Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the electrical connection device in claim 4, which is being interpreted to mean a junction box, and the decoupling device in claim 19, which is being interpreted as a bolt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 6 and 12 refer to an embodiment where the electric motor is directly connected to the engines shaft, while claim 1 refers to an embodiment where there is an intermediate shaft. There is no teaching that both of these embodiments can be used together and thus both claims are no longer being treated on the merits.
Claims 1, 2, 4-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “a shaft of the propulsion engine”, which is then referred to as “the shaft” for the rest of the claims. This creates confusion as “the electric machine shaft” and “intermediate shaft” are also a shaft. For clarity, “the shaft” should read “the shaft of the propulsion engine”.
Claims 1, 10, and 17 recites the limitation "the intermediate shaft" in the newly added limitations. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-8, 10-11, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (7514810) in view of Numajiri (8178988), Klemen (US-Pub 2017/0335795).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Kern discloses a stator assembly (annotated fig 11) coupled to an engine stator (annotated fig 11) component of a propulsion engine (10, fig 11), the stator assembly comprising: a stator support assembly (annotated fig 11) fixedly attached to the engine stator component; a stator (64, fig 11) disposed on a supporting surface (annotated fig 11) of a stator support structure (annotated fig 11); and an electrical machine shaft (60, fig 11) connected to a shaft (annotated fig 11) of the propulsion engine via an intermediate shaft member (annotated fig 11); an engine bearing (annotated fig 11) connected to the shaft and the engine stator component, a bearing support frame(annotated fig 11); and a rotor assembly (70, fig 11) directly connected to the electrical machine shaft of the propulsion engine and a rotor (70, fig 11) disposed radially inward of the stator, wherein the rotor exchanges rotational energy with the shaft to operate as an electrical generator (col 6, lines 55-60).
Kern does not disclose a generator bearing assembly having a bearing support frame connected to the engine stator component and a generator bearing that supports the electrical machine shaft, wherein a common sump is defined at least in part by the bearing support frame and the engine stator component, and wherein the engine bearing and the generator bearing are disposed in the common sump, and further comprising a rotor support structure attached to the rotor and electrical machine shaft, wherein the intermediate shaft is a quill shaft, wherein the quill shaft includes a first spline disposed at a first end and a second spline disposed at a second end, wherein the first spline is coupled to the shaft, and wherein the second spline is coupled to the electric machine shaft, wherein the intermediate shaft permits movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft.
Numajiri teaches a generator connecting to the rear of a turbine, the generator comprising an engine bearing (9, fig 5) connected to an engine shaft (4, fig 5) and a stator component (13, fig 5) a generator bearing assembly (6, 21, 23, 13b, fig 5) having a bearing support frame (6, fig 5) connected to an engine stator component (13, fig 5) and a generator bearing (17, fig 5) that supports an electrical machine shaft (16, fig 5), wherein a common sump (13a) is defined at least in part by the bearing support frame and the engine stator component, and wherein the engine bearings and the generator bearings are disposed in the common sump, and the rotor assembly comprising a rotor support structure (15, fig 5) directly connected to the engine machine shaft, and a rotor (14, fig 5) attached to the rotor support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the generator disclosed by Kern by using the generator and bearing assembly based on the teachings of Numajiri. Doing so would reduce flexing of the main shaft in relation to the stator which reduces the chance of misalignment of the stator (col 1, lines 25-67), as suggested by Numajiri.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified rotor support assembly disclosed by Kern by using the rotor structure of Numajiri. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that doing so would increase the rotational inertia of the generator helping to stabilize oscillations and dampen potential shaft vibrations.
Klemen teaches a gas turbine electric machine (38, fig 1) wherein the intermediate shaft (48, fig 2) between an electric machine shaft (106, fig 2) and an engine shaft (46, fig 2) is a quill shaft (col 3, lines 42-50), wherein the quill shaft includes a first spline (100, fig 3) disposed at a first end (end connected to shaft) and a second spline (105, fig 4) disposed at a second end (end connected to the electrical machine, wherein the first spline is coupled to the shaft, and wherein the second spline is coupled to the electric machine shaft) which allows the intermediate shaft to permit movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric machine disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri by using a quill shaft as the intermediate shaft to connect the shaft and the machine shaft based on the teachings of Klemen. Doing so would accommodate non-concentric rotations between the two shafts during misalignment (par. 0057), as suggested by Klemen.
Regarding claim 2, Kern as modified by Numajiri discloses wherein the stator support assembly circumferentially surrounds the rotor assembly such that the rotor assembly is disposed radially between the shaft and the stator support assembly (13, 14, fig 2, Numajiri).
Regarding claim 7, Kern as modified by Numajiri discloses wherein no portion of the stator assembly extends axially aft of the rotor assembly. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have no portion of the stator assembly extend aft of the rotor assembly, since applicant has not disclosed that the end of the stator assembly solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with a slight overlap as in Numajiri.
Regarding claim 8, Kern as modified by Numajiri does not explicitly disclose wherein the bearing support frame extends between the electrical machine shaft and the engine stator component (Numajiri, fig 5); and wherein the electrical machine shaft rotates within the generator bearings in conjunction with the shaft of the propulsion engine to rotate the rotor this would happen during operation of the engine).
Regarding claim 10, Kern discloses an electrical machine, comprising: a stator assembly (annotated fig 11) coupled to an engine stator (annotated fig 11) component of a propulsion engine (10, fig 1), the stator assembly comprising a stator support assembly (annotated fig 11) fixedly attached to the engine stator component; a stator (64, fig 11) disposed on a supporting surface (annotated fig 11) of a stator support structure (annotated fig 11); an electrical machine shaft (60, fig 11) connected to a shaft (annotated fig 11) of the propulsion engine via an intermediate shaft member (annotated fig 11), an engine bearing (annotated fig 11) connected to the shaft and the engine stator component; a bearing support frame (annotated fig 11), and a rotor assembly (70, fig 11) directly connected to the electrical machine shaft of the propulsion engine and a rotor (70, fig 11), wherein: the rotor is disposed radially inward of the stator such that the stator assembly circumferentially surrounds the rotor (fig 11), and the rotor rotates in conjunction with the shaft to generate a power signal (it’s a generator and would thus generate a power signal).
Kern does not disclose a generator bearing assembly having a bearing support frame connected to the engine stator component and a generator bearing that supports the electrical machine shaft, wherein a common sump is defined at least in part by the bearing support frame and the engine stator component, and wherein the engine bearing and the generator bearing are disposed in the common sump, and further comprising a rotor support structure attached to the rotor and electrical machine shaft.
Numajiri teaches a generator connecting to the rear of a turbine, the generator comprising an engine bearing (9, fig 5) connected to an engine shaft (4, fig 5) and a stator component (13, fig 5) a generator bearing assembly (6, 21, 23, 13b, fig 5) having a bearing support frame (6, fig 5) connected to an engine stator component (13, fig 5) and a generator bearing (17, fig 5) that supports an electrical machine shaft (16, fig 5), wherein a common sump (13a) is defined at least in part by the bearing support frame and the engine stator component, and wherein the engine bearings and the generator bearings are disposed in the common sump, and the rotor assembly comprising a rotor support structure (15, fig 5) directly connected to the engine machine shaft, and a rotor (14, fig 5) attached to the rotor support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the generator disclosed by Kern by using the generator and bearing assembly based on the teachings of Numajiri. Doing so would reduce flexing of the main shaft in relation to the stator which reduces the chance of misalignment of the stator (col 1, lines 25-67), as suggested by Numajiri.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified rotor support assembly disclosed by Kern by using the rotor structure of Numajiri. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that doing so would increase the rotational inertia of the generator helping to stabilize oscillations and dampen potential shaft vibrations.
Kern does not explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate shaft permits movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft.
Klemen teaches a gas turbine electric machine (38, fig 1) wherein the intermediate shaft (48, fig 2) between an electric machine shaft (106, fig 2) and an engine shaft (46, fig 2) is a quill shaft (col 3, lines 42-50), which allows the intermediate shaft to permit movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric machine disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri by using a quill shaft as the intermediate shaft to connect the shaft and the machine shaft based on the teachings of Klemen. Doing so would accommodate non-concentric rotations between the two shafts during misalignment (par. 0057), as suggested by Klemen.
Regarding claim 11, Kern as modified by Numajiri discloses wherein the rotor support structure is directly connected to an end of the shaft of the propulsion engine by a removable connection such that the rotor assembly is independently removable from the propulsion engine (Numajiri, the two structures are connected as two separate pieces and thus would be able to be disconnected).
Regarding claim 13, Kern as modified by Numajiri discloses wherein the rotor support structure extends in a radial direction and an axial direction from an end of the shaft to mechanically alter a natural vibration mode of the shaft (triangular portions of 15, fig 5, Numajiri, the rotor support structure extends in a radial and axial direction, and since the structure is the same as what’s claimed, it would also perform the same function of altering the natural vibration mode of the shaft).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern in view of Numajiri, Kupiszewski (10071811), and Klemen.
Regarding claim 17, Kern discloses an electrical machine, comprising: a stator assembly (annotated fig 11) coupled to an engine stator component (annotated fig 11) of a propulsion engine (10, fig 11), the stator assembly comprising: a stator support assembly (annotated fig 11) fixedly attached to the engine stator component; a stator (annotated fig 11)disposed on a supporting surface (annotated fig 11) of a stator support structure (annotated fig 11); an electrical machine shaft (60, fig 11) coupled to an end of a shaft (annotated fig 11) of the propulsion engine via an intermediate shaft member (annotated fig 11) extending axially between the end of the shaft and the electrical machine shaft, wherein the intermediate shaft permits movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft (the shaft will not be perfectly rigid, therefore, as the machine shaft flexes under load and expands under heat, there will be radial and axial movement between the electric machine shaft and engine shaft); an engine bearing (annotated fig 11) connected to the shaft and the engine stator component; a bearing support frame (annotated fig 11) extending from the propulsion engine; and a rotor assembly (70, fig 11) comprising: a rotor (70, fig 11) disposed radially inward of the stator, wherein at least one of: the rotor rotates in conjunction with the shaft of the propulsion engine via the intermediate shaft member to generate a power signal (it’s a generator and would thus generate a power signal when the rotor rotates).
Kern does not disclose a generator bearing assembly having a bearing support frame connected to the engine stator component and a generator bearing that supports the electrical machine shaft, wherein a common sump is defined at least in part by the bearing support frame and the engine stator component, and wherein the engine bearing and the generator bearing are disposed in the common sump, and further comprising a rotor support structure attached to the rotor and electrical machine shaft, and a sealing member disposed axially aft of the electrical machine bearings, the sealing member extending from the axial portion of the bearing support frame to the electrical machine shaft, a rotor support structure connected to the electrical machine shaft; attached to the rotor support structure such that the rotor is.
Numajiri teaches a generator connecting to the rear of a turbine, the generator comprising an engine bearing (9, fig 5) connected to an engine shaft (4, fig 5) and a stator component (13, fig 5) a generator bearing assembly (6, 21, 23, 13b, fig 5) having a bearing support frame (6, fig 5) connected to an engine stator component (13, fig 5) and a generator bearing (17, fig 5) that supports an electrical machine shaft (16, fig 5), wherein a common sump (13a) is defined at least in part by the bearing support frame and the engine stator component, and wherein the engine bearings and the generator bearings are disposed in the common sump, and the rotor assembly comprising a rotor support structure (15, fig 5) directly connected to the engine machine shaft, and a rotor (14, fig 5) attached to the rotor support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the generator disclosed by Kern by using the generator and bearing assembly based on the teachings of Numajiri. Doing so would reduce flexing of the main shaft in relation to the stator which reduces the chance of misalignment of the stator (col 1, lines 25-67), as suggested by Numajiri.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified rotor support assembly disclosed by Kern by using the rotor structure of Numajiri. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that doing so would increase the rotational inertia of the generator helping to stabilize oscillations and dampen potential shaft vibrations.
Kern as modified by Numajiri doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate shaft permits movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft, and wherein there is a seal downstream of the electric machine bearings.
Kupiszewski teaches a generator for a gas turbine with an electrical machine bearing (264, fig 4), wherein a sealing member (276, fig 4) is disposed axially aft of the electrical machine bearing, the sealing member extending from the bearing support frame (254, fig 4) to the electrical machine shaft (252, fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stator disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri by having a seal located aft of the engine bearings based on the teachings of Kupiszewski. Doing so would prevent any oil lubrication for the bearings from reaching within the electrical machine (col 8, lines 20-35), as suggested by Kupiszewski.
Klemen teaches a gas turbine electric machine (38, fig 1) wherein the intermediate shaft (48, fig 2) between an electric machine shaft (106, fig 2) and an engine shaft (46, fig 2) is a quill shaft (col 3, lines 42-50), which allows the intermediate shaft to permit movement of the electric machine shaft in a radial direction and axial direction relative to the shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric machine disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri by using a quill shaft as the intermediate shaft to connect the shaft and the machine shaft based on the teachings of Klemen. Doing so would accommodate non-concentric rotations between the two shafts during misalignment (par. 0057), as suggested by Klemen.
Kern as modified by Numajiri, Kupiszewski, and Klemen discloses the claimed invention except for multiple electric machine bearings. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used multiple sets of electrical machine bearings instead of one, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 18, Kern as modified by Numajiri discloses wherein the rotor support structure is connected to the electrical machine shaft axially rearward of the electrical machine bearings to facilitate removal of the rotor from the electrical machine shaft (fig 5, Numajiri).
Claims 4, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern as modified by Numajiri and Klemen as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Kupiszewski.
Regarding claim 4, Kern does not disclose an electrical connection device coupled to the stator support assembly; and an electrical line extending from the stator to the electrical connection device.
Kupiszewski teaches a stator (250, fig 4) for a gas turbine engine (200, fig 4), the stator comprising an electrical connection device (298, fig 4) coupled to the stator support assembly (254, fig 4); and an electrical line (300, fig 4) extending from the stator to the electrical connection device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri by having an electrical device connected to the stator based on the teachings of Kupiszewski. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having some way to import and export power would be required to make full use of the generator.
Regarding claim 9, Kern does not disclose a cooling system comprising one or more cooling manifolds directing coolant from a coolant source to regions proximate to the stator and the rotor.
Kupiszewski teaches a generator (250, fig 4) for a gas turbine engine (200, fig 4), the generator comprising a cooling system comprising one or more cooling manifolds (282, fig 4) directing coolant from a coolant source (304, fig 4) to regions proximate to the stator and the rotor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri and Klemen by having a cooling system comprising one or more cooling manifolds directing coolant from a source to regions proximate the stator and the rotor based on the teachings of Kupiszewski. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that gas turbines run at extremely high temperatures so cooling the generator would be needed to prevent long term system damage.
Regarding claim 15, Kern does not disclose a cooling system comprising one or more cooling manifolds directing coolant from a coolant source to regions proximate to the stator and the rotor.
Kupiszewski teaches a generator (250, fig 4) for a gas turbine engine (200, fig 4), the generator comprising a cooling system comprising one or more cooling manifolds (282, 308, fig 4) directing coolant from a coolant source (304, fig 4) to regions proximate to the stator and the rotor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stator disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri and Klemen by having a cooling system comprising one or more cooling manifolds directing coolant from a source to regions proximate the stator and the rotor based on the teachings of Kupiszewski. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that gas turbines run at extremely high temperatures so cooling the generator would be needed to prevent long term system damage.
Regarding claim 16, Kern as modified by Kupiszewski in claim 15 discloses wherein an electrical line (308, fig 4, Kupiszewski) extending from the stator is at least partially routed through the one or more cooling manifolds.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern as modified by Numajiri, Kupiszewski and Klemen as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Skowronski (6032459).
Regarding claim 5, Kern does not disclose an electrical machine control unit, the electrical machine control unit being electrically connected to the stator via the electrical connection device, wherein the electrical machine control unit is configured to switch operation of the propulsion engine between a generator mode to generate electrical power from rotation of the shaft and a motor mode in which the stator adds rotational energy to the shaft.
Skowronski teaches using a controller (42, fig 1) electrically connected to the stator via an electric connection device (dashed lines, fig 1) and configured to switch the operation of the electrical machine between a generator mode and a motor mode (col 4, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical machine disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri, Kupiszewski and Klemen by using a control system to switch the machine between a motor mode and generator mode based on the teachings of Skowronski. Using a controller to switch an electric machine between its motor mode and generator mode is well known in the art as a way to use a single machine to perform both essential functions.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern as modified by Numajiri and Klemen as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Rotondo (8344673).
Regarding claim 14, Kern as modified by Numajiri does not disclose an electrical machine control unit, the electrical machine control unit being electrically connected to the stator, wherein the electrical machine control unit is configured to actively modulate an electrical machine load to influence rotation of the electrical machine to dampen vibrations of the shaft.
Rotondo teaches a gas turbine electrical machine control unit (90, 100, fig 3), the electrical machine control unit being electrically connected to the stator, wherein the electrical machine control unit is configured to actively modulate an electrical machine load to influence rotation of the electrical machine to dampen vibrations of the shaft (col 2, lines 10-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric machine disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri and Klemen by using a control unit to actively modulate the load to dampen vibrations on the shaft based on the teachings of Rotondo. Doing so would reduce wear caused by vibration (col 1, lines 10-46), as suggested by Rotondo.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern as modified by Numajiri, Kupiszewski and Klemen as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Miller (US-Pub 2020/0044518).
Regarding claim 19, Kern as modified by Klemen does not disclose a decoupling device attached to the propulsion engine, the decoupling device positioned to axially overlap the intermediate shaft member to decouple the intermediate shaft member.
Miller teaches an intermediate member (96, fig 3) between a turbine shaft (58, fig 3) and an electric machine shaft (84, fig 3) comprising a decoupling device (102, 104, fig 5) attached to the propulsion engine, the decoupling device positioned to axially overlap the intermediate shaft member to decouple the intermediate shaft member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stator disclosed by Kern as modified by Numajiri, Kupiszewski and Klemen by having a decoupling device which can decouple the intermediate shaft member based on the teachings of Miller. Doing so would allow the reduction of mechanical stress along the intermediate member (par. 0066), as suggested by Miller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 6/18/2025, with respect to the objection and rejection of claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection and objection have been withdrawn in light of the claim cancellation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741