DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1, 7, and 13 were amended, claim 2, 4-6, 10, 14-20 was canceled. Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 11-13 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the device of claim 13 (a handle with a hinged cover) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 7 states of the existence of a top wall with a handle including a grip area and a raised texture silicon foam grip area. The specification does not teach of the existence of both of these features. It is understood that both of these features are meant for opening the device. The presence of both is not taught. Through out the specification it is taught separately. For example [0013] teaches of a textured top wall of the cover. Then [0014] starts with “In another embodiment, the cover may be comprised of at least one handle”. Claims 8-9 and 11-12 directly or indirectly depend from claim 7 and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce (US 5870969 A) in view of Campbell (US 20190339047 A1) and Foraker (US 6575328 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Boyce discloses a device capable of being a drywall mud pan cover device comprising: a cover (92) comprising a rectangular top wall and a first and second side walls extending downward from the rectangular top wall, each sidewall comprising a channel (with 94); a drywall pan (12) comprising a bottom wall and a pair of side walls extending upward from the bottom wall (inherent from fig 1), each side wall comprising a flanged top edge (flange around 34) configured to slidably engage one of the respective channels of the first and second side walls of the cover.
However, Boyce failed to disclose wherein the rectangular top wall of the cover comprises a recessed texture grip area. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with sliding lids, Campbell taught of a sliding lid that uses a textured surface as handle (38) instead of a singular large protrusion like Boyce). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a textured grip area as taught by Campbell for the handle as disclosed by Boyce since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, both elements allow for opening the device, a textured grip area allows for less space to be occupied. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143). (Placement on the top wall would be the replacement location of the handle of Boyce)
The references failed to teach of materials and specifically, the grip area being made of neoprene. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Foraker taught of the usage of neoprene as a grip element due to its softness, moldability and insulating properties (col 2 lines 0-11). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the grip area of Boyce and Campbell to include neoprene as taught by Foraker in order to allow for softness of the grip area.
With respect to claim 3, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Boyce further teaches wherein the first side wall and the second side wall are each generally L-shaped. (side walls of 92)
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce (US 5870969 A) in view of Campbell (US 20190339047 A1) and Kamerer (US 4715575 A).
With respect to claim 7, Boyce discloses a device capable of being a drywall mud pan cover device comprising: a cover comprised of a top wall (top of 92), a first side wall and a second side wall (94), and a handle (106) including a grip area (grip-able portion) extending upward from the top wall, a drywall pan comprised of a bottom wall (bottom of 12), a fourth side wall, a fifth side wall (figure 3), a sixth side wall and a seventh side wall (other walls); and wherein the first side wall is L-shaped and forms a first channel (94); wherein the second side wall is L-shaped and forms a second channel (94); wherein the cover is slidable along the first and second channels (94) along a top edge of the fourth side wall and a top edge of the fifth side wall (figure 3) respectively to cover an opening of the drywall pan.
However, Boyce failed to disclose wherein the top wall of the cover comprises a raised texture silicon foam grip area. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with sliding lids, Campbell taught of a sliding lid that uses a textured surface as handle (38) instead of a singular large protrusion like Boyce). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a textured grip area as taught by Campbell for the handle as disclosed by Boyce since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, both elements allow for opening the device, a textured grip area allows for less space to be occupied. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143). (Placement on the top wall would be the replacement location of the handle of Boyce)
The references failed to teach of materials and specifically, the grip area being made of silicon. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Kamerer taught of the usage of silicon as a grip element due to its soft resilient nature (col 2 lines 44-58). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the grip area of Boyce and Campbell to include neoprene as taught by Kamerer in order to allow for softness of the grip area.
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 7, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Boyce further teaches wherein the fourth side wall and the fifth side wall are each comprised of a first flanged edge. (top edges of figure 3)
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 7, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Boyce further teaches wherein the sixth side wall and the seventh wall are each comprised of a second flanged edge. (as shown in figure 3 and figure 1)
With respect to claim 11, Boyce failed to disclose the drywall mud pan cover device of claim 7, wherein the cover is comprised of a rectilinear shape, however, Official Notice is taken that having non filleted edges was notoriously well-known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine straight edges with this well-known technique as a simple design choice.
With respect to claim 12, Boyce failed disclose the drywall mud pan cover device of claim 7, wherein the pan is comprised of a rectilinear shape however, Official Notice is taken that having non filleted edges was notoriously well-known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine straight edges with this well-known technique as a simple design choice.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 20060032860 A1) in view of over Boyce (US 5870969 A) and Frey (US 20030034349 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Hase discloses a device capable of being drywall mud pan cover device comprising: a cover comprised of a top wall (23); a drywall pan comprised of a bottom wall, a first side wall (opposite 12), a second side wall (12), a third side wall (14), and a fourth side wall (opposite 14), a hinge (52) attaching the cover to the first side wall of the drywall pan; and a lock (80) for securing the cover to the second side wall of the drywall pan.
The references failed to teach of a textured urethane grip area in the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Frey taught of the usage of urethane as a grip element due to its high friction nature (abstract). In the present case, incorporation of Freys urethane on the top wall (around area 50) would allow for better grip of stacking surfaces. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top wall (specifically area 50) of Hase to include urethane as taught by Frey in order to allow for high friction gripping.
Hase failed to disclose of a handle extending upward from the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Boyce taught of a handle that extended upwards (106) to aid in opening to container. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover of Hase to include a handle as taught by Boyce in order to allow for easier opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/18/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-6012584-A, US-20030145845-A1, US-20080035696-A1, US-20100324577-A1, US-20110226724-A1, US-20150197947-A1, US-20190008261-A1, US-20210180338-A1.
Conclusion
/S.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735