DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s Pre-Appeal Brief requested on 05/04/2026 has been considered. The amendment and argument received on 09/29/2025 has been considered. It is noted that claims 1-36 had been cancelled. Claims 37, 40, 48, 51, and 56 had been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-40, 44, 46-51, 55, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al (US 2010/0045701) in view of Baseley et al (US 2010/0045869).
Regarding claims 37, 44, 46-48, 55, and 56: Scott et al discloses a computer-implemented method for network-centric augmented reality processing, the computer-implemented method comprising: receiving camera data associated with an augmented reality environment representing a premises, wherein the camera data is captured by a camera circuitry (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069], showing camera data for mapping and providing input for augmented reality); receiving at least one indication associated with a plot corner set comprising a plurality of plot corners configured to be generated as the camera circuitry navigates the premises, the at least one indication associated with a portion of the camera data (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069], showing camera data for mapping and providing input for augmented reality); and generating an environment plot by mapping each plot corner in the plot corner set as a corner location in the augmented reality environment associated with the premises (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069], showing camera data for mapping and providing input for augmented reality).
In an analogous invention, Baseley et al teaches receiving via one of more user interactions with an augmented reality interface, at least one indication associated with a plot corner set (see figure 6; paragraph [0091], showing augmented reality marker 1000 together with another augmented reality marker 1100. In this embodiment, the cell processor 100 is operable to detect the augmented reality marker A 1000 and the augmented reality marker B 1100 and generate the interaction area so that at least part of a perimeter of the interaction area 1020 corresponds with the detected augmented reality markers 1000 and 1100. For example, the augmented reality markers 1000 and 1100 may indicate the comers of a rectangle as shown in FIG. 6. In this way, a user may position the augmented reality markers 1000 and 1100 so that they delineate the corners of the interaction area within a physical space such as the floor of a living room. Additionally, the cell processor 100 can detect the relative size and any image distortion of the two markers using known techniques so as to map the virtual image plane 1010 (not shown in FIG. 6) to the surface upon which the markers are placed. The examiner construes and interprets the user positioning the augmented reality markers and interacting with the augmented reality interface for generating the corners or the perimeter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Baseley data as taught by Huang’s user interface interactions for the purpose of having a system for capturing objects in a real world and displaying in a mixed augmented reality and having an interface for user interaction with that augmented reality. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the system.
Regarding claims 38 and 49: Scott et al discloses wherein receiving the at least one indication associated with the plot corner set comprises: receiving a first indication in response to user input data indicating existence of a first plot corner in the camera data (see paragraphs [0004], [0005]); and mapping, based on the camera data and first mapping device position data, the first plot corner to a first corner location in the augmented reality environment (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 39 and 50: Scott et al discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising: receiving second mapping device position data indicating traversal to a second mapping device position (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069], showing camera data for mapping and providing input for augmented reality); receiving a second indication in response to second user input data indicating existence of a second plot corner in the camera data (see paragraphs [0004], [0005], showing user input being tracked and detected); and mapping, based on the camera data and the second mapping device position data, the second plot corner to a second corner location in the augmented reality environment (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 40 and 51: Scott et al discloses wherein receiving the at least one indication associated with the plot corner set comprises: receiving the camera data associated with first mapping device position data; detecting a first plot corner in the camera data (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069]); and mapping, based on the second mapping device position data and the camera data, the first plot corner to a first corner location in the augmented reality environment (see paragraphs [0060]-[0069]).
Claims 41-43, 45, and 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al (US 2010/0045701) in view Baseley et al (US 2010/0045869) and further in view of Berelejis et al (US 2015/0347850).
Regarding claims 41, 45, and 52: Scott et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Scott et al did not explicitly disclose the computer-implemented method further comprising: receiving a second indication of a networked device based on the camera data; and mapping the networked device with a networked device location in the augmented reality environment, wherein the environment plot further comprises the networked device location.
In an analogous invention, Berelejis et al teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: receiving a second indication of a networked device based on the camera data; and mapping the networked device with a networked device location in the augmented reality environment, wherein the environment plot further comprises the networked device location (see abstract; paragraphs [0019]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Scott’s camera data as taught by Berelejis’ networked device for the purpose of having a system for capturing objects in a real world and displaying in a mixed augmented reality. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the system.
Regarding claims 42 and 53: Scott et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Scott et al did not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the second indication of the networked device comprises: receiving the second indication in response to user input data indicating existence of the networked device in the camera data; and mapping, based on the camera data and a first mapping device position data the networked device to the networked device location in the augmented reality environment.
In an analogous invention, Berelejis et al teaches wherein receiving the second indication of the networked device comprises: receiving the second indication in response to user input data indicating existence of the networked device in the camera data; and mapping, based on the camera data and a first mapping device position data the networked device to the networked device location in the augmented reality environment (see abstract; paragraphs [0019]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Scott’s camera data as taught by Berelejis’ networked device for the purpose of having a system for capturing objects in a real world and displaying in a mixed augmented reality. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the system.
Regarding claims 43 and 54: Scott et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Scott et al did not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the second indication of the networked device comprises: receiving the camera data associated with first mapping device position data; detecting the networked device in the camera data; and mapping, based on the first device positioning data and the camera data, the networked device to the networked device location in the augmented reality environment.
In an analogous invention, Berelejis et al teaches wherein receiving the second indication of the networked device comprises: receiving the camera data associated with first mapping device position data; detecting the networked device in the camera data; and mapping, based on the first device positioning data and the camera data, the networked device to the networked device location in the augmented reality environment (see abstract; paragraphs [0019]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Scott’s camera data as taught by Berelejis’ networked device for the purpose of having a system for capturing objects in a real world and displaying in a mixed augmented reality. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 37-56 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715