing the materials by the main control module, the analog control module and the digital control module”
A suggested revision is as follows:
“a plurality of operating units coupled to at least one of the main control module, the analog control module, and the digital control module, respectively, to control the plurality of working chambers for processing the materials by the main control module, the analog control module [[and]] or the digital control module”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “main control module”, “control host”, and “operating units” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20200013654 A1 to Matsuhashi et al (hereinafter Matsuhashi) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160343580 A1 to Hudson et al (hereinafter Hudson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20240112893 A1 to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20100234969 A1 to Inoue et al (hereinafter Inoue) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200081423 A1 to Clark et al (hereinafter Clark).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuhashi teaches semiconductor machine system (1), comprising: a plurality of working chambers (PM1-PM1), wherein the plurality of working chambers process materials separately; and a control host (4) coupled to the plurality of working chambers, which comprises: a main control module (101) coupled to the plurality of working chambers(PM1-PM1). (See Matsuhashi, Figs. 1-4, Abstract, paragraphs 13, 20-25, 50, 55-56, 60-62.)
Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach an analog control module coupled to the plurality of working chambers, wherein the main control module and the analog control module are coupled to each other.
Hudson is directed to a substrate processing system.
Hudson teaches the system controller (650) may include multiple processors (652) . (See Hudson, Abstract, paragraphs 49, 97, 129, and 146.)
Hudson teaches a mass flow controller may have analog input connections. (See Hudson, paragraphs 129 and 146.) Examiner is considering a mass flow controller with analog input connections to be equivalent to an analog control module coupled to the plurality of working chambers.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include an analog control module coupled to the plurality of working chambers, wherein the main control module and the analog control module are coupled to each other, because Hudson teaches processor with this structure is an effective ways to measure and control the properties of each chamber. (See Hudson, Abstract, paragraphs 49, 97, 129, and 146.)
Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach a digital control module coupled to the plurality of working chambers, wherein the main control module, the analog control module, and the digital control module are coupled to each other.
Wang is directed to a substrate processing system.
Wang teaches a digital processor may be used to control the temperature in a process module of a substrate processing system. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 32 and 65-66 and Figs. 1-10.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a digital control module coupled to the plurality of working chambers, an analog control module (CPU) coupled to the plurality of working chambers, wherein the main control module, the analog control module, and the digital control module are coupled to each other, because Wang teaches this controller structure can facilitate receiving instructions, issue instructions, and control operations. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 32 and 65-66 and Figs. 1-10.)
Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach the analog control module is detachably coupled to one or more external devices by serial interface coupling.
Inoue is directed to a processing system.
Inoue teaches the analog control module is detachably coupled to one or more external devices by serial interface coupling. (See Inoue, Abstract, paragraphs 5-7 and 186.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the analog control module is detachably coupled to one or more external devices by serial interface coupling, because Inoue teaches this is an art recognized equivalent way of connecting these devices. (See Inoue, Abstract, paragraphs 5-7 and 186.)
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F. 2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach a plurality of operating units coupled to at least one of the main control module, the analog control module, and the digital control module, respectively, to control the plurality of working chambers for processing the materials by the main control module, the analog control module and the digital control module.
Clark is directed to a substrate processing system.
Clark teaches a plurality of operating units (200) coupled to at least one of the main control module (208) , the analog control module, and the digital control module, respectively, to control the plurality of working chambers (210-220) for processing the materials by the main control module (208), the analog control module ( one of 202, 204, 206) and the digital control module( one of 202, 204, 206) . ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 106-108.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a plurality of operating units coupled to at least one of the main control module, the analog control module, and the digital control module, respectively, to control the plurality of working chambers for processing the materials by the main control module, the analog control module and the digital control module, because Clark teaches this arrangement can facilitate correction in the processing sequence. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 106, 114, 124, 142, 144, 330, and 337, Fig. 5B.)
Regarding claim 2, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach the plurality of working chambers comprises at least one of a wafer transfer chamber; wherein the main control module is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, respectively, for control.
Clark is directed to an integrated processing modules with heterogeneous platform.
Clark teaches the plurality of working chambers comprises at least one of a wafer transfer chamber (304a , 512) ; wherein the main control module (active interdiction system) is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, respectively, for control. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 114, 124, 142, 144, 330, and 337, Fig. 5B.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the plurality of working chambers comprises at least one of a wafer transfer chamber,; wherein the main control module is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, because Clark teaches this would enable the data to be analyzed by the active interdiction control system and determine if correct processing action is necessary( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 14-15, 30-32, 38-41, 76, 85, 95, 99, 103-105, 108-118, 123-124, 129-132, 139, 142, 144, and 337, Figs. 1-37.)
Regarding claim 2, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach the analog control module is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, respectively, for control.
Hudson teaches a mass flow controller may have analog input connections. (See Hudson, Abstract, paragraphs 129 and 146.) Examiner is considering a mass flow controller with analog input connections to be equivalent to an analog control module coupled to the plurality of working chambers.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the analog control module is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, respectively, for control, because this would enable the gas flow the process chamber to be controlled. (See Hudson, Abstract, paragraphs 129 and 146.)
Regarding claim 2, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach the digital control module is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, respectively, for control.
Wang teaches a digital processor may be used to control the temperature in a chamber of a wafer processing system. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 32 and 65-66 and Figs. 1-10.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the digital control module is coupled to at least one of the wafer transfer chamber, respectively, for control., because Wang teaches this controller structure can facilitate receiving instructions, issue instructions, and control operations. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 32 and 65-66 and Figs. 1-10.)
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20200013654 A1 to Matsuhashi et al (hereinafter Matsuhashi) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160343580 A1 to Hudson et al (hereinafter Hudson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20240112893 A1 to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20100234969 A1 to Inoue et al (hereinafter Inoue) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200081423 A1 to Clark et al (hereinafter Clark) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190103293 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20120118857 A1 to Tyler et al (hereinafter Tyler).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach the plurality of operating units further comprises: a RF plasma unit, which comprises a plasma generator and a control circuit; a gas control unit, which comprises a solenoid valve, a flow valve, and a barometer; and a main control unit, which comprises a processor and a storage device, wherein the storage device is coupled to the processor and stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control the RF plasma unit, the gas control unit, and the plurality of working chambers.
Kim is directed to a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device.
Kim teaches the plurality of operating units further comprises: a RF plasma unit (2000), which comprises a plasma generator (2020) and a control circuit (1420); and a main control unit (1130), which comprises a processor (1000) and a storage device (memory 1160), wherein the storage device is coupled to the processor and stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control the RF plasma unit (2000) and the gas control unit (2010) . (See Kim, Abstract, Figs. 1-10, and paragraphs 3-9, 17, 20-22, 24-26, 28, 30-31, 35-38, 40-49, 51-61, 63-66, 70-85, and 88-89.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the plurality of operating units further comprises: a RF plasma unit, which comprises a plasma generator and a control circuit ; and a main control unit, which comprises a processor and a storage device, wherein the storage device is coupled to the processor and stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control the RF plasma unit and the gas control unit, because Kim teaches this arrangement would enable maximum output in plasma formation for manufacturing a semiconductor device. (See Kim, Abstract, Figs. 1-10, and paragraphs 3-9, 17, 20-22, 24-26, 28, 30-31, 35-38, 40-49, 51-61, 63-66, 70-85, and 88-89.)
Regarding claim 3, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach a main control unit, which comprises a processor and a storage device, wherein the storage device is coupled to the processor and stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control the plurality of working chambers.
Clark teaches a main control unit, which comprises a processor and a storage device, wherein the storage device is coupled to the processor and stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control the RF plasma unit (1076) , the gas control unit (gas supplies in paragraph 100), the plurality of working chambers (paragraph 76). ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 14-15, 30-32, 38-41, 76, 85, 95, 99-100, 103-105, 108-118, 123-124, 129-132, 139, 142, 144, 194-195, and 337, Figs. 1-37.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a main control unit, which comprises a processor and a storage device, wherein the storage device is coupled to the processor and stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control the plurality of working chambers, because Clark teaches process chambers are integrated with metrology sensors to enable measurements to detect non-conforming workpiece attributes and to perform corrective processing in upstream working chambers to address defects and variations. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 14-15, 30-32, 38-41, 76, 85, 95, 99, 103-105, 108-118, 123-124, 129-132, 139, 142, 144, and 337, Figs. 1-37.)
Regarding claim 3, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach: a gas control unit, which comprises a solenoid valve and a flow valve.
Tyler is directed to a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device.
Tyler teaches a gas control unit , which comprises a solenoid valve (315) and a flow valve (312). (See Tyler, Abstract, paragraphs 78-79, 84-87, 95, 101, 123-124, and Figs. 1-17.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a gas control unit, which comprises a solenoid valve, a flow valve, , because Tyler teaches process chambers are integrated with metrology sensors to enable measurements to detect non-conforming workpiece attributes. (See Tyler, Abstract, paragraphs 78-79, 84-87, 95, 101, 123-124, and Figs. 1-17.)
Regarding claim 3, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach a gas control unit comprises a barometer.
Clark teaches a gas control unit comprises a barometer. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 14-15, 30-32, 38-41, 76, 85, 95, 99-100, 103-105, 108-118, 123-124, 129-132, 139, 142, 144, 194-195, and 337, Figs. 1-37.) Examiner is considering a pressure sensor to be equivalent to a barometer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a gas control unit comprises a barometer, because Clark teaches process chambers are integrated with metrology sensors to enable measurements to detect non-conforming workpiece attributes and to perform corrective processing in upstream working chambers to address defects and variations. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 322, 343, 373, 378, 381, 387, Figs. 1-37.)
Regarding claim 4, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach the main control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit , the main control unit, and the gas control unit, respectively, the analog control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit and the gas control unit, respectively, and the digital control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit, the main control unit, and the gas control unit.
Clark teaches the main control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit, the main control unit, and the gas control unit, respectively, the analog control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit (paragraphs 100, 121, 194-195, 230-231) and the gas control unit, respectively, and the digital control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit, the main control unit, and the gas control unit. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 14-15, 30-32, 38-41, 76, 85, 95, 99-100, 103-105, 108-118, 121, 123-124, 129-132, 139, 142, 144, 194-195, 230-231, and 337, Figs. 1-37.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the main control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit , the main control unit, and the gas control unit, respectively, the analog control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit and the gas control unit, respectively, and the digital control module is coupled to the RF plasma unit, the main control unit, and the gas control unit, because Clark teaches process chambers are integrated with metrology sensors to enable measurements to detect non-conforming workpiece attributes upstream of defects and process variations to provide time for correction. ( See Clark, Abstract, paragraphs 14-15, 30-32, 38-41, 76, 85, 95, 99-100, 103-105, 108-118, 123-124, 129-132, 139, 142, 144, 194-195, and 337, Figs. 1-37.)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20200013654 A1 to Matsuhashi et al (hereinafter Matsuhashi) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160343580 A1 to Hudson et al (hereinafter Hudson) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20240112893 A1 to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20100234969 A1 to Inoue et al (hereinafter Inoue) as applied to claim 1 and US Pat. Pub. No. 20100292809 A1 to Kobayashi et al (hereinafter Kobayashi) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220013383 A1 to Savandaiah et al (hereinafter Savandaiah).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach a mechanical arm, which uses a servo motor as a driving power source, and the control host receives feedback signals from the mechanical arm in real time.
Kobayashi is directed to a processing system for a substrate.
Kobayashi teaches a mechanical arms (11a-b, 25a-25b, 27a-b) and the control host (603) receives feedback signals in real time. ( See Kobayashi , Abstract, paragraphs 52, 55, and 63 Figs. 1-11.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a mechanical arm and the control host receives feedback signals from the mechanical arm in real time, because Kobayashi teaches feedback would enable decisions about processes in consideration of the load conditions of the entire factory to be made which a person ordinary skill in the art would recognize to be useful to improve yields, efficiency, and reduce backlogs. ( See Kobayashi, Abstract, paragraphs 52, 55, and 63 Figs. 1-11.)
Regarding claim 5, Matsuhashi does not explicitly teach a mechanical arm, which uses a servo motor as a driving power source
Savandaiah is directed to a processing system for a substrate.
Savandaiah teaches a mechanical arm, which uses a servo motor as a driving power source. ( See Savandaiah , Abstract, paragraph 71, Figs. 3A-7B.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a mechanical arm, which uses a servo motor as a driving power source, because Savandaiah teaches a servo motor is an art recognized equivalent form of actuator for a support arm. ( See Savandaiah , Abstract, paragraph 71, Figs. 3A-7B.)
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F. 2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717