Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (as the specific carbonyl compound used) in the reply filed on July 21, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 21, 2025.
Therefore, after the election claims 4-6 and 18 are withdrawn, and claims 1-3, 7-17 and 19-20 are pending for examination as filed December 29, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14 and 19 all refer to providing “A method of manufacturing an integrated circuit device”, but give no limitations as what what is required by the device, other than that formed by the steps described, and it can be considered as well that the preamble is merely providing an intended purpose or use of the invention that do not limit the claim. For the purpose of examination, any structure formed by the process steps as claimed is considered as “manufacturing an integrated circuit device” to the extent claimed, but applicant should clarify what is intended without adding new matter.
The dependent claims do not cure the defects of the claims from which they depend and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2021/086746 (hereinafter ‘746).
Claims 1-3, 10: ‘746 teaches a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0005, 0043, 0065), where a structure comprising a first material film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN desired by claim 10) and a second material film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon and oxygen containing such as silicon oxide) is formed on a substrate (note 0065, 0072, 0069, where to provide the substrate with the layers either for 35 USC 102 they would have to be formed, or at the least for 35 USC 103 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structure of the first and second material films on the substrate in order to get the desired layers since ‘746 demonstrates how material is applied to a substrate to get layers when applying the carbonyl compound/SAM precursor, for example, note 0076), where the first material film (such as SiN) has a first exposed surface and the second material film (such as silicon oxide) has a second exposed surface (note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, 0065). ‘746 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the SAM precursor in ‘746) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such as benzaldehyde, which is a carbonyl compound that meets the requirements of claims 2, 3 as well) to selectively form an inhibitor liner on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor liner on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note 0076-0083, figure 3A).
Claim 8, 14, 16: ‘746 provides further preprocessing the structure before applying the carbonyl compound to the substrate, which can remove oxidized surfaces on the silicon nitride material (note 0075, figure 3A) and also expose to hydrogen reactive species (note 0074, figure 3A), which is understood to give required exposure of amine group on the first exposed surface (of the silicon nitride) and also to expose a hydroxy group (-OH) on the second exposed surface (of the silicon oxide), since respective H groups would react to the surface to give NH2 on silicon nitride and OH on silicon oxide, from the materials present, and it is referred to having NH2 groups to react with the carbonyl group on the silicon nitride surface (note 0077) and that the silicon oxide surface would have hydroxy groups (note 0081, 0110). The combination of claims 1 and 8 also gives all the features of claim 14. The features for claim 16 would also be provided as discussed for claims 1-3 above.
Claim 9: in ‘746 it is noted that the aldehyde head group materials (benzaldehyde) react with amines as compared to hydroxyls, and it is desired to have non-reaction, non-absorption (note 0076, 0081), so therefore it is understood that the hydroxy group on the second exposed surface does not react with the carbonyl compound or at the least, would be suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art to not do so.
Claim 12: ‘746 describes applying the carbonyl compound in a dry manner (note 0076, 0136).
Claim 13: ‘746 describes etching the second material after selectively forming the inhibitor layer (note 0089-0094, figure 3A).
Claims 19: ‘746 teaches a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0005, 0043, 0065), where a structure comprising an exposed nitride film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN desired by claim 10) and an exposed oxide film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon oxide) is formed on a substrate (note 0065, 0072, 0069, where to provide the substrate with the layers either for 35 USC 102 they would have to be formed, or at the least for 35 USC 103 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structure of the first and second material films on the substrate in order to get the desired layers since ‘746 demonstrates how material is applied to a substrate to get layers when applying the carbonyl compound/SAM precursor, for example, note 0076, note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, 0065). ‘746 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the SAM precursor in ‘746) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such as benzaldehyde, which meets the requirements of the formula of claim 19) to selectively form an inhibitor liner on the nitride film and not form the inhibitor liner on the oxide film (note 0076-0083, figure 3A), where the carbonyl compound would be exposed to the exposed nitride and oxide films (noting the discussion of relative absorption, and the overall exposure of the substrate) (note 0076).
Claims 7, 11, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘746 as applied to claims 1-3, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 19 above, and further in view of WO 2006/138628 (hereinafter ‘628).
Claims 7, 17, and 20: as to using 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (TFMB) as the carbonyl compound (which also meets the requirements of claim 17), ‘746 indicates the carbonyl compound (SAM precursor) can be an aldehyde, including benzaldehyde and derivatives of benzaldehyde with one or more fluorine atoms substituted for hydrogen atoms, etc. (note 0021).
‘628 indicates that that similar benzaldehyde derivative that is substituted to have an additional fluorine containing group, TFMB, can be similarly applied and attached to silicon nitride surfaces that have NH2 groups (note pages 7-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘746 to specifically use TFMB as the carbonyl compound that attaches to the silicon nitride surface as suggested by ‘628 with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘746 teaches using aldehydes in general, including benzaldehydes and benzaldehydes substituted with fluorine, and providing amines on the silicon nitride surface to which the carbonyl compound attached and ‘628 indicates TFMB as a similar material that can be attached to silicon nitrides with amines on the surface.
Claim 11: As to applying the carbonyl compound in a wet manner, when providing the processing as discussed for claim 7 above, ‘628 further suggests that the compound can be attached in a wet manner (note page 8, with immersion in a solution of TFMB).
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘746 as applied to claims 1-3, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 19 above, and further in view of WO 2023/128331 (hereinafter ‘331).
*** Please Note: Yun et al (US 2024/0347462) is used as a translation for ‘331, as it is a continuation the application of ‘331, so cited paragraphs are to Yun et al (US 2024/0347462). ***
Claim 15: as to the addition of an upper film as claimed, ‘331 teaches providing a process, where a structure comprising a first material film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN) and a second material film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as SiO2) is on a substrate (note figure 1, 0013, 0018, 0021, 0023), where the first material film (such as SiN) has a first exposed surface and the second material film (such as silicon oxide/SiO2) has a second exposed surface (note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, figure 1, 0021). ‘746 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such as 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (TFMB)) to selectively form an inhibitor liner (blocking layer) on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note figure 1, 0023, 0021, 0059, Table 1, note Example 2). ‘331 further indicates to provide an upper film (insulating layer) over the first and second portions, where a thickness of the first portion of the upper film is less than a thickness of the second portion thereof (note figure 1, 0018, 0054, 0064, Table 2, note Example 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘746 to also provide an upper insulating layer over the treated silicon nitride and silicon oxide sections, such that a thickness over the silicon nitride area is less than a thickness over the silicon oxide section as suggested by ‘331 with an expectation of forming a desirable structure, as ‘746 provides a treated silicon nitride and treated silicon oxide sections and ‘331 indicates that for such structures it is desirable to also provide an insulating upper film where the thickness over the silicon nitride is less than the thickness over the silicon oxide.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by WO 2023/128331 (hereinafter ‘331) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ‘331, EITHER alone OR further in view of WO 2021/076746 (hereinafter ‘746).
*** Please Note: Yun et al (US 2024/0347462) is used as a translation for ‘331, as it is a continuation the application of ‘331, so cited paragraphs are to Yun et al (US 2024/0347462). ***
Claims 1-3, 7, 10: ‘331 teaches a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0018 with a semiconductor device with the films, figure 1, noting the 35 USC 112 rejection above), where a structure comprising a first material film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN desired by claim 10) and a second material film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon oxide/SiO2) is formed on a substrate (note figure 1, 0013, 0018, 0021, 0023, where to provide the substrate with the layers either for 35 USC 102 they would have to be formed, or at the least for 35 USC 103 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structure of the first and second material films on the substrate in order to get the desired layers since ‘331 demonstrates how material is applied to a substrate to get layers when applying the carbonyl compound/blocking layer and silicon oxide insulating layer, for example, note figure 1, 0013, 0018), where the first material film (such as SiN) has a first exposed surface and the second material film (such as silicon oxide/SiO2) has a second exposed surface (note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, figure 1). ‘331 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the blocking layer material in ‘331) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (TFMB), a carbonyl compound meeting the requirements of claims 1-3 and 7) to selectively form an inhibitor liner (blocking layer) on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor liner on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note figure 1, 0013, 0023, 0059, Table 1, note Example 2)).
Optionally, for the 35 USC 103 rejection, using ‘746: ‘746 further describe a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0005, 0043, 0065), where a structure comprising a first material film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN desired by claim 10) and a second material film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon and oxygen containing such as silicon oxide) is provided on a substrate (note 0065, 0072, 0069), where the first material film (such as SiN) has a first exposed surface and the second material film (such as silicon oxide) has a second exposed surface (note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, 0065). ‘746 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the SAM precursor in ‘746) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such as benzaldehyde, which is a carbonyl compound that meets the requirements of claims 2, 3 as well) to selectively form an inhibitor liner on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor liner on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note 0076-0083, figure 3A). Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘331 to provide that the process is for manufacturing an integrated circuit device as suggested by ‘746, with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘746 indicates how similar processing as in ‘331 can be used to manufacture integrated circuits.
Claim 8, 14, 16, 17: ‘331 provides providing that the silicon nitride material has an amine terminated surface region and the silicon oxide material has an hydroxy terminated surface region (note 0034), and notes preprocessing before applying the carbonyl compound/blocking layer with processes that can apply hydrogen to the surface (which would give the NH2 groups to the nitrogen containing region and the OH groups to the silicon oxide region from reacting) (note 0035-0037). The combination of claims 1 and 8 also gives all the features of claim 14. The features for claim 16 would be provided as discussed for claims 1-3 above, and the features for claim 17 would be provided by the use of TFMB as discussed for claims 1-3, 7.
Optionally, when using ‘746, ‘746 provides further preprocessing before applying the carbonyl compound to the substrate, which can remove oxidized surfaces on the silicon nitride material (note 0075, figure 3A) and also expose to hydrogen reactive species (note 0074, figure 3A), which is understood to give required exposure of amine group on the first exposed surface (of the silicon nitride) and also to expose a hydroxy group (-OH) on the second exposed surface (of the silicon oxide), since respective H groups would react to the surface to give NH2 on silicon nitride and OH on silicon oxide, from the materials present, and it is referred to having NH2 groups to react with the carbonyl group on the silicon nitride surface (note 0077) and that the silicon oxide surface would have hydroxy groups (note 0081, 0110). This would further suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘331 to specifically preprocess the structure as claimed to form the desired amine group on the first material film and hydroxy group on the second material film with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, as ‘746 shows how such preprocessing would give the desired results.
Claim 9: in ‘331 it is understood that the hydroxy group on the second exposed surface (silicon oxide) does not react with the carbonyl compound (TFMB), since the TFMB/blocking layer/carbonyl compound only selectively attaches to the SiN surface (note figure 1, 0013).
Optionally, when using ‘746, in ‘746 it is noted that the aldehyde head group materials (benzaldehyde) react with amines as compared to hydroxyls, and it is desired to have non-reaction, non-absorption (note 0076, 0081), so therefore it is understood that the hydroxy group on the second exposed surface does not react with the carbonyl compound or at the least, would be suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art to not do so.
Claim 12: ‘331 describes that the blocking layer/carbonyl compound can be applied in a dry manner (note 0039). Optionally, when using ‘746, ‘746 further describes applying the carbonyl compound in a dry manner (note 0076, 0136).
Claim 15: ‘331 further describes, after forming the inhibitor liner/blocking layer, an upper film (SiO2 insulating layer), comprising a first portion covering the first material film (SiN) and a second portion covering the second material film (SiO2), can be formed, where a thickness of the first portion of the upper film is less than a thickness of the second portion thereof (note figure 1, 0018, 0064, Table 2).
Claims 19, 20: ‘331 teaches a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0018 with a semiconductor device with the films, figure 1, noting the 35 USC 112 rejection above), where a structure comprising an exposed nitride film containing silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN) and a second exposed oxide film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon oxide/SiO2) is formed on a substrate (note figure 1, 0013, 0018, 0021, 0023, where to provide the substrate with the layers either for 35 USC 102 they would have to be formed, or at the least for 35 USC 103 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structure of the first and second material films on the substrate in order to get the desired layers since ‘331 demonstrates how material is applied to a substrate to get layers when applying the carbonyl compound/blocking layer and silicon oxide insulating layer, for example, note figure 1, 0013, 0018). ‘331 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the blocking layer material in ‘331) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (TFMB), a carbonyl compound meeting the requirements of claims 19 and 20) to selectively form an inhibitor liner (blocking layer) on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor liner on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note figure 1, 0013, 0023, 0059, Table 1, note Example 2)).
Optionally, for the 35 USC 103 rejection, using ‘746: ‘746 further describe a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0005, 0043, 0065), where a structure comprising a first material film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN desired by claim 10) and a second material film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon and oxygen containing such as silicon oxide) is provided on a substrate (note 0065, 0072, 0069), where the first material film (such as SiN) has a first exposed surface and the second material film (such as silicon oxide) has a second exposed surface (note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, 0065). ‘746 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the SAM precursor in ‘746) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such as benzaldehyde, which is a carbonyl compound that meets the requirements of claims 2, 3 as well) to selectively form an inhibitor liner on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor liner on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note 0076-0083, figure 3A). Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘331 to provide that the process is for manufacturing an integrated circuit device as suggested by ‘746, with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘746 indicates how similar processing as in ‘331 can be used to manufacture integrated circuits.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘331, EITHER alone OR further in view of ‘746 as applied to claims 1-3, 7-10, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 above, and further in view of WO 2006/138628 (hereinafter ‘628).
Claims 7, 17, and 20: applying the carbonyl compound/TFMB in a wet manner, ‘331 describes the application in a dry/gaseous manner (note 0039), however,
‘628 indicates how TFMB, can be similarly applied and attached to silicon nitride surfaces that have NH2 groups (note pages 7-9). ‘628 further suggests that the compound can be attached in a wet manner (note page 8, with immersion in a solution of TFMB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘331, EITHER alone OR further in view of ‘746 to specifically apply the TFMB in a manner as suggested by ‘628 with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘331 teaches using applying TFMB to a SiN surface with amines on the SiN surface, and ‘628 indicates TFMB material can be attached to silicon nitrides with amines on the surface in a wet manner.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘331, EITHER alone OR further in view of ‘746 as applied to claims 1-3, 7-10, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 above, and further specifically in view of ‘746.
Claim 13: as to etching the second material film after selectively forming the inhibitor layer,
‘746 further describe a method of manufacturing what can be considered an integrated circuit device to the extent claimed (noting 0005, 0043, 0065), where a structure comprising a first material film comprising silicon atoms and nitrogen atoms (such as silicon nitride/SiN desired by claim 10) and a second material film devoid of nitrogen atoms (such as silicon and oxygen containing such as silicon oxide) is provided on a substrate (note 0065, 0072, 0069), where the first material film (such as SiN) has a first exposed surface and the second material film (such as silicon oxide) has a second exposed surface (note exposed silicon oxide and silicon nitride surfaces, 0065). ‘746 teaches applying to the structure a carbonyl compound (the SAM precursor in ‘746) having a functional group without an α-hydrogen (such as benzaldehyde, which is a carbonyl compound that meets the requirements of claims 2, 3 as well) to selectively form an inhibitor liner on the first exposed surface of the first material film and not form the inhibitor liner on the second exposed surface of the second material film (note 0076-0083, figure 3A). ‘746 further describes etching the second material after selectively forming the inhibitor liner (note 0089-0094, figure 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘331 to also provide etching the second material film (SiO2) after selectively forming the inhibitor liner/blocking layer as suggested by ‘746 with an expectation of forming a desirable structure, as ‘746 and ‘331 both provide treated silicon nitride and treated silicon oxide sections and ‘746 indicates that for such structures it is desirable to also provide then etching the silicon oxide layer.
Gasvoda, et al “Gas-phase surface functionalization of SiNx with benzaldehyde to increase SiO2 to SiNx etch selectivity in atomic layer etching” indicates providing SiN and SiO2 exposed regions on a substrate and selectively attach an inhibitor layer of benzaldehyde (note abstract, figure 1). Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘746.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A BAREFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718