DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Rejection in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 10/28/2025. Claims 1—15 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 08/16/2024 has been reviewed and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments submitted on 10/28/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1—15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the prior art rejection of record. However, the amended claims are still either anticipated or rendered obvious by the previously cited prior art as provided in the revised rejection. As such, the previous rejection is withdrawn and replaced with the revised rejection as provided below.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because FIGs. 4—6 are not drafted according to patent figure standards and include excessive shading which negatively impacts the quality of the figures. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a suspension tool installed in a well having an interior and configured to provide a fluid seal across a full cross-section of a wellbore of the well… thereby establishing a sealed lower wellbore region.” To the best awareness of the Examiner, this limitation is exclusively disclosed by, and compatible with, the embodiment described and depicted in association with FIG. 4. Claim 7 is directed to a sliding sleeve which is disclosed and depicted in relation to FIGs. 5—6. The disclosure related to the embodiment which includes a sliding sleeve does not appear to be capable of performing the above stated limitation of claim 1 for the following reasons: 1.) the written description does not describe the embodiment directed to FIGs. 5—6 in a manner which includes the requisite seal capable of performing the limitations of claim 1; and 2.) FIG. 5—6 do not depict (e.g., either labelled or unlabeled) the requisite seal capable of performing the limitations of claim 1. As such, the subject matter of claim 7 constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the as-filed application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—6, 8, and 13—14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Issued US Patent Application to Beck et al., hereinafter “Beck,” (US 6343649 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Beck teaches a suspension tool (plug system 104 including plug assembly 112 and prong 110, see FIG. 5B) installed in a well having an interior (plug assembly 112 is installed in nipple 114 which is interconnected with the tubular string in which plug assembly 112 is disposed; plug assembly 112 further has an interior which is fitted with prong 110) and configured to provide a fluid seal across a full cross-section of a wellbore of the well (Col. 9, Lines 21—29, “[t]he plug assembly 112 includes a lock mandrel 134, which releasably secures the plug assembly relative to the nipple 114, and a plug 136, which sealingly engages the nipple to block fluid flow therethrough. The plug system 104 may be considered to include the nipple 114, although the plug assembly 112 and prong 110 may be used to block fluid flow through other nipples or other tubular members and, thus, the plug assembly and prong may also be considered to comprise a plugging device apart from the nipple.”) to prevent fluid communication between a lower portion of the interior of the well below the suspension tool and an upper portion of the interior of the well above the suspension tool (Col. 9, Lines 38—41, “ [w]hen the prong 110 is sealingly received within the plug assembly 112 as shown in FIG. 5B, fluid flow axially through the nipple 114 (and through the plug 136) is prevented.”), thereby establishing a sealed lower wellbore region (plug system 104 blocks flow between the downhole region and the uphole region), the suspension tool having a sensor (pressure sensor 118) within the sealed lower wellbore region and configured to measure one or more well conditions in the lower portion of the interior of the well (Col. 9, Lines 50—53, “[a] pressure sensor 118 is included in the prong 110 and is exposed to pressure in the nipple 114 below the plug assembly 112.” See FIG. 5B); and a shifting tool (tool 102) configured to be lowered into the upper portion of the interior of the well to engage the suspension tool (see FIG. 5A) and to selectively shift the suspension tool (Col. 10, Lines 5—20, “[t]he tool 102 includes one or more engagement members 124 configured for operatively engaging an external profile 126 formed on the prong 110. Such engagement permits the tool 102 to apply an upwardly directed force to the prong 110… the tool 102 would be releasably secured to the mandrel 134, and could be used to retrieve the mandrel by applying an upwardly directed force to the profile 128 if desired.” See FIG. 5B), the shifting tool being coupled to a power source (power source 109, see FIG. 5A), wherein when the shifting tool engages the suspension tool, the sensor is coupled through the shifting tool to the power source (Col. 9, Lines 55—60, “[t]he pressure sensor 118 is connected to the device 108, which permits communication of pressure data from the sensor to the device 106. Pressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location.”; Col. 9, Lines 30—38, “[t]he device 108 may be supplied with power by a battery or other power source 109. The power source 109 may be included in the plug system 104, or it may be remote therefrom. It is to be clearly understood that any means of supplying power to the device 108 may be utilized, without departing from the principles of the present invention. The power source 109 may also supply power to sensors, etc. associated with the device 108.”), and wherein when the sensor is coupled to the power source (Col. 5, Lines 6—22; see citations and discussion below), the sensor makes one or more measurements of the one or more well conditions in the lower portion of the interior of the well and communicates the one or more measurements through the shifting tool to an operator of the well (Col. 9, Lines 3—10, “[t]he method 100 is similar in many respects to the method 10 described above, in that a tool 102 is engaged with an item of equipment 104 installed in a tubular string and communication is established between a communication device 106 of the tool and a communication device 108 of the item of equipment.”; see above citation to Col. 9, Lines 30—38 regarding powering the sensors and Col. 9, Lines 55—60 with regards to transmitting the data to a remote location. See also Col. 6, Line 55 — Col. 7, Line 11 regarding remote operations related to method 10 which are applicable to method 100. As stated throughout the disclosure of Beck, the different embodiments are intended to function similarly and include interchangeable functionality.).
Regarding claim 2, Beck discloses wherein the shifting tool (tool 102) includes a first set of electrical contacts (FIG. 5A depicts two electrical wires coming off of two separate contacts of communication device 108 of tool 102) and the suspension tool includes a second set of contacts (sensor 118 includes two sets of electrical contacts which are connected to the two separate wires as depicted in FIG. 5B), wherein when the shifting tool engages the suspension tool (Col. 9, Lines 3—10, “[t]he method 100 is similar in many respects to the method 10 described above, in that a tool 102 is engaged with an item of equipment 104 installed in a tubular string and communication is established between a communication device 106 of the tool and a communication device 108 of the item of equipment.”), the first set of electrical contacts comes into contact with the second set of electrical contacts (the electrical contacts of FIG. 5A and 5B are brought into contact by the two wires; however, other embodiments described in the disclosure, which Beck states include interchangeable features and functions, include electrical contacts which come into contact engagement as provided in previous rejections) and thereby couples the sensor (pressure sensor 118) to the power source (power source 109; sensor 118 is electrically connected to power source 109 through the aforementioned wires).
Regarding claim 3, Beck discloses wherein the sensor (pressure sensor 118 of plug system 104) is configured to make the one or more measurements of the one or more well conditions in response to being coupled to the power source (Col. 9, Lines 57—64, “[p]ressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location. Such pressure data may be used to determine pressures applied to the prong 110, plug assembly 112 and/or nipple 114, and may be used to determine the pressure differential across the plug assembly.” In order for a current differential pressure to be acquired, the measurement has to be taken once the tool 102 is engaged with plug system 104).
Regarding claim 4, Beck discloses wherein in response to being coupled to the power source, the sensor is further configured to provide the one or more measurements of the one or more well conditions to the shifting tool via the first set of electrical contacts and the second set of electrical contacts (Col. 9, Lines 55—60, “[t]he pressure sensor 118 is connected to the device 108, which permits communication of pressure data from the sensor to the device 106. Pressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location.” The data from pressure sensor 118 is received at circuit 122 and is therefore relayed from tool 104 to tool 102 through the electrical contacts.).
Regarding claim 5, Beck discloses wherein the sensor is unpowered except for the coupling of the sensor to the power source (Col 2, Lines 15—28, “the downhole communication system includes a first communication device associated with the item of equipment and a second communication device included in the tool… the tool supplies power to the first device. Such provision of power by the tool may enable the first device to communicate with the second device. In this manner, the first device does not need to be continuously powered. The first device may, however, be maintained in a dormant state and then activated to an active state by the tool.”; Examiner notes that the first device is the valve/plug/sliding sleeve and the second device is tool 12/102.).
Regarding claim 6, Beck discloses wherein the suspension tool comprises a suspension plug (plug assembly 112 of plug system 104; see FIG. 5B) and the shifting tool comprises a pulling tool (tool 102; see FIG. 5A) adapted to engage the suspension plug and pull the suspension plug out of the well (Col. 10, Lines 5—20, “[t]he tool 102 includes one or more engagement members 124 configured for operatively engaging an external profile 126 formed on the prong 110. Such engagement permits the tool 102 to apply an upwardly directed force to the prong 110… the tool 102 would be releasably secured to the mandrel 134, and could be used to retrieve the mandrel by applying an upwardly directed force to the profile 128 if desired.” See FIG. 5B).
Regarding claim 8, Beck discloses wherein the one or more well conditions include a pressure in the lower portion of the well and the sensor comprises a pressure sensor (pressure sensors 118; Col. 9, Lines 50—53, “[a] pressure sensor 118 is included in the prong 110 and is exposed to pressure in the nipple 114 below the plug assembly 112.” See FIG. 5B).
Regarding claim 13, Beck discloses providing a shifting tool (tool 102) which is coupled to a power source (power source 109, see FIG. 5A); lowering the shifting tool into a well having an interior (tool 102 is disposed within a wellbore and is therefore lowered into the wellbore); engaging, by the shifting tool, a suspension tool (plug system 104 including plug assembly 112 and prong 110; See FIGs. 5A and 5B where tool 102 is engaged with plug system 104) which is installed in the interior of the well (plug assembly 112 is installed in nipple 114 which is interconnected with the tubular string in which plug assembly 112 is disposed; plug assembly 112 further has an interior which is fitted with prong 110), the suspension tool providing a seal across a full cross-section of a wellbore of the well between an upper portion of the interior of the well above the suspension tool from a lower portion of the interior of the well below the suspension tool (Col. 9, Lines 21—29, “[t]he plug assembly 112 includes a lock mandrel 134, which releasably secures the plug assembly relative to the nipple 114, and a plug 136, which sealingly engages the nipple to block fluid flow therethrough. The plug system 104 may be considered to include the nipple 114, although the plug assembly 112 and prong 110 may be used to block fluid flow through other nipples or other tubular members and, thus, the plug assembly and prong may also be considered to comprise a plugging device apart from the nipple.”), thereby establishing a sealed lower wellbore region (Col. 9, Lines 38—41, “ [w]hen the prong 110 is sealingly received within the plug assembly 112 as shown in FIG. 5B, fluid flow axially through the nipple 114 (and through the plug 136) is prevented.”), the suspension tool including one or more sensors (pressure sensor 118) within the sealed lower wellbore region configured to measure one or more well conditions in the lower portion of the interior of the well (Col. 9, Lines 50—53, “[a] pressure sensor 118 is included in the prong 110 and is exposed to pressure in the nipple 114 below the plug assembly 112.” See FIG. 5B), the engaging including engaging a first set of electrical contacts on the shifting tool (FIG. 5A depicts two electrical wires coming off of two separate contacts of communication device 108 of tool 102) with a second set of contacts on the suspension tool (sensor 118 includes two sets of electrical contacts which are connected to the two separate wires as depicted in FIG. 5B) and thereby coupling the one or more sensors (the electrical contacts of FIG. 5A and 5B are brought into contact by the two wires; however, other embodiments described in the disclosure, which Beck states include interchangeable features and functions, include electrical contacts which come into contact engagement as provided in previous rejections) to receive power from the power source (power source 109; sensor 118 is electrically connected to power source 109 through the aforementioned wires); in response to the one or more sensors receiving power from the power source, making, with the one or more sensors, one or more measurements of the one or more well conditions in the lower portion of the well (Col. 9, Lines 57—64, “[p]ressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location. Such pressure data may be used to determine pressures applied to the prong 110, plug assembly 112 and/or nipple 114, and may be used to determine the pressure differential across the plug assembly.” In order for a current differential pressure to be acquired, the measurement has to be taken once the tool 102 is engaged with plug system 104) and providing the one or more measurements to the shifting tool via the first set of electrical contacts and the second set of contacts (Col. 9, Lines 55—60, “[t]he pressure sensor 118 is connected to the device 108, which permits communication of pressure data from the sensor to the device 106. Pressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location.” The data from pressure sensor 118 is received at circuit 122 and is therefore relayed from tool 104 to tool 102 through the electrical contacts.); determining whether the one or more measurements are within one or more corresponding ranges of acceptable values (Col. 9, Lines 60—67, “[s]uch pressure data may be used to determine pressures applied to the prong 110, plug assembly 112 and/or nipple 114, and may be used to determine the pressure differential across the plug assembly. The circuit 122 (or another circuit, e.g., at a remote location) may be programmed to prevent operation of the tool 102 to displace the prong 110 if the pressure differential is excessive, or to permit only limited displacement of the prong if the pressure differential is excessive.”); and if the one or more measurements are within the one or more corresponding ranges of acceptable values, moving, with the shifting tool, the suspension tool to enable fluid communication between the upper portion of the well and the lower portion of the well (see above citation where the circuit 122 in the wellbore or at a remote location only operates the tool if the pressure is not excessive or only partially operates the tool if the pressure is excessive).
Regarding claim 14, Beck discloses if the one or more measurements are not within the one or more corresponding ranges of acceptable values, performing one or more actions to remediate the well and to thereby bring measured values of the one or more well conditions within the one or more corresponding ranges of acceptable values (claim 36 of Beck states “the tool being permitted to displace the closure member to an equalizing position configured for reducing a pressure differential across the closure member…”) and thereafter moving, with the shifting tool, the suspension tool to enable fluid communication between the upper portion of the well with the lower portion of the well, (claim 36 of Beck further states “the tool being permitted to displace the closure member to the open position only when the pressure differential is within a predetermined range.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9—12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Issued US Patent Application to Beck et al., hereinafter “Beck,” (US 6343649 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above.
Regarding claim 9, while Beck does not explicitly disclose that sensor 118 of plug system 104 includes a temperature sensor, Beck does disclose that the system of FIG. 1 and the system of FIGs. 5A—5B are similar systems which overlap in scope where the system of FIG. 1 includes a temperature sensor 50. For example, Beck discloses “[t]he method 100 is similar in many respects to the method 10…” (Col. 9, Lines 3—5). Regarding method 10, Beck discloses “when the tool 12 is utilized additionally to transmit information to a remote location, the operator is able to positively determine whether the valve 16 is the appropriate item of equipment intended to be engaged by the tool, whether the tool is operatively positioned relative to the valve, whether the tool has operatively engaged the valve, the position of the sleeve 18 both before and after it is displaced, if at all, by the tool, and the pressures and/or differential pressures, temperatures, etc. of concern.” (Col. 7, Lines 2—11).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a temperature sensor along with a pressure sensor, as taught according to method 10 of Beck, in order to gather all of the measurements “of concern” in order to allow an operator to make an informed decision regarding the remote operation of the tool.
Regarding claims 10—12, while Beck does not explicitly state that the system of FIGs. 5A and 5B are connected to a digital slickline, a wireline, or to power at the surface, Beck states “[t]he device 108 may be supplied with power by a battery or other power source 109. The power source 109 may be included in the plug system 104, or it may be remote therefrom. It is to be clearly understood that any means of supplying power to the device 108 may be utilized, without departing from the principles of the present invention.” (Col. 9, Lines 30—36). Beck further states “[p]ressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location.” (Col. 9, Lines 55—60). While Beck does not expressly state that the remote power source for method 100 includes a wireline, slickline, or electric line unit, Beck makes it clear that method 10 may be performed by a wireline, slickline, or electric line which inherently includes a power source located at the surface. For example, Beck states; “an electronic circuit 48 connected to the device 42 in the tool 12 or, if the tool 12 is in communication with a remote location, for example, via wireline…”. (Col 5, Lines 13—16). Furthermore, Beck makes it clear that the various embodiments disclosed in the application are analogous/related and may be modified to share various features.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the wireline unit of Beck as disclosed with respect to method 10 as the remote power source of method 100 where the wireline unit is used for its intended purpose of supplying power to downhole equipment and providing a means by which downhole equipment may be monitored and actuated. As such, the inclusion of the wireline unit provides for a predictable result of providing for a remote location from which downhole operations may be monitored and/or controlled by an operator.
Regarding claim 15, while Beck does not explicitly state that the system of method 100 as depicted in FIGs. 5A and 5B are connected to a digital slickline/a wireline and/or to power at the surface, Beck states “[t]he device 108 may be supplied with power by a battery or other power source 109. The power source 109 may be included in the plug system 104, or it may be remote therefrom. It is to be clearly understood that any means of supplying power to the device 108 may be utilized, without departing from the principles of the present invention.” (Col. 9, Lines 30—36). Beck further states “[p]ressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location.” (Col. 9, Lines 55—60). While Beck does not expressly state that the remote power source for method 100 includes a wireline, slickline, or electric line unit, Beck makes it clear that method 10 may be performed by a wireline, slickline, or electric line which inherently includes a power source located at the surface. For example, Beck states; “an electronic circuit 48 connected to the device 42 in the tool 12 or, if the tool 12 is in communication with a remote location, for example, via wireline…”. (Col 5, Lines 13—16). Furthermore, Beck makes it clear that the various embodiments disclosed in the application are analogous/related and may be modified to share various features. More specifically, the tool 12 of method 10 is analogous to the tool 102 of method 100 and valve 16 of method 10 is analogous to plug system 104 of method 100. As such, it would be obvious to modify the system of method 100 such that the generically recited “remote power source,” was an electric line and/or wireline as utilized with respect to the system of method 10 in the following manner:
connecting the shifting tool (tool 102 which is analogous to tool 12) to a digital slickline which extends to the surface of the well (Col 5, Lines 13—16; “an electronic circuit 48 connected to the device 42 in the tool 12 or, if the tool 12 is in communication with a remote location, for example, via wireline…”), the digital slickline having one or more electrical lines configured to convey power and data between the shifting tool and equipment positioned at the surface of the well (Col 2, Lines 15—28, “the downhole communication system includes a first communication device associated with the item of equipment and a second communication device included in the tool… the tool supplies power to the first device.”; Col 2, Lines 29—35; “the communication between the first and second devices may be by any of a variety of means. For example… direct electrical contact, etc. may be used. The communication means may also be the means by which power is supplied to the first device.” Examiner notes that the tool may be run on wireline which may provide power and function as a communication line for relaying data), wherein the power source is positioned at the surface of the well and is coupled to the digital slickline to provide power to the shifting tool; wherein the one or more measurements are communicated from the one or more sensors through the first set of electrical contacts and the second set of contacts (Col. 9, Lines 3—10, “[t]he method 100 is similar in many respects to the method 10 described above, in that a tool 102 is engaged with an item of equipment 104 installed in a tubular string and communication is established between a communication device 106 of the tool and a communication device 108 of the item of equipment.” As described above, device 106 and device 108 are connected through the electrical contacts), the shifting tool and the digital slickline to the surface of the well (Col. 9, Lines 55—60, “[p]ressure data from the sensor 118 (via the devices 106, 108) and pressure data from the sensor 120 may be input to an electronic circuit 122 of the tool 102 and/or transmitted to a remote location.” The data is transmitted to a remote location by way of wireline as detailed with respect to method 10.); wherein determining whether the one or more measurements are within the one or more corresponding ranges of acceptable values is performed by a well operator (Col 6, Line 58 — Col 7, Line 2; “[a]n operator may convey the tool 12 into the string 14, the tool and the valve 16 may communicate via the devices 38, 42 and/or 40, 44 to… indicate useful status information regarding the valve, such as… pressure applied to the valve, pressure differential across the sleeve, etc., and to control operation of the tool… the tool 12 is utilized additionally to transmit information to a remote location, the operator is able to positively determine… the pressures and/or differential pressures, temperatures, etc. of concern.”; Col. 9, Lines 60—67, “[s]uch pressure data may be used to determine pressures applied to the prong 110, plug assembly 112 and/or nipple 114, and may be used to determine the pressure differential across the plug assembly. The circuit 122 (or another circuit, e.g., at a remote location) may be programmed to prevent operation of the tool 102 to displace the prong 110 if the pressure differential is excessive, or to permit only limited displacement of the prong if the pressure differential is excessive.” Examiner notes that the system is capable of determining whether the sensor data is out of range. The system can also relay the sensor information to an operator who can control the operation of the tool.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the wireline unit for its intended purpose as expressly described with relation to method 10 to provide for the referenced remote location to which data related to method 100 could be sent and to provide for a remote location from which to perform method 100.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is allowable over the prior art of record; however, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being directed to new matter. Moreover, the combination of limitations which make claim 7 allowable over the prior art of record are also the limitations which are new matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676