DETAILED ACTION
In paper filed 1/24/23, claims 1-18 are present in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 18, the term “capable” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 18/069,312. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because include a solid state battery laminate including a positive electrode, negative electrode and solid electrolyte and contacting with a moisture barrier film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7,12,13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164).
Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164) teaches a bipolar battery laminated in series whereby the bipolar battery includes positive electrode on a current collector and a negative electrode and an electrolyte sandwiched therebetween (abstract). Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164) teaches to prevent impact and environmental deterioration the bipolar laminate structure is encapsulated in a jacket material (10). Seal members (4b) are also utilized.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the moisture absorbing film contact the laminate stack (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, the encapsulant covers the side surface of the laminate stack (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, external electrodes (terminals 8,9) are also partly covered by the encapsulant layer (10) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, the encapsulant extends from a surface of the terminal (8,9) to a side section of the laminate (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, the encapsulant extends across an interface of the terminals (8,9) and the side section view (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 6, the encapsulant covers the side surface of the laminate stack and excluding a portion of the external electrodes (8,9).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the use of ceramic such as silica or an inorganic oxide (claimed barium or calcium) can be added to the seal member for absorbing water and prevention of water penetration [0064],[0268],[0269].
Regarding claim 15, the encapsulant covers the entire side surface of laminate stack between 5a and 5b (Fig. 3).
Claims 8,9,14,16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Shih et al. (2013/0164607).
Shih et al. (2013/0164607) teaches a laminated lithium battery including electrodes and an electrolyte stack and a protective casing covering the stack (abstract and Fig. 1A and 1B). The protective casing is from gases or vapors which would be inclusive of moisture [0039],[0041].
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Shih et al. (2013/0164607) teaches the laminated battery stack to be on a support (24) which is also covered by the protective casing and are in parallel to each other (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 14, the protective casing as a thickness of less than 60 microns or 20-50 microns [0039].
Regarding claim 16, the battery stack is applied to a support substrate and therefore it “surface-mounted”.
Regarding claim 18, a lithium battery stack is formed and hence inserting and extracting lithium ions by the positive and negative electrode is capable and provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10,11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (2013/0164607) or Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164) in combination with Bates (2008/0003493).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Shih et al. (2013/0164607) or Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164) are incorporated here.
Shih et al. (2013/0164607) or Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164) fails to teach an inner via hole in the support for connecting wiring.
Bates (2008/0003493) depicts a thin film battery package whereby the substrate support include a via (48,50) which is connected thereto (Fig. 3 and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shih et al. (2013/0164607) or Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164) to include a via in the support for connecting the battery stack as evidenced by Bates (2008/.0003493) with the expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, the laminated stacked has been heated and therefore meeting the claimed sintered [0053] to Shimamura et al. (2009/0233164).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715