DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 1/22/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202111665088.5, filed on 12/31/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 9, 11 – 15, 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helm (US 20200366033) in view of Sawamura (US 8337244) and further in view of Abouklassem (US 20180102611).
Regarding claim 1, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) a connector housing assembly (see figure 1), comprising:
an inner housing (inner housing part of 200) defining a plurality of terminal mounting holes (240) for fixedly mounting a plurality of terminals (600);
a cable seal (721) installed in the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and adapted to form a seal between the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and a cable (420) extending into the inner housing (see figure 3), the cable seal (721) includes a first cable seal (721) for sealing a first number of cables (420; Examiner interprets “number of cables” as one cable) of the connector (see figure 3), the first cable seal (721) has a first cable through hole (hole in which 420 goes through),
a housing seal (740) sleeved on an outer side of the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and adapted to form a seal between the inner housing and a mating housing of a mating connector (i.e. 740 is capable of forming a seal between the inner housing part of 200 and a mating housing of a mating connector).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose the inner housing is formed with a mounting portion mounting a shield spring piece; a second cable seal for sealing a second number of cables of the connector, the first cable seal has a first cable through hole, the second cable seal has a second cable through hole and a third cable through hole.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector comprising a second cable seal (20) for sealing a second number of cables (30) of the connector (see figure 1), the second cable seal (20) has a second cable through hole (24 - 1 in figure 5) and a third cable through hole (24 - 2 in figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide a second cable seal for sealing a second number of cables of the connector, to improve the sealing integrity and provide protection from external environmental factors such as dust and water.
Furthermore, Abouklassem teaches (figures 3, 5 – 17) a connector wherein the inner housing (housing of 100) is formed with a mounting portion (see figure 8; 115a, 115c) mounting a shield spring piece (323a, 323b; ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm and Sawamura with the connector as disclosed by Abouklassem to provide wherein the inner housing is formed with a mounting portion mounting a shield spring piece, to improve the signal integrity of the connector (i.e. ¶0004 in Abouklassem).
Regarding claim 3, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) defines: a first internal accommodation chamber (220) receiving the first cable seal (721).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose a second internal accommodation chamber receiving the second cable seal.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector comprising a second internal accommodation chamber (chamber where 13a is located) receiving the second cable seal (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide a second internal accommodation chamber receiving the second cable seal, to improve the sealing integrity and provide protection from external environmental factors such as dust and water.
Regarding claim 4, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 3, wherein the housing seal (740) is a seal ring positioned in a seal mounting portion (portion where 740 is at in figure 16) formed on the outer side of the inner housing (inner housing part of 200), an outer circumferential surface of the housing seal (740) is radially spaced apart from an inner circumferential surface of an outer housing (inner housing part of 200) of a connector (see figure 3) by a predetermined gap to allow the mating housing (200) to be inserted between the housing seal (740) and the outer housing (200).
Regarding claim 5, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first cable seal (721) and the second cable seal (731) simultaneously seal a plurality of different sizes of cables (451, 420 are different sizes of cables).
Regarding claim 6, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 1.
But Helm does not explicitly disclose wherein at least two different sizes of cable through holes are formed in at least one of the first cable seal and the second cable seal.
Sawamura teaches a connector wherein at least two different sizes of cable through holes (24 – 1 and 24 – 2 have different sizes in figure 5) are formed in at least one of the first cable seal and the second cable seal (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide at least two different sizes of cable through holes are formed in at least one of the first cable seal and the second cable seal, to accommodate cables of different diameters, allowing the sealing structure to be used with multiple cable types, therefore improving the connector’s adaptability.
Regarding claim 7, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of cables (420, 451) extending into the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and passing through the cable seal (721, 731), the plurality of cables (420, 451) including a first cable transmitting signals (420; ¶0039) and a second cable transmitting power (451; ¶0039).
Regarding claim 8, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 7, wherein the cables (420, 451) further include a third cable (451 has multiple cables) transmitting a second signal different from the first signal (i.e. 451 is inherently capable of transmitting different types of signals).
Regarding claim 9, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 8, further comprising: a first terminal (600) arranged within the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and electrically connected to the first cable (420); a second terminal (there are multiple terminals 600) arranged within the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and electrically connected to the second cable (451); and a third terminal (there are multiple terminals 600) arranged within the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and electrically connected to the third cable (there are multiple cables 451).
Regarding claim 11, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 9, wherein the first cable through hole (hole in which 420 goes through) receives the first cable (420).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose the second cable through hole receives the second cable, and the third cable through hole receives the third cable.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein the second cable through hole (24 - 1 in figure 5) receives the second cable (30), and the third cable through hole (24 - 2 in figure 5) receives the third cable (there are multiple cables 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide the second cable through hole receiving the second cable, and the third cable through hole receiving the third cable, to properly route and seal each cable within a corresponding through hole so as to ensure organized cable management, effective sealing, and strain relief.
Regarding claim 12, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein an outer diameter of the first cable (diameter of 420) is larger than an outer diameter of the second cable and the third cable (diameter of 451).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose an inner diameter of the first cable through hole is larger than an inner diameter of the second cable through hole and the third cable through hole.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein an inner diameter of the first cable through hole (diameter of 24 – 1 in figure 5) is larger than an inner diameter of the second cable through hole (diameter of 24 – 2 in figure 5) and the third cable through hole (there are multiple through holes 24 – 2 in figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide an inner diameter of the first cable through hole being larger than an inner diameter of the second cable through hole and the third cable through hole, to accommodate cables of different diameters, allowing the sealing structure to be used with multiple cable types, therefore improving the connector’s adaptability.
Regarding claim 13, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 12.
But Helm does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer diameter of the third cable is larger than the outer diameter of the second cable, and the inner diameter of the third cable through hole is larger than the inner diameter of the second cable through hole.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein the outer diameter of the third cable (outer diameter of cable 30 that goes into 24 – 3 seen in figure 5) is larger than the outer diameter of the second cable (outer diameter of cable 30 that goes into 24 – 2 seen in figure 5), and the inner diameter of the third cable through hole (inner diameter of 24 – 3 seen in figure 5) is larger than the inner diameter of the second cable through hole (inner diameter of 24 – 2 seen in figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide the outer diameter of the third cable being larger than the outer diameter of the second cable, and the inner diameter of the third cable through hole being larger than the inner diameter of the second cable through hole, to accommodate cables of different diameters, allowing the sealing structure to be used with multiple cable types, therefore improving the connector’s adaptability.
Regarding claim 14, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 12, wherein the first cable seal (721) is a seal ring sleeved on the first cable (420).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cable seal includes a block shaped sealing body in which the second cable through hole and the third cable through hole are formed.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein the second cable seal (20) includes a block shaped sealing body (see shape in figure 5) in which the second cable through hole (24 - 1 in figure 5) and the third cable through hole (24 - 2 in figure 5) are formed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide the second cable seal including a block shaped sealing body in which the second cable through hole and the third cable through hole are formed, to improve the sealing integrity and provide protection from external environmental factors such as dust and water.
Regarding claim 15, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector housing assembly according to claim 9, further comprising an elastic latch (642) locking the first terminal (600) in the inner housing (inner housing part of 200), the latch (642) being integrally formed on the inner housing (inner housing part of 200).
Regarding claim 18, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) a connector, comprising: a connector housing assembly (see figure 1), including:
an inner housing (inner housing part of 200) defining a plurality of terminal mounting holes (240) for fixedly mounting a plurality of terminals (600);
a cable seal (721) installed in the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and adapted to form a seal between the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and a cable (420) extending into the inner housing (see figure 3), the cable seal (721) includes a first cable seal (721) for sealing a first number of cables (420; Examiner interprets “number of cables” as one cable) of the connector (see figure 3), the first cable seal (721) has a first cable through hole (hole in which 420 goes through), and
a housing seal (740) arranged on an outer side of the inner housing (inner housing of 200) and adapted to form a seal between the inner housing and a mating housing of a mating connector (i.e. 740 is capable of forming a seal between the inner housing part of 200 and a mating housing of a mating connector); and an outer housing (200), the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) is at least partially accommodated within, and fixedly connected to, the outer housing (200).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner housing is formed with a mounting portion mounting a shield spring piece; a second cable seal for sealing a second number of cables of the connector, the second cable seal has a second cable through hole and a third cable through hole.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector comprising a second cable seal (20) for sealing a second number of cables (30) of the connector (see figure 1), the second cable seal (20) has a second cable through hole (24 - 1 in figure 5) and a third cable through hole (24 - 2 in figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide a second cable seal for sealing a second number of cables of the connector, to improve the sealing integrity and provide protection from external environmental factors such as dust and water.
Furthermore, Abouklassem teaches (figures 3, 5 – 17) a connector wherein the inner housing (housing of 100) is formed with a mounting portion (see figure 8; 115a, 115c) mounting a shield spring piece (323a, 323b; ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm and Sawamura with the connector as disclosed by Abouklassem to provide wherein the inner housing is formed with a mounting portion mounting a shield spring piece, to improve the signal integrity of the connector (i.e. ¶0004 in Abouklassem).
Regarding claim 19, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16, annotation) the connector according to claim 18, wherein the outer housing (200) is arranged around the housing seal (740), and a gap (200g) is formed between the outer housing (200) and the housing seal (740) for accommodating the mating housing of a mating connector (701a).
~ Please see annotation of figure 16 in the Helm reference, where the gap 200g and the mating housing of a mating connector 701a can be seen.
Regarding claim 20, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector according to claim 18, wherein the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) defines: a first internal accommodation chamber (220) receiving the first cable seal (721).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose a second internal accommodation chamber receiving the second cable seal.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector comprising a second internal accommodation chamber (chamber where 13a is located) receiving the second cable seal (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide a second internal accommodation chamber receiving the second cable seal, to improve the sealing integrity and provide protection from external environmental factors such as dust and water.
Regarding claim 21, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) the connector according to claim 20, wherein the housing seal (740) is a seal ring positioned in a seal mounting portion (portion where 740 is at in figure 16) formed on the outer side of the inner housing (inner housing part of 200), an outer circumferential surface of the housing seal (740) is radially spaced apart from an inner circumferential surface of the outer housing (200) by a predetermined gap (see gap between 740 and 290 in figure 16).
Claim(s) 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helm (US 20200366033) in view Sawamura (US 8337244) and further in view of Abouklassem (US 20180102611) and Jung (US 20200194938).
Regarding claim 10, Helm and Sawamura teach the connector housing assembly according to claim 9.
But Helm, Sawamura, and Abouklassem do not explicitly disclose further comprising a shield arranged within the inner housing, the first cable transmitting Ethernet signals and including a shielding layer, the shield is electrically connected to the shielding layer of the first cable, and the first terminal is at least partially accommodated in the shield.
Jung teaches (figures 1 – 27) a connector housing assembly further comprising a shield (133) arranged within the inner housing (112), the first cable (121) transmitting Ethernet signals (i.e. cable is inherently capable of transmitting ethernet signals) and including a shielding layer (141, 142, 143; ¶0067), the shield is electrically connected to the shielding layer of the first cable (121), and the first terminal (132; ¶0063) is at least partially accommodated in the shield (133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm, Sawamura, and Abouklassem with the connector as disclosed by Jung to provide a shielding layer in the first cable, to improve the protection of the cable against bending and deformation.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helm (US 20200366033) in view of Sawamura (US 8337244) and further in view of Abouklassem (US 20180102611) and Nguyen (US 20190305469)
Regarding claim 16, Helm teaches the connector housing according to claim 15.
But Helm, Sawamura, and Abouklassem do not explicitly disclose further comprising a slot for inserting a locking member defined in the inner housing, the second terminal and the third terminal being locked in the inner housing by the locking member inserted into the slot.
Nguyen teaches (figures 1 – 8, annotation) a connector further comprising a slot (285a) for inserting a locking member (285) defined in the inner housing (50), the second terminal (one of the terminals 20) and the third terminal (one of the terminals 20) being locked in the inner housing (50) by the locking member (285) inserted into the slot (285a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm, Sawamura, and Abouklassem with the connector as disclosed by Nguyen to provide a slot for inserting a locking member, to securely fit the terminals in the inner housing.
~ Please see annotation of figure 2 in the Nguyen reference, where the slot 285a can be seen.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helm (US 20200366033) in view of Sawamura (US 8337244) and further in view of Polgar (US 5647775)
Regarding claim 22, Helm teaches (figures 1 – 16) a connector housing assembly, comprising:
an inner housing (inner housing part of 200) defining a plurality of terminal mounting holes (240) for fixedly mounting a plurality of terminals (600);
a cable seal (721) installed in the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and adapted to form a seal between the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and a cable (420) extending into the inner housing (see figure 3), the cable seal (721) includes a first cable seal (721) for sealing a first number of cables (420; Examiner interprets “number of cables” as one cable) of the connector (see figure 3), the first cable seal (721) has a first cable through hole (hole in which 420 goes through),
a housing seal (740) sleeved on an outer side of the inner housing (inner housing part of 200) and adapted to form a seal between the inner housing and a mating housing of a mating connector (740 is capable of forming a seal between the inner housing part of 200 and a mating housing of a mating connector).
But Helm does not explicitly disclose a second cable seal for sealing a second number of cables of the connector, the second cable seal has a second cable through hole and a third cable through hole; and an elastic latch, the latch is integrally formed on an exterior of the inner housing and is set apart from an interior of the inner housing in a first state, a portion of the latch is movable into an interior of the inner housing in a second state to lock the first terminal in the inner housing.
Sawamura teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector comprising a second cable seal (20) for sealing a second number of cables (30) of the connector (see figure 1), the second cable seal (20) has a second cable through hole (24 - 1 in figure 5) and a third cable through hole (24 - 2 in figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm with the connector as disclosed by Sawamura to provide a second cable seal for sealing a second number of cables of the connector, to improve the sealing integrity and provide protection from external environmental factors such as dust and water.
Furthermore, Polgar teaches (figures 1 – 6) an elastic latch (40), the latch (40) is integrally formed on an exterior of the inner housing (12) and is set apart from an interior of the inner housing (40 is set apart from interior of 12 by 42) in a first state (i.e. see first state in figure 2), a portion of the latch (44a) is movable into an interior of the inner housing (see 44a in interior of 12 in figure 5) in a second state (see second state in figure 5) to lock the first terminal (24) in the inner housing (12; see locking action in figure 5, where 44a contacts 24 to lock it in place).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Helm and Sawamura with the connector as disclosed by Polgar to provide an elastic latch, the latch is integrally formed on an exterior of the inner housing and is set apart from an interior of the inner housing in a first state, a portion of the latch is movable into an interior of the inner housing in a second state to lock the first terminal in the inner housing, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1, 3 – 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834