DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high” and “low” in claim 1 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high” and “low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how to define the high impedance/the low impedance and therefore the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high” and “low” in claim 21 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high” and “low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how to define the high transmit path impedance/the low transmit path impedance and therefore the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high” and “low” in claim 23 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high” and “low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how to define the high impedance/the low impedance and therefore the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehtola (US 2016/0093948 A1).
Re Claim 1, Lehtola discloses a radio frequency (RF) circuit comprising:
an antenna (antenna 14 [0051]) coupled to a receive path through a first coupled transmission line (receive path [0051]), the antenna also coupled to a transmit path through a second coupled transmission line (transmit path [0051]); and
a receiver switch configured to selectively present to the receive path a high impedance or a low impedance to ground (the high band transmit and receive ports 52a, 52b and the low band receive port 54b each have a series switch 56 and a shunt switch 58 which can, in some implementations, comprise a field effect transistor circuit. The series switches 56 selectively couple the ports 52a, 52b and 54b to the antenna 14 via a low impedance path when the switches are closed and isolate the ports 52a, 52b and 54b via a high impedance path when open. The shunt switches 58 provide a low impedance path to ground when closed and a high impedance path to ground when open on each of the ports 52a, 52b and 54b [0069]); and
a transmitter switch configured to selectively present to the transmit path a high impedance or a low impedance to ground (the high band transmit and receive ports 52a, 52b and the low band receive port 54b each have a series switch 56 and a shunt switch 58 which can, in some implementations, comprise a field effect transistor circuit. The series switches 56 selectively couple the ports 52a, 52b and 54b to the antenna 14 via a low impedance path when the switches are closed and isolate the ports 52a, 52b and 54b via a high impedance path when open. The shunt switches 58 provide a low impedance path to ground when closed and a high impedance path to ground when open on each of the ports 52a, 52b and 54b [0069]).
Re Claim 9, Lehtola discloses the RF circuit of claim 1, wherein the RF circuit is configured to operate in a receive mode or a transmit mode, wherein when in the receive mode, the transmitter switch presents to the transmit path the low impedance to ground based on a receiver enable signal, wherein when in the transmit mode, the receiver switch presents to the receive path the low impedance to ground based on a transmitter enable signal (the control component 18 can aid in providing control signals to the antenna switch module 12 so as to select a particular transmit or receive path. Non-limiting examples of the control component 18 are described herein in greater detail [0052]; the high band transmit and receive ports 52a, 52b and the low band receive port 54b each have a series switch 56 and a shunt switch 58 which can, in some implementations, comprise a field effect transistor circuit. The series switches 56 selectively couple the ports 52a, 52b and 54b to the antenna 14 via a low impedance path when the switches are closed and isolate the ports 52a, 52b and 54b via a high impedance path when open. The shunt switches 58 provide a low impedance path to ground when closed and a high impedance path to ground when open on each of the ports 52a, 52b and 54b [0069]).
Re Claim 17, Lehtola discloses the RF circuit of claim 1, wherein if the receiver switch is configured to present to the receive path the low impedance to ground, the first coupled transmission line is configured to transform the low impedance at the receive path so as to present to the antenna port an RF open circuit (the high band transmit and receive ports 52a, 52b and the low band receive port 54b each have a series switch 56 and a shunt switch 58 which can, in some implementations, comprise a field effect transistor circuit. The series switches 56 selectively couple the ports 52a, 52b and 54b to the antenna 14 via a low impedance path when the switches are closed and isolate the ports 52a, 52b and 54b via a high impedance path when open. The shunt switches 58 provide a low impedance path to ground when closed and a high impedance path to ground when open on each of the ports 52a, 52b and 54b [0069]).
Re Claim 21, Lehtola discloses a transmit-receive switch configurable between a receive mode and a transmit mode comprising:
a receive port for outputting received radio-frequency signals (the antenna switch component 50a includes a high band transmit port 52a and a high band receive port 52b as well as a low band transmit port 54a and a low band receive port 54b [0068]);
a transmit port for receiving radio-frequency signals to transmit (the antenna switch component 50a includes a high band transmit port 52a and a high band receive port 52b as well as a low band transmit port 54a and a low band receive port 54b [0068]);
an antenna connected to the receive port through a receive path and a first coupled transmission line, the antenna also connected to the transmit port through a receive path and a second coupled transmission line (antenna switch module 12 can be included and can be used to electrically connect the antenna 14 to a selected transmit or receive path [0051]); and
a receiver switch connected to the receive path and configured to selectively present a high receive path impedance to the receive path when the transmit-receive switch is in the receive mode and a low receive path impedance to ground when the transmit-receive switch is in the transmit mode (the high band transmit and receive ports 52a, 52b and the low band receive port 54b each have a series switch 56 and a shunt switch 58 which can, in some implementations, comprise a field effect transistor circuit. The series switches 56 selectively couple the ports 52a, 52b and 54b to the antenna 14 via a low impedance path when the switches are closed and isolate the ports 52a, 52b and 54b via a high impedance path when open. The shunt switches 58 provide a low impedance path to ground when closed and a high impedance path to ground when open on each of the ports 52a, 52b and 54b [0069]); and
a transmitter switch connected to the transmit path and configured to selectively present a high transmit path impedance to the transmit path when the transmit-receive switch is in the transmit mode and a low transmit path impedance to ground when the transmit-receive switch is in the receive mode (the high band transmit and receive ports 52a, 52b and the low band receive port 54b each have a series switch 56 and a shunt switch 58 which can, in some implementations, comprise a field effect transistor circuit. The series switches 56 selectively couple the ports 52a, 52b and 54b to the antenna 14 via a low impedance path when the switches are closed and isolate the ports 52a, 52b and 54b via a high impedance path when open. The shunt switches 58 provide a low impedance path to ground when closed and a high impedance path to ground when open on each of the ports 52a, 52b and 54b [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtola (US 2016/0093948 A1) in view of Sato et al (US 2014/0327494 A1) (Sato herein after).
Re Claim 2, Lehtola discloses the RF circuit of claim 1, except wherein the RF circuit further comprises a receive path bias network configured to supply a receive path bias voltage to the receive path to bias the receiver switch.
However, Sato discloses a signal transmission/reception circuit comprising bias supplying unit 5Rx is inserted in a line that branches from between the matching circuit 4Rx and a LNA (Low Noise Amplifier) 7Rx to a reference potential point (ground), and is provided for supplying a bias of the input point to the LNA 7Rx of the LSI 6 ([0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Lehtola, by making use of the technique taught by Sato, in order to improve the signal quality when the transmission signal or the reception signal is transmitted to the switch.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of transceiver, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lehtola, nor does Lehtola teach away from the modification (Lehtola merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the bias supplying unit taught by Sato is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the RF circuit further comprises a receive path bias network configured to supply a receive path bias voltage to the receive path to bias the receiver switch.
Re Claim 4, Lehtola discloses the RF circuit of claim 1, except wherein the RF circuit further comprises a transmit path bias network configured to supply a transmit path bias voltage to the transmit path to bias the transmitter switch.
However, Sato discloses a signal transmission/reception circuit comprising power supplying unit 5Tx is inserted in a line that branches from between the matching circuit 4Tx and a PA (Power Amplifier) 7Tx of the LSI 6, to the power source, and is provided for supplying power to the PA 7Tx of the LSI 6 ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Lehtola, by making use of the technique taught by Sato, in order to improve the signal quality when the transmission signal or the reception signal is transmitted to the switch.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of transceiver, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lehtola, nor does Lehtola teach away from the modification (Lehtola merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the bias supplying unit taught by Sato is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the RF circuit further comprises a transmit path bias network configured to supply a transmit path bias voltage to the transmit path to bias the transmitter switch.
Re Claim 22, Lehtola discloses the transmit-receive switch of claim 21, except the transmit-receive switch further comprising: a receive path bias network configured to bias the receiver switch with a receive path bias voltage when the transmit-receive switch is in the transmit mode; and a transmit path bias network configured to bias the transmitter switch with a transmit path bias voltage when the transmit-receive switch is in the receive mode.
However, Sato discloses a signal transmission/reception circuit comprising bias supplying unit 5Rx is inserted in a line that branches from between the matching circuit 4Rx and a LNA (Low Noise Amplifier) 7Rx to a reference potential point (ground), and is provided for supplying a bias of the input point to the LNA 7Rx of the LSI 6 ([0036]) and a signal transmission/reception circuit comprising power supplying unit 5Tx is inserted in a line that branches from between the matching circuit 4Tx and a PA (Power Amplifier) 7Tx of the LSI 6, to the power source, and is provided for supplying power to the PA 7Tx of the LSI 6 ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Lehtola, by making use of the technique taught by Sato, in order to improve the signal quality when the transmission signal or the reception signal is transmitted to the switch.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of transceiver, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lehtola, nor does Lehtola teach away from the modification (Lehtola merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the bias supplying unit taught by Sato is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of the transmit-receive switch further comprising: a receive path bias network configured to bias the receiver switch with a receive path bias voltage when the transmit-receive switch is in the transmit mode; and a transmit path bias network configured to bias the transmitter switch with a transmit path bias voltage when the transmit-receive switch is in the receive mode.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtola (US 2016/0093948 A1) in view of Callender et al. (US 2020/0083924 A1) (Callender herein after).
Re Claim 14, Lehtola discloses the RF circuit of claim 1, except wherein the first coupled transmission line and the second coupled transmission line each comprises a quarter-wavelength impedance transformation.
However, Callender discloses a signal transmission/reception circuit wherein transformers perform a part of a short-to-open impedance transformation instead of the transmission line, such as a wavelength(Δ)/4 transmission line. The transformer impedance transformation allows for a shorter transmission line (i.e., less than Δ/4) to complete the remainder of the impedance transformation ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Lehtola, by making use of the technique taught by Callender, in order to improve the signal quality when the transmission signal or the reception signal is transmitted to the switch.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of transceiver, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Lehtola, nor does Lehtola teach away from the modification (Lehtola merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the method and system taught by Callender is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the first coupled transmission line and the second coupled transmission line each comprises a quarter-wavelength impedance transformation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Black et al. (US 2014/0170990 A1) – antenna transfer switching for simultaneous voice and data
Muthukrishnan et al. (US 2013/0215808 A1) – multiple port RF switch ESD protection using single protection structure
Din et al. (US 12413259 B2) – differential transceiver switch circuitry
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631