DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendments of claims 1, 11, 14-16 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that the previous claim objection and 35 USC 112(b) rejections are overcome due to amendments to the claims are persuasive, and as such, the previous claim objection and 35 USC 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the Donschietz and Johnson and claim 1 are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Donschietz’s locking interface is a single continuous annulus, however, due to the rectangular shape of Donschietz and Johnson, each side can be interpreted as including an elongated channel such that those channels opposite from one another would be spaced apart.
Applicant’s argument that Donschietz does not disclose pivoting, and the mechanism it does disclose is inconsistent with pivoting is not persuasive. Applicant argues that Donschietz does not say anything about “pivot,” “pivotally,” “hinge,” and “tilt.” However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when pushing that sometimes the pushing is not evenly along such a snap fit configuration, one side can be pushed into place first and the other side being then pivotally pushed into place in order to get the full snap-fit. This is something that is common because pressure when pushing something into place is often not symmetric, which would result in one part getting pushed into place before the other.
Applicant’s argument that rectangular geometry is available in the art and is not the point of distinction; Johnson does not supply what is missing is not persuasive, arguing that Johnson does not supply the recited locking architecture. However, it is Johnson’s teaching of the rectangular configuration when combined with the locking structure disclosed by Donschietz that results in the claimed limitations, as explained in the rejections of claim 1 below.
Applicant’s argument that Donschietz identifies the alternatives, and none approaches the claimed structure is not persuasive, as Donschietz combined with Johnson disclose the claimed limitation as explained in the rejection of claim 1 below and the arguments addressed above regarding claim 1.
Applicant’s argument regarding that the proposed combination lacks articulated reasoning and rests on hindsight is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, proper motivation was provided along with an explanation of teachings of the prior art, and therefore the rejections below take into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, and therefore reconstruction is proper.
Applicant’s argument that claim 11 is patentable is persuasive, as claim 11 is indicated as allowable below if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the locking tab comprises a plurality of spaced second locking tabs” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how something that is singular can encompass many of the same thing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donschietz (US 2021/0094743) in view of Johnson (US 2010/0038273).
Regarding claim 1, Donschietz discloses a lockable vial sleeve assembly (see Fig. 3), comprising: a sleeve 14 configured to house a vial 12, the sleeve defining: a body (see Fig. 3, body making up sleeve); a first opening 28 provided at one end of the body, the first opening configured to receive the vial therethrough (see Figs. 3, 6); a second opening 32 provided at another end of the body (see Fig. 3), the second opening positioned opposite the first opening (see Fig. 3); and a locking member 16 comprising a locking plate configured to pivotably lock to the sleeve adjacent the one end (see Figs. 3, 6, par. 93, 96, half of locking member can be placed in recess and then pivotally pushed into place with the other half, due to its shape can be considered a plate), wherein the vial is insertable into the body through the first opening (see Fig. 6), and wherein in response to the locking member being pivotably locked to the sleeve, the locking member at least partially closes the first opening to restrict withdrawal of the vial through the first opening (see Fig. 6, par. 97).
Donschietz discloses the sleeve defines the first opening (see Fig. 3) and the locking member defines a complimentary shape to the first opening, with the locking member configured to be received by the first opening (see Figs. 2-3, 6) but does not specifically teach the sleeve defines an elongated first locking channel on a first side of the first opening and an elongated second locking channel on a second side of the first opening opposite the first side, the second locking channel being spaced from the first locking channel, wherein the locking member includes a first locking tab and a second locking tab, wherein the first locking tab is configured to be received and retained within the first locking channel, and the locking member is configured to pivot about the first locking tab retained within the first locking channel to insert the second locking tab into the second locking channel.
Johnson discloses a sleeve with a rectangular shape that is able to accommodate a vial of a rectangular shape as an alternative to a cylindrical shape (see Figs. 5-6, par. 69). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sleeve be a rectangular shape as such a container and associated sleeve shape is an alternative to a cylindrical shape, as disclosed by Johnson, and would predictably result in a vial and sleeve that can house material within the vial. Furthermore, as Johnson discloses the sleeve shape and first opening sized to accommodate the vial (see Figs. 3, 6), one of ordinary skill in the art would modify Donschietz to have an opening in the same shape of the rectangular vial, and the complimentary locking member would also have the rectangular shape in order to cover the rectangular opening.
Consequently, there would be a ridge on each rectangular edge of the locking member similar to ridge 54 (see Donschietz, Fig. 3) and the rectangular sleeve would have a recesses on the inside on a first side of the first opening similar to annular recess 42 to accommodate the rectangular locking member (see Donschietz, Fig. 3). The recesses are interpreted as elongated locking channels and there would be one on each side of the inside on a first side of the first opening of the rectangular sleeve and the ridges are interpreted as tabs, and there would be one on each side of the locking member such that ones on opposite sides would be spaced apart from one another. Consequently, the sleeve would define a first locking channel and a second locking channel, the locking member including a first locking tab and a second locking tab, the first locking tab configured to engage the first locking channel, and the second locking tab configure to engage the second locking channel. Due to the snap-fit configuration, the first locking tab would be able to be received and retained within the first locking channel and then the locking member could pivot about the first locking tab retained within the first locking channel to insert the second locking tab in to the second channel.
Regarding claim 2, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 1 and Donschietz further discloses the second opening 32 has a cross-sectional diameter that is less than a cross-sectional diameter of the first opening 28 (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 2 and Donschietz further discloses the second opening 32 is configured to receive a portion of the vial (see Fig. 2, top portion of vial within second opening).
Regarding claim 4, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 3 and Donschietz further discloses the second opening 32 is configured to receive a cap 62, 64 of the vial 12 (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 1 and Donschietz further discloses the sleeve further defining a base (see Fig. 6, bottom of the body), the base is defined by the body (see Fig. 6, being part of the body, it is defined by the body).
Regarding claim 9, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 1 and as explained above, as Johnson discloses the sleeve shape and first opening sized to accommodate the vial (see Figs. 3, 6), one of ordinary skill in the art would modify Donschietz to have an opening in the same shape of the rectangular vial, and the complimentary locking member would also have the rectangular shape in order to cover the rectangular opening.
Additionally, official notice is taken that a square is a well-known type of rectangle. Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rectangular shape or the vial, sleeve first opening, and locking member be a square, as it is a well-known type or rectangle and would result in a rectangular shape of the lockable vial sleeve shown as obvious above in light of Donschietz and Johnson.
Regarding claim 10, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 1 and as explained above, as Johnson discloses the sleeve shape and first opening sized to accommodate the vial (see Figs. 3, 6), one of ordinary skill in the art would modify Donschietz to have an opening in the same shape of the rectangular vial, and the complimentary locking member would also have the rectangular shape in order to cover the rectangular opening and therefore be received by the first opening.
Regarding claim 14, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 1, and as explained above in the rejection of claim 1, these references disclose the locking member including the first locking tab and the second locking tab (see rejection of claim 1 above). The first locking tab can be placed in the first locking channel and then the locking member pivotally pushed to have the second locking tab placed in the second locking channel, therefor having the second locking tab configured to engage the sleeve while the first locking tab is in engagement with the sleeve (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Donschietz and Johnson disclose the limitations of claim 1 and Donschietz discloses the side of the opening includes a chamfered wall extending inwardly and downwardly from the locking channel (see Fig. 9), and the locking member includes a complementary chamfered wall configured to engage the chamfered wall when the tab is retained within the channel (see Figs. 9, 10). Due to the rectangular shape of Donschietz and Johnson, the first opening would include the chamfered wall extending inwardly and downwardly from the first locking channel, and the locking member would include a complementary chamfered wall configured to engage the chamfered wall of the first side when the first locking tab is retained within the first locking channel (see Figs. 9-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 11-13, Donschietz and Johnson are the closest prior art found, but they do not disclose the required “second locking channel defined at least in part by a top wall, a side wall, and a shelf spaced from and confronting the top wall, wherein the sleeve further defines a further wall positioned inwardly of the side wall of the second locking channel and extending to a radius that extends along the second side of the first opening, and wherein the second locking tab is positioned to engage the radius and to transition over the radius into the second locking channel when the locking member is pivoted about the first locking tab.” In Donschietz, there is a side wall and a shelf, but not the required top wall, side wall, and shelf and no motivation could be found to modify the locking channel such that it has such a configuration. In Applicant’s invention, such a design allows for the pivoting to be done in a specific manner with respect to the locking channels in plate (see Figs. 22A-22C).
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, Donschietz and Johnson are the closest prior art found, but they do not disclose the required plurality of spaced second locking tabs configured to be received within the second locking channel, as Donschietz only discloses a single tab on each side. Additionally, while You Jae Young (KR 20170136883) discloses a plurality of spaced second locking tabs, they are configured to each be received in a respective locking channel, not in the same locking channel as claimed.
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781