DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 03/04/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 01/07/2026. Independent claims 1, 16, 22 and 28 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-30 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant didn’t submit any information disclosure statement (IDS). The Applicants and other individuals substantially involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application do have a duty to disclose to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, all material information known to the applicant(s) as defined in 37 CFR §1.56. See Brasseler, U.S.A. I, L.P. v. Stryker Sales Corp., 267 F.3d 1370, 1383, 60 USPQ2d 1482, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2001) ("Once an attorney, or an applicant has notice that information exists that appears material and questionable, that person cannot ignore that notice in an effort to avoid his or her duty to disclose."). Materiality controls whether information must be disclosed to the Office, not the circumstances under which or the source from which the information is obtained. The duty to disclose material information extends to information such individuals are aware of prior to or at the time of filing the application or become aware of during the prosecution thereof. See MPEP § 2001.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 14-25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala et al. (2022/0303795), Bala hereinafter, in view of Niu et al. (2024/0206004), Niu hereinafter.
Re. Claims 1 and 22, Bala teaches a method (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214-¶0220) for wireless communication (Fig. 1A) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1B, 102), and an apparatus (Fig. 1B, 102) for wireless communication (Fig. 1A) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1B, 102), comprising: a processor (Fig. 1B, 118); memory (Fig. 1B, 130/132) coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (Fig. 1B & ¶0003/¶0046) to: receive a first message including an indication of a mapping between a plurality of network energy saving modes and a plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration.), wherein the mapping indicates a correspondence between a respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes and a respective set of one or more discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX); and monitoring a downlink control channel in accordance with a selection of a discontinuous reception configuration of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations wherein the selection is based at least in part on the mapping indicating a correspondence between the first network energy saving mode and the discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range <i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations> and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and DRX parameters <i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations> may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters < i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations > may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0217 - A WTRU may switch between several search spaces on subsequent monitoring occasions to fulfill a range. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0221 - A WTRU may not monitor the WUS search space associated with a long DRX cycle, for example, if a drxShortCyleTimer is running.. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. That is, there exists a plurality of networks saving modes (PSS WUS/WUS PSS) in a plurality of several search spaces with a plurality of DRX configurations (e.g., long DRX cycles, short DRX cycles) for a plurality of monitoring occasions, a flexibility of the WTRU for switching between several search spaces on subsequent monitoring occasions and the WTRU is configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and the corresponding DRX configurations (e.g., long DRX cycles, short DRX cycles) for a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed supra, quite contrary to applicant’s remarks in pages 14-16 of remarks as submitted on 07/30/2025), and wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes comprises a different power saving mode of a network entity (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.) or a baseline network energy saving mode not associated with power saving of the network entity;
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach receive a second message including an indication of a first network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the second message is indicative of a transition from a second network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode selected by a network entity; reception of the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses receive a second message including an indication of a first network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the second message is indicative of a transition from a second network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode selected by a network entity; reception of the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0036 - the method 200 for UE may include the following steps: S202, obtaining, from a network device, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command (see ¶0053); S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration being a configuration selected from a group consisting of a default cDRX configuration and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration including a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0037 - UE power saving has been one key design optimization aspect for XR traffic. To enable UE power saving, it is desirable to align cDRX with XR SPS traffic, so that UE wakes up once and finishes DG, SPS/CG, and DL measurement, RLM measurement and other CSI feedback. On the other hand, a UE that wakes up outside of cDRX for SPS traffic consumes more power. According to some embodiments of the present disclosure, the wake-up and sleep pattern of a UE can be switched to align with the SPS or CG configuration to facilitate UE power saving. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. Alternatively, in a case where there is one default configuration and one non-default, the DRX switching command may be a trigger, and switching from the first cDRX configuration to the second cDRX configuration may include toggling the status of cDRX configuration upon receiving the command. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0104 - Enabling multiple cDRX configurations allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration. That is, UE receives a DRX switching command (either by MAC-CE or DCI, see ¶0053) from a network device so that the wake-up and sleep pattern (i.e., power saving modes) of the UE is aligned with an SPS configured assignment, or with a default DRX configuration. Moreover, enabling multiple cDRX configurations (i.e., having a plurality of power saving modes corresponding to each DRX parameter settings for the respecting cDRX configuration, see ¶0105-¶0109) allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration as shown in Fig. 4-5. For example, upon receiving a DRX switching MAC CE, the first DRX on-duration timer for the first cDRX configuration and the DRX inactivity timer for the first cDRX configuration are stopped. Then, at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity <corresponding to first power mode>, to the second periodicity <corresponding to second power mode>, to be align with an SPS configured assignment, or with a default DRX configuration. In other words, the network device sends a switching command <MAC-CE/second message> to the UE to trigger the transition from a one energy saving mode (associated with first DRX on-duration timer/first DRX inactivity timer corresponding to first cDRX configuration) to another energy saving mode (associated with second DRX on-duration timer/second DRX inactivity timer corresponding to second cDRX configuration) to allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration as shown in Fig. 4-5 (snapshot reproduced next), an inventive concept, which is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0100 - ¶0101, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 14-15 as submitted on 12/09/2025.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claims 2 and 23, Bala and Niu teach claims 1 and 22.
Bala further teaches wherein receiving the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: receiving an indication of an independent discontinuous reception configuration for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes. (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. Also, see ¶0214-¶0215).
Re. Claim 3, Bala and Niu teach claim 1.
Bala further teaches wherein receiving the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: receiving an indication of a default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX); and receiving an indication of a plurality of offset configurations from the default discontinuous reception configuration, wherein each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations that are mapped to the plurality of network energy saving modes are associated with a respective offset configuration, of the plurality of offset configurations, from the default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0222 - An offset configuration may be explicit. An indicated offset may be the same for short and long DRX cycles. A WTRU may assume that an offset is a default value that applies to short and long DRX cycles for example, if (e.g., only) one value of an offset is indicated to the WTRU. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0224 - Multiple offsets may be indicated to a WTRU. A WTRU may monitor in valid offset occasions. In an example, a WTRU may (e.g., only) monitor in valid offset occasions, for example, depending on one or more short DRX cycle conditions. Short DRX cycle conditions may include, for example, if the WTRU begins a short DRX cycle, the length of a short cycle, and/or the like. Valid offset occasions may include, for example, the offset(s) <i.e., a plurality of offset configurations > that fall within the short DRX cycle, the offset(s) < i.e., a plurality of offset configurations > that satisfy a minimum time before the beginning of the on duration, and/or offsets < i.e., a plurality of offset configurations > that fall within configured search spaces. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX.).
Re. Claim 4, Bala and Niu teach claim 3.
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 5, Bala and Niu teach claim 4.
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein the offset configuration includes a first offset from a first discontinuous reception parameter associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration and a second offset from a second discontinuous reception parameter associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein the offset configuration includes a first offset from a first discontinuous reception parameter associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration and a second offset from a second discontinuous reception parameter associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claims 6 and 25, Bala and Niu teach claims 1 and 22.
Bala further discloses wherein the mapping indicates that each network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes corresponds to a respective discontinuous reception configuration of the first subset of discontinuous reception configurations and a respective discontinuous reception configuration of the second subset of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach receiving an indication that a first subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a first serving cell and that a second subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a second serving cell,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses receiving an indication that a first subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a first serving cell and that a second subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a second serving cell (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0054 - Serving Cells (SC) of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. …. In a case where two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0065 - in such a case where two cDRX groups are configured, multiple cDRX configurations can be configured in each cDRX group, where each cell may still belong to one cDRX group, while multiple cDRX configuration can be configured. Similarly, one cDRX configuration is active per cDRX group at one time. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 7, Bala and Niu teach claim 6.
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein the first network energy saving mode corresponds to a first discontinuous reception configuration of the first subset of discontinuous reception configurations and a second discontinuous reception configuration of the second subset of discontinuous reception configurations, the discontinuous reception configuration in accordance with which the UE monitors the downlink control channel being the first discontinuous reception configuration or the second discontinuous reception configuration based at least in part on which of the first serving cell and the second serving cell the UE uses to communicate.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein the first network energy saving mode corresponds to a first discontinuous reception configuration of the first subset of discontinuous reception configurations and a second discontinuous reception configuration of the second subset of discontinuous reception configurations, the discontinuous reception configuration in accordance with which the UE monitors the downlink control channel being the first discontinuous reception configuration or the second discontinuous reception configuration based at least in part on which of the first serving cell and the second serving cell the UE uses to communicate (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0054 - Serving Cells (SC) of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. …. In a case where two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0065 - in such a case where two cDRX groups are configured, multiple cDRX configurations can be configured in each cDRX group, where each cell may still belong to one cDRX group, while multiple cDRX configuration can be configured. Similarly, one cDRX configuration is active per cDRX group at one time. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 10, Bala and Niu teach claim 1.
Bala further discloses wherein the mapping indicates that the first network energy saving mode corresponds to the set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0096 - a WTRU may (e.g., be expected to) monitor PDCCH, for example, during the ON duration of a DRX cycle (e.g., as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH during the ON duration of a DRX cycle and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0098 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of CORESETs used for PDCCH in active time and/or a WUS. The example shown in FIG. 3 may illustrate the CORESETS that a WTRU monitors in a (e.g., each) active time. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0100 - A PSS may be a WUS and/or may be transmitted before the associated DRX ON duration(s). A CORESET in which a PSS is transmitted may be referred to as a CORESET_PSS. A CORESET configured for an ON-duration associated with a PSS may be referred to a CORESET_ON. PSS and WUS may be used interchangeably (e.g., and they may also be referred to as WUS PSS). For example, as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH for the ON-duration and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0104 - A monitoring occasion of SS_PSS may be determined, for example, N-slots earlier than the first slot of the associated ON-duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein receiving the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode comprises: receiving an indication of a discontinuous reception configuration of a set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations with which the first network energy saving mode corresponds,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein receiving the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode comprises: receiving an indication of a discontinuous reception configuration of a set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations with which the first network energy saving mode corresponds (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 11, Bala and Niu teach claim 1.
Bala further discloses monitoring the downlink control channel in accordance with the second discontinuous reception configuration based at least in part on receiving the indication of the second discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0096 - a WTRU may (e.g., be expected to) monitor PDCCH, for example, during the ON duration of a DRX cycle (e.g., as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH during the ON duration of a DRX cycle and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0098 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of CORESETs used for PDCCH in active time and/or a WUS. The example shown in FIG. 3 may illustrate the CORESETS that a WTRU monitors in a (e.g., each) active time. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0100 - A PSS may be a WUS and/or may be transmitted before the associated DRX ON duration(s). A CORESET in which a PSS is transmitted may be referred to as a CORESET_PSS. A CORESET configured for an ON-duration associated with a PSS may be referred to a CORESET_ON. PSS and WUS may be used interchangeably (e.g., and they may also be referred to as WUS PSS). For example, as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH for the ON-duration and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0104 - A monitoring occasion of SS_PSS may be determined, for example, N-slots earlier than the first slot of the associated ON-duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach receiving a third message including an indication of a second discontinuous reception configuration, wherein the third message is associated with indicating a change from the discontinuous reception configuration that corresponds to the first network energy saving mode to the second discontinuous reception configuration;
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses receiving a third message including an indication of a second discontinuous reception configuration, wherein the third message is associated with indicating a change from the discontinuous reception configuration that corresponds to the first network energy saving mode to the second discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., third message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., third message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 14, Bala and Niu teach claim 1.
Bala further teaches wherein the discontinuous reception configuration corresponds to the first network energy saving mode in accordance with the mapping (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX ),
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach activating, autonomously at the UE, the discontinuous reception configuration based at least in part on the first network energy saving mode and the mapping, , and wherein monitoring the downlink control channel in accordance with the discontinuous reception configuration is based at least in part on autonomous activation of the discontinuous reception configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses activating, autonomously at the UE, the discontinuous reception configuration based at least in part on the first network energy saving mode and the mapping, , and wherein monitoring the downlink control channel in accordance with the discontinuous reception configuration is based at least in part on autonomous activation of the discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 15, Bala and Niu teach claim 1.
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein the first message is a radio resource control message and the second message is a downlink control information message or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, and wherein the second message indicates a transition from a previous network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein the first message is a radio resource control message (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0054 - Serving Cells (SC) of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC <first message> in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters.) and the second message is a downlink control information message (See Fig. 5 & ¶0121-¶0124) or a medium access control (MAC)-control element (See Fig. 4 & ¶0109-¶0117), and wherein the second message indicates a transition from a previous network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode ((Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claims 16 and 28, Bala teaches a method (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214-¶0220) for wireless communication (Fig. 1A) at a network entity (Fig. 1C, 160/104), and an apparatus (Fig. 1C, 160/104) for wireless communication (Fig. 1A) at a network entity (Fig. 1C, 160/104), comprising: one or more processor (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010); memory (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) coupled with the one or more processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processor to cause the apparatus (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) to: transmit a first message including an indication of a mapping between a plurality of network energy saving modes and a plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration), wherein the mapping indicates a correspondence between a respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes and a respective set of one or more discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX ); and selectively transmitting control signaling via a downlink control channel in accordance with a selection of a discontinuous reception configuration of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations, wherein the selection is based at least in part on the mapping indicating a correspondence between the first network energy saving mode and the mapping discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range <i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations> and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and DRX parameters <i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations> may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters < i.e., a plurality of DRX configurations > may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0217 - A WTRU may switch between several search spaces on subsequent monitoring occasions to fulfill a range. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0221 - A WTRU may not monitor the WUS search space associated with a long DRX cycle, for example, if a drxShortCyleTimer is running.. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. That is, there exists a plurality of networks saving modes (PSS WUS/WUS PSS) in a plurality of several search spaces with a plurality of DRX configurations (e.g., long DRX cycles, short DRX cycles) for a plurality of monitoring occasions, a flexibility of the WTRU for switching between several search spaces on subsequent monitoring occasions and the WTRU is configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions <i.e., a plurality of network saving mode in a number of possible search space for monitoring PSS WUS> and the corresponding DRX configurations (e.g., long DRX cycles, short DRX cycles) for a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed supra, quite contrary to applicant’s remarks in pages 14-16 of remarks as submitted on 07/30/2025.), and wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes comprises a different power saving mode of the network entity (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.) or a baseline network energy saving mode not associated with power saving of the network entity;
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach transmit a second message including an indication of a first network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the second message is indicative of a transition from a second network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity; transmission of the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses transmit a second message including an indication of a first network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the second message is indicative of a transition from a second network energy saving mode to the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity; transmission of the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode selected by the network entity, (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0036 - the method 200 for UE may include the following steps: S202, obtaining, from a network device, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command (see ¶0053); S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration being a configuration selected from a group consisting of a default cDRX configuration and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration including a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0037 - UE power saving has been one key design optimization aspect for XR traffic. To enable UE power saving, it is desirable to align cDRX with XR SPS traffic, so that UE wakes up once and finishes DG, SPS/CG, and DL measurement, RLM measurement and other CSI feedback. On the other hand, a UE that wakes up outside of cDRX for SPS traffic consumes more power. According to some embodiments of the present disclosure, the wake-up and sleep pattern of a UE can be switched to align with the SPS or CG configuration to facilitate UE power saving. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. Alternatively, in a case where there is one default configuration and one non-default, the DRX switching command may be a trigger, and switching from the first cDRX configuration to the second cDRX configuration may include toggling the status of cDRX configuration upon receiving the command. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0104 - Enabling multiple cDRX configurations allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration. That is, UE receives a DRX switching command (either by MAC-CE or DCI, see ¶0053) from a network device so that the wake-up and sleep pattern (i.e., power saving modes) of the UE is aligned with an SPS configured assignment, or with a default DRX configuration. Moreover, enabling multiple cDRX configurations (i.e., having a plurality of power saving modes corresponding to each DRX parameter settings for the respecting cDRX configuration, see ¶0105-¶0109) allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration as shown in Fig. 4-5. For example, upon receiving a DRX switching MAC CE, the first DRX on-duration timer for the first cDRX configuration and the DRX inactivity timer for the first cDRX configuration are stopped. Then, at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity <corresponding to first power mode>, to the second periodicity <corresponding to second power mode>, to be align with an SPS configured assignment, or with a default DRX configuration. In other words, the network device sends a switching command <MAC-CE/second message> to the UE to trigger the transition from a one energy saving mode (associated with first DRX on-duration timer/first DRX inactivity timer corresponding to first cDRX configuration) to another energy saving mode (associated with second DRX on-duration timer/second DRX inactivity timer corresponding to second cDRX configuration) to allows faster traffic-based switching to align SPS with cDRX configuration as shown in Fig. 4-5 (snapshot reproduced next), an inventive concept, which is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0100 - ¶0101, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 14-15 as submitted on 12/09/2025.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 17, Bala and Niu teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein transmitting the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: transmitting an indication of an independent discontinuous reception configuration for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes. (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. Also, see ¶0214-¶0215).
Re. Claim 18, Bala and Niu teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein transmitting the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: transmitting an indication of a default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX); and transmitting an indication of a plurality of offset configurations from the default discontinuous reception configuration, wherein each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations that are mapped to the plurality of network energy saving modes are associated with a respective offset configuration, of the plurality of offset configurations, from the default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0222 - An offset configuration may be explicit. An indicated offset may be the same for short and long DRX cycles. A WTRU may assume that an offset is a default value that applies to short and long DRX cycles for example, if (e.g., only) one value of an offset is indicated to the WTRU. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0224 - Multiple offsets may be indicated to a WTRU. A WTRU may monitor in valid offset occasions. In an example, a WTRU may (e.g., only) monitor in valid offset occasions, for example, depending on one or more short DRX cycle conditions. Short DRX cycle conditions may include, for example, if the WTRU begins a short DRX cycle, the length of a short cycle, and/or the like. Valid offset occasions may include, for example, the offset(s) that fall within the short DRX cycle, the offset(s) that satisfy a minimum time before the beginning of the on duration, and/or offsets that fall within configured search spaces. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX),
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 19, Bala and Niu teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein the mapping indicates that each network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes corresponds to a respective discontinuous reception configuration of the first subset of discontinuous reception configurations and a respective discontinuous reception configuration of the second subset of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach transmitting an indication that a first subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a first serving cell and that a second subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a second serving cell,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses transmitting an indication that a first subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a first serving cell and that a second subset of discontinuous reception configurations of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is associated with a second serving cell (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0054 - Serving Cells (SC) of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. …. In a case where two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0065 - in such a case where two cDRX groups are configured, multiple cDRX configurations can be configured in each cDRX group, where each cell may still belong to one cDRX group, while multiple cDRX configuration can be configured. Similarly, one cDRX configuration is active per cDRX group at one time. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 20, Bala and Niu teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein the mapping indicates that the first network energy saving mode corresponds to the set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0096 - a WTRU may (e.g., be expected to) monitor PDCCH, for example, during the ON duration of a DRX cycle (e.g., as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH during the ON duration of a DRX cycle and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0098 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of CORESETs used for PDCCH in active time and/or a WUS. The example shown in FIG. 3 may illustrate the CORESETS that a WTRU monitors in a (e.g., each) active time. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0100 - A PSS may be a WUS and/or may be transmitted before the associated DRX ON duration(s). A CORESET in which a PSS is transmitted may be referred to as a CORESET_PSS. A CORESET configured for an ON-duration associated with a PSS may be referred to a CORESET_ON. PSS and WUS may be used interchangeably (e.g., and they may also be referred to as WUS PSS). For example, as shown in 602 of FIG. 6, the WTRU may monitor a set of beams for PDCCH for the ON-duration and perform WUS monitoring using a subset of beams, for example, before the ON duration of the DRX cycle. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0104 - A monitoring occasion of SS_PSS may be determined, for example, N-slots earlier than the first slot of the associated ON-duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration).
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode comprises: transmitting an indication of the discontinuous reception configuration of a set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations with which the first network energy saving mode corresponds,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein transmitting the second message including the indication of the first network energy saving mode comprises: transmitting an indication of the discontinuous reception configuration of a set of multiple discontinuous reception configurations with which the first network energy saving mode corresponds (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Second message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Second message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 21, Bala and Niu teach claim 16.
Bala further teaches wherein the network entity transmits the first message that includes the indication of the mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations to a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset ..Eq. 2. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX), and wherein the mapping is specific to the first UE and the second mapping is specific to the second UE (Fig. 1A/1C-D & Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - Fig. 2-6 & ¶0215 - A WTRU may be configured with a number of possible search spaces. A WTRU may be configured with a mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring occasions and the beginning of a short DRX. A WTRU may (e.g., upon entering short DRX) select between search spaces based on, for example, the slot in which short DRX begins. A WTRU may monitor for a PSS WUS in a subspace for a corresponding on duration. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq.2:WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity=drx-ShortCycle …Eq. 1 & WUSmonitoringSlotOffset=drx-StartOffset−WUS-offset),
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein the network entity transmits a third message that includes an indication of a second mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and a second plurality of discontinuous reception configurations to a second UE,
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein the network entity transmits a third message that includes an indication of a second mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and a second plurality of discontinuous reception configurations to a second UE (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0004 - method for a user equipment (UE) is provided that includes: obtaining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) switching command from a network device; and switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration. Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration, and each non-default cDRX configuration of the at least one non-default cDRX configuration comprises a cDRX periodicity and a cDRX offset corresponding to a periodicity and an offset of a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) or Configured Grant (CG) configuration, respectively. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0053 - A DRX switching command may be a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (i.e., Third message), or may be a Downlink Control Information (DCI) (i.e., Third message), including a non-scheduling DCI or scheduling based DCI. The DRX switching command may indicate the second cDRX configuration, e.g., the number or indicator of the new cDRX configuration to be switched on. See Fig. 4 (¶0116-¶0120) & Fig.5 (¶0121-¶0124) as reproduced below),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 24, Bala and Niu teach claim 22.
Bala further teaches wherein the instructions (Fig. 1B & ¶0003/¶0046) to receive the first message including the indication of the mapping are executable by the one or more processor (Fig. 1B, 118 & ¶0003/¶0046) to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX);
and receive an indication of a plurality of offset configurations from the default discontinuous reception configuration, wherein each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations that are mapped to the plurality of network energy saving modes are associated with a respective offset configuration, of the plurality of offset configurations, from the default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0222 - An offset configuration may be explicit. An indicated offset may be the same for short and long DRX cycles. A WTRU may assume that an offset is a default value that applies to short and long DRX cycles for example, if (e.g., only) one value of an offset is indicated to the WTRU. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0224 - Multiple offsets may be indicated to a WTRU. A WTRU may monitor in valid offset occasions. In an example, a WTRU may (e.g., only) monitor in valid offset occasions, for example, depending on one or more short DRX cycle conditions. Short DRX cycle conditions may include, for example, if the WTRU begins a short DRX cycle, the length of a short cycle, and/or the like. Valid offset occasions may include, for example, the offset(s) that fall within the short DRX cycle, the offset(s) that satisfy a minimum time before the beginning of the on duration, and/or offsets that fall within configured search spaces. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX),
Yet, Bala does not expressly teach wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein an offset configuration of the plurality of offset configurations includes a respective offset from each of a set of discontinuous reception parameters associated with the default discontinuous reception configuration. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0004 - Each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of: a default cDRX configuration; and at least one non-default cDRX configuration,… Fig. 1-7 & ¶0040 - At step S204, switching, based on the DRX switching command, from a current first Connected Mode DRX (cDRX) configuration to a different second cDRX configuration, each of the first cDRX configuration and the second cDRX configuration is a configuration selected from a group consisting of at least one non-default cDRX configuration and a default cDRX configuration. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0089 - a default cDRX configuration includes a DRX start offset drx-StartOffset which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx_cycle)…Fig. 1-7 & ¶0091:¶0094 - in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle), where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation: drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle). Fig. 1-7 & ¶0109 - at the updated offset according to the second cDRX configuration, that is, the second drxOffset, a second DRX on-duration timer starts. The periodicity also changes, from the first periodicity, to the second periodicity to be align with ….. with a default DRX configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device for carrying XR (extended reality) traffic by aligning cDRX with XR traffic, so that the wireless device wakes up once and finishes all measurements related to the XR traffic, facilitating power saving for the wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0037, Niu)
Re. Claim 29, Bala and Niu teach claims 28.
Bala further teaches wherein transmitting the first message including the indication of the mapping comprises: transmitting an indication of an independent discontinuous reception configuration for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes. (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0223 - A PSS WUS offset value may be independently configured for short and long DRX cycles, respectively. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0226 - a WTRU may be provided with a PSS WUS monitoring offset (e.g., during an initial DRX configuration) for a long DRX, and several possible monitoring offsets for a short DRX. The WTRU may (e.g., autonomously) select which short DRX offset to monitor, for example, depending on when the WTRU enters a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0231 - a WTRU may be provided with independent PSS WUS monitoring occasions for short and long DRX values. Also, see ¶0214-¶0215), wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes comprises operation at a network entity of different values (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. The parameters of the search space may include, for example, the monitoring periodicity and slot offset, monitoring symbols within a slot, and/or the like. In an example, the DRX ON duration for a short cycle may start every 23 ms (e.g., drx-ShortCycle=20 ms, drx-StartOffset=3 ms). The monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset parameter of the search space may be configured, for example, so that the WTRU may start monitoring the WUS every 23 ms−WUS-Offset. Parameters of the search space may be configured, for example, as shown in Eq. 1 and Eq. 2. Please see the different values associated with different parameters as disclosed supra. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation) or support for at least one of a quantity of antenna panels, a quantity of communication resources, a power amplifier level, a network entity load, sleep states and associated transition times, a quantity of antenna ports, a capability for multiple-input multiple output communication, a capability for full-duplex communication, a quantity of served UEs, a quantity of cells, an upper limit transmit power or coverage area, or a quantity of simultaneous communication links, or any combination thereof, and wherein each network energy saving mode corresponds with a different energy consumption at the network entity (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0185 - the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0186 - A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0188 - A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0218 - A separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claim 30, Bala and Niu teach claim 28.
Bala further teaches wherein the instructions (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) to transmit the first message including the indication of the mapping are executable by the one or more processor (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010 )to cause the apparatus (Fig. 1C, 160/104 &¶0010) to: transmit an indication of a default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0214 - A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured (e.g., semi-statically) and/or dynamically updated. A DRX offset range and/or mapping between PSS WUS search space monitoring and DRX parameters may be configured, for example, via one or more of the following: DRX configuration, DCI, and/or RRC signaling (i.e., first message). Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX. A network may send a revised offset for a short or long DRX. For example, a network may (e.g., at some point) send (e.g., via DCI or dedicated RRC signaling) a revised offset for short or long DRX); and transmit an indication of a plurality of offset configurations from the default discontinuous reception configuration, wherein each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations that are mapped to the plurality of network energy saving modes are associated with a respective offset configuration, of the plurality of offset configurations, from the default discontinuous reception configuration (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0222 - An offset configuration may be explicit. An indicated offset may be the same for short and long DRX cycles. A WTRU may assume that an offset is a default value that applies to short and long DRX cycles for example, if (e.g., only) one value of an offset is indicated to the WTRU. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0224 - Multiple offsets may be indicated to a WTRU. A WTRU may monitor in valid offset occasions. In an example, a WTRU may (e.g., only) monitor in valid offset occasions, for example, depending on one or more short DRX cycle conditions. Short DRX cycle conditions may include, for example, if the WTRU begins a short DRX cycle, the length of a short cycle, and/or the like. Valid offset occasions may include, for example, the offset(s) that fall within the short DRX cycle, the offset(s) that satisfy a minimum time before the beginning of the on duration, and/or offsets that fall within configured search spaces. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0227 - A WTRU may be provided with a default offset value during an initial DRX configuration. A default offset value may apply to a long and short DRX.).
Claims 8-9 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala, in view of Niu, further in view of Zhang et al. (2025/0056655), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 8 and 26, Bala and Niu teach claims 1 and 22.
Yet, Bala and Niu do not expressly teach receiving respective wake-up signal monitoring occasion information associated with each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations, wherein the UE uses a set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions to monitor the downlink control channel, and wherein the set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions correspond to wake-up signal monitoring occasion information that is associated with the first network energy saving mode.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses receiving respective wake-up signal monitoring occasion information associated with each of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0006 - receiving, at a terminal device and from a network device, a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations for a serving cell or a serving cell group; detecting, at the terminal device, a power saving indication signal within a monitoring window, wherein the monitoring window is associated with one or more DRX configurations of the plurality of DRX configurations; and starting a DRX on-duration timer of the plurality of DRX configurations based on the detection of the power saving indication signal. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0083 - WUS can be separately configured for each DRX configuration. In this situation, the WUS monitoring occasions of the first DRX configuration may be located in On-duration window of second DRX configuration. For example, the plurality of DRX configurations can comprise a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration. A first monitoring window for detecting the WUS of the first DRX configuration can locate within running time of an on-duration timer of the second DRX configuration. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, WUS detection windows of DRX configuration #0 and DRX configuration #1 are 910 and 920 respectively. The WUS detection window 910 is located in the on-duration time window of the DRX configuration #1. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0084 - the network device 120 may transmit a PDCCH with group common downlink control information for the WUS within the first WUS monitoring window. For example, the terminal device 110-1 may monitor the PDCCH for group common DCI format of the first DRX configuration in WUS detection window 910….the network device 120 may transmit a PDCCH with specific downlink control information for the WUS within running time of the on-duration timer of the second DRX configuration. ….. The WUS indication of the first DRX configuration can be carried in UE specific DCI. The terminal device 110-1 may monitor PDCCH with UE specific DCI for WUS indication of the first DRX configuration in the active time due to the on-duration timer running of the second DRX configuration.), wherein the UE uses a set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions to monitor the downlink control channel, and wherein the set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions correspond to wake-up signal monitoring occasion information that is associated with the first network energy saving mode (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0006 - receiving, at a terminal device and from a network device, a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations for a serving cell or a serving cell group; detecting, at the terminal device, a power saving indication signal within a monitoring window, wherein the monitoring window is associated with one or more DRX configurations of the plurality of DRX configurations; and starting a DRX on-duration timer of the plurality of DRX configurations based on the detection of the power saving indication signal. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0083 - WUS can be separately configured for each DRX configuration. In this situation, the WUS monitoring occasions of the first DRX configuration may be located in On-duration window of second DRX configuration. For example, the plurality of DRX configurations can comprise a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration. A first monitoring window for detecting the WUS of the first DRX configuration can locate within running time of an on-duration timer of the second DRX configuration. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, WUS detection windows of DRX configuration #0 and DRX configuration #1 are 910 and 920 respectively. The WUS detection window 910 is located in the on-duration time window of the DRX configuration #1. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0084 - the network device 120 may transmit a PDCCH with group common downlink control information for the WUS within the first WUS monitoring window. For example, the terminal device 110-1 may monitor the PDCCH for group common DCI format of the first DRX configuration in WUS detection window 910….the network device 120 may transmit a PDCCH with specific downlink control information for the WUS within running time of the on-duration timer of the second DRX configuration. ….. The WUS indication of the first DRX configuration can be carried in UE specific DCI. The terminal device 110-1 may monitor PDCCH with UE specific DCI for WUS indication of the first DRX configuration in the active time due to the on-duration timer running of the second DRX configuration. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0122 - At block 1420, the terminal device 110-1 detects a power saving indication signal within a monitoring window. The monitoring window is associated within one or more DRX configurations of the plurality of DRX configurations. In some embodiments, the power saving indication signal can be a wake up signal (WUS). .. the power saving indication signal can be a low power WUS. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for a plurality of DRX configurations for a serving cell or a serving cell group in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving system performance of a wireless network in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0087, Zhang)
Re. Claims 9 and 27, Bala and Niu teach claims 1 and 22.
Yet, Bala and Niu do not expressly teach receiving wake-up signal monitoring occasion information that is commonly associated with all of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations, wherein the UE uses a set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions to monitor the downlink control channel, and wherein the set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions correspond to the wake-up signal monitoring occasion information that is commonly associated with all of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses receiving wake-up signal monitoring occasion information that is commonly associated with all of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations, wherein the UE uses a set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions to monitor the downlink control channel, and wherein the set of wake-up signal monitoring occasions correspond to the wake-up signal monitoring occasion information that is commonly associated with all of the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations. (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0006 - receiving, at a terminal device and from a network device, a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations for a serving cell or a serving cell group; detecting, at the terminal device, a power saving indication signal within a monitoring window, wherein the monitoring window is associated with one or more DRX configurations of the plurality of DRX configurations; and starting a DRX on-duration timer of the plurality of DRX configurations based on the detection of the power saving indication signal. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0083 - WUS can be separately configured for each DRX configuration. In this situation, the WUS monitoring occasions of the first DRX configuration may be located in On-duration window of second DRX configuration. For example, the plurality of DRX configurations can comprise a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration. A first monitoring window for detecting the WUS of the first DRX configuration can locate within running time of an on-duration timer of the second DRX configuration. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, WUS detection windows of DRX configuration #0 and DRX configuration #1 are 910 and 920 respectively. The WUS detection window 910 is located in the on-duration time window of the DRX configuration #1. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0084 - the network device 120 may transmit a PDCCH with group common downlink control information for the WUS within the first WUS monitoring window. For example, the terminal device 110-1 may monitor the PDCCH for group common DCI format of the first DRX configuration in WUS detection window 910….the network device 120 may transmit a PDCCH with specific downlink control information for the WUS within running time of the on-duration timer of the second DRX configuration. ….. The WUS indication of the first DRX configuration can be carried in UE specific DCI. The terminal device 110-1 may monitor PDCCH with UE specific DCI for WUS indication of the first DRX configuration in the active time due to the on-duration timer running of the second DRX configuration. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0122 - At block 1420, the terminal device 110-1 detects a power saving indication signal within a monitoring window. The monitoring window is associated within one or more DRX configurations of the plurality of DRX configurations. In some embodiments, the power saving indication signal can be a wake up signal (WUS). .. the power saving indication signal can be a low power WUS. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for a plurality of DRX configurations for a serving cell or a serving cell group in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving system performance of a wireless network in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0087, Zhang)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala, in view of Niu, further in view of SHRIVASTAVA et al. (2024/0049134), SHRIVASTAVA hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Bala and Niu teach claim 1.
Yet, Bala and Niu do not expressly teach transmitting information associated with a capability of the UE to support multiple discontinuous reception configurations for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes, wherein the mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is based at least in part on the capability of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses transmitting information associated with a capability of the UE to support multiple discontinuous reception configurations for each of the plurality of network energy saving modes (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0168 - UE (100) indicates the capability to support the multiple DRX configuration through at least one of UE capability exchange procedure and a UE assistance information. The UE (100) also indicates whether the UE (100) supports the power saving preference for the XR. In an example, the drx-preferenceXR included in PowSav-Parameters in the UE capability message indicates the support for the power saving preferences for the XR. ), wherein the mapping between the plurality of network energy saving modes and the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations is based at least in part on the capability of the UE (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0174 - there may be one or more DRX configurations are applied for one or more XR flows or streams or frame types of the XR service(s) and the DRX configurations may be switched across among multiple DRX configurations (e.g., a different DRX config at a different time) and applicable DRX config is indicated by at least one of the DCI, the WUS, the WUR or the MAC CE (e.g., using a bitmap or index of the applicable DRX config). Fig. 1-13 & ¶0168 -The UE (100) also indicates whether the UE (100) supports the power saving preference for the XR. In an example, the drx-preferenceXR included in PowSav-Parameters in the UE capability message indicates the support for the power saving preferences for the XR. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bala’s invention of a system and a method for power saving signal operation in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for multiple Connected Mode Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (cDRX) configurations and dynamic configuration switching for XR (extended reality) traffic in a wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for managing power saving for extended reality (XR) service in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in managing power saving for XR (extended reality) service reception in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 13 – wherein the information indicates a maximum quantity of network energy saving modes that can correspond to multiple discontinuous reception configurations and indicates whether the UE supports, for a given network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes, discontinuous reception configurations that are associated with different serving cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant is respectfully reminded for submitting IDS as mentioned in the office action (page 2) mailed on 05/25/2025, 10/27/2025 and 01/07/2026. The Applicants and other individuals substantially involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application do have a duty to disclose to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, all material information known to the applicant(s) as defined in 37 CFR §1.56. See Brasseler, U.S.A. I, L.P. v. Stryker Sales Corp., 267 F.3d 1370, 1383, 60 USPQ2d 1482, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2001) ("Once an attorney, or an applicant has notice that information exists that appears material and questionable, that person cannot ignore that notice in an effort to avoid his or her duty to disclose."). Materiality controls whether information must be disclosed to the Office, not the circumstances under which or the source from which the information is obtained. The duty to disclose material information extends to information such individuals are aware of prior to or at the time of filing the application or become aware of during the prosecution thereof. See MPEP § 2001.06.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/04/2026 with respect to claims 1, 16, 22 and 28 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 15-16 as submitted on 03/04/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Bala fails to teach, “wherein each respective network energy saving mode of the plurality of network energy saving modes comprises a different power saving mode of a network entity or a baseline network energy saving mode not associated with power saving of the network entity”. See at least at page 15 of remarks as submitted on 03/04/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Bala discloses that the presence and/or configuration of a WUS (e.g., indicating WTRU specific or group common, DCI format and contents, etc.) may be determined, for example, by a DRX cycle. For example, a WUS may be activated for a short DRX cycle, but not for a long DRX cycle, or vice versa. A WTRU may be configured to operate according to a power saving state. In examples, a WTRU may be configured to operate according to one of multiple (e.g., a set of) power saving states. A power saving state may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. For example, a minimum value of the k0 and/or k2 parameters may be set according to an attribute of at least one of a long and a short DRX. See ¶0185-¶0186/¶0188 along with Fig. 2-6.
Bala further discloses that a separate search space may be associated with a short DRX cycle. A WTRU may monitor the separate search space for WUS. The parameters of the search space may be used to indicate to the WTRU when to monitor the WUS. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0220 - A search space may be associated with both long DRX and short DRX. A search space may include parameters defining the monitoring occasions associated with long and/or short DRX. For example, parameter WUSmonitoringSlotPeriodicity for long DRX may be a multiple of a parameter for a short DRX. A WTRU may monitor the search space associated with the short DRX, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is running. A WTRU may not be expected to monitor the search space associated with a short DRX cycle, for example, if the drx-ShortCyleTimer is not running. See ¶0218/¶0220 along with Fig. 2-6, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 15-16 as submitted on 03/04/2026.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 16, 22 and 28.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 1, 16, 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala, in view of Niu.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 16, 22 and 28, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467