DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed May 19, 2026. Claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 11, and 17 are directed to a vehicle instruction formation method, device and computer readable medium for speech instruction control in a vehicle. The claims recite limitations for obtaining target audio data collected by a microphone in a vehicle cabin; obtaining a first-type instruction, corresponding to an executable command performing on a target executable component in the vehicle cabin, based on target audio data collected in the vehicle cabin; obtaining lip motion information of in vehicle members at N positions in a vehicle cabin of the vehicle in a target time period, wherein the first-type instruction is obtained based on target audio data collected in the vehicle cabin wherein the lip motion information of the in-vehicle members is obtained, from a visual data stream acquired by a camera in the vehicle cabin, in accordance with when the first-type instruction being recognized from the target audio data, and the target time period corresponding to the first-type instruction in the audio data; matching the first-type instruction with the lip motion information of the in vehicle members in the N positions in the vehicle cabin; obtaining a target position of the N positions based on a matching result between the lip motion information of the in vehicle members the N positions and the first-type instruction, wherein the target position is a position of a target member of the members at the N positions in the vehicle cabin for which lip motion information matches the first-type instruction in the matching result; and sending indication information indicating to execute the first-type instruction on a target adjustable component in the target position in the vehicle cabin. The limitation for “obtaining target audio….” Is a data gathering step that can be achieved by a person listening to riders in a vehicle speaking. The feature for “obtaining a first-type instruction…” is a data gathering step that can be achieved by a person listening to people speak instructions or requests of the car riders that can acted on for device components. The feature for “obtaining lip motion information…” is a data gathering step that can be achieved by a person listening to people speak and observing mouth movements of persons at different location positions in a vehicle as they speak that have been captured. The feature for “the first instruction being recognized..” can be achieved by the person hearing what the people are speaking and understanding and recognizing any instructions that are spoken within a time period or interval. The feature for “matching…” can be achieved by the person corresponding the speech heard with the noted mouth movements from the different seat positions. The limitation for “obtaining….” Can be achieved by the person observing who speaks and where that speaker is located in the vehicle. The feature for “sending indication….to execute…” can be achieved by the person alerting the passengers that they will be performing the command/request of an adjustable component based on the uttered command/request by the observed position speaker. The recited limitations are directed a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic control device, camera, memory, processor, medium. and generic computer components. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited generic control device, camera, memory, processor, medium. and generic computer components amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, the elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as indicated with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the generic control device, camera, memory, processor, medium. and generic computer components to perform the various steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-15, and 18-20 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The limitations of the dependent claims are directed to mental processing and/or pen and paper steps of organizing or manipulating functions and commands for data gathering, observing lip motions, processing speech data and observing speakers in a vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zurek et al (US Patent Application Publication NO. 2019/0341044), hereinafter Zurek, in view of Joh (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0166683).
Zurek teaches a method and apparatus for using image data to aid voice recognition. Regarding claim 1, Zurek teaches a method performed by a control device for speech instruction control of a vehicle, comprising: obtaining target audio data collected by a microphone in the vehicle cabin [para 0053 -- The device also receives 704 a first acoustic signal, e.g., speech that is captured by one or both microphones 110, 112 of device 102, from the first individual that includes voice data for that individual. Likewise, the device 102 receives 706 a similar acoustic signal from the second individual, which includes voice data]; obtaining a first-type instruction corresponding to an executable command [para 0029 -- processing voice data includes identifying commands from speech. This type of processing is used, for example, when one wishes to give a verbal instruction or command, for instance, to the device 102; 0035; 0053 -- The device also receives 704 a first acoustic signal, e.g., speech that is captured by one or both microphones 110, 112 of device 102, from the first individual that includes voice data for that individual. Likewise, the device 102 receives 706 a similar acoustic signal from the second individual, which includes voice data]; obtaining lip motion information [para 0056 – image data of detected lip movement] of persons located in N positions in a vehicle cabin of the vehicle in a target time period [para 0039 –forward facing camera monitoring positions of passengers] , wherein the first-type instruction is obtained, from a visual data stream acquired by a camera [cameras 106 and 108] in the vehicle cabin based on target audio data collected in the vehicle cabin, the lip motion information of the persons is obtained when the first-type instruction is recognized from the target audio data, and the target time period corresponding to the first-type instruction in the audio data [para 0053-0056]; matching the first-type instruction with the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions in the vehicle cabin [para 0057 -- the device 102 associates the first voice data with the first individual by correlating the voice data to the first individual's lip movement. From the image data, the device 102 identifies lip movement that indicates speech. From the acoustic signal, the device 102 identifies the beginning of the voice data and its duration. The device 102 then determines that the first individual began speaking when the voice data was first received and continued speaking until the voice data within the first acoustic signal ended. If the voice data and the lip movement of only one individual are synchronized, then the device 102 associates that individual with the voice data. Using one or more of the aforementioned association methods, the device 102 similarly determines 710 that voice data in the second acoustic signal (or second voice data) originated from the second individual]; obtaining a target position based on a matching result between the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions and the first-type instruction, wherein the target position is a position of a target person in the vehicle cabin whose lip motion information matches the first-type instruction in the matching result [para 0057 -- the device 102 associates the first voice data with the first individual by correlating the voice data to the first individual's lip movement. From the image data, the device 102 identifies lip movement that indicates speech. From the acoustic signal, the device 102 identifies the beginning of the voice data and its duration. The device 102 then determines that the first individual began speaking when the voice data was first received and continued speaking until the voice data within the first acoustic signal ended. If the voice data and the lip movement of only one individual are synchronized, then the device 102 associates that individual with the voice data. Using one or more of the aforementioned association methods, the device 102 similarly determines 710 that voice data in the second acoustic signal (or second voice data)originated from the second individual]; and sending an indication for executing the first-type instruction [para 0029; 0035; 0051-0052; 0058; 0065-0067 --The voice recognition module 206 includes the elements needed to process voice data by recognizing words. Voice recognition, as used herein, refers to the ability of hardware and/or software to interpret speech. In one embodiment, processing voice data includes converting speech to text. This type of processing is used, for example, when one is dictating an e-mail. In another embodiment, processing voice data includes identifying commands from speech]. Zurek teaches the system can be utilized in a vehicle environment with multiple speakers [para 0036-0039], but fails to the details of the processing and executing commands for in-vehicle members on target adjustable components at the N target positions. In a similar field of endeavor, Joh teaches vehicle control apparatus and method using speech recognition and provides for detecting, recognizing and performing commands for carrying out hands-free speech based on the location and recognized speech of the vehicle member [para 0044; 0056-0059] for controlling adjustable components [para 0074-0082 --controlling actions of air conditioning, heating, ventilation sheets, windows, or the like based on the location of a passenger…When a driver utters: “open a window”, the processor 180 opens the window positioned on the left side of the driver seat. When a passenger at the rear seat of the driver seat enters a voice command saying: “open a window”, the processor 180 opens the window of the left side at the rear seat]. Joh teaches the invention is advantageous in preventing incorrect services that the vehicle passengers do not want [para 0005]. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized the advantages of implementing the recognizing and performing commands based on the location and recognized speech of the vehicle member suggested by Joh, in the system of Zurek, for the purpose of preventing incorrect services that the vehicle passengers do not want, as suggested by Joh, and thereby improving and enhancing the user’s interaction with the system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches obtaining a first-type instruction and lip motion information comprises: obtaining the target audio data in the vehicle cabin; obtaining image data in the vehicle cabin when recognizing that the target audio data comprises the first-type instruction; and extracting the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions in the vehicle cabin from the image data in the vehicle cabin [para 0039; 0057-0061 -- the device 102 determines from lip movement identified in captured image data which individual of a group of individuals is speaking. The device 102 further determines, using facial-recognition techniques, for example, the identity of the speaker from the captured image data. Based on the speaker's identify, the device 102 selects a voice-recognition database to use for performing voice recognition while the identified speaker is speaking. The identified speaker, for instance, might have created a speech-recognition database during a previous speech-recognition training session with the device 102].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches extracting the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions comprises: extracting the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions in the vehicle cabin from the image data in the vehicle cabin when recognizing that multiple persons are in the vehicle cabin [para 0039; 0055-0058 -- the device 102 determines from lip movement identified in captured image data which individual of a group of individuals is speaking. The device 102 further determines, using facial-recognition techniques, for example, the identity of the speaker from the captured image data. Based on the speaker's identify, the device 102 selects a voice-recognition database to use for performing voice recognition while the identified speaker is speaking. The identified speaker, for instance, might have created a speech-recognition database during a previous speech-recognition training session with the device 102].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches obtaining the target position comprise: obtaining, based on the first-type instruction and the lip motion information of the N persons located in the vehicle cabin, a matching degree between lip motion information of a person in each of the N positions and the instruction information; identifying the target person as a person corresponding to lip motion information with a highest matching degree; and using a position of the target person as the target position [para 0039; 0057-0061 –correlates speech with lip movement data and facial recognition for positional info of speakers].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches the first-type instruction is a speech waveform sequence extracted from the audio data or text instruction information recognized based on the audio data [para 0056-0061 – voice recognition].
Regarding claims 6, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions in the vehicle cabin is image sequences of lip motion of the persons in the N positions in the vehicle cabin in the target time period [para 0039; 0057-0061 –correlates speech with lip movement data and facial recognition for positional info of speakers; Joh para 0056-0059].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches: generating a correspondence between the lip motion information of the persons in the vehicle cabin and the N positions, wherein the step of using a position of the target person as the target position comprises: determining, based on the correspondence between the lip motion information of the persons in the vehicle cabin and the N positions and based on position data provided by a sensor in the vehicle cabin, the position of the target person as the target position, data from a sensor in the vehicle [para 0039; 0055-0061 –correlates speech with lip movement data and facial recognition for positional info of speakers; Joh para 0056-0059].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches generating a correspondence between the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions and identities of the persons in the N positions, wherein the step of identifying the target person comprises: obtaining the target lip motion information with the highest matching degree; determining the target person based on the correspondence between the lip motion information of the persons in the N positions and the identities of the persons in the N positions [para 0039; 0055-0061 –correlates speech with lip movement data and facial recognition for positional info of speakers; Joh para 0056-0059].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches wherein the audio data in the vehicle cabin is obtained based on data collected by a plurality of microphones in the vehicle cabin; or the audio data in the vehicle cabin is obtained based on audio data collected by a microphone in a specified position area in the vehicle cabin [para 0021; 0028; 0053; 0055; Joh para 0056-0059].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zurek and Joh teaches the first-type instruction is a control instruction in the vehicle cabin [para 0029; 0035; 0051-0052; 0058; 0065-0067 --The voice recognition module 206 includes the elements needed to process voice data by recognizing words. Voice recognition, as used herein, refers to the ability of hardware and/or software to interpret speech. In one embodiment, processing voice data includes converting speech to text. This type of processing is used, for example, when one is dictating an e-mail. In another embodiment, processing voice data includes identifying commands from speech].
Claims 11-16 and 17-20 are rejected under similar rationale as claims 1-10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At page 11, Applicant argues Applicant's claimed method and system, including the express recitation of electronic devices for acquiring electronically recorded data in an automated system, unequivocally recite a technological improvement to systems such as the one described in Zurek - and not merely recite a "mental process" as alleged by the Office action. The Examiner notes, in evaluating applicant’s assertion that the invention recites a technological improvement, the specification is evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. If the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. In this instance, the specification merely asserts an improvement of accuracy of executing a speech instruction and reduce mis-operation or misidentification in a multi-person scenario in a vehicle [para 0005] and is set forth in a conclusory manner. Accordingly, the claimed invention does not provide a technological improvement and the rejections under 35 USC 101 are maintained.
At page 14, Applicant argues Zurek does not even remotely contemplate Applicant's claimed "matching" (synchronized comparison of the recognized "first-type instruction" with captured lip motion information of each of the in-vehicle members) operation so as to identify a target position at which a first-type instruction is to be executed. Applicant argues Zurek does not describe an aspect of Applicant's claimed invention that a target time period is determined in accordance with recognizing a first-type instruction in the received audio data stream, wherein the target time period is used to guide the capture and analysis of the lip motion information of the vehicle occupants (to match the recognized first-type instruction with a position in the vehicle of the command source).
At page 15, Applicant argues neither Zurek NOR Joh describes Applicant's claimed invention which is directed to a specific way in which vehicle occupant position-resolved commands are generated. In that regard neither Zurek NOR Joh describes Applicant's claimed manner of establishing a position of a recognized command by carrying out a temporal matching operation of the recognized command by using lip motion of each vehicle occupant at the time the recognized command was uttered/received/detected.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Accordingly, as indicated in the rejection above, the combination of the teachings of Zurek and Joh provided adequate support for the invention as claimed. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANGELA A. ARMSTRONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2659
/ANGELA A ARMSTRONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659