DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on January 20, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 10-11, have been amended.
Claim 20 has been canceled.
Claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 20, 2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-12, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagargadde et al. (Patent No. US 10,944,758), hereinafter Nagargadde; in view of Sharma et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0274783), hereinafter Sharma; and further in view of Egan (Pub. No. US 2022/0303300).
Claim 1. Nagargadde discloses a method for initiating a mitigation action based on active inspection of a cloud computing environment (See Col. 1 lines 26-27; monitoring and controlling access between computer resources. See Col. 6 lines 39-40; recommendations for remediating vulnerabilities associated with the possible access), comprising:
receiving at least one network path to access a resource, wherein the resource is a cloud entity deployed in the cloud computing environment, and potentially accessible from a network which is external to the cloud computing environment (See Fig. 4 and Col. 18 lines 2-20; at block 402 at least one processor of a system (e.g., computer system 226 of FIG. 2) may receive network configuration data (e.g., from network configuration manager 218 of FIG. 2 (external to the cloud computing environment)). The network configuration data may indicate any network configuration between computer resources, including network configuration between computing resources and data resources in a cloud (e.g., cloud 204 of FIG. 2)... See Col. 2 lines 19-36; monitoring and reporting of computing resource access may be improved through automation and combining network connectivity information and IAM configurations to identify available connectivity/configurations (network path) between resources and to manage changes to available connectivity and access. See Col. 2 lines 13-14; network connectivity may refer to a network path between the computing and data resource);
actively inspecting the at least one network path to determine if the resource is accessible through the at least one network path from a network external to the cloud computing environment (See Col. 2 lines 57-67 and Col. 3 lines 1-14; A network configuration manager may execute reachability tests. Such tests may identify used network connectivity and/or possible network configurations between like computer resources … Active network scanners and flow logs may include information which indicates what an application is doing (e.g., what resources are being accessed) and which network paths are being used).
Nagargadde doesn’t explicitly disclose receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path; generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource; generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot; generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display; and initiating a mitigation action based on the response, in response to receiving an input based on the rendered action graphic element.
However, Sharma discloses:
receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path (See Parag. [0109] and Fig. 9; performing inline monitoring of network access between one or more users each with an associated user device executing an agent application, the Internet, and one or more cloud applications and private applications accessible via lightweight connectors (step 821) … obtaining network metrics from the cloud system related to network performance of the specific application (step 823); and. See also Parag. [0110]);
generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource; generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot (See Parag. [0109-0119] and Fig. 9; providing the device and application metrics and the network metrics to a logging and analytics system for quantifying digital user experience of the specific application … With the various device, application, and network-related metrics, such as in the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to aggregate these metrics to provide a User Experience (UEX) score … Drilldown reporting capabilities via the GUI allow administrators to identify where there is a problem. For example, administrators can set alerts when a UEX score falls below a threshold. UEX scores for common applications across organizations can be used for peer comparisons and isolating common application issues affecting multiple organizations … The user experience score captures digital experience and is based on a given application with associated device, application, and network-related metrics … FIGS. 11-24 are various screenshots of a Graphical User Interface (GUI) associated with the analysis service to display, report, and provide a drill down of the User Experience (UEX) scores … FIG. 15 is a GUI of a global dashboard for the cloud system 800. Here, the aggregate UEX score is displayed (all users). There is a listing of application alerts (e.g., threshold crossings), mobile devices, desktop devices, etc. A map displays the global UEX score using color codes for visual indication of locations with good, okay, and poor UEX scores. Again, this visualization can be used for drill down and remediation … FIG. 20 is a GUI of a network dashboard. This provides a network availability metric similar to the UEX score, a total number of network devices, network device health score which can be similar to the UEX score providing a view of the average network device health, and a total network users. The network dashboard can also include a network path trace criteria which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). Also, the network dashboard can include a real-time path trace view that illustrates a selected user to a selected application where real-time monitoring occurs which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). For example, the availability metric can be 100% is GREEN, <100% is RED, Response Time: >5 sec is RED, 3-5 sec is AMBER, <3 sec is GREEN. See also Parag. [0120]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde, to include receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path, generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource, and generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot, as taught by Sharma. This would be convenient for drill down and remediation (Sharma, Parag. [0117]).
Egan discloses:
generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display (See Parag. [0063]; FIG. 4 is a screenshot view generated by the first embodiment system. As shown in FIG. 4, screenshot 400 includes interface 402 displayed on a user's computer (e.g., client sub-system 110), where interface 402 depicts an example of a threat, the associated risk score and certainty factor for the threat, and corresponding remediation actions available for selection by the user); and
initiating a mitigation action based on the response, in response to receiving an input based on the rendered action graphic element (See Parag. [0062-0063]; potential remediation actions are displayed to a user and performed only in response to a user selection via a user interface. Remediation mod 370 determines that remediation is required. As a result, remediation mod 370 displays four possible remediation actions for user selection: (i) install network security software, (ii) close network port, (iii) disable all network connections, and (iv) notify network security team).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde in view of Sharma, to include generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display, and initiating a mitigation action, as taught by Egan. This would be convenient for assessing and remediating risk for security threat events (Egan, Parag. [0001]).
Claim 2. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 1,
Nagargadde further discloses the method further comprising:
generating an electronic document including a plurality of graphic elements, each graphic element corresponding to an active inspection performed on a unique network path (See Col. 15 lines 58-67 and Col, 16 lines 1-11; the computer system may identify existing network connectivity, possible network configurations, and IAM-based access and/or resource-specific permissions, and may generate one or more graphs. One graph may include a network connectivity graph showing one or more network paths, which may indicate connectivity/configurations between a computing resource and a data resource. Another graph may indicate JAM connectivity/configurations. JAM connectivity graph may indicate that a computing resource instance may launch lambda functions and/or that a lambda function has a role permitted to lest and receive objects from a data resource. The network connectivity and JAM graphs may be combined to show used network connectivity and JAM permissions, and also possible network configurations and JAM permissions which may be used and/or are not being used, including complex connections between resources).
Claim 6. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 1,
Egan further discloses the method further comprising:
generating the action graphic element further in response to receiving a user input indicating a selection of the graphic element (See Parag. [0063]; 0063] FIG. 4 is a screenshot view generated by the first embodiment system. As shown in FIG. 4, screenshot 400 includes interface 402 displayed on a user's computer (e.g., client sub-system 110), where interface 402 depicts an example of a threat, the associated risk score and certainty factor for the threat, and corresponding remediation actions available for selection by the user… Remediation mod 370 determines that remediation is required. As a result, remediation mod 370 displays four possible remediation actions for user selection: (i) install network security software, (ii) close network port, (iii) disable all network connections, and (iv) notify network security team).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde, to include generating the action graphic element in response to receiving a user input indicating a selection of the graphic element, as taught by Egan. This would be convenient for assessing and remediating risk for security threat events (Egan, Parag. [0001]).
Claim 7. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 1,
Nagargadde further discloses the method further comprising:
generating the graphic element to include any one of: a resource descriptor, a network descriptor, and a combination thereof (See Col. 6 lines 24-36; the computer system may generate one or more graphical representations of network configurations and vulnerabilities. For example, if a computing resource instance A accesses a computing resource instance B, and computing resource instance B has access to a database resource, the computer system may identify that the computing resource instance A may be able to access the database resource through computing resource instance B even if such access has not yet occurred or has not occurred a sufficient number of times. The computer system may determine that the computing resource instance A may access the database resource directly even if the access has not occurred a sufficient number of times or at all (resource descriptor)).
Claim 8. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 1,
Egan further discloses the method further comprising:
generating the mitigation action to include any one of: generating an alert, generating an alert severity, updating an alert severity from a first value to a second value, revoking network access to the resource, revoking network access from the resource, revoking service account access associated with the resource, and any combination thereof (See Remediation mod 370 determines that remediation is required. As a result, remediation mod 370 displays four possible remediation actions for user selection: (i) install network security software, (ii) close network port, (iii) disable all network connections, and (iv) notify network security team).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde, to include generating the mitigation action to include generating an alert, as taught by Egan. This would be convenient for assessing and remediating risk for security threat events (Egan, Parag. [0001]).
Claim 9. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 1,
Nagargadde further discloses the method further comprising:
rendering a plurality of action graphic elements, each corresponding to the response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path (See Fig. 4 and Col. 19 lines 27-35; at block 416, the at least one processor may generate a first graphical representation of the network configuration. The graphical representation may include indications of the permission levels, the computer resources, related actions, etc. The graphical representation may limit indications of network configurations and permissions to show those associated with a possible vulnerability. The graphical representation may be presented on the device or sent to another device for presentation. See Col. 6 lines 24-36).
Claim 10. Nagargadde discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions for causing a processing circuitry to execute a process (See Fig. 2), the process comprising:
receiving at least one network path to access a resource, wherein the resource is a cloud entity deployed in the cloud computing environment, and potentially accessible from a network which is external to the cloud computing environment (See Fig. 4 and Col. 18 lines 2-20; at block 402 at least one processor of a system (e.g., computer system 226 of FIG. 2) may receive network configuration data (e.g., from network configuration manager 218 of FIG. 2 (external to the cloud computing environment)). The network configuration data may indicate any network configuration between computer resources, including network configuration between computing resources and data resources in a cloud (e.g., cloud 204 of FIG. 2)... See Col. 2 lines 19-36; monitoring and reporting of computing resource access may be improved through automation and combining network connectivity information and IAM configurations to identify available connectivity/configurations (network path) between resources and to manage changes to available connectivity and access. See Col. 2 lines 13-14; network connectivity may refer to a network path between the computing and data resource);
actively inspecting the at least one network path to determine if the resource is accessible through the at least one network path from a network external to the cloud computing environment (See Col. 2 lines 57-67 and Col. 3 lines 1-14; A network configuration manager may execute reachability tests. Such tests may identify used network connectivity and/or possible network configurations between like computer resources … Active network scanners and flow logs may include information which indicates what an application is doing (e.g., what resources are being accessed) and which network paths are being used);
Nagargadde doesn’t explicitly disclose receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path; generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource; generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot; generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display; and initiating a mitigation action based on the response, in response to receiving an input based on the rendered action graphic element.
However, Sharma discloses:
receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path (See Parag. [0109] and Fig. 9; performing inline monitoring of network access between one or more users each with an associated user device executing an agent application, the Internet, and one or more cloud applications and private applications accessible via lightweight connectors (step 821) … obtaining network metrics from the cloud system related to network performance of the specific application (step 823); and. See also Parag. [0110]);
generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource; generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot (See Parag. [0109-0119] and Fig. 9; providing the device and application metrics and the network metrics to a logging and analytics system for quantifying digital user experience of the specific application … With the various device, application, and network-related metrics, such as in the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to aggregate these metrics to provide a User Experience (UEX) score … Drilldown reporting capabilities via the GUI allow administrators to identify where there is a problem. For example, administrators can set alerts when a UEX score falls below a threshold. UEX scores for common applications across organizations can be used for peer comparisons and isolating common application issues affecting multiple organizations … The user experience score captures digital experience and is based on a given application with associated device, application, and network-related metrics … FIGS. 11-24 are various screenshots of a Graphical User Interface (GUI) associated with the analysis service to display, report, and provide a drill down of the User Experience (UEX) scores … FIG. 15 is a GUI of a global dashboard for the cloud system 800. Here, the aggregate UEX score is displayed (all users). There is a listing of application alerts (e.g., threshold crossings), mobile devices, desktop devices, etc. A map displays the global UEX score using color codes for visual indication of locations with good, okay, and poor UEX scores. Again, this visualization can be used for drill down and remediation … FIG. 20 is a GUI of a network dashboard. This provides a network availability metric similar to the UEX score, a total number of network devices, network device health score which can be similar to the UEX score providing a view of the average network device health, and a total network users. The network dashboard can also include a network path trace criteria which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). Also, the network dashboard can include a real-time path trace view that illustrates a selected user to a selected application where real-time monitoring occurs which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). For example, the availability metric can be 100% is GREEN, <100% is RED, Response Time: >5 sec is RED, 3-5 sec is AMBER, <3 sec is GREEN. See also Parag. [0120]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde, to include receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path, generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource, and generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot, as taught by Sharma. This would be convenient for drill down and remediation (Sharma, Parag. [0117]).
Egan discloses:
generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display (See Parag. [0063]; FIG. 4 is a screenshot view generated by the first embodiment system. As shown in FIG. 4, screenshot 400 includes interface 402 displayed on a user's computer (e.g., client sub-system 110), where interface 402 depicts an example of a threat, the associated risk score and certainty factor for the threat, and corresponding remediation actions available for selection by the user); and
initiating a mitigation action based on the response, in response to receiving an input based on the rendered action graphic element (See Parag. [0062-0063]; potential remediation actions are displayed to a user and performed only in response to a user selection via a user interface. Remediation mod 370 determines that remediation is required. As a result, remediation mod 370 displays four possible remediation actions for user selection: (i) install network security software, (ii) close network port, (iii) disable all network connections, and (iv) notify network security team).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde in view of Sharma, to include generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display, and initiating a mitigation action, as taught by Egan. This would be convenient for assessing and remediating risk for security threat events (Egan, Parag. [0001]).
Claim 11. Nagargadde discloses a system for initiating a mitigation action based on active inspection of a cloud computing environment (See Col. 1 lines 26-27; monitoring and controlling access between computer resources. See Col. 6 lines 39-40; recommendations for remediating vulnerabilities associated with the possible access), comprising:
a processing circuitry; and a memory, the memory containing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry (See Fig. 2), configure the system to:
receive at least one network path to access a resource, wherein the resource is a cloud entity deployed in the cloud computing environment, and potentially accessible from a network which is external to the cloud computing environment (See Fig. 4 and Col. 18 lines 2-20; at block 402 at least one processor of a system (e.g., computer system 226 of FIG. 2) may receive network configuration data (e.g., from network configuration manager 218 of FIG. 2 (external to the cloud computing environment)). The network configuration data may indicate any network configuration between computer resources, including network configuration between computing resources and data resources in a cloud (e.g., cloud 204 of FIG. 2)... See Col. 2 lines 19-36; monitoring and reporting of computing resource access may be improved through automation and combining network connectivity information and IAM configurations to identify available connectivity/configurations (network path) between resources and to manage changes to available connectivity and access. See Col. 2 lines 13-14; network connectivity may refer to a network path between the computing and data resource);
actively inspect the at least one network path to determine if the resource is accessible through the at least one network path from a network external to the cloud computing environment (See Col. 2 lines 57-67 and Col. 3 lines 1-14; A network configuration manager may execute reachability tests. Such tests may identify used network connectivity and/or possible network configurations between like computer resources … Active network scanners and flow logs may include information which indicates what an application is doing (e.g., what resources are being accessed) and which network paths are being used);
Nagargadde doesn’t explicitly disclose receive a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path; generate a screenshot based on the received response from the resource; generate a graphic element based on the generated screenshot; generate an action graphic element associated with the response; render the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display; and initiate a mitigation action based on the response, in response to receiving an input based on the rendered action graphic element.
However, Sharma discloses:
receive a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path (See Parag. [0109] and Fig. 9; performing inline monitoring of network access between one or more users each with an associated user device executing an agent application, the Internet, and one or more cloud applications and private applications accessible via lightweight connectors (step 821) … obtaining network metrics from the cloud system related to network performance of the specific application (step 823); and. See also Parag. [0110]);
generate a screenshot based on the received response from the resource; generate a graphic element based on the generated screenshot (See Parag. [0109-0119] and Fig. 9; providing the device and application metrics and the network metrics to a logging and analytics system for quantifying digital user experience of the specific application … With the various device, application, and network-related metrics, such as in the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to aggregate these metrics to provide a User Experience (UEX) score … Drilldown reporting capabilities via the GUI allow administrators to identify where there is a problem. For example, administrators can set alerts when a UEX score falls below a threshold. UEX scores for common applications across organizations can be used for peer comparisons and isolating common application issues affecting multiple organizations … The user experience score captures digital experience and is based on a given application with associated device, application, and network-related metrics … FIGS. 11-24 are various screenshots of a Graphical User Interface (GUI) associated with the analysis service to display, report, and provide a drill down of the User Experience (UEX) scores … FIG. 15 is a GUI of a global dashboard for the cloud system 800. Here, the aggregate UEX score is displayed (all users). There is a listing of application alerts (e.g., threshold crossings), mobile devices, desktop devices, etc. A map displays the global UEX score using color codes for visual indication of locations with good, okay, and poor UEX scores. Again, this visualization can be used for drill down and remediation … FIG. 20 is a GUI of a network dashboard. This provides a network availability metric similar to the UEX score, a total number of network devices, network device health score which can be similar to the UEX score providing a view of the average network device health, and a total network users. The network dashboard can also include a network path trace criteria which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). Also, the network dashboard can include a real-time path trace view that illustrates a selected user to a selected application where real-time monitoring occurs which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). For example, the availability metric can be 100% is GREEN, <100% is RED, Response Time: >5 sec is RED, 3-5 sec is AMBER, <3 sec is GREEN. See also Parag. [0120]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde, to include receiving a response from the resource of the active inspection of the at least one network path, generating a screenshot based on the received response from the resource, and generating a graphic element based on the generated screenshot, as taught by Sharma. This would be convenient for drill down and remediation (Sharma, Parag. [0117]).
Egan discloses:
generate an action graphic element associated with the response; render the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display (See Parag. [0063]; FIG. 4 is a screenshot view generated by the first embodiment system. As shown in FIG. 4, screenshot 400 includes interface 402 displayed on a user's computer (e.g., client sub-system 110), where interface 402 depicts an example of a threat, the associated risk score and certainty factor for the threat, and corresponding remediation actions available for selection by the user); and
initiate a mitigation action based on the response, in response to receiving an input based on the rendered action graphic element (See Parag. [0062-0063]; potential remediation actions are displayed to a user and performed only in response to a user selection via a user interface. Remediation mod 370 determines that remediation is required. As a result, remediation mod 370 displays four possible remediation actions for user selection: (i) install network security software, (ii) close network port, (iii) disable all network connections, and (iv) notify network security team).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde in view of Sharma, to include generating an action graphic element associated with the response; rendering the graphic element and the action graphic element on a display, and initiating a mitigation action, as taught by Egan. This would be convenient for assessing and remediating risk for security threat events (Egan, Parag. [0001]).
Claim 12. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 2 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 16. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 6 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 17. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 7 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 18. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 8 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 19. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 9 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 21. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharma further discloses the method further comprising:
receiving a plurality of responses from the resource, each response corresponding to a unique active inspection instruction; generating for each response of the plurality of responses a screenshot of a plurality of screenshots, each screenshot generated based on a corresponding response; and rendering on the display a plurality of graphic elements, each graphic element generated based on a screenshot of a plurality of screenshots (See Parag. [0109-0119] and Fig. 9; performing inline monitoring of network access between one or more users each with an associated user device executing an agent application, the Internet, and one or more cloud applications and private applications accessible via lightweight connectors (step 821) … obtaining network metrics from the cloud system related to network performance of the specific application (step 823) … providing the device and application metrics and the network metrics to a logging and analytics system for quantifying digital user experience of the specific application … With the various device, application, and network-related metrics, such as in the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to aggregate these metrics to provide a User Experience (UEX) score … Drilldown reporting capabilities via the GUI allow administrators to identify where there is a problem. For example, administrators can set alerts when a UEX score falls below a threshold. UEX scores for common applications across organizations can be used for peer comparisons and isolating common application issues affecting multiple organizations … The user experience score captures digital experience and is based on a given application with associated device, application, and network-related metrics … FIGS. 11-24 are various screenshots of a Graphical User Interface (GUI) associated with the analysis service to display, report, and provide a drill down of the User Experience (UEX) scores … FIG. 15 is a GUI of a global dashboard for the cloud system 800. Here, the aggregate UEX score is displayed (all users). There is a listing of application alerts (e.g., threshold crossings), mobile devices, desktop devices, etc. A map displays the global UEX score using color codes for visual indication of locations with good, okay, and poor UEX scores. Again, this visualization can be used for drill down and remediation … FIG. 20 is a GUI of a network dashboard. This provides a network availability metric similar to the UEX score, a total number of network devices, network device health score which can be similar to the UEX score providing a view of the average network device health, and a total network users. The network dashboard can also include a network path trace criteria which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). Also, the network dashboard can include a real-time path trace view that illustrates a selected user to a selected application where real-time monitoring occurs which specifies endpoints, destination, users, frequency, metrics, and threshold criteria (“alert in case”). For example, the availability metric can be 100% is GREEN, <100% is RED, Response Time: >5 sec is RED, 3-5 sec is AMBER, <3 sec is GREEN. See also Parag. [0120]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde, to include receiving a plurality of responses from the resource, each response corresponding to a unique active inspection instruction, generating for each response of the plurality of responses a screenshot of a plurality of screenshots, each screenshot generated based on a corresponding response, and rendering on the display a plurality of graphic elements, each graphic element generated based on a screenshot of a plurality of screenshots, as taught by Sharma. This would be convenient for drill down and remediation (Sharma, Parag. [0117]).
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagargadde et al. (Patent No. US 10,944,758), hereinafter Nagargadde, in view of Sharma et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0274783), hereinafter Sharma; in view of Egan (Pub. No. US 2022/0303300); and in further view of Stevens et al. (Patent No. US 10,911,550), hereinafter Stevens.
Claim 3. Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan discloses the method of claim 2,
Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan doesn’t explicitly discloses the method further comprising: rendering a first portion of the electronic document based on a size of the display.
However, Stevens discloses rendering a first portion of the electronic document based on a size of the display (See Col. 2 lines 17-28; size of the portion of the document that is open typically corresponds to the size of the document that can fit on a display screen on the client computer plus a little more of the document to permit scrolling. The portion of the document that is opened is loaded into memory on the client computer. By opening only a portion of the document instead of the entire document and loading this portion of the document on the client computer, the document can be rendered on the client computer faster than if the entire document was opened).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan, to include rendering the electronic document based on a size of the display, as taught by Stevens. This would be convenient for the document to be rendered faster than if the entire document was opened (Stevens, Col. 2 lines 26-27).
Claim 4. Nagargadde in view of Sharma Egan and Stevens discloses the method of claim 3,
Stevens further discloses the method further comprising:
rendering a second portion of the electronic document in response to receiving a request to render the second portion (See Col. 7 lines 40-50; at operation 602, a request message is sent from client computer 102 to server computer 112 to open a portion of the document. The request message includes information indicating the size of the portion of the document to open. The request message may include a hint indicating a number of objects to be included in the portion of the document. Alternatively, the request message may include one or more parameters providing information regarding the display of information at client computer 102. The information may include such items as the display screen size, the font size and the display resolution in pixels).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan, to include rendering the electronic document based on a size of the display, as taught by Stevens. This would be convenient for the document to be rendered faster than if the entire document was opened (Stevens, Col. 2 lines 26-27).
Claim 5. Nagargadde in view of Sharma Egan and Stevens discloses the method of claim 4,
Stevens further discloses wherein the first portion of the electronic document includes a first graphic element which is not included in the second portion of the electronic document (See Col. 3 lines 30-33; at operation 604, the first portion of the document is received from server computer 112. The first portion of the document typically includes the first page of the document, plus an additional amount of the document, typically a page or a portion of a page. See Col. 8, lines 23-27; the portion of the document obtained from server computer 112 and stored in the memory area is comprised of one or more objects. Each object represents a specific part of the document, such as a word, sentence, paragraph, table, table cell, etc. See also Fig. 3-6).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Nagargadde in view of Sharma and Egan, to include rendering the electronic document based on a size of the display, as taught by Stevens. This would be convenient for the document to be rendered faster than if the entire document was opened (Stevens, Col. 2 lines 26-27).
Claim 13. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 3 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 14. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 4 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 15. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 5 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
Ragan et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0234874) – discloses a security event identification system may enable obtaining, for each of the set of web requests, a screenshot of a corresponding web path resulting from the web request; applying a hash to each obtained screenshot; and determining, based on a comparison of the hashed screenshots, whether a security event exists related to the set of web requests (See Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499