DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 has been amended as requested in the amendment filed on 20 March 2026. Following the amendment, claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions.
Claims 1-10 are under examination in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As currently amended, Claims 1-10 stand as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutta et al., (2020); Li et al., (2020); RayBiotech brochure, all made of record in the prior office action; as evidenced by BOC Sciences, What is Biotinylation and Biotinylated PEG? Article; Retrieved from https://peg.bocsci.com/resources/what-are-biotinylation-and-biotinylated-peg.html ; Retrieved on 10/20/2026.
On pages 7-10 of Remarks filed 20 March 2026, Applicant traverses the rejection based upon different prior art references on the following grounds. Applicant asserts Dutta teaches away from the invention because it utilizes biotinylated PEG, in contrast to the present invention which teaches only biotin. Applicant asserts that the method of Dutta would not be successful without the 2000 Da PEG support. Applicant further states that, given biotin has a molecular weight of 244 Da and the molecular weight of Dutta’s bPEG is 2.244 kDa, thus it exceeds the molecular weight of the present application (Remarks pg. 4). Further, Dutta teaches that PEG is critically required to support the biotin molecules for interacting with the streptavidin. Lastly, Applicant argues that the claimed concentrations are critical to the invention (pg. 5).
While all these arguments have been reviewed in full, they are not persuasive to overcome the rejection. First, the claims recite a method comprising coating a chip with a first solution of biotin. Comprising language requires that the first solution must at least contain biotin, but does not foreclose the presence of additional elements. The claim language thus encompasses solutions containing biotin-PEG. If the method does not work with additional elements, then the language of the claim should be close ended (i.e., “consisting of”).
Secondly, while Applicant argues the molecular weight is important, this is not at all a claimed feature. Applicant asserts that the PEG is required to support the biotin, yet provides no explicit evidence that the reference “teaches away” from the use of biotin alone. In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner provides the BOC Sciences, What is Biotinylation and Biotinylated PEG? Article, which does not constitute a new ground of rejection. The BOC Sciences reference discloses that biotinylated PEG can be successfully attached to “surfaces, nanoparticles, antibodies, or other biomolecules to create targeted and stable bioconjugates for imaging, drug delivery, diagnostics, and other biomedical applications”. BOC Sciences states: “A key advantage of using biotinylated PEG is its ability to enhance the stability and biocompatibility of bioconjugates. The hydrophilicity of PEG helps protect the bioconjugate from nonspecific interactions with proteins, cells, and other biological components. This stealth effect, often referred to as the "PEGylation" effect, can improve the circulation time of bioconjugates in the body, reduce immunogenicity, and enhance their therapeutic efficacy.”
Thus, without evidence to the contrary, and given that the instant claims fully encompass solutions comprising biotin-PEG, the rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Regarding the new limitation of claim 1 (“wherein the avidin in the second solution is in a second concentration ranging from 30 to 100 µg/mL”), while Applicant asserts that the 30 to 100 ug/mL concentration is critical, the specification does not demonstrate this because throughout the disclosure it is stated “wherein the avidin in the second solution is in a second concentration ranging from 0.1 to 100 μg/ml” (see paragraphs [0013], [0016]) and the working examples teach avidin alexa fluor 488 at, for example, 0.1, 1, 10, 30, and 50 μg/ml (paragraph [0040]). The prior art differs from the claimed invention only with respect to concentration of avidin. The Court has stated that, generally, such differences amount to mere optimization and will not support patentability unless there is evidence indicating the claimed feature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421.
MPEP 2144 sets forth Applicant' s burden for rebuttal of a prima facie case of obviousness based upon routine optimization. Applicant must provide either a showing that the particular amount or range recited within the claims is critical; and/or a showing that the prior art reference teaches away from the claimed amount. In the instant case, the specification as filed provides no evidence that the particular amount or range recited within the claims is critical because throughout the disclosure and the original claims a broader range of concentrations of avidin is disclosed. Further, Applicant does not persuasively demonstrate that the prior art in any way teaches away from the claimed ranges.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained because the method for preparing the biochip of the invention is obvious in view of methods for assembling biochips disclosed in art prior to the effective filing date of the application.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STACEY N MACFARLANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/KIMBERLY BALLARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675