DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 16, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art refence.
Note that although the Examiner still believes that a local UE (remote UE to the network) inherently receives its ID in a message from the network for identifying the UE, to avoid the same argument(s), a new reference is applied as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is recites the limitation "the third identifier" in three. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbidge et al. (US 2018/0213577 A1) in view of Baghel et al. (US 2017/0111754 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0287689 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Burbidge discloses a communication path switching method, performed by a first terminal or a chip of the first terminal (106), comprising: receiving a first radio resource control (RRC) connection reconfiguration message from a first network device (102) (paragraph [0062]; [0150]-[0152]; [0228]; [0242]-[0244]; [0271]; [0280]-[0283]; [0287]; and etc., illustrating the reception by remote UE RRC reconfiguration message from eNB), wherein the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises a second identifier, and first indication information, the first indication information includes a request for the first terminal to perform communication path switching, the second identifier identifies a second terminal (104a), and the second terminal is a target terminal for the communication path switching (paragraph [0063]; [0084]-[0089]; [0150]-[0151]; [0228]; [0242]-[0244]; [0271]; [0280]-[0284]; [0287]-[0288]; and so on, the RRC connection reconfiguration includes remote relay UE ID, and request to switch path or bearer or link); and sending a first message to the second terminal, wherein the first message comprises a first identifier (figs. 11-12; paragraph [0121]; [0269]-[0270]; and so on, sending by the remote UE a message including the remote UE ID).
Burbidge does not explicitly disclose the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises the first identifier, the first identifier identifies the first terminal, and the first identifier is a local identification (ID).
Baghel teaches the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises the first identifier, the first identifier identifies the first terminal (e.g. figs. 7 and 9; paragraph [0090]; [0071]; [0076]; [0083]; and so on).
Baghel doesn’t explicitly teach that the first identifier is a local identification (ID).
Lee teaches the first identifier is a local identification (ID) (figs. 10-11; paragraph [0086]; [0111]-[0112]; [0124]-[0126]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises the first identifier, the first identifier identifies the first terminal, and the first identifier is a local identification (ID) as taught by Baghel and Lee into Burbidge in order to improve reliability and efficiency of communication, and to increase security of a device.
Regarding claim 10, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding a communication apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 11, Burbidge further discloses comprising: sending a second message to the first network device, wherein the second message comprises at least one second candidate identifier, each of the at least one second candidate identifier identifies a second candidate terminal, and the second candidate terminal is a candidate target terminal for the communication path switching of the first terminal (figs. 11-13; paragraph [0148]; [0136]; [0167]-[0170]; [0286]-[0287]).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Burbidge discloses wherein sending the first message to the second terminal enables the second terminal to distinguish the first terminal on a relay communication link based on the second terminal using the UE ID (figs. 11-12; paragraph [0121]-[0122]; [0152]; and so on).
Burbidge doesn’t explicitly disclose the UE ID is local ID.
Lee teaches the UE ID is local ID (figs. 10-11; paragraph [0086]; [0111]-[0112]; [0124]-[0126]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the UE ID is local ID as taught by Lee into Burbidge in order to increase security of a device.
Regarding claim 4, Burbidge discloses a communication path switching method, performed by a first network device or a chip of the first network device comprising: receiving a first message from a first terminal, wherein the first message comprises at least one second candidate identifier, the second candidate identifier identifies a second candidate terminal, and the second candidate terminal is a candidate target terminal for communication path switching of the first terminal (e.g. figs. 11-13; paragraph [0148]; [0136]; [0167]-[0170]; [0286]-[0287]; and so on); and sending a first radio resource control (RRC) connection reconfiguration message to the first terminal (paragraph [0062]; [0150]-[0152]; [0228]; [0242]-[0244]; [0271]; [0280]-[0283]; [0287]; and etc.), wherein the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises a second identifier, and first indication information, the first indication information includes a request for the first terminal to perform communication path switching, the second identifier identifies a second terminal, and the second terminal is a target terminal for the communication path switching of the first terminal (paragraph [0150]-[0151]; [0228]; [0242]-[0244]; [0271]; [0280]-[0284]; [0287]-[0288]; and so on).
Burbidge does not explicitly disclose the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises the first identifier, the first identifier identifies the first terminal, and the first identifier is a local identification (ID).
Baghel teaches the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises the first identifier, the first identifier identifies the first terminal (e.g. figs. 7 and 9; paragraph [0090]; [0071]; [0076]; [0083]; and so on).
Baghel doesn’t explicitly teach that the first identifier is a local identification (ID).
Lee teaches the first identifier is a local identification (ID) (figs. 10-11; paragraph [0086]; [0111]-[0112]; [0124]-[0126]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first RRC connection reconfiguration message comprises the first identifier, the first identifier identifies the first terminal, and the first identifier is a local identification (ID) as taught by Baghel and Lee into Burbidge in order to improve reliability and efficiency of communication, and to increase security of a device.
Regarding claim 5, Burbidge discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining the second identifier from the at least one second candidate identifier (e.g. figs. 11-13).
Regarding claim 6, Burbidge further discloses comprising: sending a second message to the second terminal, wherein the second message comprises configuration information of a first bearer, the configuration information of the first bearer is usable by the second terminal to set up the first bearer, and the first bearer comprises a first radio bearer for transmitting signaling and data of the first terminal between the second terminal and the first terminal, and a second radio bearer for transmitting signaling and data of the first terminal between the second terminal and the first network device (figs. 9, 11-13; paragraph [0044]; [0064]-[0068]; [0079]-[0084]; [0087]-[0089];[0104]; [0107]-[0108]; [0214]; [0224]-[0225]; [0229]; [0233]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Burbidge discloses wherein the second message further comprises the first identifier (e.g. figs. 11-13).
Regarding claim 8, Burbidge discloses wherein the second message further comprises second indication information, and the second indication information indicates that the second terminal is the target terminal for the communication path switching of the first terminal (e.g. figs. 11-13; paragraph [0150]); and the first network device receives a third identifier from the second terminal (e.g. figs. 11-13; paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 13, Burbidge discloses wherein receiving the first RRC connection reconfiguration message occurs after sending the second message (see figs. 11-13).
Regarding claim 14, Burbidge further discloses comprising: receiving measurement configuration information, wherein the measurement configuration information is usable by the first terminal to perform a channel quality measurement (figs. 11-13).
Regarding claim 15, Burbidge further discloses comprising: performing a discovery process in response to satisfaction of a trigger condition, wherein the discovery process is configured to discover the second terminal (figs. 11-13; paragraph [0117]-[0126]; [0145]-[0148]; [0155]-[0158], performing discovery process).
Regarding claim 16, Burbidge discloses wherein the discovery process further comprises: obtaining a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the second terminal (fig. 11; paragraph [0063]; [0085]-[0086]; [0100]; [0118]-[0121]; [0218]; 242]; [0245]; [0259]; [0284]; [0288]); obtaining a cell identifier of the second terminal (fig. 11; paragraph [0121]; [0219]); and obtaining channel quality information between the first terminal and the second terminal using the measurement configuration information (figs. 11-12; paragraph [0120]; [0127]-[0129]; [0148]-[0149]; [0158]; [0161]; [0272]), and the method further comprises transmitting the C-RNTI, the cell identifier and the channel quality information to the first network device (e.g. figs. 11-12).
Regarding claim 17, Burbidge discloses wherein receiving the first RRC connection reconfiguration message is performed after transmitting the C-RNTI, the cell identifier and the channel quality information to the first network device (figs. 11-13; paragraph [0118]-[0130]; [0148]-[0151]; [0158]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 18, Burbidge discloses wherein receiving the first RRC connection reconfiguration message occurs after sending the second message (figs. 11-13; paragraph [0118]-[0130]; [0148]-[0151]; [0158]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 19, Burbidge discloses wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising: receiving measurement configuration information, wherein the measurement configuration information is usable by the first terminal to perform a channel quality measurement (figs. 11-13), performing a discovery process in response to satisfaction of a trigger condition, wherein the discover process is configured to discovery the second terminal (figs. 11-13; paragraph [0117]-[0126]; [0145]-[0148]; [0155]-[0158], performing discovery process).
Regarding claim 20, Burbidge discloses wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising: obtaining a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the second terminal (fig. 11; paragraph [0063]; [0085]-[0086]; [0100]; [0118]-[0121]; [0218]; 242]; [0245]; [0259]; [0284]; [0288]); obtaining a cell identifier of the second terminal (fig. 11; paragraph [0121]; [0219]); and obtaining channel quality information between the first terminal and the second terminal using the measurement configuration information (figs. 11-12; paragraph [0120]; [0127]-[0129]; [0148]-[0149]; [0158]; [0161]; [0272]), and transmitting the C-RNTI, the cell identifier and the channel quality information to the first network device prior to receiving the first RRC connection reconfiguration message (figs. 11-13; paragraph [0118]-[0130]; [0148]-[0151]; [0158]-[0164]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbidge in view of Baghel and Lee, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2019/0387446 A1).
Regarding claim 9, as applied above, Burbidge discloses the second identifier. However, Burbidge doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the second identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and the third identifier is a second local ID.
Xu teaches wherein the second identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (paragraph [0284]-[0285]; [0289]-[00290]; [0293]-[0294]; and so on), and the third identifier is a second local ID (e.g. paragraph [0267]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the second identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and the third identifier is a second local ID as taught by Xu into Burbidge in order to improve switching data communication between links.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461