DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the request for continued examination correspondence filed on 02/05/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, & 11-14 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, & 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR20200046480A) in view Jun-Kyoung (US10,368,355), in further view of Wu et al (US20170303290A1) in further view of Kumar et al (US20180255450A1).
Regarding claim 6 (& claim 1 (method), & claim 11 for non-transitory readable storage medium), Lee teaches an electronic device (Abstract: multi-SIM device), comprising:
a processor (Abstract & Description: processor); and
a memory (Description FIG 1 memory 130) storing a program or instructions that is capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform the following steps:
monitoring, in a case that a first data card triggers a first preset service, whether a first radio frequency resource requested by the first data card overlaps a second radio frequency resource occupied by a second data card, wherein a radio frequency resource comprises a radio frequency band and a related antenna configuration (Description (English translation) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively, Fig 12 description, & Fig 6 first component 141 and a second carrier component 142; S112 (Fig 5 description) : monitoring for overlap—when RF resource usage request section of SIMs overlap—disclosure of overlap in RF usage needs, a preset service is described as a service-based trigger: the baseband processor may receive an RF resource request from the first SIM…to process a predetermined channel from the first network; disclosure of a third (or other RF resource) to the second data card; RF resource includes carrier components connected to antennas: “first carrier component 141” and a Second carrier component 142…may be connected….related antenna configuration”..; the ability to support different channels is directly tied to RF hardware that depends on antenna-side signal paths & overlap determination depends on frequency bands and antenna-capable RF chains—frequency band support is limited by the antenna path and RF front-end chain of each carrier component); and
allocating a third radio frequency resource to the second data card in a case that the second radio frequency resource overlaps the first radio frequency resource (Abstract & Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: described as third resource or other RF resource—the system includes multiple RF resources: a first with unrestricted channel configuration and a second with restricted. When overlap occurs and DR mode is possible[Wingdings font/0xE0]may then perform communication operations via the SIMs by allocating the first RF resource and the second RF resource to the SIMs respectively; the second RF resource services as an alternative RF path for the second SIM when resource contention occurs—in short, dynamic allocation based on overlap is present),
wherein the monitoring, in a case that a first data card triggers a first preset service, whether a first radio frequency resource requested by the first data card overlaps a second radio frequency resource occupied by a second data card comprises:
in a case that the first data card triggers the first preset service and the second data card triggers a second preset service, monitoring whether the first radio frequency resource requested by the first data card overlaps the second radio frequency resource requested by the second data card (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: a multi-SIM device may operate in DR mode when the RF resource usage request sections of SIMs overlap…based on information about a first network corresponding to the first SIM and a second network corresponding to the second SIM, whenever channel setting of each SIM of a multi-SIM device occurs…updated channel setting information in the memory…used for determining whether DR mode is possible in the future and for allocating RF resources—the concept of monitoring overlapping RF resource requests from two SIMs is present in the context of DR mode); But Lee fails to disclose wherein a third radio frequency band corresponding to the third radio frequency resource does not overlap a first radio frequency band corresponding to the first radio frequency resource and an explicit reference to a “third RF resource”.
However, Jun-Kyoung teaches wherein a third radio frequency band corresponding to the third radio frequency resource does not overlap a first radio frequency band corresponding to the first radio frequency resource (col 5 lines 21-49, FIG 1-2, description of a scenario where SIM1 and SIM2 have overlapping wake-up periods (different times) during which both need to access to the shared RF resources 113, RF resources are shared and not duplicated this causes collision (both SIMS need the same RF resources at the same time, the concept of varying RF resources not overlapping is present).
Lee and Jun-Kyoung strongly suggest the needed explicit reference to a “third RF resource” as they teach dynamic resource allocation based on service request conflict, they adapt RF allocation between multiple SIMs based on network and service demand. This can be seen as motivating or enabling the claimed invention with minor modifications (adding a third RF resource or more granular frequency overlap monitoring) which would render the claimed invention obvious.
Lee teaches the detection of RF resource conflict between two data cards (multi-SIM/multi-card system) and conflict resolution by adjusting resource use. However, it does not explicitly describe the use of a third, non-overlapping RF resource. Furthermore, Jun-Kyoung compliments this by teaching collision detection and dynamic RF reallocation based on paging and DRX schedules in a multi-SIM environment, where reallocation after collision inherently implies the use of a different (non-overlapping) RF resource to allow the other SIM to receive paging.
In short, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lee’s conflict monitoring with Jun-Kyoung’s conflict-resolution allocation strategy to allocate a third, non-overlapping RF resource, motivated by the common goal of ensuring service continuity and avoiding data loss or paging failure in a multi-card/multi-SIM device.
However, Lee and JunKyoung does not fully teach but Wu teaches the allocating a third radio frequency resource to the second data card in a case that the second radio frequency resource overlaps the first radio frequency resource comprises:
in a case that the second radio frequency resource overlaps the first radio frequency resource, comparing priorities of the first preset service and the second preset service ([0006]-[0012], [0047],[0072]-[0074], [0125]-[0129], [0130]-[0138], expressly uses first service of a first SIM card and a second service of a second SIM card, processed by first and second modems; teaches that when a conflict exists between the first service and second service, the RRM compares a first dynamic priority of the first service with a second dynamic priority of the second service; expressly allocates resources based on the comparison of dynamic service priorities); and
in a case that the priority of the first preset service is higher than the priority of the second preset service 0006]-[0012], [0047],[0072]-[0074], [0125]-[0129], [0130]-[0138], expressly uses first service of a first SIM card and a second service of a second SIM card, processed by first and second modems; teaches that when a conflict exists between the first service and second service, the RRM compares a first dynamic priority of the first service with a second dynamic priority of the second service; expressly allocates resources based on the comparison of dynamic service priorities and corresponding to allocated in new resource).
in a case that the priority of the first preset service is lower than the priority of the second preset service ([0128]-[0129], teaches priority based allocation, allocates the communication resource, including an RF system resource, to one of the first service and second service according to their dynamic priorities; supports allocating RF resources based on which service has priority), allocating the third radio frequency resource to the first data card and in a case that the priority of the first preset service is equal to the priority of the second preset service, evenly allocating the radio frequency resource used by the first preset service and the second preset service ([0130]-[0138], [0153]-[0154], [0161]-[0168], teaches comparing the first and second dynamic priorities and allocating the communication resource according to those priorities; teaches increasing a service’s dynamic priority based on successive allocation failures so that a lower-priority service is not starve; has a useful mapping where example states modem 1 and modem 2 have the same service, same initial priority, and same failure count, so the RRM first allocates according to modem, SIM order; then because the non-allocated modem’s failure count increases, its dynamic priority becomes higher at the next paging position, so the resource is then allocated to the other modem effectively producing alternating/fair access over time or evenly allocated; priorities of the different services are compared and monitored as they increase or decrease depending on the priority).
Lee teaches the detection of RF resource conflict between two data cards (multi-SIM/multi-card system) and conflict resolution by adjusting resource use. However, it does not explicitly describe the use of a third, non-overlapping RF resource. Furthermore, Jun-Kyoung compliments this by teaching collision detection and dynamic RF reallocation based on paging and DRX schedules in a multi-SIM environment, where reallocation after collision inherently implies the use of a different (non-overlapping) RF resource to allow the other SIM to receive paging. Lastly, Wu teaches that, in multiple-card multiple standby terminal, when first and second SIM-card services conflict in preempting an RF/communication resource, an RRM compares their dynamic priorities and allocates the resource based on that priority comparison.
In short, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lee’s conflict monitoring with Jun-Kyoung’s conflict-resolution allocation strategy to allocate a third, non-overlapping RF resource, along with Wu’s differing priority increase and decrease monitoring, motivated by the common goal of ensuring service continuity and avoiding data loss or paging failure in a multi-card/multi-SIM device.
However, Wu does not full but Kumar teaches in a case that the priority of the first preset service is higher than the priority of the second preset service, allocating the third radio frequency resource to the second data card ([0016]-[0017], [0032]-[0039], [0043], [0045], specific to allocating multiple frequency resources to a second data card despite an ongoing service on a first data card by disclosing that, when “a data session is ongoing in a first SIM,” the DSDS controller receives “a request from the second SIM for access to the RF resources” determines “an RF rejection percentage for the second SIM” and “provides the RF resources to the second SIM based on the RF rejection percentage,” thereby allocating RF resources to the second SIM while the first SIM continues its ongoing data session).
Lee teaches the detection of RF resource conflict between two data cards (multi-SIM/multi-card system) and conflict resolution by adjusting resource use. However, it does not explicitly describe the use of a third, non-overlapping RF resource. Furthermore, Jun-Kyoung compliments this by teaching collision detection and dynamic RF reallocation based on paging and DRX schedules in a multi-SIM environment, where reallocation after collision inherently implies the use of a different (non-overlapping) RF resource to allow the other SIM to receive paging. Wu teaches that, in multiple-card multiple standby terminal, when first and second SIM-card services conflict in preempting an RF/communication resource, an RRM compares their dynamic priorities and allocates the resource based on that priority comparison. Lastly, Kumar teaches efficiently sharing radio frequency resources in a dual SIM dual standby (DSDS) device by determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources to the second SIM according to that determination.
In short, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lee’s conflict monitoring with Jun-Kyoung’s conflict-resolution allocation strategy to allocate a third, non-overlapping RF resource, along with Wu’s differing priority increase and decrease monitoring, further with Kumar’s DSDS device determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources (third or other resource) to the second SIM according to the determination, motivated by the common goal of ensuring service continuity and avoiding data loss or paging failure in a multi-card/multi-SIM device.
Regarding claim 7 (& claim 2 (method), & claim 12 for non-transitory readable storage medium), Lee teaches wherein the allocating a third radio frequency resource to the second data card comprises:
obtaining a target radio frequency resource that does not overlap the first radio frequency resource (Abstract & disclosure (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: allocation of a non-overlapping RF resource—the baseband processor selectively allocating one of the first RF resource and the second RF resource to the first SIM and the second SIM based on information about the first network and the second network…a DR (Dual radio) mode that simultaneously supports unrestricted channel setting and restricted channel setting use; indicates distinct RF resources (non-overlapping) are allocated);
determining a target cell set corresponding to the target radio frequency resource (Abstract & disclosure ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: determining a target cell set—the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operation, etc. in idle mode using the reference signal strength information; discloses a set of candidate cells (target cells) is considered);
determining, from the target cell set, a target cell that matches the second data card (Abstract & disclosure (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: selection and matching cell—RF resource manage can set one of the first SIM…as the main SIM based on the network information…and allocate the first RF resource…and set the other as the sub-SIM and allocate the second RF resource—allocation is based on matching SIM-to-network (analogy to selecting a “target cell”)); and
making the second data card camp on the target cell (Abstract & disclosure ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: camping and allocation—perform base station (or cell) reselection), the first SIM may need to newly allocate RF resources that can support channel setting corresponding to the changed channel; discloses that the device camps on a different cell and allocates the corresponding RF resource), and
allocating to the second data card a third radio frequency resource corresponding to the target cell (Abstract & disclosure (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: camping and allocation—perform base station (or cell) reselection), the first SIM may need to newly allocate RF resources that can support channel setting corresponding to the changed channel; discloses that the device camps on a different cell and allocates the corresponding RF resource).
Lee teaches the detection of RF resource conflict between two data cards (multi-SIM/multi-card system) and conflict resolution by adjusting resource use. However, it does not explicitly describe the use of a third, non-overlapping RF resource. Furthermore, Jun-Kyoung compliments this by teaching collision detection and dynamic RF reallocation based on paging and DRX schedules in a multi-SIM environment, where reallocation after collision inherently implies the use of a different (non-overlapping) RF resource to allow the other SIM to receive paging. Wu teaches that, in multiple-card multiple standby terminal, when first and second SIM-card services conflict in preempting an RF/communication resource, an RRM compares their dynamic priorities and allocates the resource based on that priority comparison. Lastly, Kumar teaches efficiently sharing radio frequency resources in a dual SIM dual standby (DSDS) device by determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources to the second SIM according to that determination.
In short, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lee’s conflict monitoring with Jun-Kyoung’s conflict-resolution allocation strategy to allocate a third, non-overlapping RF resource, along with Wu’s differing priority increase and decrease monitoring, further with Kumar’s DSDS device determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources (third or other resource) to the second SIM according to the determination, motivated by the common goal of ensuring service continuity and avoiding data loss or paging failure in a multi-card/multi-SIM device.
Regarding claim 8 (& claim 3 (method), & claim 13 for non-transitory readable storage medium), Lee teaches wherein the determining a target cell set corresponding to the target radio frequency resource comprises:
performing cell searching on the target radio frequency resource to obtain a first cell set (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operations, etc. in idle mode using the reference signal strength information; the multi-SIM device can update strength information for a reference signal received by each SIM; channel setting information…may indicate the type of the channel…updated channel setting information may indicate the type of a new channel from the network; description evaluating reference signals and signal strength testing, tracking channel info per cell and performing reselection, which is analogous to searching and selecting cells based on signal condition);
performing a signal strength test separately on N cells in the first cell set (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operations, etc. in idle mode using the reference signal strength information; the multi-SIM device can update strength information for a reference signal received by each SIM; channel setting information…may indicate the type of the channel…updated channel setting information may indicate the type of a new channel from the network; description evaluating reference signals and signal strength testing, tracking channel info per cell and performing reselection, which is analogous to searching and selecting cells based on signal condition); and
obtaining, from N cells, L cells whose signal strengths meet a preset camping condition (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operations, etc. in idle mode using the reference signal strength information; the multi-SIM device can update strength information for a reference signal received by each SIM; channel setting information…may indicate the type of the channel…updated channel setting information may indicate the type of a new channel from the network; description evaluating reference signals and signal strength testing, tracking channel info per cell and performing reselection, which is analogous to searching and selecting cells based on signal condition), and
grouping the L cells into a target cell set (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operations, etc. in idle mode using the reference signal strength information; the multi-SIM device can update strength information for a reference signal received by each SIM; channel setting information…may indicate the type of the channel…updated channel setting information may indicate the type of a new channel from the network; description evaluating reference signals and signal strength testing, tracking channel info per cell and performing reselection, which is analogous to searching and selecting cells based on signal condition);
wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and L is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operations, etc. in idle mode using the reference signal strength information; the multi-SIM device can update strength information for a reference signal received by each SIM; channel setting information…may indicate the type of the channel…updated channel setting information may indicate the type of a new channel from the network; description evaluating reference signals and signal strength testing, tracking channel info per cell and performing reselection, which is analogous to searching and selecting cells based on signal condition).
Lee teaches the detection of RF resource conflict between two data cards (multi-SIM/multi-card system) and conflict resolution by adjusting resource use. However, it does not explicitly describe the use of a third, non-overlapping RF resource. Furthermore, Jun-Kyoung compliments this by teaching collision detection and dynamic RF reallocation based on paging and DRX schedules in a multi-SIM environment, where reallocation after collision inherently implies the use of a different (non-overlapping) RF resource to allow the other SIM to receive paging. Wu teaches that, in multiple-card multiple standby terminal, when first and second SIM-card services conflict in preempting an RF/communication resource, an RRM compares their dynamic priorities and allocates the resource based on that priority comparison. Lastly, Kumar teaches efficiently sharing radio frequency resources in a dual SIM dual standby (DSDS) device by determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources to the second SIM according to that determination.
In short, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lee’s conflict monitoring with Jun-Kyoung’s conflict-resolution allocation strategy to allocate a third, non-overlapping RF resource, along with Wu’s differing priority increase and decrease monitoring, further with Kumar’s DSDS device determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources (third or other resource) to the second SIM according to the determination, motivated by the common goal of ensuring service continuity and avoiding data loss or paging failure in a multi-card/multi-SIM device.
Regarding claim 9 (& claim 4 (method), & claim 14 for non-transitory readable storage medium), Lee teaches wherein the determining, from the target cell set, a target cell that matches the second data card comprises:
determining, from the target cell set, a cell with a highest signal strength and available for camping by the second data card as the target cell (Abstract and Description (English translation) ) pg. 2 ¶ 4-7, pg. 3 ¶1-3, pg. 3-5 ¶10-12, ¶1-15, and ¶1-8 respectively: the multi-SIM device can perform base station (or cell) reselection, handover operations…using the reference signal strength information; the baseband processor selectively allocating…based on information about the first network and the second network; discloses that signal strength is considered in determining which cell the SIM connects to thus supporting highest signal strength).
Lee teaches the detection of RF resource conflict between two data cards (multi-SIM/multi-card system) and conflict resolution by adjusting resource use. However, it does not explicitly describe the use of a third, non-overlapping RF resource. Furthermore, Jun-Kyoung compliments this by teaching collision detection and dynamic RF reallocation based on paging and DRX schedules in a multi-SIM environment, where reallocation after collision inherently implies the use of a different (non-overlapping) RF resource to allow the other SIM to receive paging. Wu teaches that, in multiple-card multiple standby terminal, when first and second SIM-card services conflict in preempting an RF/communication resource, an RRM compares their dynamic priorities and allocates the resource based on that priority comparison. Lastly, Kumar teaches efficiently sharing radio frequency resources in a dual SIM dual standby (DSDS) device by determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources to the second SIM according to that determination.
In short, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lee’s conflict monitoring with Jun-Kyoung’s conflict-resolution allocation strategy to allocate a third, non-overlapping RF resource, along with Wu’s differing priority increase and decrease monitoring, further with Kumar’s DSDS device determining an RF rejection percentage based on the first SIM’s ongoing data session and allocating RF resources (third or other resource) to the second SIM according to the determination, motivated by the common goal of ensuring service continuity and avoiding data loss or paging failure in a multi-card/multi-SIM device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al (US20110117944A1) discloses method and system for task-level access arbitration between virtual modems in a multi-SIM Multi-Standby communication device
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419