DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
It is unclear in claim 1, what all is encompassed by the term ‘acidic preservative” since compounds that are clearly salts are provided as examples in Applicant’s specification. However, since the term “acidic” is ordinarily used to describe a compound that has a pH of less than 7 when in aqueous solution, said salts are assumed to be weakly acidic with a pH of less than 7 in aqueous solution, in the absence of a clear showing to the contrary.
Claims 2-18 depend on and include all the subject matter of claim 1, but all fail to provide any solutions to the indefinite issue described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a/1,2) as being anticipated by Nagai (US 2002/0135650).
Regarding claims 1, 3, Nagai teaches a water-based ink (aqueous pigment ink [0171]) comprising: a pigment (carbon [0191]), water (balance [0191]) and an acidic preservative comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of sodium dehydroacetate ([0191], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is a dehydroacetate and sodium sorbate ([0159]) which is a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt.
Regarding claim 2, Nagai teaches that the pigment is a self-dispersing pigment ([0097]).
Regarding claims 3-5, Nagai teaches that the acidic preservative comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of sodium dehydroacetate ([0191], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is a dehydroacetate and sodium sorbate ([0159]) which is a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt.
Regarding claim 6, Nagai teaches that the dehydroacetate is sodium dehydroacetate ([0191]).
Regarding claim 7, Nagai teaches that the compound of formula (1) ([0191, 0066]) acts as an antioxidant ([0066]) which is a preservative that is acidic due to the sulfonic acid groups ([0066]). Accordingly, Nagai teaches that a content of the acidic preservative in the water-based ink is 1.7 % by mass, relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (1.5 wt% of compound of formula (1) + 0.2 wt% of sodium dehydroacetate, Example 1 [0191], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is within the claimed range of 0.5% by mass to 5.0% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink.
Regarding claims 8-9, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink further comprises a surfactant ([0191]) which is an acetylene-based surfactant (acetylenic glycol-based surfactant [0143]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink further comprises a penetrant (penetrating agent [0153]) which comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of 1,2-hexanediol (improving the dissolution [0150]) which is an alkylene diol, and triethylene glycol-n-butyl ether (BTG) (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0153]) which is a glycol ether compound.
Regarding claims 7, 12, Nagai teaches that the compound of formula (1) ([0191, 0066]) acts as an antioxidant ([0066]) which is a preservative that is acidic due to the sulfonic acid groups ([0066]). Accordingly, Nagai teaches that an amount A of the acidic preservative in the water-based ink is 1.7 % by mass, relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (1.5 wt% of compound of formula (1) Example 1 [0191] + 0.2 wt% of sodium dehydroacetate, Example 1 [0191], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is within the claimed range of 0.5% by mass to 5.0% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink.
In addition, Nagai teaches that an amount B of the surfactant is 1 wt% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (surfactant, Example 1 [0191]), such that amount A and amount B satisfy Condition (X) of Applicant in that the ratio A/B = 1.7/1 = 1.7 which is within the claimed range of 0.5 to 50.
Regarding claims 7, 13, Nagai teaches that the compound of formula (1) ([0191, 0066]) acts as an antioxidant ([0066]) which is a preservative that is acidic due to the sulfonic acid groups ([0066]). Accordingly, Nagai teaches that an amount A of the acidic preservative in the water-based ink is 1.7 % by mass, relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (1.5 wt% of compound of formula (1) + 0.2 wt% of sodium dehydroacetate, Example 1 [0191], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is within the claimed range of 0.5% by mass to 5.0% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink.
In addition, Nagai teaches that an amount C of the penetrant in the water-based ink is 1 wt% (2-ethyl-1,3-hexanediol, Example 1 [0191] which is an alkylene diol penetrating agent [0153]) such that amount A and amount C satisfy Condition (Y) of Applicant in that the ratio A/C = 1.7/1 = 1.7 which is within the claimed range of 0.1 to 5.
Regarding claims 14-15, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink further comprises a penetrant (penetrating agent [0153]) which comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of 1,2-hexanediol (improving dissolution [0150]) which is an alkylene diol, and triethylene glycol-n-butyl ether (BTG) (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0153]) which is a glycol ether compound, wherein the acidic preservative comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of sodium dehydroacetate ([0191]) which is a dehydroacetate and sodium sorbate ([0159]) which is a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt.
Regarding claim 16, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink is suitable for inkjet recording ([0016]).
Regarding claim 17, Nagai teaches a printed recording medium (inkjet recording [0016]) comprising: a recording medium (plain paper [0016]); and the water-based ink printed on the recording medium (printing on plain paper [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Nagai teaches an ink cartridge (recording liquid cartridge [0065]) comprising the water-based ink stored therein (recording liquid [0065]).
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782