DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The 112(a) rejections of claims 4-5, 11-12 and 17-18 are withdrawn in view of the explanation; however, a new 112 rejection applies. Applicant’s explanation of modifying the TWT for a first-time duration when the first network condition [1308] is satisfied and only true, if step 1310 is not satisfied, TWT not torn down. Thereby, the disclosure of the claim does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without no TWT torn down, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). Dependent claims share the deficiency by virtue of dependency. Also, claims 4, 11 and 17 require the second network condition to be negative, but claims 5, 12 and 18 require the second condition to be positive; thereby, removing limitation from its parent claim and creating an improper depending claim.
As to the 112 rejection of claims 6-7, 13-14 and 19-20 stands. Applicant’s response is problematic with the identification of the first server condition. Initially, the first server condition is equated to fig. 14, step 1410, but the explanation uses steps 1408 and 1410 and the outcomes 1412 and 1414 are inverted. Thereby, it is unclear what is erroneous the explanation or the claim. Please clarify.
Regarding the arguments directed to the newly amended limitations, please note that the newly amended limitations are not describing and/or modifying the device/method/medium in any measurable way, but describe a relationship to the condition which does not require any change to the device, method or medium. Additionally, the newly amended limitations were added as intended use [see MPEP 2111.02 II]. In the instant case the intended use of the claimed invention was evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference, but the intended use was of no significance to the structure. Thereby, the structure of Choi is capable of performing the intended use as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without step 1310 not been satisfied, TWT not torn down, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Modifying the TWT for a first-time duration when the first network condition [1308] is satisfied and only true, if step 1310 is not satisfied, TWT not torn down. Thereby, the current outcome of the first network condition as claimed may not be true.
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims limitations do not match figs. 13 and 14 nor the description found in par. 0088-0094. Please indicate where the support can be found.
Claims 4-7, 11-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Since the claims limitations do not match figs. 13 and 14 nor the description found in par. 0088-0094, it is unclear the scope of the claims. Please clarify.
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 4, 11 and 17 require the second network condition to be negative, but claims 5, 12 and 18 require the second condition to be positive; thereby, removing limitation from its parent claim and creating an improper depending claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 6, 13 and 19 require the first server condition to be satisfied, but claims 7, 14 and 20 the first server condition to be not satisfied; thereby, removing limitations from its parent claim and creating an improper depending claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 20200084102.
As to claim 1, Choi discloses a communication device [101] comprising (see par. 0022): a transceiver [190] configured to receive information including packets associated with a target wake time (TWT) (see par. 0023); and a processor [120] operably coupled with the transceiver (see par. 0022-0023), the processor configured to:
determine a network service type based on the packets, and when the determined network service type is a QoS service type; determine whether a condition associated with the TWT is satisfied, and modify the TWT based on the condition (see par. 0063), wherein the condition is associated with a downlink inter-packet time identified based on a time difference between arrival times of two consecutive packets in the packets, the downlink inter-packet time being used to detect an abnormal operation of a network entity associated with the network service type [the condition is inherently associated in the time domain]. Choi does not use the words real-time service; however, discloses QoS service type such as VOIP type (see par. 0121). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that VOIP is a real-time service, thereby, permitting a real-time conversation.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, they are the corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium claims of device claim 1. Therefore, claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 20200084102 in view Homchaudhuri 20200221381.
As to claims 2-3, Choi discloses the communication device of Claim 1, wherein to determine whether the condition associated with the TWT is satisfied, the processor is configured to: determine whether the TWT has been negotiated between the communication device and another communication device; and when the TWT has been negotiated between the communication device and the other communication device, compare the current configuration for the service (see par. 0121). Choi fails to disclose compare a downlink “inter-packet time” at the communication device with a threshold time that is obtained based on a subservice type and a congestion level; however, it is equated to wait time and it is noted that the comparison is not used for claim 2. In an analogous art, Homchaudhuri discloses a downlink “inter-packet time” [jitter] at the communication device with a threshold time that is obtained based on a subservice type and a congestion level, wherein when the downlink inter-packet time is greater than the threshold time, the processor is configured to modify TWT parameters negotiated between the communication device and the other communication device (see par. 0086-0090). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of adjusting the network setting for congestion and delay; thereby improving communication experience.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 16, they are the corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium claims of device claim 2-3. Therefore, claims 9-10 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view Homchaudhuri and further in view of Attar 20060146721.
As to claims 2-3, Choi discloses the communication device of Claim 1, wherein to determine whether the condition associated with the TWT is satisfied, the processor is configured to: determine whether the TWT has been negotiated between the communication device and another communication device; and when the TWT has been negotiated between the communication device and the other communication device, compare the current configuration for the service (see par. 0121). Choi fails to disclose compare a downlink “inter-packet time” at the communication device with a threshold time that is obtained based on a subservice type and a congestion level; however, it is equated to wait time and it is noted that the comparison is not used for claim 2. In an analogous art, Homchaudhuri discloses a downlink “inter-packet time” [jitter] at the communication device with a threshold time that is obtained based on a subservice type and a congestion level, wherein when the downlink inter-packet time is greater than the threshold time, the processor is configured to modify TWT parameters negotiated between the communication device and the other communication device (see par. 0086-0090). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of adjusting the network setting for congestion and delay; thereby improving communication experience. If it is going to be interpreted that the downlink inter-packet time is identified as a step based on a time difference between arrival times of two consecutive packets in the packets, then Attar discloses that the jitter is time variation between received successive packets (see par. 0075). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to measure jitter of two consecutive packets for enhanced precision of the measurement of congestion and delay; thereby improving communication experience.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 16, they are the corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium claims of device claim 2-3. Therefore, claims 9-10 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647