DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Drawing and Specification Objections, Applicant argues, “Claims 1-20 are hereby canceled. Therefore, the drawing/specification objection are moot.”
The Examiner agrees in part with respect to claim limitations that have been cancelled which raised Drawing and Specification objections. However, claim limitations which raised Drawing Objections and which remain in the current claims still raise Drawing Objections. Additionally, Drawing Objections that were not related to claim limitations have not been overcome by the cancellation of Claims 1-20.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of sensors,” “first height position,” “second height position,” “plurality of indented grooves,” and “the knuckle rotation assembly can be rotated in a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figure 1 is objected to for containing reference character “16,” which is not accompanied by a lead line to the structure which it identifies.
The drawings are objected to for improper/inconsistent use of lead line arrows (see 37 CFR 1.84(r)). As an example, reference character “190” (Fig. 6) has a lead line with no arrow and appears to reference a specific structure, whereas reference character “190” (Fig. 7) has a lead line with an arrow pointing to a region having a plurality of structures.
Figure 13 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because it includes reference character “5” which is not mentioned in the description.
Arrowed lead lines of reference characters 2 and 4 are too removed from the structures they’re associated with, resulting in ambiguity in Figure 1.
Figures 1-31 are objected to for failing to meet drawing criteria set forth in 37 CFR 1.84(l). All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim limitations “horizontal beam” and “vertical beam” are not disclosed in Applicant’s originally filed Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control system,” “extension assembly,” and “locking assembly.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21. The claim limitation “a plurality of sensors positioned on a top portion and a bottom portion of the frame” is deemed to be New Matter given that Applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not support “a plurality of sensors positioned on a top portion…of the frame.” The Examiner notes that Applicant’s Fig. 1 may support a sensor positioned on a top portion of boom support (140), but the boom support has not been disclosed as being a component of the frame.
Claims 21, 27, and 36. The limitation “the front support assembly includes a vertical beam” is deemed to be New Matter. The limitation “vertical beam” lacks antecedence in the Specification, and there is no vertical beam shown in any of Applicant’s figures. As best as can be ascertained by the Examiner, claimed “vertical beam” is referencing disclosed “rear frame support” (62), which has been disclosed as being a component of the rear support assembly (Applicant’s Specification, Par. 0047).
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21, 27, and 36 contain the limitation “a vertical beam” which is indefinite in that the term lacks antecedence in Applicant’s originally filed Specification, and given that Applicant’s drawings do not show any vertical beam. However, as best as the Examiner can ascertain, claimed “vertical beam” is referencing disclosed “rear frame support” (62) in light of the limitation “the free-floating rear wheel is coupled to a second end of the vertical beam.” To maintain compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret “vertical beam” as being disclosed “rear frame support” (62).
Claims 21, 27, and 36 are further indefinite for the limitation “the front support assembly includes a vertical beam.” As best as can be ascertained, claimed “vertical beam” is referencing disclosed “rear frame support” (62), which has been disclosed as being a component of the rear support assembly (Applicant’s Specification, Par. 0047). To maintain compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret claimed “vertical beam” as being a component of the rear support assembly, as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification and Drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 (as best understood by the Examiner) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grether (US 5,409,346).
Grether discloses;
Claim 21. A forklift assembly, comprising:
a frame (1, 2, 13, and 15) having a plurality of sensors (59, 61, and 62) positioned on a top portion and a bottom portion of the frame;
a front support assembly (1), the front support assembly includes a vertical beam (interpreted as a longitudinal beam) (13 and 15); and
a horizontal beam (annotated Fig. 1), the vertical beam coupling (indirectly) to a central portion of the horizontal beam (illustrated in Fig. 1);
a front wheel (7) coupled to each end of the horizontal beam; a rear support assembly (2); the rear support assembly includes a free-floating rear wheel (33), the free-floating rear wheel is coupled (indirectly) to a second end of the vertical beam; an extension assembly (Fig. 3); and
a carriage assembly (4 and 5) permitting clockwise rotation and counterclockwise rotation with respect to the extension assembly (Col. 2-7 and Fig. 1-2 and 19-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-26 (as best understood by the Examiner) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether in view of Iotti (US 2019/0300346).
Grether discloses;
Claim 22. The forklift assembly of claim 21, wherein the forklift assembly further includes a control system (Col. 7, Ln. 21-33).
Claim 23. The forklift assembly includes a frame actuator assembly (19) (Col. 7 and Fig. 2).
Claim 24. The forklift assembly of claim 23, wherein the forklift assembly further includes a front support actuator assembly (22) positioned between the horizontal beam and the vertical (interpreted as horizontal) beam (Col. 3 and Fig. 1).
Grether is silent to;
Claim 22. The control system permits remote control operation.
Claim 23. The frame actuator assembly is positioned within the vertical (interpreted as horizontal) beam.
Claim 25. The forklift assembly of claim 24, wherein the plurality of sensors are in communication with the frame actuator assembly to extend or retract the vertical beam ().
Claim 26. The forklift assembly of claim 25, wherein the plurality of sensors are in communication with the front support actuator assembly to rotate the horizontal beam with respect to the vertical beam.
However, Iotti discloses a work machine (1) having a horizontal beam (11), a front support actuator assembly (41 and 42), a longitudinal beam (2), a frame actuator assembly (22), a plurality of sensors (51-54), and a control system (6), and further teaches;
Claim 22. The control system permits remote control operation (Par. 0028).
Claim 23. The frame actuator assembly is positioned within the vertical (interpreted as horizontal) beam (Par. 0046).
Claim 25. The forklift assembly of claim 24, wherein the plurality of sensors are in communication with the frame actuator assembly to extend or retract the vertical (interpreted as longitudinal) beam (Par. 0025).
Claim 26. The forklift assembly of claim 25, wherein the plurality of sensors are in communication with the front support actuator assembly to rotate the horizontal beam with respect to the vertical beam (Par. 0063-0064).
Therefore, in view of Iotti’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grether’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Iotti with a reasonable expectation of success so that an operator could control the machine remotely when operating in dangerous environments, the frame actuator would be protected from falling rock and debris during operation, and to insure actuators operate within predetermined safety parameters.
Claims 27-29 and 36 (as best understood by the Examiner) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether in view of Kim (US 2008/0232944).
Grether discloses;
Claim 27. A forklift assembly, comprising:
a frame (1, 2, 13, and 15) having a front support assembly (1), the front support assembly includes a vertical beam (interpreted as a longitudinal beam) (13 and 15); and
a horizontal beam (illustrated in Fig. 1), the vertical beam coupling (indirectly) to a central portion of the horizontal beam;
a front wheel (7) coupled to each end of the horizontal beam;
a rear support assembly (2); the rear support assembly includes a free-floating rear wheel (33), the free-floating rear wheel is coupled (indirectly) to a second end of the vertical beam;
an extension assembly (Fig. 3); and
a carriage assembly (4 and 5) having a pair of prolongated plate members (3) extending horizontally (Col. 2-7 and Fig. 1-2 and 19-22).
Claim 29. The forklift assembly of claim 28, wherein the carriage assembly rotates in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction (by means of 22 about 16) (Col. 3 and Fig. 1).
Claim 36. A forklift transfer assembly comprising:
a frame (1, 2, 13, and 15) having a front support assembly (1), the front support assembly includes a vertical beam (interpreted as a longitudinal beam) (13 and 15); and a horizontal beam (annotated Fig. 1), the vertical beam coupling (indirectly) to a central portion of the horizontal beam; a front wheel (7) coupled to each end of the horizontal beam; a rear support assembly (2); the rear support assembly includes a rear wheel (33), the rear wheel is coupled (indirectly) to a second end of the vertical beam; an extension assembly (Fig. 3); and a carriage assembly (4 and 5) having a pair of prolongated plate members (3) extending horizontally (Col. 2-7 and Fig. 1-2 and 19-22).
Grether is silent to;
Claims 27 and 36. The pair of prolongated plate members extend horizontally in a first position and vertically in a second position with respect to the carriage assembly.
Claim 28. The forklift assembly of claim 27, wherein the carriage assembly further includes a locking assembly, the locking assembly stabilizes the pair of prolongated plate members in the second position.
However, Kim discloses an automatic folding fork device for forklift trucks, the automatic folding fork device having a carriage assembly (10) and prolongated plate members (20), and further teaches;
Claim 27. The pair of prolongated plate members extend horizontally in a first position and vertically in a second position with respect to the carriage assembly (Par. 0037 and Fig. 4-5).
Claim 28. The forklift assembly of claim 27, wherein the carriage assembly further includes a locking assembly, the locking assembly stabilizes the pair of prolongated plate members in the second position (80 and 100) (Par. 60 and Fig. 13-14).
Therefore, in view of kim’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grether’s disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success to include prolongated plate members which can be placed in horizontal and vertical positions and a locking assembly to allow for the prong assembly to be locked in the operable or stowed positions.
Claims 30-33 and 37-40 (as best understood by the Examiner) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether in view of Kim, and further in view of Kishi (US 5,549,437).
Grether discloses;
Claim 31. The forklift assembly of claim 30, wherein the extension assembly includes a boom support (15) coupled (indirectly) to the rear support assembly (Col. 3 and Fig. 1 and 3).
Claim 32. The forklift assembly of claim 31, wherein the extension assembly includes a sliding support (13) positioned within the boom support (Fig. 3).
Claim 33. The forklift assembly of claim 32, wherein the sliding support can extend away from the boom support and retract and extend within the boom support (Col. 3 and Fig. 1 and 3).
Grether is silent to;
Claim 30. The forklift assembly of claim 29, wherein the carriage assembly rotates in a first direction and lifts the frame and the extension assembly above a floor.
However, Kishi discloses a forklift assembly (21) having a carriage assembly (26) and a frame (22), and further teaches rotating the carriage assembly in a first direction which lifts the frame and the extension assembly above a floor so the fork lift truck can be carried at high speed to the destination where it performs loading and unloading operations (Col. 2 and 6 and Fig. 6-7).
Therefore, in view of Kishi’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grether’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Krishi with a reasonable expectation of success so the fork lift truck can be carried at high speed to the destination where it performs loading and unloading operations.
Grether is silent to;
Claim 37. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 36, wherein the carriage assembly rotates in a first direction and lifts the frame and the extension assembly above a floor.
Claim 38. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 37, wherein in a storage position, the carriage assembly is positioned below the rear wheel with respect of a vertical plane.
Claim 39. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 38, wherein in a work position, the carriage assembly rotates in a second direction and lower the frame and the extension assembly to the floor.
Claim 40. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 39, wherein in the storage position each front wheel and the rear wheel are airborne, in the work position each front wheel and the rear wheel are positioned against the floor.
However, Kishi discloses;
Claim 37. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 36, wherein the carriage assembly rotates in a first direction (J) and lifts the frame and the extension assembly above a floor (Col. 6 and Fig. 6-7).
Claim 38. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 37, wherein in a storage position, the carriage assembly is positioned below the rear wheel with respect of a vertical plane (Fig. 7).
Claim 39. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 38, wherein in a work position, the carriage assembly rotates in a second direction (-J) and lower the frame and the extension assembly to the floor.
Claim 40. The forklift transfer assembly of claim 39, wherein in the storage position each front wheel and the rear wheel are airborne (Fig. 7), in the work position each front wheel and the rear wheel are positioned against the floor (Fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Kishi’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grether’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Krishi with a reasonable expectation of success so the fork lift truck can be carried at high speed to the destination where it performs loading and unloading operations.
Claim 34 (as best understood by the Examiner) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether in view of Kim and Kishi, and further in view of Miller (US 6,213,218).
Grether is silent to;
Claim 34. The forklift assembly of claim 33, wherein each front wheel is extendable and retractable with respect to the horizontal beam.
However, Miller discloses a sod laying apparatus (1) having a forklift attachment (Fig. 10) and a horizontal beam (right and left 25), and further teaches each front wheel is extendable and retractable with respect to the horizontal beam to decrease length for transport (Col. 4, Ln. 51-58, and Fig. 1-2 and 8-10).
Therefore, in view of Miller’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grether’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Miller with a reasonable expectation of success to decrease length for transport.
Claim 35 (as best understood by the Examiner) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether in view of Kim, Kishi, and Miller, and further in view of McGrane et al. (US 2011/0052354).
Grether is silent to;
Claim 35. The forklift assembly of claim 34, wherein the forklift assembly further includes a control system to permit remote control operation.
However, McGrane discloses a top mount method and system for a forklift, and further teaches operating the forklift with a remote control unit (33) to permit the operator of the forklift to mount the
forklift onto the carrying vehicle from a position remote from the forklift (Abstract, Par. 0052-0053, and Fig. 2a-2d).
Therefore, in view of McGrane’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grether’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of McGrane with a reasonable expectation of success to mount the forklift onto a carrying vehicle from a position remote from the forklift.
With respect to the limitations that have been cited as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the structures cited in the art of record as disclosing or teaching these limitations are either structurally similar to the respective structure in Applicant’s originally filed disclosure or perform the same claimed function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD P JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652