DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 07/10/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1).
As to claim 1, Chen teaches one or more processors including multiple clusters ofthe nodes may include a router, a main processor, a memory device and a processing element located in the memory device. The nodes are organized into node groups, where the node groups are organized in a grid, which may be a mesh or torus topology, para[0015])
to perform an all-to-all communication procedure in which each of the processing elements for data packets in parallel for all-to-all data communication between the multiple clusters(In an embodiment, each of the nodes in each node group are directly connected to each other in an all-to-all fashion. For example, intra-group links 210 in node group 102 directly connect each node to each other node in the group. Further, inter-group links directly connect each node in each node group to a node in each neighboring node group, para[0019], ln 1-12/ inter-group links directly connecting, in parallel, each node in each node group to a node in each neighboring node group in the M dimensional grid, the nodes each including a router. The method includes transmitting a packet from a first node in a first location in a first node group to a second node in a second location within the first node group and transmitting the packet from the second node in the second location in the first node group to a third node in a corresponding second location in a second node group, para[0006], ln 7-17/ links between nodes in different node groups, called inter-group links, are provided between nodes in neighboring node groups, where the inter-group links are parallel direct connections from each node in each node group to a node in a neighboring node group. The position of the node within each neighboring node group receiving the inter-group link may be the same, thus providing parallel connection from each node to each of the neighboring node groups, para[0013], ln 8-15 ).
Vegesna teaches each of the processing elements within each of the clusters generates data packets in parallel for communication ( For example, DPUs 17 may be arranged into multiple different DPU groups 19, each including any number of DPUs. In other examples, each DPU may be implemented as a component (e.g., electronic chip) within a device, such as a compute node, storage node, or application server, and may be deployed on a motherboard of the device or within a removable card, such as a storage and/or network interface card.), para[0045], ln 8-18/ the source DPU comprises the one of DPUs 17 that is coupled to a source server of the packet flow, para[0242], ln 6-12/ The source DPU then forwards the FCP packets by spraying[generate] the FCP packets across the parallel data paths through network fabric 14, para[0239], ln 6-10/ the source DPU is configured to: spray[generate] packets of a packet flow from an ingress interface of the source DPU across the plurality of parallel data paths of the logical tunnel to an egress interface of the destination DPU by directing each of the packets to one of the parallel data paths, right col 29, ln 1-10)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Chen with Parker incorporate the above feature because this avoids failed paths among multiple parallel data paths within the logical tunnel.
Ajima teaches each processing element within each of the multiple clusters communicates the data packets to a respective other cluster of the multiple clusters in parallel for all-to-all data communication between the multiple clusters, and such that each of the multiple clusters communicates the data packets to all other clusters of the multiple clusters( computer clusters according to the present invention are arranged. FIG. 1 is provided for explaining an outline of the present invention. In the parallel processing system of FIG. 1, a computer cluster containing a plurality of nodes is arranged at each of a plurality of lattice points in an interconnection network having a two-dimensional torus structure. That is, the parallel processing system of FIG. 1 is realized by a hierarchical interconnection network. The two-dimensional torus structure can be realized by connecting the cluster servers located at each pair of opposite lattice points (which are located at opposite edges along a line parallel to the X or Y axis) of an interconnection network having a mesh structure so as to form a loop.The parallel processing system of FIG. 1 comprises computer clusters 10, 20, 30, and 40, which are respectively located at the lattice points with the coordinates (0, 0), (1, 0), (0, 1), and (1, 1), and the computer clusters arranged at the adjacent lattice points are linked, para[0029] to para[0030]/ The computer cluster comprises first, second, third, and fourth nodes and an internal communication network. Each of the first, second, third, and fourth nodes includes, a processor which performs processing of packets, a first communication unit which transmits packets to one of a plurality of components other than the computer cluster and receives packets from one of a plurality of components other than the computer cluster, a second communication unit which transmits packets to a node in the computer cluster and receives packets from a node in the computer cluster, and a switch unit which is connected with the processor, the first communication unit, and the second communication unit, acquires[generate] packets from the processor, para[0011], ln 28-44/ For example, if the sixteen nodes in FIG. 1 (i.e., the first to fourth nodes 11, 12, 13, and 14 in the computer cluster 10, the first to fourth nodes 21, 22, 23, and 24 in the computer cluster 20, the first to fourth nodes 31, 32, 33, and 34 in the computer cluster 30, and the first to fourth nodes 41, 42, 43, and 44 in the computer cluster 40 ) are respectively arranged in sixteen lattice points in a two-dimensional single-layer lattice with the dimensions of 4.times.4, transmission of a packet from the node 11 to the node 43 needs six operations of relaying the packet. However, in the interconnection network according to the present invention in which four computer clusters each containing four nodes are respectively arranged in four lattice points as illustrated in FIG. 1, transmission of a packet from the node 11 to the node 43 is performed through the nodes 11, 21, 22, and 42, i.e., the transmission of a packet from the node 11 to the node 43 needs only four operations of relaying the packet, para[0042]/ In addition, the parallel processing techniques for operating multiple processors in parallel are known. In order to perform parallel processing, an interconnection network in which a plurality of nodes each having a processor and a communication device are mutually linked is constructed. In the interconnection network, data processing proceeds while transmitting packets between the nodes. The interconnection network may be the all-to-all-connection (fully-connected) type, the tree type, the star type, the ring type, the mesh type, the torus type, the hypercube type, or the like, para[0005], ln 8-20 / Fig.2/ FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary configuration of a parallel processing system according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In the parallel processing system of FIG. 2, a cluster server having a plurality of processing units is arranged at each of a plurality of lattice points in an interconnection network having a two-dimensional torus structure. The parallel processing system of FIG. 2 comprises nine cluster servers 100, 100a, 100b, 100c, 100d, 100e, 100f, 100g, and 100h, which are respectively located at the lattice points with the coordinates (0, 0), (1, 0), (2, 0), (0, 1), (1, 1), (2, 1), (0, 2), (1, 2), and (2, 2). As illustrated in FIG. 2, each of the cluster servers is connected through a bidirectional communication cable with each of four adjacent ones of the cluster servers respectively located on the greater X-coordinate side, the greater Y, para[0044], ln 1-17/ or example, when a packet is transmitted from the cluster server 100d to the cluster server 100h, the packet is relayed by the cluster server 100e. In addition, when a packet is transmitted from the cluster server 100h to the cluster server 100, the packet is relayed by the cluster server 100f, para[0045]/ As illustrated in FIG. 3, the cluster server 100 comprises processing units 110, 120, 130, and 140 and a communication panel 150., para[0046], ln 7-10/ transmits a packet to the cluster server 100 (at the coordinates (0, 0)), and all the buffer memories in the processing units used in the above transmissions are full. According to the present embodiment, the reception circuit 114 in the processing unit 100 is arranged so that a plurality of virtual channels can be set. Therefore, occurrence of deadlock can be prevented. When the transmission circuit 115 acquires a packet from the switch circuit 118, the transmission circuit 115 outputs the acquired packet to the communication port 153, so that the packet can be transmitted to the cluster server 100a, para[0058], ln 14-20 to para[0059]/ As illustrated in FIG. 5, the processing unit 110 comprises a processor (or processing circuit) 111, an input circuit 112, an output circuit 113, reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c, transmission circuits 115 , 117a, 117b, and 117c, and a switch circuit 118, para[0053], ln 5-11/ The parallel processing system of FIG. 7 comprises nine PC clusters 200, 200a, 200b, 200c, 200d, 200e, 200f, 200g, and 200h, which are respectively located at the lattice points with the coordinates (0, 0), (1, 0), (2, 0), (0, 1), (1, 1), (2, 1), (0, 2), (1, 2), and (2, 2) As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the PC clusters is connected through three bidirectional communication cables with each of four adjacent ones of the PC clusters respectively located on the greater X-coordinate side, the greater Y-coordinate side, the smaller X-coordinate side, and the smaller Y-coordinate side. In particular, the PC clusters located at each pair of opposite lattice points of the matrix arrangement illustrated in FIG. 7 (which are located along a line parallel to the X or Y axis at opposite edges of the matrix arrangement) are connected through three communication cables so as to form the torus structure, para[0070], ln 9-25)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Chen with Parker incorporate the above feature because provides the parallel processing techniques for operating multiple processors in parallel in order to perform parallel processing, an interconnection network in which a plurality of nodes each having a processor and a communication device are mutually linked is constructed.
Langer teaches each processing element within each of the multiple clusters communicates the data packets to a respective other cluster of the multiple clusters in parallel for all-to-all data communication between the multiple clusters( FIG. 1 is a simplified block diagram of a communication system 100 to illustrate an example use of a collective communication operation. Communication system 100 can include a plurality of groups 102a-102f. Each group can include one or more collection of nodes. For example, group 102a can include collection of nodes 104a-104e. Each collection of nodes can be coupled to at least one other collection of nodes using a collection of nodes path, para[0021], ln 1-10/ The term “packet” as used herein, refers to a unit of data that can be routed between a source node and a destination node on a packet switched network. A packet includes a source network address and a destination network address. These network addresses can be Internet Protocol (IP) addresses in a TCP/IP messaging protocol. The term “data” as used herein, refers to any type of binary, numeric, voice, video, textual, or script data, or any type of source or object code, or any other suitable information in any appropriate format that may be communicated from one point to another in electronic devices and/or networks. Additionally, messages, requests, responses, and queries are forms of network traffic, and therefore, may comprise packets, frames, signals, data, etc, para[0044]/ For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7C, group path 108a can include communication path 108a,a, communication path 108a,b, communication path 108a,c, and communication path 108a,d. Node 110a,a,a, can be configured to divide the data it will communicate to the other nodes in group 102b into as many communication paths that are available in group path 108a. For example, node 110a,a,a may divide the data into four parts and send each part to four nodes in group 102b……….the node can still divide or chunk the data and send the data to multiple nodes in the destination group one by one, instead of sending to just one node because multiple nodes in the destination group can send the data in parallel to other nodes in the destination group, para[0059], ln 3-11/ ln 23-28/ FIG. 2, data can be exchanged between nodes coupled to different switches (e.g., nodes in collection of nodes 104a are coupled to switch 112a and nodes in collection of nodes 104b are coupled to switch 112b) in the same group (e.g., nodes in collection of nodes 104a and nodes in collection of nodes 104b are in the same group 102a). All nodes coupled to a switch can send data concurrently in order to maximally utilize the all-to-all connections across switches so each node in a collection of nodes has the same data. This is followed by a data exchange across nodes in different groups in such a way that each group has the data of every other group, para[0036], ln 7-7-21/ Communication system 100 can help ensure that there are enough nodes (and that they have the required data) so that the all-to-all connections are maximally utilized, para[0039], ln 10-19).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this helps ensure that there are enough nodes (and that they have the required data) so that the all-to-all connections are maximally utilized.
As to claim 22, Langer teaches each of the processing elements includes work groups that each issue respective data communication requests in parallel for the all-to-all communication procedure( para[0021], ln 1-10/ para[0044]/ para[0059], ln 3-11/ ln 23-28/ para[0036], ln 7-7-21 / para[0039], ln 10-19) for the same reason as to claim 1 above.
3. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) and further in view of Mineo( US 9401774 B1).
As to claim 2, Mineo teaches the processing elements of the multiple clusters are graphics processing units (GPUs)( Each node 302 could also represent, for example, a group of nodes in a hierarchy or a storage cluster. Alternatively, each node 302 could represent different types of processing elements, for example, a CPU or a GPU. Alternatively still, the node 302 may represent an interface to another type of network. For example, an element for translating between the HPC interconnect fabric and Ethernet. An “all-to-all” connection as used herein refers to connections within the system 300 which provide dedicated, unshared, arbitration-free communication between each node 302 of the system 300 and each of the remaining nodes 302 of the system 300. For clarity, a transmitter portion of each node 302 is illustrated on the left hand side of the drawing and a receiver portion of each node 302 is illustrated in the right hand side of the drawing, i.e. P1_TX and P1_RX are two portions of the same node, col 4, ln 50-67/ The routing of the signals from the transmission portions of the nodes to the receiver portions of the nodes is therefore asymmetric. Specifically for each connection on the transmission side, the W transmitters in bank j (1≦j≦M) of node k (1≦k≦N) are connected to the j.sup.th input port k in the same group. However, the W receivers of the bank j (1≦j≦M) of node k (1≦k≦N) are connected to the output port k of the AWGR group j. The input ports of the AWGRs are numbered the same as the W nodes in the same group, and are repeated M times in one group, while the output ports of the AWGRs are numbered repetitively from 1 to N for all the M groups, col 5, ln 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides all-to-all connection between the nodes of the network using a wavelength routing device and a limited number of wavelengths.
4. Claim(s) 3, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) and further in view of Billa(US 20210097082 A1).
As to claim 3, Billa teaches the processing elements are each configured to communicate the data packets in parallel intra-cluster( DPUs 17 interface and utilize switch fabric 14 so as to provide full mesh (any-to-any) interconnectivity such that any of storage nodes 12 or compute nodes 13 may communicate packet data for a given packet flow to any other of the servers using any of a number of parallel data paths within the data center 10. For example, in some example network architectures, DPUs spray individual packets for packet flows between the DPUs and across some or all of the multiple parallel data paths in the data center switch fabric 14 and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity. In this way, DPUs 17 interface and utilize switch fabric 14 so as to provide full mesh (any-to-any) interconnectivity such that any of storage nodes 12 or compute nodes 13 may communicate packet data for a given packet flow to any other of the servers using any of a number of parallel data paths within the data center 10. For example, in some example network architectures, DPUs spray individual packets for packet flows between the DPUs and across some or all of the multiple parallel data paths in the data center switch fabric 14 and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity., para[0044]/ each highly programmable DPU 17 comprises a network interface (e.g., Ethernet) to connect to a network to send and receive stream data units (e.g., data packets), one or more host interfaces (e.g., Peripheral Component Interconnect-Express (PCI-e)) to connect to one or more application processors (e.g., a CPU or a graphics processing unit (GPU)), para[0036], ln 1-10/ DPU 17 operates as a new type of processor separate from any CPU or GPU of computing device 13, para[0083], ln 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides a high-level controller for configuring and managing the routing and switching infrastructure of data center.
As to claim 8, Billa teaches wherein the all-to-all communication procedure comprises: a first stage of intra-cluster parallel data communication between respective processing elements of each of the multiple clusters, and data is coalesced for inter-cluster data exchange; a second stage of the inter-cluster data exchange for the all-to-all data communication between the multiple clusters( DPUs 17 interface and utilize switch fabric 14 so as to provide full mesh (any-to-any) interconnectivity such that any of storage nodes 12 or compute nodes 13 may communicate packet data for a given packet flow to any other of the servers using any of a number of parallel data paths within the data center 10. For example, in some example network architectures, DPUs spray individual packets for packet flows between the DPUs and across some or all of the multiple parallel data paths in the data center switch fabric 14 and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity. In this way, DPUs 17 interface and utilize switch fabric 14 so as to provide full mesh (any-to-any) interconnectivity such that any of storage nodes 12 or compute nodes 13 may communicate packet data for a given packet flow to any other of the servers using any of a number of parallel data paths within the data center 10. For example, in some example network architectures, DPUs spray individual packets for packet flows between the DPUs and across some or all of the multiple parallel data paths in the data center switch fabric 14 and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity., para[0044]/DPU 17 operates as a new type of processor separate from any CPU or GPU of computing device 13, para[0083], ln 1-3/ and a third stage of intra-cluster data distribution to the respective processing elements of each of the multiple clusters( Analytics service control nodes 25 present one or more interfaces (e.g., APIs) with which general analytics software tools 23 interact to direct analytics processing of data from data sources 19 via one or more clusters of one or more DPU-enhanced compute nodes 13 and, in some examples, one or more DPU-enhanced storage nodes 12, para[0047], ln 5-14/ In one example, data ingestion engine 31 reads rows of tables of data from data sources 19 and distributes the rows of data to compute nodes 13 via DPUs 17 using distribution keys for storage and subsequent, high-speed analytics processing. Alternatively, in some implementations, data ingestion engine 31 may horizontally slice each table of data within data sources 19 into N slices and allocate each slice to one of compute nodes 13 of cluster 42 identified by analytics service control node 25 for servicing the request. In one example, the number of slices N is the same as the number of compute nodes 13 selected for the cluster servicing the request. Each compute node 13 reads the slice or slices from data sources 19 assigned to the compute node for retrieval, para[0054], ln 10-24) for the same reason as to claim 3 above.
5. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) in view of Billa(US 20210097082 A1) and further in view of Bataineh( US 20140140341 A1).
As to claim 4, Bataineh teaches the data packets include at least GET requests or PUT requests communicated by the processing elements in parallel intra-cluster( FIG. 1 shows a system 10 comprising multiple groups of nodes in which each of the groups of nodes 12 is connected to all of the others (illustrated by the lines between groups of nodes). Where traffic is uniformly distributed all paths are equally loaded as shown on the left hand side of the Figure. Where traffic is between pairs of groups of nodes 12 (shown in heavier lines on the right hand side of the Figure) many of the links are unused (thinner lines) with minimal routing. Adaptive routing algorithms select between minimal and non-minimal routing according to network load. This choice can be biased to favor minimal or non-minimal routing, for example, so that minimal routing can be preferred when the load is lower. In general, global communication patterns (all-to-all or FFT for example) perform well with minimal routing and local-communication patterns (nearest neighbor for example) perform well with non-minimal (or some element of non-minimal) routing, para[0002], ln 17-30 to para[0003], ln 1-6/ his simulation consisted of each endpoint injecting messages of size 64 bytes to 128K bytes. Each message consisted of cache-line sized GET request packets to random (evenly distributed) destinations in the network, para[0057], ln 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Chen, Parker, Tong and Billa with Bataineh to incorporate the above feature because this increases minimal bias algorithm results in minimal routing of a higher percentage of traffic. As such it improves performance and cost effectiveness.
6. Claim(s) 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) and further in view of Froese( US 20220166705 A1).
As to claim 5, Froese teaches a single data message is communicated between a pair of the multiple clusters for the all-to-all data communication between the multiple clusters( It should be noted that each column may have identical connections with the all-to-all column bus connections for a single column, and there may be a two clock delay per tile, resulting in a six clock delay to get from the top row to the bottom row. It should also be understood that both row and column buses both use the aforementioned credit-based protocol to determine when they are able to send. In the case of row buses, the source port maintains credit count, para[0056], ln 1-10/ There may be multiple local links between pairs of switches within a group and there may be multiple links between pairs of groups. A packet may be routed directly from its source group to its destination group or it may be routed through one other group (an intermediate group) on its way from the source to the destination group, para[0207], ln 9-15).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Chen, Parker, Tong with Froese to incorporate the above feature because this reduces the maximum latency of small communications in the presence of large communications.
As to claim 15, it is rejected for the same reason as to claims 1 and 5 above.
7. Claim(s) 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) in view of Froese( US 20220166705 A1) and further in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1)
As to claim 6, Ajima teaches the data packets are coalesced in a send buffer from which the single data message is generated for inter-cluster communication between the pair of the multiple clusters( When one or more packets are stored in the buffer memories in the output circuit 113 and the reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c, the switch circuit 118 successively acquires the packets from the output circuit 113 and the reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c. Then, the switch circuit 118 determines the destination (from the switch circuit 118) of each of the acquired packets on the basis of the destination address contained in the packet. The destination (from the switch circuit 118) of each of the acquired packets is one of the input circuit 112 and the transmission circuits 115, 117a, 117b, and 117c, para[0062]/ if the sixteen nodes in FIG. 1 (i.e., the first to fourth nodes 11, 12, 13, and 14 in the computer cluster 10, the first to fourth nodes 21, 22, 23, and 24 in the computer cluster 20, the first to fourth nodes 31, 32, 33, and 34 in the computer cluster 30, and the first to fourth nodes 41, 42, 43, and 44 in the computer cluster 40) are respectively arranged in sixteen lattice points in a two-dimensional single-layer lattice with the dimensions of 4.times.4, transmission of a packet from the node 11 to the node 43 needs six operations of relaying the packet. However, in the interconnection network according to the present invention in which four computer clusters each containing four nodes are respective, para[0042], ln 14).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces the number of operations of relaying a packet.
As to claim 7, Ajma teaches the single data message is communicated from the send buffer to a receive buffer for the inter-cluster communication between the pair of the multiple clusters( para[0062]/para[0042], ln 14) for the same reason as to claim 6 above.
8. Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) and further in view of Sharapov(US 7333444 B1).
As to claim 9, Sharapov teaches the all-to-all communication procedure is performed in a number of steps that is twice a number of clustering levels plus one additional step(This network topology is based on multiple levels of all-to-all clustering within subsets of the overall network, col 6, ln 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides a high degree of connectivity with low communication latency, it is desirable to connect system components together into highly connected networks through direct point-to-point links.
9. Claim(s) 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARKER( EP 2451127 A1) in view of Kaldewey(US 20200125368 A1) in view of Mineo(US 9401774 B1) and further in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1).
As to claim 10, Parker teaches and each of the multiple clusters communicates the data packets to all other clusters of the multiple clusters( processor interconnect networks are used in multiprocessor computer systems to transfer data from one processor to another, or from one group of processors to another group, Each group is treated as a very high-radix router, and a single dimension flattened butterfly ( all-to-all ) connects all of the groups to form the second layer of the dragonfly topology example presented here, SEC: The dragonfly network topology, 3-10/ to increase the terminal bandwidth of a high-radix network such as a Dragonfly, channel slicing can be employed. Rather than make the channels wider, which would decrease the router radix, multiple network can be connected in parallel to add capacity, Similarly, the dragonfly topology in some embodiments can also utilize parallel networks to add capacity to the network. In addition, the dragonfly networks described so far assumed uniform bandwidth to all nodes in the network.), Sec: to increase the terminal bandwidth, ln 1-10),
Kaldewey teaches multiple graphics processing units (GPUs) distributed in clusters, the multiple GPUs configured to communicate data intra-cluster, between respective GPUs of each of the clusters exchange the data inter-cluster ( In a hierarchical exchange, the operations processor 134 may logically group the GPUs 102A-102N into sets of M GPUs, where M is less than the number of GPUs N. At the outset of probing the hash table 144, each set S of the GPUs 102A-102N may collectively include a full copy the probe table 142 across a number of partitions in the GPU memory 122 of the GPUs in the set, so that the probe table partitions are replicated in each set S. When exchanging probe table data between GPUs, the partitions may be exchanged (e.g., after filtering in a round robin fashion) within each set S. This approach may reduce the number of passes of probe table data from N to M, which may be desirable for GPU-GPU connection topologies that may not provide fast bisection bandwidth between all GPUs, and are effectively limited by communication throughput. For example, the pressure from an all-to-all interconnect between the GPUs 102A-102N may be offloaded, as the GPUs may only communicate all-to-all during the first iteration of probing the hash table 144, but in the next M−1 iterations, the GPUs may communicate within the sets, para[0098]),
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this increases the effective memory capacity available to the system and may also leverage the processing capabilities of multiple GPUs executing in parallel when processing a join operation to reduce the runtime of a join relative to conventional approaches.
Mineo teaches for an all-to-all data communication between the clusters; distribute the data intra-cluster to the respective GPUs of each of the clusters( The network 300 of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 4. The network 300 includes N nodes 302 for which all-to-all connection is provided utilizing AWGRs 304. The nodes are identified in FIG. 4 as P1-PN. The nodes 302 represent, for example, a processing element along with memory and a network interface (e.g. a computer, blade, or rack), and a WDM optical interconnect link including a transmitter and a receiver. Each node 302 could also represent, for example, a group of nodes in a hierarchy or a storage cluster. Alternatively, each node 302 could represent different types of processing elements, for example, a CPU or a GPU. Alternatively still, the node 302 may represent an interface to another type of network. For example, an element for translating between the HPC interconnect fabric and Ethernet. An “all-to-all” connection as used herein refers to connections within the system 300 which provide dedicated, unshared, arbitration-free communication between each node 302 of the system 300 and each of the remaining nodes 302 of the system 300. For clarity, a transmitter portion of each node 302 is illustrated on the left hand side of the drawing and a receiver portion of each node 302 is illustrated in the right hand side of the drawing, i.e. P1_TX and P1_RX are two portions of the same node, specifically the transmitter and receiver portions respectively, col 4, ln 43-67).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides arbitration-free all-to-all connection between the nodes of the network utilizing wavelength routing devices and utilizing a limited number of wavelengths for routing optical signals to the nodes of the network.
Langer teaches the data being coalesced within each of the clusters to generate a respective single message for each other cluster of the clusters, an all-to-all data communication between the clusters in which each of the clusters communicates the respective single message to all other clusters of the clusters( FIG. 1 is a simplified block diagram of a communication system 100 to illustrate an example use of a collective communication operation. Communication system 100 can include a plurality of groups 102a-102f. Each group can include one or more collection of nodes. For example, group 102a can include collection of nodes 104a-104e. Each collection of nodes can be coupled to at least one other collection of nodes using a collection of nodes path, para[0021], Communication system 100 can be configured to perform a data exchange in a hierarchical topology aware manner. In an example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the data can be exchanged across nodes within the same switch (e.g., nodes 110a,a-110a,o in collection of nodes 104a can exchange data using switch 112a). ….. All nodes coupled to a switch can send data concurrently in order to maximally utilize the all-to-all connections across switches so each node in a collection of nodes has the same data. This is followed by a data exchange across nodes in different groups in such a way that each group has the data of every other group , para[0036], ln 1-25/ ln 1-11/communication system 100 can be configured to facilitate a collective communication operation and identify and consolidate one or more processes on a node in a first collection of nodes. The consolidated data can be communicated to a second node in the first collection of nodes. The first collection of nodes is part of a first group of nodes and the consolidated data can be communicated to a third node in a second collection of nodes, where the second collection of nodes is part of the first group of nodes. In addition, the consolidated data can be communicated to a fourth node, where the fourth node is part of a third collection of nodes, where the third collection of nodes is in a second group of nodes, para[0030], ln 3-19/ the received data can be combined with the consolidated data before communicating the combined consolidated data to another node, in another collection of nodes, in another group of nodes, para[0031], ln 3-10/ The contributed data item is collected or consolidated(e.g., into memory, a single buffer, etc.) and the consolidated data can be made available to all the nodes. As explained above, in a dragonfly topology, there are direct connections at each tier of the topology. At the first tier of a three tier dragonfly topology, multiple nodes (e.g., nodes 110a,a-110a,o illustrated in FIG. 3) are directly connected to each other through a switch (e.g., switch 112a). At the second tier, multiple switches can be directly connected to each other to form a group (as illustrated in FIG. 2). At the third tier, the groups are directly connected to each other through the switches inside each group (as illustrated in FIG. 3)., para[0035], ln 7-32/In Example S3, the subject matter of any one of Examples S1-S2 can optionally include where the received consolidated data related to the gather process is combined with the data before communicating the combined consolidated data to another node, in another collection of nodes, in another group of nodes, para[0082]/ The process leverages the all-to-all direct connections at each level of the dragonfly topology and helps to ensures that the source and destination of the messages are within the same set of nodes (where a set of nodes is either a collection of nodes or a group of nodes), para[0039], ln 1-6/ n a specific example, communication system 100 can be configured to allow for a gather or scatter collective operation on a multi-tier dragonfly topology or some other interconnected network topology. In a gather or scatter collective operation, most or every process contributes a data item. The contributed data item is collected or consolidated (e.g., into memory, a single buffer, etc.) and the consolidated data can be made available to all the nodes. As explained above, in a dragonfly topology, there are direct connections at each tier of the topology. At the first tier of a three tier dragonfly topology, multiple nodes (e.g., nodes 110a,a-110a,o illustrated in FIG. 3) are directly connected to each other through a switch (e.g., switch 112a). At the second tier, multiple switches can be directly connected to each other to form a group (as illustrated in FIG. 2). At the third tier, the groups are directly connected to each other through the switches inside each group (as illustrated in FIG. 3), para[0035]/ Nodes within a collection of nodes are directly connected to each other and the nodes exchange each other's data in an all-to-all exchange pattern. This allows each node to have the data of every other node in communication with the same switch. The nodes can send the data to nodes in other collections of nodes. In an example, there can be thirty one (31) links that connect a switch to 31 other switches or 31 links that connect a collection of nodes to 31 other collection of nodes, para[0040], ln 12-23).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this helps ensure that there are enough nodes (and that they have the required data) so that the all-to-all connections are maximally utilized.
As to claim 11, Kaldewey teaches the multiple GPUs are configured to coalesce the data intra- cluster for exchange of the data inter-cluster( para[0098]) for the same reason as to claim 10 above.
10. Claim(s) 12, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARKER( EP 2451127 A1) in view of Kaldewey(US 20200125368 A1) in view of Mineo(US 9401774 B1) in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) and further in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1).
As to claim 12, Ajima teaches the data packets are coalesced in a send buffer from which the single data message is generated for inter-cluster communication between the pair of the multiple clusters( When one or more packets are stored in the buffer memories in the output circuit 113 and the reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c, the switch circuit 118 successively acquires the packets from the output circuit 113 and the reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c. Then, the switch circuit 118 determines the destination (from the switch circuit 118) of each of the acquired packets on the basis of the destination address contained in the packet. The destination (from the switch circuit 118) of each of the acquired packets is one of the input circuit 112 and the transmission circuits 115, 117a, 117b, and 117c, para[0062]/ if the sixteen nodes in FIG. 1 (i.e., the first to fourth nodes 11, 12, 13, and 14 in the computer cluster 10, the first to fourth nodes 21, 22, 23, and 24 in the computer cluster 20, the first to fourth nodes 31, 32, 33, and 34 in the computer cluster 30, and the first to fourth nodes 41, 42, 43, and 44 in the computer cluster 40) are respectively arranged in sixteen lattice points in a two-dimensional single-layer lattice with the dimensions of 4.times.4, transmission of a packet from the node 11 to the node 43 needs six operations of relaying the packet. However, in the interconnection network according to the present invention in which four computer clusters each containing four nodes are respective, para[0042], ln 14).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces the number of operations of relaying a packet.
As to claim 13, Ajma teaches wherein the second stage comprises a single data message being communicated between a pair of the clusters for the inter-cluster data exchange.
( para[0062]/para[0042], ln 14) for the same reason as to claim 12 above.
As to claim 14, Ajma teaches the single data message is communicated from a send buffer to a receive buffer for the inter-cluster data exchange between the pair of the clusters(para[0062]/para[0042], ln 14) for the same reason as to claim 12 above .
11. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARKER( EP 2451127 A1) in view of Klenk( US 20210037107 A1) in view of Mineo(US 9401774 B1) and further in view of Goel(US 11477120 B2).
As to claim 15, Parker teaches and each of the multiple clusters communicates the data packets to all other clusters of the multiple clusters( processor interconnect networks are used in multiprocessor computer systems to transfer data from one processor to another, or from one group of processors to another group, Each group is treated as a very high-radix router, and a single dimension flattened butterfly ( all-to-all ) connects all of the groups to form the second layer of the dragonfly topology example presented here, SEC: The dragonfly network topology, 3-10/ to increase the terminal bandwidth of a high-radix network such as a Dragonfly, channel slicing can be employed. Rather than make the channels wider, which would decrease the router radix, multiple network can be connected in parallel to add capacity, Similarly, the dragonfly topology in some embodiments can also utilize parallel networks to add capacity to the network. In addition, the dragonfly networks described so far assumed uniform bandwidth to all nodes in the network.), Sec: to increase the terminal bandwidth, ln 1-10),
Klenk teaches generating, by each of multiple GPUs distributed in cluster, data packets in parallel( the PPU 300 is a graphics processing unit (GPU), para[0063], ln 8-10/ general processing clusters (GPCs) 350, para[0065], ln 3-6/ in large-scale cluster computing environments where PPUs 300 process very large datasets and/or run applications for extended periods, para[0084], ln 6-7/ the parallel processing unit in the endpoint to generate a data packet associated with the load/store instruction that is forwarded to the network device 110. A description of an exemplary parallel processing unit is set forth below before discussing the detailed methods for performing a network computation, para[0062], ln 9-15/ then the All-to-All primitive causes each endpoint to receive one element of each row such that the matrix is transposed and each endpoint stores a column of the matrix. , para[0149], ln 37-42).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces the complexity of the task and reducing network latency while increasing the effective network bandwidth.
Mineo teaches multiple GPUs distributed in clusters for all-to-all data communication between the clusters ( The network 300 of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 4. The network 300 includes N nodes 302 for which all-to-all connection is provided utilizing AWGRs 304. The nodes are identified in FIG. 4 as P1-PN. The nodes 302 represent, for example a processing element along with memory and a network interface (e.g. a computer, blade, or rack), and a WDM optical interconnect link including a transmitter and a receiver. Each node 302 could also represent, for example, a group of nodes in a hierarchy or a storage cluster. Alternatively, each node 302 could represent different types of processing elements, for example, a CPU or a GPU. Alternatively still, the node 302 may represent an interface to another type of network. For example, an element for translating between the HPC interconnect fabric and Ethernet. An “all-to-all” connection as used herein refers to connections within the system 300 which provide dedicated, unshared, arbitration-free communication between each node 302 of the system 300 and each of the remaining nodes 302 of the system 300. For clarity, a transmitter portion of each node 302 is illustrated on the left hand side of the drawing and a receiver portion of each node 302 is illustrated in the right hand side of the drawing, i.e. P1_TX and P1_RX are two portions of the same node, specifically the transmitter and receiver portions respectively, col 4, ln 43-67).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides arbitration-free all-to-all connection between the nodes of the network utilizing wavelength routing devices and utilizing a limited number of wavelengths for routing optical signals to the nodes of the network.
Goel teaches the data packets being communicated, in parallel, by each GPU within each of the clusters to a respective other cluster of the clusters( SDN controller 18 uses its knowledge of the DPUs to define multiple sets (groups)[group] of two of more DPUs to establish different virtual fabrics over switch fabric 14, col 7, ln 25-31/ As another example, GPU rack 22[group] holds a plurality of GPU blades (“GPUs A-M”) 23 that each includes at least a GPU. One or more of GPU blades 23 may include a GPU, a DPU, and one or more storage devices, e.g., SSDs, communicatively coupled via PCI-e links or buses. In this implementation, the DPU is configured to control input and output of data with network 7 and/or switch fabric 14, feed the data from at least one of network 7, switch fabric 14, or the storage devices to the GPU for processing, col 5, ln 32-41/ the DPUs may be configured to spray individual packets for packet flows between the DPUs and across some or all of the multiple parallel data paths in the data center switch fabric 14 and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity, col 6, ln 50-60/ the DPUs may spray individual data packets of packet flows between the DPUs and across multiple parallel data paths in the packet switched network and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity, col 7, ln 3-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces congestion that would otherwise increase the latency of other destination blocks receiving data units.
12. Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of PARKER( EP 2451127 A1) in view of Klenk( US 20210037107 A1) in view of Mineo(US 9401774 B1) in view of Goel(US 11477120 B2) and further in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1)
As to claim 16, Ajima teaches coalescing the data packets in a send buffer from which the single data message is generated for inter-cluster communication between the pair of the clusters( When one or more packets are stored in the buffer memories in the output circuit 113 and the reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c, the switch circuit 118 successively acquires the packets from the output circuit 113 and the reception circuits 114, 116a, 116b, and 116c. Then, the switch circuit 118 determines the destination (from the switch circuit 118) of each of the acquired packets on the basis of the destination address contained in the packet. The destination (from the switch circuit 118) of each of the acquired packets is one of the input circuit 112 and the transmission circuits 115, 117a, 117b, and 117c, para[0062]/ if the sixteen nodes in FIG. 1 (i.e., the first to fourth nodes 11, 12, 13, and 14 in the computer cluster 10, the first to fourth nodes 21, 22, 23, and 24 in the computer cluster 20, the first to fourth nodes 31, 32, 33, and 34 in the computer cluster 30, and the first to fourth nodes 41, 42, 43, and 44 in the computer cluster 40) are respectively arranged in sixteen lattice points in a two-dimensional single-layer lattice with the dimensions of 4.times.4, transmission of a packet from the node 11 to the node 43 needs six operations of relaying the packet. However, in the interconnection network according to the present invention in which four computer clusters each containing four nodes are respective, para[0042], ln 14).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces the number of operations of relaying a packet.
13 Claim(s) 17, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARKER( EP 2451127 A1) in view of Klenk( US 20210037107 A1) in view of Mineo(US 9401774 B1) in view of Goel(US 11477120 B2). in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) and further in view of Billa(US 20210097082 A1).
As to claim 17, Billa teaches communicating the single data message from the send buffer to a receive buffer for the inter-cluster communication between the pair of the clusters( In some example implementations, DPUs 17 interface and utilize switch fabric 14 so as to provide full mesh (any-to-any) interconnectivity such that any of storage nodes 12 or compute nodes 13 may communicate packet data for a given packet flow to any other of the servers using any of a number of parallel data paths within the data center 10. For example, in some example network architectures, DPUs spray individual packets for packet flows between the DPUs and across some or all of the multiple parallel data paths in the data center switch fabric 14 and reorder the packets for delivery to the destinations so as to provide full mesh connectivity, para[0044], ln 1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces the number of operations of relaying a packet.
As to claim 18, Billa teaches the all-to-all communication procedure comprises a first stage of intra-cluster parallel data communication between respective GPUs of each of the clusters( para[0044], ln 1-20) for the same reason as to claim 17 above.
As to claim 20, Billa teaches the all-to-all communication procedure comprises a third stage of intra-cluster data distribution to the respective GPUs of each of the clusters ( para[0047], ln 5-14/ para[0054], ln 10-24) for the same reason as to claim 3 above.
14. Claim 21 is ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ( US 20140044015 A1) in view of Vegesna(US 20210297351 A1) in view of Ajima( US 20080089329 A1) in view of Langer(US 20180183857 A1) and further in view of HOWARD(WO 2005111843 A2).
As to claim 21, HOWARD teaches the data packets are communicated asynchronously from each of the multiple clusters to all other clusters of the multiple clusters( Manifold and Hyper-Manifold Level All-to-All Cross-Communication In considering the data present on the nodes in each cascade group, each node has all of the data from every node in the group. Thus, data may be exchanged between each cascade group similarly to data exchanges between nodes: each node exchanges only with its corresponding node in the other groups, Sec: Manifold and Hyper-Manifold, ln 1-12/ The exchange process can be organized into 3 distinct steps: 1) All compute nodes in a cascade group exchange among their member nodes. 2) All cascade groups connected to single top level hyper-manifold channel exchange. 3) The nodes on each top level channels exchange. After step 1, each node in a cascade group has a copy of all the data on the group. Thus, step 2 proceeds by having each node exchange only with its counter part in the other groups, Sec: ype I Manifold AU-to-AH , ln 11-33/ specific packets of data are moved from one compute node to every other compute node, Sec: Mersenne Prime Cascade, ln 8-11/ using a processing thread to handle asynchronous input to the compute node; using a second processing thread to process a job of the cascade; and using a processing thread to handle asynchronous output from the compute node, Sec: claim 35, ln 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces communication latency within a compute node of a cascade.
Conclusion
US 10009291 B1 teaches up of related packet processors can be assigned a specific priority range. Each packet processor in each group can process an incoming packet at the same time and can generate a respective processed packet. A packet processor configured to participate in making a decision related to the incoming packet
US 20080089329 A1 teaches network, data processing proceeds while transmitting packets between the nodes. The interconnection network may be the all-to-all-connection (fully-connected) type, the tree type, the star type, the ring type, the mesh type, the torus type, the hypercube type, or the like.
US 5404558 A teaches hus junction unit 304 generates five data packet in parallel, and selectively transmits each packet to any one of the first to fifth detecting units 310 to 318, in accordance with the destination intra-cluster identification number CI of the packet.
US 20220284903 A1 teaches ASR group for language B receives a confidence level from the ASR engine included in the ASR group for language B, etc. Each of these text packets may be generated and scored simultaneously (or near-simultaneously) by their respective ASR groups. These confidence levels are checked (303) by the
US 20130263249 A1 teaches a second NE using an internet key exchange (IKE) or an IKE version 2 (IKEv2), wherein the first sub-SAs are unidirectional, and wherein the first sub-SAs are configured to transport a first plurality of data packets.
/LECHI TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194