DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 9-12, 14, and 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0041868 A1; hereinafter “Palin”) in view of Hunt et al. (US. Pub. No. 2014/0351419 A1; hereinafter “Hunt”) and Jakusovszky et al. (US. Pub. NO. 2015/0358759 A1; hereinafter “JAKUSOVSZKY”).
Regarding claim 1, Palin teaches a Bluetooth network establishing system (see Palin, fig. 9A, para. [0091]), comprising:
a plurality of node devices (see Palin, fig. 4, 100,102,104); and
a gateway device (see Palin, fig. 4, GW 106), being configured to connect a Bluetooth network to an external network (see Palin, para. [0257], fig. 4) and perform the following operations:
broadcasting, by the gateway device, a first connectable undirected advertising packet according to an advertising interval parameter and an advertising window parameter (see Palin, para. [0202,0121], GW node advertises HOP 0);
wherein, a first node device among the node devices performs following operations:
executing, by the first node device, a first scan operation to receive a first advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 5, 504,506, para. [0207], fig. 6, 602), wherein the first advertising packet comprises the first connectable undirected advertising packet broadcasted by the gateway device (see Palin, fig. 6, 608, para. [0113,131,208], HOP 1, connected to GW);
determining, by the first node device, whether to establish a first communication connection with the gateway device to join the Bluetooth network according to the first advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 5, 510,512, para. [0207], lower HOP count, GW advertising HOP 0); and
broadcasting, by the first node device, a second connectable undirected advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 6, 610, advertise available data, para. [0208]).
Palin is silent to teaching that wherein broadcasting a second connectable undirected advertising packet after joining the Bluetooth network,
switching, by the gateway device, to an advertiser mode;
wherein the first communication connection is a point-to-point communication connection supported by a Bluetooth low energy technology.
In the same field of endeavor, Hunt teaches a system wherein broadcasting a second connectable undirected advertising packet after joining the Bluetooth network (see Hunt, fig. 5, 515 after 510, para. [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin with the teaching of Hunt in order to efficiently manage and configure network nodes (see Hunt, para. [0004-5]).
The combination of Palin and Hunt is silent to teaching that comprising switching, by the gateway device, to an advertiser mode;
wherein the first communication connection is a point-to-point communication connection supported by a Bluetooth low energy technology.
In the same field of endeavor JAKUSOVSZKY teaches a system comprising switching, by the gateway device, to an advertiser mode (see JAKUSOVSZKY, fig. 2, para. [0041], switching to AM);
wherein the first communication connection is a point-to-point communication connection supported by a Bluetooth low energy technology (see JAKUSOVSZKY, para. [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin and Hunt with the teaching of JAKUSOVSZKY in order to implement two-way bidirectional communications (see JAKUSOVSZKY, para. [0003-4]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 1, wherein a second node device among the node devices (see Palin, fig. 8, node B, 102) performs following operations:
executing a second scan operation to receive a second advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 5, 506), wherein the second advertising packet comprises at least one of the first connectable undirected advertising packet and the second connectable undirected advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 8, adv HOP 1, or HOP 0); and
determining whether to establish a second communication connection with the gateway device or the first node device to join the Bluetooth network according to the second advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 5, 510, lower HOP value, para. [0207]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 2, wherein the first connectable undirected advertising packet and the second connectable undirected advertising packet comprise at least one of a network number, a device attribute flag, and a path consumption or a combination thereof (see Palin, fig. 7, HOP count 716).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 4, wherein the second node device further performs following operations:
determining to establish the second communication connection with the gateway device or the first node device according to the path consumption comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet and the second connectable undirected advertising packet; wherein the path consumption is related to one or a combination of a number of hops, a Bluetooth connection parameter, and a plurality of Bluetooth transmission quality influencing factors for transmitting a packet to the gateway device.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 1, wherein the first node device further performs following operations:
switching to a scanner mode (see JAKUSOVSZKY, fig. 2, para. [0041]); and
executing the first scan operation according to a scan interval parameter and a scan window parameter (see Hunt, fig. 4, 430, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 1, wherein the first node device further performs following operations:
switching to the advertiser mode (see JAKUSOVSZKY, fig. 2, para. [0041]); and
broadcasting the second connectable undirected advertising packet according to the advertising interval parameter and the advertising window parameter (see Hunt, fig. 4, 415, para.0031-33]).
Regarding claim 11, Palin teaches a Bluetooth network establishing method, being adapted for use in a Bluetooth network establishing system, wherein the Bluetooth network establishing system comprises
a plurality of node devices (see Palin, fig. 4, 100,102,104) and a gateway device (see Palin, fig. 4, GW 106), the gateway device is configured to connect a Bluetooth network to an external network (see Palin, para. [0257], fig. 4), and the Bluetooth network establishing method comprises following steps:
broadcasting, by the gateway device, a first connectable undirected advertising packet according to an advertising interval parameter and an advertising window parameter (see Palin, para. [0202], GW node advertises HOP 0);
executing, by a first node device among the node devices, a first scan operation to receive a first advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 5, 504,506, para. [0207], fig. 6, 602), wherein the first advertising packet comprises the first connectable undirected advertising packet broadcasted by the gateway device (see Palin, fig. 6, 608, para. [0208], HOP 1, connected to GW);
determining, by the first node device, whether to establish a first communication connection with the gateway device to join the Bluetooth network according to the first advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 5, 510,512, para. [0207], lower HOP count, GW advertising HOP 0); and
broadcasting, by the first node device, a second connectable undirected advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 6, 610, advertise available data, para. [0208]).
Palin is silent to teaching that wherein broadcasting a second connectable undirected advertising packet after joining the Bluetooth network,
switching, by the gateway device, to an advertiser mode;
wherein the first communication connection is a point-to-point communication connection supported by a Bluetooth low energy technology.
In the same field of endeavor, Hunt teaches a method wherein broadcasting a second connectable undirected advertising packet after joining the Bluetooth network (see Hunt, fig. 5, 515 after 510, para. [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin with the teaching of Hunt in order to efficiently manage and configure network nodes (see Hunt, para. [0004-5]).
The combination of Palin and Hunt is silent to teaching that comprising switching, by the gateway device, to an advertiser mode;
wherein the first communication connection is a point-to-point communication connection supported by a Bluetooth low energy technology.
In the same field of endeavor JAKUSOVSZKY teaches a method comprising switching, by the gateway device, to an advertiser mode (see JAKUSOVSZKY, fig. 2, para. [0041], switching to AM);
wherein the first communication connection is a point-to-point communication connection supported by a Bluetooth low energy technology (see JAKUSOVSZKY, para. [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin and Hunt with the teaching of JAKUSOVSZKY in order to implement two-way bidirectional communications (see JAKUSOVSZKY, para. [0003-4]).
Regarding claims 12, 14, 17, 19 and 20, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2, 4, 7, 9 and 10, respectively.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Choi (US. Pub. No. 2018/0206094 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 2, wherein the Bluetooth network comprises the gateway device, the first node device, and a fourth node device among the node devices, the fourth node device broadcasts a third connectable undirected advertising packet (see Palin, fig. 4, node A and node C, HOP 3 and HOP 2).
The combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY is silent to teaching that wherein a third node device among the node devices performs following operations:
executing a third scan operation to receive a third advertising packet, wherein the third advertising packet comprises the second connectable undirected advertising packet and the third connectable undirected advertising packet; and
determining whether to establish a third communication connection with the first node device or the fourth node device to join the Bluetooth network according to the third advertising packet.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches a system wherein a third node device (see Choi, fig. 11, node A) among the node devices performs following operations:
executing a third scan operation to receive a third advertising packet, wherein the third advertising packet comprises the second connectable undirected advertising packet and the third connectable undirected advertising packet (see Choi, fig. 9, node A receives form nodes B, C, D); and
determining whether to establish a third communication connection with the first node device or the fourth node device to join the Bluetooth network according to the third advertising packet (see Choi, fig. 11, path 1111, path A-D, para. [0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY with the teaching of Choi in order to provide efficient transmission scheme in mesh networks (see Choi, para. [0009-10]).
Regarding claim 13, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 3.
Claim(s) 5, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, and further in view of Nhu (US. Pub. NO. 2016/0174022 A1)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 4.
The combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY is silent to teaching that wherein the first node device further performs following operations:
comparing whether the network number comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the first node device; and
establishing the first communication connection with the gateway device to join the Bluetooth network when the network number in the first connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the first node device.
In the same field of endeavor, Nhu teaches a system wherein the first node device further performs following operations:
comparing whether the network number comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the first node device (see Nhu, fig. 5, 320, 348, para. [0116,120], same room; para. [0137], common network ID); and
establishing the first communication connection with the gateway device to join the Bluetooth network when the network number in the first connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the first node device (see Nhu, para. [0137-319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY with the teaching of Nhu in order to provide productivity and improve sharing of data (see Nhu, para. [0002-3]).
Regarding claim 15, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, and further in view of Zeilingold et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0368197 A1; hereinafter “Zeilingold”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY teaches the Bluetooth network establishing system of claim 4.
The combination of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY is silent to teaching that wherein the second node device further performs following operations:
determining whether to establish the second communication connection with the gateway device or the first node device to join the Bluetooth network by comparing whether the network number comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet and the second connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the second node device;
wherein the second node device establishes the second communication connection with the gateway device when the network number comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the second node device;
wherein the second node device establishes the second communication connection with the first node device when the network number comprised in the second connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the second node device.
In the same field of endeavor, Zeilingold teaches a system
wherein the second node device further performs following operations:
determining whether to establish the second communication connection with the gateway device or the first node device to join the Bluetooth network by comparing whether the network number comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet and the second connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the second node device (see Zeilingold, fig. 8, 820, 830, 840, para. [0065-67]);
wherein the second node device establishes the second communication connection with the gateway device when the network number comprised in the first connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the second node device (see Zeilingold, fig. 8, 850,870, 880, para. [0068-71]);
wherein the second node device establishes the second communication connection with the first node device when the network number comprised in the second connectable undirected advertising packet is the same as the network number corresponding to the second node device (see Zeilingold, fig. 8, 850,870, 880, para. [0068-71]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Palin, Hunt and JAKUSOVSZKY with the teaching of Zeilingold in order to improve health care information sharing and monitoring (see Zeilingold, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648