DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/22/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 11/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions contain overlapping features and would not impose a serious examination burden. This is not found persuasive because searching the inventions would require different search queries, and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A in the reply filed on 11/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CHARGING GUN INCLUDING CONTROLLING A DISPLAY LIGHT MODULE BASED ON TERMINAL TEMPERATURE, AMBIENT TEMPERATURE, AND CHARGING STATION STATE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU (CN208142472; cited on IDS; English machine translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 1, XU discloses a charging gun (¶ 0038: an intelligent control charging gun, as shown in Figures 1 and 2, includes a gun body 1), applicable to a charger station (¶ 0038: control module 5 calculates the obtained temperature information and determines whether to output a power-off control signal to the charging pile), the charging gun comprising:
a charging gun body (1, Figs. 1 & 2); and
a charge state display apparatus, comprising:
a charge state sensor (6, Fig. 2), configured to sense a charge state of the charger station (¶ 0038: gun body 1 is equipped with a temperature sensor 6);
a display light module (2, Fig. 1), arranged on the charging gun body and comprising a first light-emitting element, a second light-emitting element, and a third light-emitting element (¶ 0038: indicator lights 2 are LED lights, including a charging level indicator light, a temperature indicator light, and a status indicator light. A red light indicates an abnormality, a green light indicates normal charging, and a yellow light indicates waiting to be used); and
a controller (5, Fig. 2), electrically connected to the charge state sensor and the display light module and configured to control the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, or the third light-emitting element to emit light according to the charge state (¶ 0038: a control module 5 on the gun body 1, so it can receive temperature information feedback from the temperature sensor 6 more accurately and quickly, and then display the temperature of the gun body 1 through different colors or flashing patterns of the indicator lights 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FUHRER (US 2019/0375309).
Regarding claim 2, XU discloses the charging gun as applied to claim 1, and further discloses the charge state sensor comprises:
a terminal temperature sensor (6, Fig. 2), arranged on the charging gun body and configured to sense a terminal temperature (¶ 0038: gun body 1 is equipped with a temperature sensor 6); wherein
the controller is electrically connected to the terminal temperature sensor and the display light module, and is configured to individually control the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, or the third light-emitting element to emit light according to the terminal temperature (¶ 0038: indicator lights 2 are LED lights, including a charging level indicator light, a temperature indicator light, and a status indicator light. A red light indicates an abnormality, a green light indicates normal charging, and a yellow light indicates waiting to be used… a control module 5 on the gun body 1, so it can receive temperature information feedback from the temperature sensor 6 more accurately and quickly, and then display the temperature of the gun body 1 through different colors or flashing patterns of the indicator lights 2).
XU fails to disclose an ambient temperature sensor, and the controller controls the light emitting elements according to the ambient temperature.
FUHRER discloses an ambient temperature sensor (33, Fig. 1), arranged on the charger station (30) and configured to sense an ambient temperature (¶ 0037, 0044), wherein the controller (31, Fig. 1) is electrically connected to the terminal temperature sensor (12, Fig. 1; ¶ 0042), the ambient temperature sensor (¶ 0044), and the display light module (¶ 0016), and is configured to control the display light module according to the terminal temperature and the ambient temperature (¶ 0009, 0016, 0024, 0047). It would be obvious to apply the control of the display light module as disclosed in FUHRER to individually control the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, or the third light-emitting element to emit light as disclosed in XU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the ambient temperature sensor and the controller controls the display light module according to the ambient temperature of FUHRER into the charging gun of XU to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on ambient temperature. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a charging system that is matched to the environmental conditions in an improved manner, so that erroneous disconnections of the charging system are avoided or at least reduced (FUHRER, ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 3, XU as modified by FUHRER teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 2, and XU further discloses when the terminal temperature is greater than a critical temperature, the controller generates a third control signal (¶ 0038, 0040, 0042).
XU as modified by FUHRER fails to teach the controller performs the following determinations according to a temperature difference, the terminal temperature, and the ambient temperature: when the ambient temperature is greater than the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference, the controller generates a first control signal to the first light-emitting element, so that the first light-emitting element emits light; when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference, the controller generates a second control signal to the second light-emitting element, so that the second light-emitting element emits light; and when the terminal temperature is greater than a critical temperature, the controller generates a third control signal to the third light-emitting element, so that the third light-emitting element emits light.
FUHRER further discloses the controller performs the following determinations according to a temperature difference, the terminal temperature, and the ambient temperature: when the ambient temperature is greater than the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference, the controller generates a first control signal; and when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference, the controller generates a second control signal (¶ 0024, 0047).
Providing the control signals as disclosed in XU and FUHRER for corresponding light-emitting elements of XU to emit light would be an obvious modification, and would not produce new or unexpected results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the determinations according to a temperature difference, the terminal temperature, and the ambient temperature of FUHRER into the charging gun of XU to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on temperature difference. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a charging system that is matched to the environmental conditions in an improved manner, so that erroneous disconnections of the charging system are avoided or at least reduced (FUHRER, ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 4, XU as modified by FUHRER teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 3, but fails to teach the temperature difference is 5° C.
FUHRER teaches the temperature difference as a result effective variable (¶ 0024), and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the temperature difference of 5° C, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that the instant application does not disclose any criticality for the claimed limitation(s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the temperature difference as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on temperature difference. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a desired charging gun performance as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 5, XU as modified by FUHRER teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 3, but fails to teach the critical temperature is 85° C.
XU discloses the critical temperature as a result effective variable (¶ 0040), and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the critical temperature of 85° C, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that the instant application does not disclose any criticality for the claimed limitation(s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the critical temperature as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on critical temperature. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a desired charging gun performance as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 6, XU discloses the controller is further configured to determine whether the charger station is in a charging-in-progress state, so as to determine illumination modes of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element (¶ 0038).
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of FUHRER as applied to claims 2-6 above, and further in view of FRY (US 2015/0171632).
Regarding claim 7, XU as modified by FUHRER teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 6, but fails to disclose the illumination modes comprise a first illumination mode and a second illumination mode, and the first illumination mode is flickering and the second illumination mode is always illuminated.
FRY discloses the illumination modes comprise a first illumination mode and a second illumination mode, and the first illumination mode is flickering and the second illumination mode is always illuminated (¶ 0035-0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the illumination modes of FRY into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER to produce an expected result of a charging gun including illumination modes. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to convey different levels of urgency, importance, or specific operational states using a single color or indicator light, and therefore increase user convenience.
Regarding claim 8, XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 7, but fails to teach when the ambient temperature is greater than the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference and the charger station is charging, the controller generates the first control signal.
FUHRER further discloses when the ambient temperature is greater than the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference and the charger station is charging, the controller generates the first control signal (¶ 0016, 0024, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the controller generating the first control signal of FUHRER into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on temperature difference. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a charging system that is matched to the environmental conditions in an improved manner, so that erroneous disconnections of the charging system are avoided or at least reduced (FUHRER, ¶ 0006).
XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY fails to teach the controller generates the first control signal to the first light-emitting element; and when the ambient temperature is greater than the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference and the charger station is not charging, the controller generates the first control signal to the first light-emitting element.
XU discloses generating control signals when the charging station is not charging (¶ 0038), and providing the first control signal of FUHRER to the first light-emitting element during charging and also while not charging as disclosed in XU teaches the recitations of providing the first control signal to the first light-emitting element when the charger station is not charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first control signal to the first light-emitting element during charging and while not charging as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on temperature difference. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a good user experience and ensure safety (XU, ¶ 0022).
XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY fails to teach the first light-emitting element presents the first illumination mode or the second illumination mode as recited.
FRY discloses the first and second illumination modes as described above, and providing the first control signal to present the first or second illumination mode would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the illumination modes as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including illumination modes. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to convey different levels of urgency, importance, or specific operational states using a single color or indicator light, and therefore increase user convenience.
Regarding claim 9, XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 7, but fails to teach when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference and the charger station is charging, the controller generates the second control signal.
FUHRER further discloses when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference and the charger station is charging, the controller generates the second control signal (¶ 0016, 0024, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the controller generating the second control signal as recited of FUHRER into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on temperature difference. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a charging system that is matched to the environmental conditions in an improved manner, so that erroneous disconnections of the charging system are avoided or at least reduced (FUHRER, ¶ 0006).
XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY fails to teach the controller generates the second control signal to the second light-emitting element; and when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the terminal temperature minus the temperature difference and the charger station is not charging, the controller generates the second control signal to the second light-emitting element.
XU discloses generating control signals when the charging station is not charging (¶ 0038), and providing the second control signal of FUHRER to the second light-emitting element during charging and also while not charging as disclosed in XU teaches the recitations of providing the second control signal to the second light-emitting element when the charger station is not charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the second control signal to the second light-emitting element during charging and while not charging as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including control based on temperature difference. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a good user experience and ensure safety (XU, ¶ 0022).
XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY fails to teach the second light-emitting element presents the first illumination mode or the second illumination mode as recited.
FRY discloses the first and second illumination modes as described above, and providing the second control signal to present the first or second illumination mode would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the illumination modes as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including illumination modes. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to convey different levels of urgency, importance, or specific operational states using a single color or indicator light, and therefore increase user convenience.
Regarding claim 10, XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 7, and XU as modified by FUHRER teaches “when the terminal temperature is greater than the critical temperature, the controller generates the third control signal to the third light-emitting element” as applied to claim 3. XU further discloses when the terminal temperature is greater than the critical temperature and the charger station is charging, the controller generates the third control signal (¶ 0038, 0040, 0042).
XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY fails to teach the controller generates the third control signal to the third light-emitting element, so that the third light-emitting element presents the first illumination mode.
FRY discloses the first and second illumination modes as described above, and providing the third control signal to present the first illumination mode would not provide new or unexpected results, and constitutes an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first illumination mode as recited into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including illumination modes. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to convey different levels of urgency, importance, or specific operational states using a single color or indicator light, and therefore increase user convenience.
Regarding claim 11, XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY teaches the charging gun as applied to claim 7, and XU further discloses the display light module is arranged on a gun belly of the charging gun body (as shown in Fig. 1).
XU fails to disclose the display light module is a display light strip or a display light block.
Official notice is taken that display light strips or display light blocks were an old and known expedient in the art at the time of the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the display light strip or display light block into the charging gun of XU as modified by FUHRER and FRY to produce an expected result of a charging gun including a display light strip or display light block. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide design flexibility, energy efficiency, enhance visual comfort, and/or versatility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 1/6/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859