DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
It is unclear in claim 1, what all is encompassed by the term ‘acidic preservative” since compounds that are clearly salts are provided as examples in Applicant’s specification. However, since the term “acidic” is ordinarily used to describe a compound that has a pH of less than 7 when in aqueous solution, said salts are assumed to be weakly acidic with a pH of less than 7 in aqueous solution, in the absence of a clear showing to the contrary.
Claims 2-19 depend on and include all the subject matter of claim 1, but all fail to provide any solutions to the indefinite issue described above.
It is unclear in claim 13, whether the water-based ink is required to satisfy at least one of the conditions of (X1) and (X2), or the conditions are both optional and not required when the acidic preservative does not comprise any of the group consisting of a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid and a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt, and any of the group consisting of dehydroacetic acid and a dehydroacetate. For the purposes of examination, the 2nd interpretation is used.
It is unclear in claim 14, whether the water-based ink is required to satisfy at least one of the conditions of (Y1) and (Y2), or the conditions are both optional and not required when the acidic preservative does not comprise any of the group consisting of a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid and a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt, and any of the group consisting of dehydroacetic acid and a dehydroacetate. For the purposes of examination, the 2nd interpretation is used.
Clarification and/or amendment, with relevant citation(s) from the specification and/or teaching references are required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-18 of copending Application No. 18/146,524 (reference application) in view of Nagai (US 2002/0135650).
Regarding claims 1-5, 8, 10, 12, 15-19, the combined subject matter of the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from the combined subject matter of said presently examined claims, because even though the water-based ink of the conflicting claims contain a pigment instead of the dye of the water-based ink of the presently examined claims, Nagai teaches that in a water-based ink (aqueous ink [0002]), a dye can be used in place of a pigment as a colorant (coloring material [0053]), for the purpose of providing the desired physical features of the dye.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have used a dye in place of the pigment in the water-based ink of the conflicting claims, in order to provide the desired physical features of the dye, as taught by Nagai.
Regarding claim 6, the range of 0.5% by mass to 5.0% by mass of the acidic preservative relative to a total mass of the water-based ink of the conflicting claim 7, overlaps the range of 0.3% by mass to 6.0% of the presently examined claim.
Regarding claim 9, although the conflicting claims are silent regarding a content of the surfactant of the conflicting claim 8, Nagai teaches that a content of the surfactant in the water-based ink is 1.0 % by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (0.5 wt.% +0.5 wt%, surfactant [0212]), which is within the presently examined range of 0.05% by mass to 3.0% by mass, for the purpose of reducing undesired bleeding on the boundary of colors, resulting in a reduction of blurring of printed letters ([0143]).
Regarding claim 11, although the conflicting claims are silent regarding a content of the penetrant of the conflicting claim 10, Nagai teaches that a content of the penetrant in the water-based ink (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0212, 0153]), is 3% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink [0212]), which is within the presently examined range of 1.0% by mass to 10.0% mass, for the purpose of enhancing wettability of printing heads and permeability of the substrate to be printed ([0153]).
Regarding claim 13, the conflicting claim 12 recites an amount of the acidic preservative and an amount of the surfactant that satisfy both Conditions (X1) and (X2) of the presently examined claim, in that the conflicting range of 0.5 to 50 overlaps the presently examined ranges of 1 to 55 (X1), and 1 to 60 (X2), but fails to separate the acidic preservative group of conflicting claim 3, into a first subgroup of polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid and polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt for Condition (X1), and a second subgroup of dehydroacetic acid and dehydroacetate for Condition (X2).
However, Nagai teaches that a dehydroacetate is used as an acidic preservative by itself (sodium dehydroacetate [0212]) where the dehydroacetate is a salt of dehydroacetic acid, for the purpose of providing the desired antiseptic and antifungal properties ([0159]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have separated the acidic preservative group of species in the conflicting claim 3, into a first subgroup of polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid and polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt to further limit the acidic preservative group in the conflicting claim 12, to satisfy Condition (X1) of the presently examined claim, and a second subgroup of dehydroacetic acid and dehydroacetate to further limit the acidic preservative group in the conflicting claim 12, to satisfy Condition (X2) of the presently examined claim, such that at least the Condition (X2) of the presently examined claim, where the acidic preservative comprises at least a dehydroacetate, is satisfied in order to obtain the desired antiseptic and antifungal properties, as taught by Nagai.
Regarding claim 14, the conflicting claim 13 recites an amount of the acidic preservative and an amount of the penetrant that satisfy both Conditions (Y1) and (Y2) of the presently examined claim, in that the conflicting range of 0.1 to 5 is within the presently examined ranges of 0.1 to 10 (Y1), and 0.02 to 6 (Y2), but fails to separate the acidic preservative group of species in the conflicting claim 3, into a subgroup of polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid and polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt for Condition (Y1), and a subgroup of dehydroacetic acid and dehydroacetate for Condition (Y2).
. However, Nagai teaches that a dehydroacetate is used as an acidic preservative by itself (sodium dehydroacetate [0212]) where the dehydroacetate is a salt of dehydroacetic acid, for the purpose of providing the desired antiseptic and antifungal properties ([0159]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have separated the acidic preservative group of species in the conflicting claim 3, into a first subgroup of polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid and polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt to further limit the acidic preservative group in the conflicting claim 12, to satisfy Condition (Y1) of the presently examined claim, and a second subgroup of dehydroacetic acid and dehydroacetate to further limit the acidic preservative group in the conflicting claim 12, to satisfy Condition (Y2) of the presently examined claim, such that at least the Condition (Y2) of the presently examined claim, where the acidic preservative comprises at least a dehydroacetate, is satisfied in order to obtain the desired antiseptic and antifungal properties, as taught by Nagai.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-18 of copending Application No.18/146,524 (reference application) in view of Nagai, as applied to claims 1-6, 8-19 above, and further in view of Nakayama (US 6,420,091).
Although the conflicting claims, as modified by Nagai, are silent regarding a total content of dehydroacetic acid and dehydroacetate in the water-based ink that is 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink, Nagai provides an example of a total content of the dehydroacetate of 0.2% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (no mention of a dehydroacetic acid such that a content of the dehydroacetic acid is 0% by mass [0212]) which is just below the lower limit of the presently examined range of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass, and which is merely exemplary.
Nakayama teaches that a total content of dehydroacetate can be increased to an upper limit of 2.0 wt% (preservative, sodium dehydroacetate, col 23, lines 60-65) relative to a total mass of a water-based solution (water-soluble … protective agent in the surface-finishing solution, col 23, lines 40-45, no mention of a dehydroacetic acid such that a content of the dehydroacetic acid is 0% by mass), which is within the presently examined range of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass, for the purpose of improving the preservative protection (protective agent … may contain a preservative, col 23, lines 60-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have increased the total content of the dehydroacetate and dehydroacetic acid in the water-based ink of the conflicting claims, as modified by Nagai, from 0.2% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink, to one that is within a range of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass, in order to improve the preservative protection, as taught by Nakayama, and hence to have included a total content of the dehydroacetate and the dehydroacetic acid of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass, relative to a total mass of the water-based ink, in the conflicting claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a/1,2) as being anticipated by Nagai (US 2002/0135650).
Regarding claims 1-3, Nagai teaches a water-based ink (aqueous ink [0002]) comprising: a dye ([0212]), water (balance [0212]); an acidic preservative comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of sodium dehydroacetate ([0212], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is a dehydroacetate, and sodium sorbate ([0159]) which is a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt; a surfactant ([0212]) and a penetrant (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0212], penetrating agent [0153]).
Regarding claim 4, Nagai teaches that the sorbate comprises sodium sorbate [0159]).
Regarding claim 5, Nagai teaches that the dehydroacetate is sodium dehydroacetate ([0212, 0159]).
Regarding claim 6, Nagai teaches that the compound of formula (1) ([0212, 0066]) acts as an antioxidant ([0066]) which is a preservative that is acidic due to the sulfonic acid groups ([0066]). Accordingly, Nagai teaches that an amount A of the acidic preservative in the water-based ink, is 3.2 % by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (3 wt% of compound of formula (1) + 0.2 wt% of sodium dehydroacetate [0212]), which is within the claimed range of 0.3% by mass to 6.0% by mass.
Regarding claim 8, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink further comprises a surfactant ([0212]) that is an acetylene-based surfactant (acetylenic glycol-based surfactant [0143]).
Regarding claim 9, Nagai teaches that a content of the surfactant in the water-based ink is 1.0 % by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (0.5 wt.% +0.5 wt%, surfactant [0212]) which is within the claimed range of 0.05% by mass to 3.0% by mass.
Regarding claims 10, 12, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink further comprises a penetrant (penetrating agent [0153]) which comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of 1,2-hexanediol (improving the dissolution [0150]) which is an alkylene diol, and triethylene glycol-n-butyl ether (BTG) (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0153]) which is a glycol ether compound.
Regarding claim 11, Nagai teaches that an amount of the penetrant (penetrating agent [0153]) comprising triethylene glycol-n-butyl ether (BTG) (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0212, 0153]) in the water-based ink, is 3% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0212]) , which is within the claimed range of 1.0% by mass to 10.0% mass.
Regarding claims 6, 13, Nagai teaches that the compound of formula (1) ([0212, 0066]) acts as an antioxidant ([0066]) which is a preservative that is acidic due to the sulfonic acid groups ([0066]). Accordingly, Nagai teaches that an amount A2 of the acidic preservative comprising a dehydroacetate in the water-based ink, is 3.2 % by mass, relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (3 wt% of compound of formula (1) + 0.2 wt% of sodium dehydroacetate [0212]) which is within the claimed range of 0.3% by mass to 6.0% by mass.
In addition, Nagai teaches that an amount B of the surfactant in the water-based ink is 1.0 % by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (0.5 wt.% +0.5 wt%, surfactant [0212]), such that amount A2 and amount B satisfy Condition (X2) of Applicant in that the ratio A2/B = 3.2/1.0 = 3.2 which is within the claimed range of 1 to 60.
Regarding claims 6, 14, Nagai teaches that the compound of formula (1) ([0212, 0066]) acts as an antioxidant ([0066]) which is a preservative that is acidic due to the sulfonic acid groups ([0066]). Accordingly, Nagai teaches that an amount A2 of the acidic preservative comprising a dehydroacetate in the water-based ink, is 3.2 % by mass, relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (3 wt% of compound of formula (1) + 0.2 wt% of sodium dehydroacetate [0212]) which is within the claimed range of 0.3% by mass to 6.0% by mass.
In addition, Nagai teaches that an amount C of the penetrant (penetrating agent [0153]) comprising triethylene glycol-n-butyl ether (BTG) (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0212, 0153]) in the water-based ink, is 3% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink ([0212]), such that amount A2 and amount C satisfy Condition (Y2) of Applicant in that the ratio A2/C = 3.2/3 = 1.1, which is within the claimed range of 0.02 to 6.
Regarding claim 15, Nagai teaches that the surfactant comprises an acetylene-based surfactant (acetylenic glycol-based surfactant [0143]), the penetrant (penetrating agent [0153]) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of 1,2-hexanediol (improving the dissolution [0150]) which is an alkylene diol, and triethylene glycol-n-butyl ether (BTG) (triethylene glycol monobutyl ether [0153]), and the acidic preservative comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of sodium dehydroacetate ([0212], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is a dehydroacetate and sodium sorbate ([0159]) which is a polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt.
Regarding claim 16, Nagai teaches that the polyvalent unsaturated fatty acid salt is a sorbate ([0159]).
Regarding claim 17, Nagai teaches that the water-based ink is suitable for inkjet recording ([0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Nagai teaches a printed recording medium (inkjet recording [0016]) comprising: a recording medium (plain paper [0016]); and the water-based ink printed on the recording medium (printing on plain paper [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Nagai teaches an ink cartridge (recording liquid cartridge [0065]) comprising the water-based ink stored therein (recording liquid [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai, as applied to claims 1-6, 8-19 above, and further in view of Nakayama (US 6,420,091).
Nagai teaches the water-based ink comprising a dye; water; an acidic preservative; a surfactant and a penetrant, as described above.
In addition, Nagai teaches that the acidic preservative comprises a dehydroacetate (sodium dehydroacetate [0212], antiseptic or antifungal [0159]) which is a salt of dehydroacetic acid. Nagai provides an example of a total content of the dehydroacetate of 0.2% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink (no mention of a dehydroacetic acid such that a total content of dehydroacetic acid is 0% [0212]) which is outside the claimed range of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass ,and fails to teach a higher % by mass of the dehydroacetate.
However, the 0.2% by mass of the dehydroacetate relative to a total mass of the water-based ink in the example of Nagai ([021]) is just below the claimed lower limit of 1.0% by mass, and is merely exemplary.
Nakayama teaches that a content of dehydroacetate can be increased to an upper limit of 2.0 wt% (preservative, sodium dehydroacetate, col 23, lines 60-65, no mention of a dehydroacetic acid such that a total content of dehydroacetic acid is 0%) relative to a total mass of a water-based solution (water-soluble … protective agent in the surface-finishing solution, col 23, lines 40-45), which is within the claimed range of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass, for the purpose of improving the preservative protection (protective agent … may contain a preservative, col 23, lines 60-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have increased the total content of the dehydroacetate and dehydroacetic acid in the water-based ink of Nagai, from 0.2% by mass relative to a total mass of the water-based ink, to one that is within a range of 1.0% by mass to 5.0% by mass, in order to improve the preservative protection, as taught by Nakayama.
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782