Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (which has PRO 63/266,221, filed December 30, 2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the plurality of outlets are arranged positioned below and substantially parallel to one another.” The specification discloses that the first outlet 152 is positioned above and substantially parallel to the second outlet 154 (¶[0078]). However, the claim does not identify the reference point for the “below” relationship. Therefore, the scope of the claimed relative-position limitation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 7, 21-23, 28-34 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HELLENBRAND et al. (US20160289086A1, hereinafter HELLENBRAND) in view of GONG et al. (KR20190045881A, hereinafter as GONG).
Regarding Claim 7, HELLENBRAND discloses automatic water discharge management and the use of cation exchange water softeners to remove hard water ions, such as calcium and magnesium, and replace them with sodium ions (¶¶[0002]–[0003]).
FIG. 1 illustrates a cation exchange water softener 100 including a tank 102, a bed of resin beads 120 located in a middle region 105 of the tank, a first flow passage that admits fluid into a top region 104 of the tank, and an internal discharge tube 108 that extends from a bottom region 106 through the top region 104 and defines a second flow passage through the first flow passage (¶[0039]).
FIG. 1 of HELLENBRAND
During the water softening phase, the controller connects the first flow passage to the raw water inlet port 101 and connects the second flow passage to the soft water outlet port 107. Hard raw water 110 enters through port 101 into the top portion 104 of tank 102, flows downward through the resin bed 120, and softened water 111 exits through the internal discharge tube 108 and port 107 (¶[0043]).
However, HELLENBRAND does not explicitly disclose the internal arrangement of “the second channel surrounding the first channel” within the water softener head.
GONG discloses a water purification filter for a water purifier that optimizes the flow path for filtering foreign substances contained in raw water, such as tap water (¶[0001]).
FIG. 1(a) illustrates a first flow path switching guide 48 formed in a multi-cylindrical shape and coupled to the opening of the first filter housing 14. The guide includes a raw water passage 60, a pre-treated water passage 61 formed outside the raw water passage 60, a post-treated water passage 62 formed outside the pre-treated water passage 61, and an RO water passage 63 formed outside the post-treated water passage 62 (¶[0038]). The multi-cylindrical guide 48 shows separated water-treatment flow paths routed in a compact nested arrangement, with one passage formed outside another passage.
FIG. 1(a) of GONG
FIGS. 3 and 4 illustrate a side hinge 13 for water inlet and outlet having a first transfer pipe 32 through which raw water is transferred and a second transfer pipe 33 formed concentrically on the first transfer pipe 32 and on the outer side to transfer purified water passing through the post-treatment filter 46 to a purified-water discharge hose (¶¶[0062]–[0063]).
FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 of GONG
Advantageously, the optimized flow-path arrangement disclosed by GONG increases water-purification efficiency while reducing the number of water purification filters used, and the two-stage filter arrangement minimizes the space occupied by the water purifier (¶¶[0019]–[0020]). In view of HELLENBRAND’s water softener having separated inlet and outlet flow paths through the tank and internal discharge tube, a person skilled in the art would have used concentric/multi-cylindrical passage routing in the water softener head to compactly route the separated flow paths within the head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the concentric/multi-cylindrical passage routing, as disclosed by GONG, into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener by HELLENBRAND.
Regarding Claim 21, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 7. FIG. 1 of HELLENBRAND illustrates the water softener head including raw water inlet port 101, regenerant solution inlet tube 103, soft water outlet port 107, and external discharge tube 109 connected to a waste line (¶[0040]). FIG. 3 of GONG illustrates a side view of a piping configuration having first transfer pipe 32 and second transfer pipe 33 (¶¶[0062]–[0063]), with the pipes extending substantially parallel to one another.
Regarding Claim 22, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 7. HELLENBRAND discloses that the water discharge management system includes a controller and a plurality of controllable multi-way valves that control and implement a regeneration cycle. Each controllable multi-way valve communicates with the controller through a signal path, responds to a signal from the controller, and is operable between a first position and a second position (¶[0013]).
The multi-way valves may include any number or type of three-way valves, a four-way valve, a controllably operable manifold having a suitable number of ports, or a pair of two-way valves replacing any one three-way valve (¶¶[0095]–[0096]).
FIG. 1 illustrates the water softener head having raw water inlet port 101 connected to a raw water supply and soft water outlet port 107 connected to the building’s soft water supply pipes (¶[0040]).
The controller monitors the current drawn by a motorized alternating valve, and when the valve reaches the end of its travel, the resulting increased load causes the motor to draw additional current. This increase is sensed by the controller and interpreted as an indication that the valve has reached a defined position, at which point the controller removes the drive signal to de-energize the valve (¶¶[0099], [0102]).
Regarding Claim 23, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 22. HELLENBRAND discloses that, during regeneration, a bypass passage connects raw water port 101 directly to downstream soft water outlet port 107, and bypass hard water flows through soft water outlet port 107 (¶[0050]).
Regarding Claim 28, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 22. HELLENBRAND discloses controller-controlled valve operation, including use of timing from valve initiation to end of travel to detect faults, adding or dropping softener units based on GPM flow rate, and reclaiming discharged water based on concentrations and intended reuse (¶¶[0105], [0108], [0111]).
In view of these controller-controlled operating parameters, a person skilled in the art would have configured the controller to receive a user instruction to change one or more operating parameters so that the softener operation could be adjusted for site-specific water usage, regeneration timing, and reclaim settings.
Regarding Claim 29, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 22. HELLENBRAND discloses that, when the motorized alternating valve is altered from its first position to its second position, the controller applies a drive signal to cause the valve to rotate from the first position toward the second position. The controller monitors motor current and removes the drive signal when the valve reaches the defined position (¶¶[0101]–[0102]).
It would have been obvious for the first operating state to correspond to a closed valve state and the second operating state to correspond to an open valve state because valve-controlled flow is regulated by changing the valve between closed and open positions.
Regarding Claim 30, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 22. HELLENBRAND discloses that the controller monitors the current drawn by a motorized alternating valve, and when the valve reaches the end of its travel, the resulting increased load causes the motor to draw additional current. This increase is sensed by the controller and interpreted as an indication that the valve has reached a defined position, at which point the controller removes the drive signal to de-energize the valve (¶¶[0099], [0102]). This shows the controller changing valve operation in response to detecting that an operational parameter has reached a threshold.
Regarding Claim 31, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 28. HELLENBRAND discloses operating parameters including valve position, timing, and ion concentration. Valve position is provided by operation of motorized alternating valves between a first position and a second position (¶[0101]). Timing is provided by a timer that tracks the time from valve initiation to end of travel to detect faults (¶[0105]). Ion concentration is provided by reclaim control based on the concentration of soft water ions (¶[0111]).
Regarding Claim 32, HELLENBRAND discloses automatic water discharge management and the use of cation exchange water softeners to remove hard water ions, such as calcium and magnesium, and replace them with sodium ions (¶¶[0002]–[0003]).
FIG. 1 illustrates a cation exchange water softener 100 including a tank 102, a bed of resin beads 120 located in a middle region 105 of the tank, a first flow passage that admits fluid into a top region 104 of the tank, and an internal discharge tube 108 that extends from a bottom region 106 through the top region 104 and defines a second flow passage through the first flow passage (¶[0039]). The water softener head includes raw water inlet port 101 connected to a raw water supply and soft water outlet port 107 connected to the building’s soft water supply pipes (¶[0040]).
During the water softening phase, hard raw water 110 enters through port 101 into the top portion 104 of tank 102, flows downward through the resin bed 120, and softened water 111 exits through the internal discharge tube 108 and port 107 (¶[0043]).
The water discharge management system includes a controller and a plurality of controllable multi-way valves that control and implement a regeneration cycle. Each controllable multi-way valve communicates with the controller through a signal path, responds to a signal from the controller, and is operable between a first position and a second position (¶[0013]). The multi-way valves may include any number or type of three-way valves, a four-way valve, a controllably operable manifold having a suitable number of ports, or a pair of two-way valves replacing any one three-way valve (¶¶[0095]–[0096]).
The controller monitors the current drawn by a motorized alternating valve, and when the valve reaches the end of its travel, the resulting increased load causes the motor to draw additional current. This increase is sensed by the controller and interpreted as an indication that the valve has reached a defined position, at which point the controller removes the drive signal to de-energize the valve (¶¶[0099], [0102]).
However, HELLENBRAND does not explicitly disclose the internal arrangement of “the first channel being positioned within the second channel” within the water softener head.
GONG discloses a water purification filter for a water purifier that optimizes the flow path for filtering foreign substances contained in raw water, such as tap water (¶[0001]).
A first flow path switching guide 48 is formed in a multi-cylindrical shape and includes a raw water passage 60, a pre-treated water passage 61 formed outside the raw water passage 60, a post-treated water passage 62 formed outside the pre-treated water passage 61, and an RO water passage 63 formed outside the post-treated water passage 62 (¶[0038]). The multi-cylindrical guide 48 shows separated water-treatment flow paths routed in a compact nested arrangement, with one passage formed outside another passage.
A side hinge 13 for water inlet and outlet has a first transfer pipe 32 through which raw water is transferred and a second transfer pipe 33 formed concentrically on the first transfer pipe 32 and on the outer side to transfer purified water passing through the post-treatment filter 46 to a purified-water discharge hose (¶¶[0062]–[0063]).
Advantageously, the optimized flow-path arrangement disclosed by GONG increases water-purification efficiency while reducing the number of water purification filters used, and the two-stage filter arrangement minimizes the space occupied by the water purifier (¶¶[0019]–[0020]). In view of HELLENBRAND’s water softener having separated inlet and outlet flow paths through the tank and internal discharge tube, a person skilled in the art would have used concentric/multi-cylindrical passage routing in the water softener head to compactly route the separated flow paths within the head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the concentric/multi-cylindrical passage routing, as disclosed by GONG, into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener by HELLENBRAND.
Regarding Claim 33, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 32. The internal discharge tube 108 is connected to the water softener head and extends from the top region 104 through the bed of resin beads 120 located in the middle region 105 of the tank to the bottom region 106 (¶[0039]). Thus, at least a portion of the internal discharge tube extends into the resin bed.
Regarding Claim 34, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 32. During regeneration, a bypass passage connects raw water port 101 directly to downstream soft water outlet port 107, and bypass hard water flows through soft water outlet port 107 (¶[0050]).
Regarding Claim 36, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 32. The controller monitors the current drawn by a motorized alternating valve, and the current monitoring detects when the valve reaches a defined position (¶¶[0099], [0102]). A timer also tracks the time from valve initiation to end of travel and is used to detect faults in the valve, drive mechanism, or controller (¶[0105]).
Regarding Claim 37, HELLENBRAND discloses automatic water discharge management and the use of cation exchange water softeners to remove hard water ions, such as calcium and magnesium, and replace them with sodium ions (¶¶[0002]–[0003]).
FIG. 1 illustrates a cation exchange water softener 100 including a tank 102, a bed of resin beads 120 located in a middle region 105 of the tank, a first flow passage that admits fluid into a top region 104 of the tank, and an internal discharge tube 108 that extends from a bottom region 106 through the top region 104 and defines a second flow passage through the first flow passage (¶[0039]). The water softener head includes raw water inlet port 101 connected to a raw water supply and soft water outlet port 107 connected to the building’s soft water supply pipes (¶[0040]).
During the water softening phase, hard raw water 110 enters through port 101 into the top portion 104 of tank 102, flows downward through the resin bed 120, and softened water 111 exits through the internal discharge tube 108 and port 107 (¶[0043]).
The water discharge management system includes a controller and controllable multi-way valves that control and implement a regeneration cycle (¶[0013]). The valves may include any number or type of three-way valves, a four-way valve, a controllably operable manifold, or a pair of two-way valves replacing any one three-way valve (¶¶[0095]–[0096]). The system performs softening, recharge/regeneration, backwash, and bypass operations by routing water through different flow paths (¶¶[0043]–[0050]).
However, HELLENBRAND does not explicitly disclose the internal arrangement of “the second channel surrounding the first channel” within the water softener head.
GONG discloses a water purification filter for a water purifier that optimizes the flow path for filtering foreign substances contained in raw water, such as tap water (¶[0001]).
A first flow path switching guide 48 is formed in a multi-cylindrical shape and includes a raw water passage 60, a pre-treated water passage 61 formed outside the raw water passage 60, a post-treated water passage 62 formed outside the pre-treated water passage 61, and an RO water passage 63 formed outside the post-treated water passage 62 (¶[0038]). The multi-cylindrical guide 48 shows separated water-treatment flow paths routed in a compact nested arrangement, with one passage formed outside another passage.
A side hinge 13 for water inlet and outlet has a first transfer pipe 32 through which raw water is transferred and a second transfer pipe 33 formed concentrically on the first transfer pipe 32 and on the outer side to transfer purified water passing through the post-treatment filter 46 to a purified-water discharge hose (¶¶[0062]–[0063]).
Advantageously, the optimized flow-path arrangement disclosed by GONG increases water-purification efficiency while reducing the number of water purification filters used, and the two-stage filter arrangement minimizes the space occupied by the water purifier (¶¶[0019]–[0020]). In view of HELLENBRAND’s water softener having separated inlet and outlet flow paths through the tank and internal discharge tube, a person skilled in the art would have used concentric/multi-cylindrical passage routing in the water softener head to compactly route the separated flow paths within the head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the concentric/multi-cylindrical passage routing, as disclosed by GONG, into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener by HELLENBRAND.
Regarding Claim 38, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 37. The controller monitors the current drawn by a motorized alternating valve, and when the valve reaches the end of its travel, the resulting increased load causes the motor to draw additional current. This increase is sensed by the controller and interpreted as an indication that the valve has reached a defined position, at which point the controller removes the drive signal to de-energize the valve (¶¶[0099], [0102]).
Regarding Claim 39, modified HELLENBRAND in view of GONG makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 37. As observed from FIGS. 3 and 4 of GONG, the head/routing mechanism is a fixed passage structure. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use a water softener head having no moving parts to save space and simplify the head design.
Regarding Claim 40, modified HELLENBRAND in view of GONG makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 7. As observed from FIGS. 3 and 4 of GONG, the head/routing mechanism is a fixed passage structure. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use a fixed pistonless, camless, or gearless water softener head to save space and simplify the head design.
Claims 24, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HELLENBRAND in view of GONG as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of CHANDLER (US20140013839A1).
Regarding Claims 24, 25, and 27, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 22. However, modified HELLENBRAND does not explicitly disclose a brine refill line in fluid communication with the product line and a brine tank (Claim 24); the brine tank in fluid communication with the first inlet via a brine injection line (Claim 25); and a waste line in fluid communication with the product line (Claim 27).
CHANDLER discloses a water softener apparatus employing ion exchange to remove calcium and other minerals from untreated water, where hard water passes through a resin-filled tank and calcium/other ions are exchanged with sodium ions in the resin (¶[0002]).
FIG. 1 of CHANDLER
A brine valve 140 is connected to external port 144 leading to brine line 146 that communicates with brine tank 34. Brine tank 34 includes pump 240 in riser tube 242, with flexible tube 246 extending from the pump outlet to brine port 144. Tube 246 provides bidirectional flow for delivering brine to the resin tank and returning treated water to the brine tank (Claim 24; ¶¶[0082]–[0083], [0085]–[0086]).
In the regenerate position, untreated water enters untreated water inlet orifice 274 and flows through injector control valve 280 and injector nozzle 282 to draw brine from brine tank 34 via brine port 144 into distribution tube 55 (Claim 25; ¶[0122]).
In the rapid rinse position, untreated water inlet orifice 274 is connected to treated water outlet orifice 276 and the top opening 54 of tank 702. Distribution tube 55 is connected to drain port 60, forming a flow path from the outlet to the drain (Claim 27; ¶[0174]).
Advantageously, CHANDLER’s brine-flow arrangement reduces the amount of water and salt needed to regenerate the resin bed and delivers a predetermined amount of brine needed to fully charge the resin (¶¶[0144], [0152]). In view of modified HELLENBRAND’s resin-bed water softener with controller-operated valve routing, a person skilled in the art would have incorporated the brine-flow arrangement into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener to control regeneration and rinse flows, predictably routing treated water to the brine tank, brine to the resin tank, and rinse flow to drain.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the brine-flow arrangement, as disclosed by CHANDLER, into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener by modified HELLENBRAND.
Claims 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HELLENBRAND in view of GONG as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of CHANDLER.
Regarding Claim 35, modified HELLENBRAND makes obvious the water softener apparatus of Claim 32. However, modified HELLENBRAND does not explicitly disclose a brine refill line in fluid communication with the product line and a brine tank.
CHANDLER discloses a water softener apparatus employing ion exchange to remove calcium and other minerals from untreated water, where hard water passes through a resin-filled tank and calcium/other ions are exchanged with sodium ions in the resin (¶[0002]).
A brine valve 140 is connected to external port 144 leading to brine line 146 that communicates with brine tank 34. Brine tank 34 includes pump 240 in riser tube 242, with flexible tube 246 extending from the pump outlet to brine port 144. Tube 246 provides bidirectional flow for delivering brine to the resin tank and returning treated water to the brine tank (¶¶[0082]–[0083], [0085]–[0086]).
Advantageously, CHANDLER’s brine-flow arrangement reduces the amount of water and salt needed to regenerate the resin bed, and delivers a predetermined amount of brine needed to fully charge the resin (¶¶[0144], [0152]). In view of modified HELLENBRAND’s resin-bed water softener with controller-operated valve routing, a person skilled in the art would have incorporated the brine-flow arrangement into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener to control regeneration flow, predictably routing treated water to the brine tank.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the brine-flow arrangement, as disclosed by CHANDLER, into the fluid-routing structure in the water softener by modified HELLENBRAND.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed February 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 7, 21–25, 27–34, and 36 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and/or § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration of the amended claims, new grounds of rejection are made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of HELLENBRAND, GONG, and CHANDLER.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAK L. CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777