DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, corresponding to claims 1-7 in the reply filed on November 3rd, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the nearly every reference numeral in the drawing does not correspond to the reference numeral recited in the specification. Applicant may amend the numerals in the drawings or amend the numerals in the specification such that said numerals correspond with one another. Should the Applicant amend the drawings, then corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the exit conveyor to the return conveyor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to depend claim 4 from claim 3. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korenev (U.S. Patent No. 6,617,596) in view of Stirling (UK Patent Application No. GB 2,344,503).
Concerning claims 1 & 2, Korenev discloses a product sterilization system (column 1, lines 13-16) comprising:
A source of electron beam-rays (10) producing a field of electron beam-rays (i.e., ebeam) in a treatment zone (Figure 1);
A conveyance (32) delivering products (30) to the treatment zone for irradiation by the field of ebeam-rays;
A first X-ray detection subsystem (40b) in the treatment zone between the products (30) and the source of ebeam-rays (Figure 1);
A second X-ray detection subsystem (40a) in the treatment zone behind the products (30); and
A controller subsystem responsive to the first X-ray detection subsystem (40b) and the second X-ray detection subsystem (40a) and configured to determine an X-ray dose absorbed by the products (column 2, lines 5-20). Note that Korenev discloses that subsystems (40b & 40a) can be utilized to detect X-rays (column 6, lines 18-28).
Although the source (10) can be utilized and converted into X-rays (column 1, lines 30-38), and the entirety of the apparatus will be necessarily found in a room, which can be construed as a vault; Korenev does not specifically disclose that the system is found in a vault, or that the source is an X-ray source. Stirling discloses a product sterilization system (Abstract) that includes a conveyance (20) for delivering products (23) to a treatment zone (21), a vault (Figures 5 & 11), and a source of X-rays (numeral 19; page 8, lines 23-28) in the vault producing a field of X-rays in the treatment zone (Figures 5 & 11). Concerning claim 2, Stirling discloses that the source of X-rays includes an electron accelerator and a target producing X-rays in response to electrons emitted by the electron accelerator (page 8, lines 23-30). The reference discloses that the source of X-rays are provided because said source is a successful source for the sterilization of the products (page 1, lines 15-20), and that the vault is provided in order to prevent the X-rays from escaping the treatment zone (Abstract). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an X-ray source (as stated in Stirling) and a vault in Korenev in order to successfully sterilize products transported on the conveyor and prevent the X-rays from escaping the treatment zone as exemplified by Stirling.
Therefore, claim 1 is not patentable over Korenev in view of Stirling.
Regarding claim 3, Korenev does not appear to disclose a return conveyor between an entrance and exit conveyor. Nonetheless, Stirling continues to disclose that the conveyance includes a vault entrance conveyor, a vault exit conveyor, and a return conveyor between the entrance conveyor and the exit conveyor configured to return products to the treatment zone (Figures 5, 8, 9 and 11). The reference discloses that the return conveyor between the entrance and exit conveyor allow that product to return to the treatment zone for further treatment if necessary (page 9, line 20 to page 10, line 28). Thus, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a return conveyor between an entrance and exit conveyor of a vault in Korenev in order to allow the product to return to the treatment zone for further treatment if necessary as exemplified by Stirling as well.
As such, claim 3 is not patentable over Korenev in view of Stirling as well.
Regarding claim 7, the system of Korenev is capable of treating palletized products (Figure 1).
Thus, claim 7 is also not patentable over Korenev in view of Stirling.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korenev (U.S. Patent No. 6,617,596) in view of Stirling (UK Patent Application No. GB 2,344,503) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Larsen, III et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0082954).
Korenev is relied upon as set forth above. Korenev does not appear to disclose that the detectors are ion chamber detectors. Larsen discloses systems and methods for radiation detection (Abstract). The reference continues to disclose that ion chamber detectors are a particularly useful and more accurate way to measure the radiation dose of X-rays (paragraph 37). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize ion chamber detectors as the detectors in Korenev in order to more accurately measure the radiation dosage of X-rays as exemplified by Larsen.
Therefore, claims 5 and 6 are not patentable over Korenev in view of Stirling and Larsen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Should the Applicant overcome the 112(b) rejection noted above, then claim 4 would be merely objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799