DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13, 15-19, 21, 23, and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tse et al (hereafter Tse)(US Pub. 20210319077).
7. As to claim 1, Tse discloses a processor-implemented method (abstract and [0001]), comprising:
accessing an input tensor for a convolution operation using a convolution kernel ([0033] various types of tensor multiplications such as tensor product and convolution of input data and kernel data), wherein the input tensor comprises a set of valid elements ([0005] and [0017] valid elements);
generating an aggregated output value for a valid element of the set of valid elements in the input tensor ([0074]-[0076] an accumulator that aggregates data generated from the results of first filter 506 or second filter 514 to separately store aggregated data of a dimension not to be reduced), comprising:
determining a set of one or more affected output elements based on the convolution kernel ([0041]-[0042]);
generating, for each respective affected output element of the set of one or more affected output elements, a respective intermediate value based on the convolution kernel and the valid element ([0055] and [0074] intermediate data); and
accumulating the respective intermediate values to generate the aggregated output value; and outputting the aggregated output value ([0048]-[0049] and [0058]-[0060] accumulate operations, generating output data).
8. As to claims 3 13, and 23, Tse disclose wherein generating, for each respective affected output element of the set of one or more affected output elements, the respective intermediate value comprises: determining, for each respective affected output element of the set of one or more affected output elements, a corresponding element in the convolution kernel; and multiplying a value of the corresponding element in the convolution kernel with a value of the valid element ([0062]-[0063] and [0082]).
9. As to claims 5 15, and 25 Tse discloses wherein accumulating the respective intermediate values comprises, for a first intermediate value corresponding to a first affected output element in the set of one or more affected output elements: identifying a buffer element corresponding to the first affected output element; and adding the first intermediate value to a value stored in the buffer element ([054] and [0057]-[0060]).
10. As to claims 6, 16, and 26, Tse discloses generating a set of aggregated output values for the set of valid elements in the input tensor; and outputting the set of aggregated output values ([0045] and [0074]).
11. As to claims 7, 17, and 27, Tse discloses wherein the set of aggregated output values are generated in parallel ([0048] and [0066] computing in parallel).
12. As to claims 8, 18, and 28, Tse discloses discarding aggregated output values corresponding to one or more invalid elements for the input tensor ([0017] and [0074]-[0076]).
13. As to claims 9, 19, and 29, Tse discloses wherein: the input tensor is a sparse tensor, and the set of valid elements corresponds to elements having a non-zero value in the input tensor ([0045]-[0048]).
14. As to claims 11, 21, and 30, the claims are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim(s) 2, 4, 10, 12, 14, 20, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Chentanez et al (hereafter Chentanez)(US Pub. 20220051094).
17. As to claims 2, 12, and 22, Tse does not disclose wherein determining the set of one or more affected output elements comprises:
determining an index of the valid element; and determining a set of indices covered by the convolution kernel when the convolution kernel is centered on the index of the valid element.
However, Chentanez discloses wherein determining the set of one or more affected output elements comprises: determining an index of the valid element ([0348] indices of data to be processed, e.g., surface (patch) data, primitive data, vertex data, and/or pixel data, as well as state parameters and commands defining how data is to be processed and
determining a set of indices covered by the convolution kernel when the convolution kernel is centered on the index of the valid element (e.g., what program is to be executed). In at least one embodiment, scheduler 2910 may be configured to fetch indices corresponding to tasks or may receive indices from front end 2908. In at least one embodiment, front end 2908 can be configured to ensure processing cluster array 2912 is configured to a valid state before a workload specified by incoming command buffers (e.g., batch-buffers, push buffers, etc.) is initiated).
18. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the determining an index, as in Chentanez for the benefit of an improved way of using a neural network to solve problems (Chentanez [0065]).
19. As to claims 4, 14, and 24, the combination of Tse and Chentanez discloses wherein generating, for each respective affected output element of the set of one or more affected output elements, the respective intermediate value comprises generating the respective intermediate values in parallel using a single instruction, multiple data (SIMD) operation (Chentanez [0356] SIMD).
20. As to claims 10 and 20, the combination of Tse and Chentanez discloses wherein the input tensor comprises light detection and ranging (LIDAR) data (Chentanez [0209]-[0211).
Conclusion
21. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. 20210279841 – related to Apparatuses, systems, and techniques for texture synthesis from small input textures in images using convolutional neural networks. In at least one embodiment, one or more convolutional layers are used in conjunction with one or more transposed convolution operations to generate a large textured output image from a small input textured image while preserving global features and texture.
US Pub. 20200159809 – related to a method and hardware system for mapping an input map of a convolutional neural network layer to an output map are disclosed. An array of processing elements are interconnected to support unidirectional dataflows through the array along at least three different spatial directions. Each processing element is adapted to combine values of dataflows along different spatial directions into a new value for at least one of the supported dataflows. For each data entry in the output map, a plurality of products from pairs of weights of a selected convolution kernel and selected data entries in the input map is provided and arranged into a plurality of associated partial sums. Products associated with a same partial sum are accumulated on the array and accumulated on the array into at least one data entry in the output map.
/MICHAEL D. YAARY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151