DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (page 8-11):
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, all claim limitations must be taught or suggested by the cited art. See In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981, 985, 180 USPQ 580, 583 (CCPA, 1974; see also In re Vaeck, 947 F.2d 488, 20 USPQ2d 1438 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Moreover, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See also, e.g., KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007).
The Examiner admits that Matsuto fails to teach "the image module calculates a movement distance in which the heating unit is swingably moved on the coordinate unit, and measures a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit," as required by original claim 1. However, the Examiner alleges that these deficiencies of Matsuto with regard to claim 1 are cured by the teachings (e.g., pars. 37 and 50, pertinent portions of which are shown below) of Dimitri.
[0034] [...] A PC workstation 22 determines a calibration of the laser beam delivery system 14 by comparing the image of the mark 28 on
the calibration surface 18 to the image of the known object 30. [...]
[0037] [...] A fitting routine then accurately and precisely estimates the cross-sectional shape, size, and center position of the laser beam by comparison. Matrices of such images may further be used to determine
both long and short term drift of the laser eye surgery system. [...]
Moreover, the Examiner alleges that Dimitri teaches "the image module ... measures a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit" because the teachings of Dimitri are "inherently applicable/incorporable to using a polar coordinate system as shown exampled [sic] by conversion to Cartesian, where r = radius or arm9
length: X axis = r*cos*theta and Y axis = r*sin*theta, as anticipated ub known laser systems beyond optometry." Applicants respectfully disagree.
As clearly described in the abstract (a pertinent portion shown below) of Dimitri, Dimitri merely performs calibration based on a comparison between the image of the mark on the calibration surface and the image of the known object, and is silent as to measuring "a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit," as specifically required by claim 1.
A pulsed laser beam is directed onto a calibration surface so as to leave a mark on the calibration surface. The mark on the calibration surface is then imaged with the image capture device. The laser eye surgery system is calibrated by comparing the image of the mark on the calibration surface
to the image of the known object.
For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant submits that claim 1 is not obvious over the combination of Matsuto, Dimitri, Cahill, and Klimczack at least because the combination fails to teach, suggest, or disclose at least "the image module is configured to calculate a movement distance in which the heating unit is pivotably moved on the coordinate unit and to measure a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit," as recited in claim 1. Consequently, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with regard to claims 14 and 20, at least by virtue of its dependency from claim 1.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because In response to applicant's argument that Polar coordinates and cartesian coordinates are not comparably swapable to calibration or that the test calibrations of location of cartesian system to adjust actual location would be non-combinable to a polar coordinate system, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Because the primary reference Matsuto uses a Polar system, any corrective Calibration would be obvious to apply to the Polar system in regards to how a polar system obtains position which includes the length of arm/Radius (r) in the natural mathematical conversion of polar coordinates to cartesian (X, Y) coordinates: x=r*cos(theta), Y=r*sin(theta). A corrective calibration of a polar system must therefor account for arm length, where Dimitri anticipates correcting variances due to thermal expansion “A drift of the laser eye surgery system 14 may be determined by monitoring a variance in center positions for each scanned and imaged laser pulse. It will be appreciated that drifts may be dependent upon several factors, such as the manner in which the laser is used between measurements, the particular set of system parameters, and/or changes in environmental conditions such as temperature” [0045].
See rejection of claims regarding additional reference Cahill teaching alignment to between workpiece position and pattern reference, where Cahill also recognizes that is known in the art of laser placement to correct for thermal expansion of beam placing structures “Selecting a portion of the field may reduce other field dependent errors such as thermal drift of X-Y galvanometer deflectors. For example, a quadrant of the field where gain drift is mitigated in part by offset drift in each galvanometer may be selected to reduce beam-positioning errors.” [0213]. And Klimczak as directly sited to thermal expansion correction advantages, such that applying correction to any thermal expansion of system structure that would affect accuracy of position of structure would be obvious.
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matusto (JP 2005340668A) in view of Dimitri (US 2005/0215986), Cahill (US 2004/0031779) and Klimczack (US 2022/0048249).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuto discloses an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a support unit (2) configured to support the substrate (wafer 1);
a liquid supply unit (supply unit of pure water nozzle 25 or processing liquid supply nozzle 15) configured to supply a treatment liquid (water/processing liquid as previously disclosed) to the substrate supported on the support unit (as shown in figure 1);
a heating unit (generally system of laser transmitter 11) configured to heat a specific location of the substrate (see figure 1 providing laser beam 13 focused to substrate 1) by irradiating a laser (13) to the specific location on the substrate supported on the support unit (see figure 1), the heating unit configure to pivotably move (as indicated by swing arrows on arm 10 in attachment to “rotary drive mechanism” (9), see figure 2) between the specific location of the substrate (as shown by work done by laser beam 13 in figure 1), and a waiting location that deviates from the substrate (where at laser is not processing substrate “The drive arm 10 moves in the radial direction of the wafer 1 so that the entire surface of the substrate is irradiated in a spiral shape in relation to the spin rotation speed of the substrate and the spot diameter of the laser beam” (page 9, first paragraph)), the heating unit including an irradiation end portion (12) at one end thereof, the irradiation end portion configured to allow the laser to be irradiated to the substrate (1) therethrough (as shown in figure 1/3);
a coordinate unit (polar coordinate control of arm 10 having work length from irradiation lens 12 to axis of rotary mechanism 9 in reference to workpiece below lens 12 “The drive arm 10 moves in the radial direction of the wafer 1 so that the entire surface of the substrate is irradiated in a spiral shape in relation to the spin rotation speed of the substrate and the spot diameter of the laser beam” (page 9, first paragraph)) below the irradiation end portion (12).
Matsuto is silent regarding the coordinate unit being when the heating unit is at the waiting location; and
an image module configured to monitor the laser irradiated from the heating unit,
wherein the image module is configured to calculate a movement distance in which the heating unit is pivotably moved on the coordinate unit, and to measure a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit.
However Dimitri teaches the coordinate unit (calibration system 10, with calibration surface 18) disposed below an irradiation end portion when the heating unit is at the waiting location (see figure 1, laser is calibrated on 18 away from substrate “the known object 30 is imaged by the microscope camera 20 and then removed. The laser 12 typically directs an unshaped laser beam 24 through the delivery system optics 14 which in turn directs a shaped and positioned laser beam 26 towards the mirror 14 having a reflecting surface that directs the laser beam 26 onto the calibration surface 18 so as to leave a mark 28 on the calibration surface 18. The mark 28 on the calibration surface 18, which is positioned along the imaging optical path 32 coaxial with the laser optical path 26, is then imaged by the microscope camera 20. A PC workstation 22 determines a calibration of the laser beam delivery system 14 by comparing the image of the mark 28 on the calibration surface 18 to the image of the known object 30.” [0034]); and
an image module (camera system 20) configured to monitor the laser irradiated from the heating unit (as disclosed above [0034]), wherein the image module calculates a movement distance in which the heating unit is pivotably moved on the coordinate unit (matrices positioning “A fitting routine then accurately and precisely estimates the cross-sectional shape, size, and center position of the laser beam by comparison. Matrices of such images may further be used to determine both long and short term drift of the laser eye surgery system.” [0037]), and to measure a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit (as inherently applicable/incorporable to using a polar coordinate system as shown exampled by conversion to cartesian, where r = radius or arm length: X axis = r*cos*theta and Y axis = r*sin*theta, as anticipated to known laser systems beyond optometry “It will be appreciated that the calibration system 10 of the present invention may be applied to different laser systems, including scanning lasers and large area laser ablation systems.” [0050]).
The advantage of the coordinate unit disposed below an irradiation end portion when the heating unit is at the waiting location; and
an image module monitoring the laser irradiated from the heating unit, wherein the image module calculates a movement distance in which the heating unit is pivotably moved on the coordinate unit, and measures a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit, is to calibrate a laser processing to include calibration of laser monitoring against known marks/matrices for enhanced accuracy against drift from prior calibration “A fitting routine then accurately and precisely estimates the cross-sectional shape, size, and center position of the laser beam by comparison. Matrices of such images may further be used to determine both long and short term drift of the laser eye surgery system. The known object 30 is imaged prior to directing the pulsed laser beam 26 onto the calibration surface 18 so that the mark 28 diameters may be calculated as the calibration procedure advances. In some instances, the image produced may be slightly out of focus if the known image 30 is positioned at the laser focus plane due to the fact that the camera 20 is oriented towards the treatment plane. Further, the camera 20 response itself may also be responsible for some slight elliptical distortions of the image. Hence, the image of the known object 30 is initially fit to an elliptical algorithm to account for such camera distortion.” [0037].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto and Dimitri before him or her, to modify the inherent polar coordinate / swinging calibration step of the substrate directed laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to include the single optical axis laser processing and camera calibration system of Dimitri having away position calibration, because a disclosed system of pre working calibration enables a process for providing laser processing accuracy/coordinates with enhanced precision while working.
Additionally Cahill teaches (Figures-11) alignment/calibration between relative substrate features (2/11) and positioning calibration step using further features/marks (grid patterning 91) that are pre-placed/existing before starting calibration as applicable to laser processing of wafer (abstract).
The advantage of providing alignment between more than one feature and of calibration by a set of pre-placed/existing features/marks of a wafer laser processing system, is to provide relative positioning in all dimensions of substrate relative to the processing/working components “Three-dimensional calibration provides calibration at a plurality of marking positions along the Z-axis. As a result, the laser marking field capability is provided for changing the laser beam working distance and/or spot size automatically while maintaining the laser beam position accuracy.” [0135],
Features and calibration grids anticipated at more than one location beyond the working surface of the substrate calibrated thereto “In one arrangement the alignment vision system 14 will be relatively positioned at sample points which may include but are not limited to the regions used for feature detection. As mentioned earlier, the focus sensing may be achieved by sampling the image contrast at locations along the z-axis using the alignment vision system. The z-axis locations are recorded. Alternatively, a triangulation or focus sensor, which may be a commercially available module, may be used for measuring surface points which are used with the alignment and calibration algorithms (and the known wafer thickness) to map the surface. Similarly, a direct measurement of the second side may be obtained with a sensor included with the vision inspection module 20. In an alternative arrangement a "full field" system, for instance a commercially available Moire Camera, may be used. In any case, the data will preferably be used to-position the marking beam waist at the surface.” [0079]
positioning of coordinate system relative to processing device / stage “The marked calibration wafer is also used for a next calibration step wherein the X-Y stage 18 is calibrated. The initial X-Y stage calibration may take several hours to complete with calibration over the range of travel, the calibration information being recorded by imaging a crosshair or other suitable target on the calibration wafer.” [0134].
Calibrated features and grid may be relative to one side “the process may be adapted for calibrating separated alignment and marking fields, both covering regions of a single side of a workpiece.” [0138].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Cahill before him or her, to modify the inherent polar coordinate / swinging calibration step away from the substrate directed laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to include relative positioning between pre-existing reference features of substrate and calibrated position of stage of Cahill via features/marks because calibrating relative to a set of pre-existing/placed positioning features/marks enhances the calibration process for all dimensions of a substrate relative to processing/work implement.
Additionally in regarding to calibration measurements, Klimczak teaches obviousness to calibration adjustments in view of thermal expansion changing size/length of positioning components in material processing “the disclosed embodiments provide an apparatus, system and method of providing a leveler for 3D printing build plate thermal expansion.” [0009]).
The advantage of accounting for thermal expansion in calibrations of position components, is to provide calibration of position components when thermal expansion may have changed relative position thereof.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Klimczak before him or her, to modify the calibration first length of Matsuto to include the temperature compensation calibration to position components of Klimczak, because thermal expansion changes size of processing components that would otherwise effect position of material processing apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein in the substrate,
a first pattern (Cahill as already modifying provides reference grid line 91 as shown in figure 11D, the grid may be used to calibrate two and three dimensions “FIGS. 11A-11D relate to two and three-dimensional calibration of the workpiece processing system of FIGS. 2A and 2B with various calibration targets” [0051]) is included in each of a plurality of cells (grids) and a second pattern (feature patterns of wafer of Cahill as already modifying “FIGS. 12A-12C illustrate several features that may be located within a field of view on a first side of a wafer, the feature locations being used to determine a position of a marking beam on the opposite side, for example; FIG. 12D illustrates coordinate systems and exemplary circuit features used for relating coordinates of a wafer to be marked with a stored representation of the wafer” [0053-0054]) different from the first pattern is outside a zone where the plurality of cells is formed (separation as disclosed above by Cahill having specific calibration markings 91 or as by already modifying Dimitry having separate calibration surface 18), and
the specific location of the substrate is the second pattern (as provided by feature patter of wafer/substrate used as calibration/position markers of Cahill above).
Regarding claim 15, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 14, Matsuto as already modified teaches further comprising:
a controller (system in control of laser production 13 guidance to swing).
Matsuto is silent regarding wherein the controller is configured to control the heating unit so as to reduce a deviation between critical dimensions of the first pattern and the second pattern by irradiating light to the second pattern.
However Klimczak teaches wherein the controller (operations of material processing controlled by CPU “The operation of the exemplary processing system is controlled primarily by non-transitory computer readable instructions/code, such as instructions stored in a computer readable storage medium, such as hard disk drive (HDD), optical disk, solid state drive, or the like. Such instructions may be executed within the central processing unit (CPU) to cause the system to perform the disclosed operations.” [0024]) controls the heating unit (processing area / substrate (build plate being worked direction on) are heated “the build plate is decoupled from the mounts for the heating or cooling process, and then re-engaged once the environment reaches a saturated state.” [0036]) so as to reduce a deviation between critical dimensions of the first pattern and the second pattern by irradiating light to the second pattern (processing area / substrate are heated before calibration/positioning (leveling) in order to account for thermal expansion present during processing “the disclosed embodiments provide an apparatus, system and method of providing a leveler for 3D printing build plate thermal expansion.” [0009]).
The advantage of wherein the controller controls the heating unit so as to reduse a deviation between critical dimensions of the first pattern and the second pattern by irradiating light to the second pattern, is to provide calibration of processing area / substrate at same thermal expansions levels present during processing.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Cahill before him or her, to modify the calibration of cells of Matsuto to include the temperature compensation from working heat source of Klimczak because compensating the temperature of an area to calibrated from work heat source to a temperature of the component at working temperature enables calibration at the thermal expansion levels during processing.
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matusto in view of Dimitri, Cahill and Klimczak and in further view of Hanjaesun (KR 2005/0025704 A).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the heating unit includes a body (11/10/9/8) having one end at which the irradiation end portion is disposed (body of Matsuto in view of the modifications of Dimitri providing camera 20 and laser beam source 14 within calibration system 10 at distance/end from to outlet mirror 16, see Dimitri figure 1, (see MPEP 2145 III. Regarding bodily incorporation to the finite space of arm laser system 10 of Matsuto)),
a driver (rotary drive mechanism 9) configured to provide power for pivotably moving the body (pivotable as shown by arrows figure 2), and a shaft (8) disposed
Matsuto as modified is silent regarding the driver providing pivot to include shaft.
However Hanjaesun teaches the driver providing pivot to include shaft ( see figure 1, providing rotary drive (336) at base of shaft (332) to arm (320)).
The advantage of the driver providing swing to include shaft, is to provide the rotary drive mechanisms remote of the space required of processing chamber defined by (F), see figure 1. “a rotating unit 336 (comprising a stepping motor, a pulley and a timing belt)”(page 3, 3rd to last paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Hanjaesun before him or her, to modify the in chamber rotator of polar coordinate / swinging laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to have the remote from chamber rotating mechanisms of Hanjaesun, because remote rotating mechanisms enable the components thereof of to be outside of the processing environment.
Regarding claim 3, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the heating unit includes a body (8/9/10/11/12) having one end at which the irradiation end portion is disposed (body processing of Matsuto in view of the modifications of Dimitri providing camera 20 and laser beam source 14 within calibration system 10 at distance/end from to outlet mirror 16, see Dimitri figure 1, (see MPEP 2145 III. Regarding bodily incorporation to the finite space of arm laser system 10 of Matsuto), the laser unit of Matsuto being anticipated to relative postion therein body “A laser transmitter 11 is attached to a rotary drive mechanism 9 connected to a laser generator power supply 8” (page 9, first paragraph)),
a driver (9) configured to provide power for pivotably moving the body, and
a shaft (8) movement axis of the shaft and a central axis of the irradiation end portion (nature of polar laser driver system, see figures 2 showing swing in view of figure 3 showing coordinate processing).
Matsuto as modified is silent regarding the shaft being between body and drive.
However Hanjaesun teaches the driver providing swing to include shaft (see figure 1, providing rotary drive (336) at base of shaft (332) to arm (320)).
The advantage of the driver providing swing to include shaft, is to provide the rotary drive mechanisms remote of the space required of processing chamber defined by (F), see figure 1. “a rotating unit 336 (comprising a stepping motor, a pulley and a timing belt)”(page 3, 3rd to last paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Hanjaesun before him or her, to modify the in chamber rotator of polar coordinate / swinging laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to have the remote from chamber rotating mechanisms of Hanjaesun, because remote rotating mechanisms enable the components thereof of to be outside of the processing environment.
Regarding claim 4, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 2, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the shaft is coupled to another end of the body (as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 2, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the heating unit further includes
a laser module (source of laser 13, see figure 1), the laser module being inside the body (as shown in figure 1), the laser module configured to irradiate the laser (as shown in figure 1), and the image module (as already modified by camera 20 of Dimitri), the image module being inside the body (body processing system to include laser at 8 of Matsuto in view of the modifications of Dimitri providing camera 20 and laser beam source 14 within calibration system 10 at distance/end from to outlet mirror 16, see Dimitri figure 1, (see MPEP 2145 III. Regarding bodily incorporation to the finite space of arm laser system 10 of Matsuto)), the image module having a same axis as an irradiation direction of the laser of the laser module (as already modified by Dimitri, see figure 1 having shared axis through mirror 16 of camera view 32 and laser 26).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 2, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the coordinate unit includes a coordinate system in which a top surface is disposed on a same plane as the top surface of the substrate supported on the support unit (as already modified by Calhill “the process may be adapted for calibrating separated alignment and marking fields, both covering regions of a single side of a workpiece.” [0138]), and a support frame (components holding arm system (8/9/10/11) relative to wafer carrier 2, see figure 1) configured to support the coordinate system (arm system being generally coordinate system, see above).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 6, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the heating unit is configured to pivotably move the heating unit at a predetermined first angle while a central axis of the irradiation end portion and a central location of the coordinate system (as is known to polar coordinates of a position control system, see above polar equation).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 7, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein a coordinate of the central location of the coordinate system is (0, 0) (arbitrary perspective values, any value can be assigned to coordinates without effecting structure, while it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art to place the relative non moving center of the rotating wafer 3 as a start point 0 to polar or cartesian coordinates, Matsuto provides the start point is central to wafer “moves spirally from the center of the wafer toward the outer diameter direction while irradiating” (page 10, paragraph 6)).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 7, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the heating unit, which pivotably moves at the predetermined first angle on the coordinate system, has a movement coordinate (known of controlled movement of laser processing to relative positioning), the movement coordinate is a coordinate of a location in which the central axis of the irradiation end portion of the heating unit is positioned on the coordinate system (nature of controlled movement of laser processing), and the image module is configured to measure the movement coordinate (as already modifying, Cahill teaches measurements of features for positioning “In one arrangement the alignment vision system 14 will be relatively positioned at sample points which may include but are not limited to the regions used for feature detection.” [0079].
Regarding claim 10, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 9, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the image module is configured to calculate the movement distance in which the central axis of the irradiation end portion of the heating unit is moved by using the movement coordinate (coordinate tracking system of Cahill “the process may be adapted for calibrating separated alignment and marking fields, both covering regions of a single side of a workpiece.” [0138] as already modifying as inherently applicable/incorporable to polar coordinate operating system of Matsuto).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuto as modified the apparatus of claim 10, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the image module is configured to calculate the first length by using the predetermined first angle and the movement distance (nature to polar coordinates in view of the observed feature calibration modifications of Dimitri “In one arrangement the alignment vision system 14 will be relatively positioned at sample points which may include but are not limited to the regions used for feature detection.” [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 11, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the first length is calculated through an equation as follows:
R= L/(2sin(theta/2)) where R represents the first length, L represents the movement distance, and theta represents the predetermined first angle (as set forth in MPEP 2106.04 I. -“the discovery of [a mathematical formula] cannot support a patent unless there is some other inventive concept in its application.”, as addressed in independent claim where prior references use cartesian coordinates, the location of a polar coordinate system (in this instance the swing arm laser processing of Matsuto) requires determining r for calculating a calibrated position of the processing implement at end of r, the Applicants particular trigonometric form of a known equation set is merely determining a radial distance from an angular displacement and movement distance and does not represent an inventive concept in and of itself).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuto as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 6, Matsuto as already modified teaches wherein the coordinate system is provided as a line grid (Cahill as already modifying provides reference grid line 91 as shown in figure 11D, the grid may be used to calibrate two and three dimensions “FIGS. 11A-11D relate to two and three-dimensional calibration of the workpiece processing system of FIGS. 2A and 2B with various calibration targets” [0051] along with other features “FIGS. 12A-12C illustrate several features that may be located within a field of view on a first side of a wafer, the feature locations being used to determine a position of a marking beam on the opposite side, for example; FIG. 12D illustrates coordinate systems and exemplary circuit features used for relating coordinates of a wafer to be marked with a stored representation of the wafer” [0053-0054], same side anticipated “Other laser systems use the on-line through-scan-lens vision system to calibrate the laser-marking field on the same side.” [0122].)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matusto in view of Dimitri, Cahill, Hanjaesun and Klimczak.
Regarding claim 21. Matsuto discloses an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a support unit (2) configured to support the substrate (3 wafer);
a liquid supply unit (supply unit of pure water nozzle 25 or processing liquid supply nozzle 15) configured to supply a treatment liquid (water/processing liquid as previously disclosed) to the substrate supported on the support unit (as shown in figure 1);
a heating unit (generally system of laser transmitter 11) configured to heat a specific location of the substrate by irradiating a laser to the specific location on the substrate see figure 1 providing laser beam 13 focused to substrate 1) supported on the support unit (as shown in figure 1), the heating unit configured to pivotably move (as indicated by swing arrows on arm 10 in attachment to “rotary drive mechanism” (9), see figure 2) between the specific location of the substrate (as shown by work done by laser beam 13 in figure 1), and a waiting location that deviates from the substrate (where at laser is not processing substrate “The drive arm 10 moves in the radial direction of the wafer 1 so that the entire surface of the substrate is irradiated in a spiral shape in relation to the spin rotation speed of the substrate and the spot diameter of the laser beam” (page 9, first paragraph)), the heating unit including an irradiation end portion (12) at one end thereof, the irradiation end portion configured to allow the laser to be irradiated to the substrate (1) therethrough (as shown in figure 1/3)); and
a coordinate unit (polar coordinate control of arm 10 having work length from irradiation lens 12 to axis of rotary mechanism 9 in reference to workpiece below lens 12 “The drive arm 10 moves in the radial direction of the wafer 1 so that the entire surface of the substrate is irradiated in a spiral shape in relation to the spin rotation speed of the substrate and the spot diameter of the laser beam” (page 9, first paragraph)) below the irradiation end portion (12)
wherein the heating unit includes a body (11/10/9/8) having one end at which the irradiation end portion is disposed (laser anticipated to projected and/or driven down stream from lens 12 through/from within body “A laser transmitter 11 is attached to a rotary drive mechanism 9 connected to a laser generator power supply 8” (page 9, first paragraph)),
a driver (9) providing power configured to pivotably move the body (pivot as indicated by arrows of figure 2),
a shaft (8)
a laser module inside the body (as disclosed above (page 9, first paragraph)), the laser module configured to irradiate the laser (laser 13 as shown in figure 1).
Matsuto is silent regarding the laser being irradiated from the heating unit when the heating unit is at the waiting location, and
an image module inside the body, the image module configured to monitor the laser irradiated from the heating unit,
the image module having a same axis as an irradiation direction of the laser of the laser module, and
the image module is configured to calculate a movement distance in which the heating unit pivotably moves on the coordinate unit at a predetermined first angle, and to calculate a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit.
However Dimitri teaches the laser being irradiated from the heating unit (14) when the heating unit is at the waiting location (see figure 1, laser is calibrated on 18 away from substrate “the known object 30 is imaged by the microscope camera 20 and then removed. The laser 12 typically directs an unshaped laser beam 24 through the delivery system optics 14 which in turn directs a shaped and positioned laser beam 26 towards the mirror 14 having a reflecting surface that directs the laser beam 26 onto the calibration surface 18 so as to leave a mark 28 on the calibration surface 18. The mark 28 on the calibration surface 18, which is positioned along the imaging optical path 32 coaxial with the laser optical path 26, is then imaged by the microscope camera 20. A PC workstation 22 determines a calibration of the laser beam delivery system 14 by comparing the image of the mark 28 on the calibration surface 18 to the image of the known object 30.” [0034]), and an image module provided inside the body (body processing system to include laser at 8 of Matsuto in view of the Dimitri providing camera 20 and laser beam source 14 within calibration system 10 at distance/end from to outlet mirror 16, see Dimitri figure 1), and monitoring the laser irradiated from the heating unit (as disclosed above [0034]), and having the same axis as an irradiation direction of the laser of the laser module (camera 20 and laser 26 share axis through mirror 16, see figure 1), the image module calculates a movement distance in which the heating unit is swingably moved on the coordinate unit (matrices positioning “A fitting routine then accurately and precisely estimates the cross-sectional shape, size, and center position of the laser beam by comparison. Matrices of such images may further be used to determine both long and short term drift of the laser eye surgery system.” [0037]) at a predetermined first angle (as is nature to polar coordinates of a position control system), and calculates a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit (as is nature to calibration to polar coordinate system).
The advantage of the laser being irradiated from the heating unit when the heating unit is at the waiting location, and
an image module inside the body, the image module configured to monitor the laser irradiated from the heating unit,
the image module having a same axis as an irradiation direction of the laser of the laser module, and
the image module is configured to calculate a movement distance in which the heating unit pivotably moves on the coordinate unit at a predetermined first angle, and to calculate a first length in a longitudinal direction of the heating unit, is to calibrate a laser processing to include calibration of laser monitoring against known marks/matrices for enhanced accuracy against drift from prior calibration “A fitting routine then accurately and precisely estimates the cross-sectional shape, size, and center position of the laser beam by comparison. Matrices of such images may further be used to determine both long and short term drift of the laser eye surgery system. The known object 30 is imaged prior to directing the pulsed laser beam 26 onto the calibration surface 18 so that the mark 28 diameters may be calculated as the calibration procedure advances. In some instances, the image produced may be slightly out of focus if the known image 30 is positioned at the laser focus plane due to the fact that the camera 20 is oriented towards the treatment plane. Further, the camera 20 response itself may also be responsible for some slight elliptical distortions of the image. Hence, the image of the known object 30 is initially fit to an elliptical algorithm to account for such camera distortion.” [0037].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto and Dimitri before him or her, to modify the inherent polar coordinate / swinging calibration step of the substrate directed laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to include the single optical axis laser processing and camera calibration system of Dimitri having away position calibration, because a disclosed system of pre working calibration enables a process for providing laser processing accuracy/coordinates with enhanced precision while working.
Matsuto as modified is silent regarding the shaft being between body and drive.
However Hanjaesun teaches the driver providing swing to include shaft (see figure 1, providing rotary drive (336) at base of shaft (332) to arm (320)).
The advantage of the driver providing swing to include shaft, is to provide the rotary drive mechanisms remote of the space required of processing chamber defined by (F), see figure 1. “a rotating unit 336 (comprising a stepping motor, a pulley and a timing belt)”(page 3, 3rd to last paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Hanjaesun before him or her, to modify the in chamber rotator of polar coordinate / swinging laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to have the remote from chamber rotating mechanisms of Hanjaesun, because remote rotating mechanisms enable the components thereof of to be outside of the processing environment.
Additionally Cahill teaches (Figures-11) alignment/calibration between relative features (2/11/92) with use of grid patterning (91) and as applicable to laser processing of wafer (abstract) when laser may be at a waiting location away from workpiece (see below [0079]).
The advantage of providing calibration between more than one feature, is to provide relative positioning in all dimensions substrate relative to the processing/working components “Three-dimensional calibration provides calibration at a plurality of marking positions along the Z-axis. As a result, the laser marking field capability is provided for changing the laser beam working distance and/or spot size automatically while maintaining the laser beam position accuracy.” [0135],
Features and calibration grids anticipated at more than one location beyond the working surface of the substrate calibrated thereto “In one arrangement the alignment vision system 14 will be relatively positioned at sample points which may include but are not limited to the regions used for feature detection. As mentioned earlier, the focus sensing may be achieved by sampling the image contrast at locations along the z-axis using the alignment vision system. The z-axis locations are recorded. Alternatively, a triangulation or focus sensor, which may be a commercially available module, may be used for measuring surface points which are used with the alignment and calibration algorithms (and the known wafer thickness) to map the surface. Similarly, a direct measurement of the second side may be obtained with a sensor included with the vision inspection module 20. In an alternative arrangement a "full field" system, for instance a commercially available Moire Camera, may be used. In any case, the data will preferably be used to-position the marking beam waist at the surface.” [0079]
positioning of coordinate system relative to processing device / stage “The marked calibration wafer is also used for a next calibration step wherein the X-Y stage 18 is calibrated. The initial X-Y stage calibration may take several hours to complete with calibration over the range of travel, the calibration information being recorded by imaging a crosshair or other suitable target on the calibration wafer.” [0134].
Calibrated features and grid may be relative to one side “the process may be adapted for calibrating separated alignment and marking fields, both covering regions of a single side of a workpiece.” [0138].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Cahill before him or her, to modify the inherent polar coordinate / swinging calibration step of the substrate directed laser processing apparatus of Matsuto to include relative positioning between reference features of substrate and calibrated position of stage of Cahill because calibrating relative to positioning features and a calibration grid enhances the calibration process for all dimensions of a substrate relative to processing/work implement.
Additionally in regarding to calibration measurements, Klimczak teaches obviousness to calibration adjustments in view of thermal expansion changing size/length of positioning components in material processing “the disclosed embodiments provide an apparatus, system and method of providing a leveler for 3D printing build plate thermal expansion.” [0009]).
The advantage of accounting for thermal expansion in calibrations of position components, is to provide calibration of position components when thermal expansion may have changed relative position thereof.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsuto as modified and Klimczak before him or her, to modify the calibration first length of Matsuto to include the temperature compensation calibration to position components of Klimczak, because thermal expansion changes size of processing components that would otherwise effect position of material processing apparatus.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761