DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 07/17/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 05/20/2026. Independent claims 1, 16, 22 and 28 are amended. Claims 12-13 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-11 and 14-30 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 (2nd)
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant didn’t submit any information disclosure statement (IDS). The Applicants and other individuals substantially involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application do have a duty to disclose to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, all material information known to the applicant(s) as defined in 37 CFR §1.56. See Brasseler, U.S.A. I, L.P. v. Stryker Sales Corp., 267 F.3d 1370, 1383, 60 USPQ2d 1482, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2001) ("Once an attorney, or an applicant has notice that information exists that appears material and questionable, that person cannot ignore that notice in an effort to avoid his or her duty to disclose."). Materiality controls whether information must be disclosed to the Office, not the circumstances under which or the source from which the information is obtained. The duty to disclose material information extends to information such individuals are aware of prior to or at the time of filing the application or become aware of during the prosecution thereof. See MPEP § 2001.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 16-21 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala et al. (2022/0303795), Bala hereinafter, in view of Niu et al. (2024/0206004), Niu hereinafter, further in view of KIM; Jae Heung (2024/0023195), KIM hereinafter
Re. Claims 16 and 28, Bala teaches a method (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214-¶0220) for wireless communication (Fig. 1A) at a network entity (Fig. 1C, 160/104), and an apparatus (Fig. 1C, 160/104) for wireless communication (Fig. 1A) at a network entity (Fig. 1C, 160/104), comprising: one or more processor (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010); memory (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) coupled with the one or more processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processor to cause the apparatus (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) to: transmit a first message including an indication of a mapping between a plurality of network energy saving modes and a plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration), wherein the mapping indicates a correspondence between a respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes and a respective set of one or more discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX ); and selectively transmitting control signaling via a downlink control channel in accordance with a selection of a discontinuous reception configuration of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations, wherein the selection is based at least in part on the mapping indicating a correspondence between the first network energy saving mode and the mapping discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range <i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations> and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and DRX parameters <i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations> may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters < i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations > may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0217 - A WTRU may switch between several search spaces on subsequent monitoring occasions to fulfill a range. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0221 - A WTRU may not monitor the WUS search space associated with a long DRX cycle, for example, if a drxShortCyleTimer is running.. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. That is, there exists a plurality of networks saving modes (PSS WUS/WUS PSS) in a plurality of several search spaces with a plurality of DRX configurations (e.g., long DRX cycles, short DRX cycles) for a plurality of monitoring occasions, a flexibility of the WTRU for switching between several search spaces on subsequent monitoring occasions and the WTRU is configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and the corresponding DRX configurations (e.g., long DRX cycles, short DRX cycles) for a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed supra, quite contrary to applicant’s remarks in pages 14-16 of remarks as submitted on 07/30/2025.), and wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes comprises a different power saving mode of the network entity (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.) or a baseline network energy saving mode not associated with power saving of the network entity;
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach transmit a second message including an indication of a first network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the second message is indicative of a transition from a second network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity; transmission of the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses transmit a second message including an indication of a first network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the second message is indicative of a transition from a second network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity; transmission of the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity, (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0036 - the method 200 for UE may include the following steps: S202, obtaining, from a network device, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command (see ¶0053); S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration being a configuration selected from a group consisting of a default cDRX configuration and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration including a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0037 - UE power saving has been one key design optimization aspect for XR traffic. To enable UE power saving, it is desirable to align cDRX with XR SPS traffic, so that UE wakes up once and finishes DG, SPS/CG, and DL measurement, RLM measurement and other CSI feedback. On the other hand, a UE that wakes up outside of cDRX for SPS traffic consumes more power. According to some embodiments of the present disclosure, the wake-up and sleep pattern of a UE can be switched to align with the SPS or CG configuration to facilitate UE power saving. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. Alternatively, in a case where there is one default configuration and one non-default, the DRX switching command may be a trigger, and switching from the first cDRX configuration to the second cDRX configuration may include toggling the status of cDRX configuration upon receiving the command. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0104 - Enabling multiple cDRX configurations allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration. That is, UE receives a DRX switching command (either by MAC-CE or DCI, see ¶0053) from a network device so that the wake-up and sleep pattern (i.e., power saving modes) of the UE is aligned with an SPS configured assignment, or with a default DRX configuration. Moreover, enabling multiple cDRX configurations (i.e., having a plurality of power saving modes corresponding to each DRX parameter settings for the respecting cDRX configuration, see ¶0105-¶0109) allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration as shown in Fig. 4-5. For example, upon receiving a DRX switching MAC CE, the first DRX on-duration timer for the first cDRX configuration and the DRX inactivity timer for the first cDRX configuration are stopped. Then, at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity <corresponding to first power mode>, to the second periodicity <corresponding to second power mode>, to be align with an SPS configured assignment, or with a default DRX configuration. In other words, the network device sends a switching command <MAC-CE/second message> to the UE to trigger the transition from a one energy saving mode (associated with first DRX on-duration timer/first DRX inactivity timer corresponding to first cDRX configuration) to another energy saving mode (associated with second DRX on-duration timer/second DRX inactivity timer corresponding to second cDRX configuration) to allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration as shown in Fig. 4-5 (snapshot reproduced next), an inventive concept, which is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0100 - ¶0101, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 14-15 as submitted on 12/09/2025.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Yet, Bala and Niu do not expressly teach wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes is associated with operation of a respective quantity of antenna panels at the network entity;
However, in the analogous art, KIM explicitly discloses wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes is associated with operation of a respective quantity of antenna panels at the network entity; (Fig. 1- Fig. 8B & ¶0007 - a method of a base station may comprise: transmitting discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration information for a DTX operation to a terminal; transmitting discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a DRX operation to the terminal; and transmitting information indicating activation of at least one of the DTX operation and the DRX operation to the terminal, wherein the DTX operation and the DRX operation are configured separately. Fig. 1- Fig. 8B & ¶0019 - transmitting a message including camping restriction information, wherein the camping restriction information indicates whether the base station supports a network energy saving (NES) function, and when the base station supports the NES function, the base station may perform at least one of the DTX operation or the DRX operation. Fig. 1- Fig. 8B & ¶0141 - A first method for the NES (or low power consumption) function of the network node may be a method of performing an operation of stopping (or suspending) transmission (i.e., hereinafter, referred to as ‘transmission-off operation’) in the network node. …. The transmission-off operation may be performed on a base station, cell, radio access point, frequency (or transmission carrier), BWP, antenna, and/or transmission beam unit. Here, the transmission-off operation performed on an antenna basis may be performed according to the number of MIMO layers, the number of antenna ports, and/or the number of antennas. Fig. 1- Fig. 8B & ¶0177 - The DTX operation (or NES operation) of the network node for network energy saving of the mobile communication network may refer to an operation in which a physically present or configured transmitting end or RF transmitter (or RF chain) of the network node operates according to the DTX (or NES operation) cycle (or periodicity). The DTX cycle (or NES operation cycle) of the network node may be set smaller than the minimum UE DRX cycle configured for a DRX operation of the terminal. The DTX operation (or NES operation) may be performed on a base station, cell, radio access point, frequency (or transmission carrier), BWP, antenna, and/or transmission beam unit. Here, the DTX operation (or NES operation) performed on an antenna basis may mean that a discontinuous transmission operation may be performed according to the number of MIMO layers, the number of antenna ports, and/or the number of antennas. Also, see ¶0178-¶0181)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system to include KIM’s invention of a system and a method for network energy saving in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient network energy saving mechanism in which state(s) of terminal(s) within a service coverage and a service quality of the terminal(s) are identified, and a network energy saving operation is performed according to the identified state(s) and service quality of the terminal(s) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, KIM)
Re. Claim 17, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein transmitting the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: transmitting an indication of an independent discontinuous reception configuration for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes. (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. Also, see ¶0214-¶0215).
Re. Claim 18, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein transmitting the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: transmitting an indication of a default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX); and transmitting an indication of a plurality of offset configurations from the default discontinuous reception configuration, wherein each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations that are mapped to the plurality of network energy saving modes are associated with a respective offset configuration, of the plurality of offset configurations, from the default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0222 - An offset configuration may be explicit. An indicated offset may be the same for short and long DRX cycles. A WTRU may assume that an offset is a default value that applies to short and long DRX cycles for example, if (e.g., only) one value of an offset is indicated to the WTRU. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0224 - Multiple offsets may be indicated to a WTRU. A WTRU may monitor in valid offset occasions. In an example, a WTRU may (e.g., only) monitor in valid offset occasions, for example, depending on one or more short DRX cycle conditions. Short DRX cycle conditions may include, for example, if the WTRU begins a short DRX cycle, the length of a short cycle, and/or the like. Valid offset occasions may include, for example, the offset(s) that fall within the short DRX cycle, the offset(s) that satisfy a minimum time before the beginning of the on duration, and/or offsets that fall within configured search spaces. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX),
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and KIM’s invention of a system and a method for network energy saving in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 19, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein the mapping indicates that each network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes corresponds to a respective discontinuous reception configuration of the first subset of discontinuous reception configurations and a respective discontinuous reception configuration of the second subset of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach transmitting an indication that a first subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a first serving cell and that a second subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a second serving cell,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses transmitting an indication that a first subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a first serving cell and that a second subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a second serving cell (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0054 - Serving Cells (SC) of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. …. In a case where two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0065 - in such a case where two cDRX groups are configured, multiple cDRX configurations can be configured in each cDRX group, where each cell may still belong to one cDRX group, while multiple cDRX configuration can be configured. Similarly, one cDRX configuration is active per cDRX group at one time. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and KIM’s invention of a system and a method for network energy saving in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 20, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein the mapping indicates that the first network energy saving mode corresponds to the set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0096 - a WTRU may (e.g., be expected to) monitor PDCCH, for example, during the ON duration of a DRX cycle (e.g., as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH during the ON duration of a DRX cycle and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0098 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of CORESETs used for PDCCH in active time and/or a WUS. The example shown in FIG. 3 may illustrate the CORESETS that a WTRU monitors in a (e.g., each) active time. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0100 - A PSS may be a WUS and/or may be transmitted before the associated DRX ON duration(s). A CORESET in which a PSS is transmitted may be referred to as a CORESET_PSS. A CORESET configured for an ON-duration associated with a PSS may be referred to a CORESET_ON. PSS and WUS may be used interchangeably (e.g., and they may also be referred to as WUS PSS). For example, as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH for the ON-duration and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0104 - A monitoring occasion of SS_PSS may be determined, for example, N-slots earlier than the first slot of the associated ON-duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode comprises: transmitting an indication of the discontinuous reception configuration of a set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations with which the first network energy saving mode corresponds,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein transmitting the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode comprises: transmitting an indication of the discontinuous reception configuration of a set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations with which the first network energy saving mode corresponds (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and KIM’s invention of a system and a method for network energy saving in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 21, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein the network entity transmits the first message that includes the indication of the mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations to a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX), and wherein the mapping is specific to the first UE and the second mapping is specific to the second UE (Fig. 1A/1C-D & Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset),
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein the network entity transmits a third message that includes an indication of a second mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and a second plurality of discontinuous reception configurations to a second UE,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein the network entity transmits a third message that includes an indication of a second mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and a second plurality of discontinuous reception configurations to a second UE (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Third message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Third message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and KIM’s invention of a system and a method for network energy saving in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 29, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claims 28.
Bala further teaches wherein transmitting the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: transmitting an indication of an independent discontinuous reception configuration for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes. (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. Also, see ¶0214-¶0215), wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes comprises operation at a network entity of different values (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq. 2. Please see the different values associated with different parameters as disclosed supra. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation) or support for at least one of a quantity of antenna panels, a quantity of communication resources, a power amplifier level, a network entity load, sleep states and associated transition times, a quantity of antenna ports, a capability for multiple-input multiple output communication, a capability for full-duplex communication, a quantity of served UEs, a quantity of cells, an upper limit transmit power or coverage area, or a quantity of simultaneous communication links, or any combination thereof, and wherein each network energy saving mode corresponds with a different energy consumption at the network entity (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claim 30, Bala, Niu and KIM teach claim 28.
Bala further teaches wherein the instructions (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) to transmit the first message including the indication of the mapping are executable by the one or more processor (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010 )to cause the apparatus (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) to: transmit an indication of a default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX); and transmit an indication of a plurality of offset configurations from the default discontinuous reception configuration, wherein each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations that are mapped to the plurality of network energy saving modes are associated with a respective offset configuration, of the plurality of offset configurations, from the default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0222 - An offset configuration may be explicit. An indicated offset may be the same for short and long DRX cycles. A WTRU may assume that an offset is a default value that applies to short and long DRX cycles for example, if (e.g., only) one value of an offset is indicated to the WTRU. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0224 - Multiple offsets may be indicated to a WTRU. A WTRU may monitor in valid offset occasions. In an example, a WTRU may (e.g., only) monitor in valid offset occasions, for example, depending on one or more short DRX cycle conditions. Short DRX cycle conditions may include, for example, if the WTRU begins a short DRX cycle, the length of a short cycle, and/or the like. Valid offset occasions may include, for example, the offset(s) that fall within the short DRX cycle, the offset(s) that satisfy a minimum time before the beginning of the on duration, and/or offsets that fall within configured search spaces. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant is respectfully reminded for submitting IDS as mentioned in the office action (page 2) mailed on 05/25/2025, 10/27/2025, 01/07/2026 and 05/20/2026. Even, in the latest interview with applicant’s representatives (Patent agent Landon Ward <Reg. # 83,634> & Jeremy Spiezo <Reg. # 80,856>) as held on July 2nd, 2026, it was respectfully reminded submitting IDS as mentioned in the office action mailed on dates as mentioned supra. The Applicants and other individuals substantially involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application do have a duty to disclose to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, all material information known to the applicant(s) as defined in 37 CFR §1.56. See Brasseler, U.S.A. I, L.P. v. Stryker Sales Corp., 267 F.3d 1370, 1383, 60 USPQ2d 1482, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2001) ("Once an attorney, or an applicant has notice that information exists that appears material and questionable, that person cannot ignore that notice in an effort to avoid his or her duty to disclose."). Materiality controls whether information must be disclosed to the Office, not the circumstances under which or the source from which the information is obtained. The duty to disclose material information extends to information such individuals are aware of prior to or at the time of filing the application or become aware of during the prosecution thereof. See MPEP § 2001.06.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/17/2026 with respect to claims 16 and 28 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 15-17 as submitted on 07/17/2026 for independent claims 16 & 28, applicant asserts that Bala or Niu fails to teach, “wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes is associated with operation of a respective quantity of antenna panels at the network entity”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, KIM (2024/0023195 [Wingdings font/0xF3] New reference, see PTO-892), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection as mapped supra.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 16 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala, in view of Niu, further in view of KIM (2024/0023195 [Wingdings font/0xF3] New reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 16, and 28, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467