CTFR 18/147,803 CTFR 82988 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN113004057A, further in view of “Microstructural and thermochemical properties of Al/AlN/CuAl2 composite prepared by a combination of combustion synthesis and spark plasma sintering” to Lee et al . Regarding claim 1, CN113004057A discloses a conductive microsphere with the core-shell structure and the adjustable specific gravity is characterized by comprising a ceramic microsphere serving as a core and a metal shell layer coated on the surface of the ceramic microsphere. Preferably, the ceramic microspheres have a diameter of 1-2000 μm, preferably 50-1800 μm. Preferably, the ceramic microspheres may be selected from one, two or more of the following: alumina, zirconia, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, and the like. Preferably, the thickness of the metal shell layer is 1-100 μm, preferably 5-50 μm. Preferably, the metal shell layer has conductive properties. For example, the metal shell layer may be selected from one, two or more of the following metal layers: molybdenum, tungsten, niobium, copper, silver, and the like. See claim 1. But it is silent about the shell layer comprise Al. Lee et al. discloses that aluminum and copper possess a thermal conductivity of about 237 and 400 W/m K, respectively, and they are widely used wherever high thermal and electric conductivities are required. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Al in the teaching of CN113004057A, motivated by the fact that Lee et al. discloses that auminum and copper possess a thermal conductivity of about 237 and 400 W/m K, respectively, and they are widely used wherever high thermal and electric conductivities are required. See Introduction Section, second paragraph. Substituting one known material for another for the same purpose is known in the art. Regarding claims 2-3, the weight ratio is related to the thickness of the core and the thickness of the shell. Without showing unexpected results, the claimed weight ratio cannot be considered critical, accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the weight ratio to obtain the desired specific gravity effect. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d. 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Since it has been held that where general conditions of the claim are disclose in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). Regarding claims 4-5, the weight ratio of the Al and the dopant affect the metal specific gravity and the weight ratio can be derived from the formula based on the specific gravity of the target conductive microsphere. Since it has been held that where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). See claim 1. Regarding claim 6, CN113004057A discloses that it will be understood by those skilled in the art that the thickness of the metal shell layer can also be derived from the formula based on the specific gravity of the target conductive microsphere. Since it has been held that where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). See claim 1; last 8 Paragraphs of page 4. Regarding claim 7, CN113004057A discloses a conductive microsphere with the core-shell structure and the adjustable specific gravity is characterized by comprising a ceramic microsphere serving as a core and a metal shell layer coated on the surface of the ceramic microsphere. Preferably, the ceramic microspheres have a diameter of 1-2000 μm, preferably 50-1800 μm. Preferably, the ceramic microspheres may be selected from one, two or more of the following: alumina, zirconia, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, and the like. See claim 1 . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over “Microstructural and thermochemical properties of Al/AlN/CuAl2 composite prepared by a combination of combustion synthesis and spark plasma sintering” to Lee et al. is withdrawn based on the argument filed 01/15/2026 by applicant. Regarding to Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (CN 113004057) in view of Lee et al. The applicant argues that Shi does not teach Al and the all the examples using the metal have a density higher than that of the AlN core. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Lee et al. discloses that aluminum and copper possess a thermal conductivity of about 237 and 400 W/m K, respectively, and they are widely used wherever high thermal and electric conductivities are required. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Al in the teaching of CN113004057A, motivated by the fact that Lee et al. discloses that aluminum and copper possess a thermal conductivity of about 237 and 400 W/m K, respectively, and they are widely used wherever high thermal and electric conductivities are required. See Introduction Section, second paragraph. Substituting one known material for another for the same purpose is known in the art. The Examiner respectfully submits that a reference is not limited to the teaching in its preferred embodiment (A reference is good not only for what it teaches but also for what one of ordinary skill might reasonably infer from the teachings. In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (CAFC 1989); In re Bode USPQ 12; In re Lamberti 192 USPQ 278; In re Bozek 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969); In re Van Mater 144 USPQ 421; In re Jacoby 135 USPQ 317; In re LeGrice 133 USPQ 365; In re Preda 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In addition, "A reference can be used for all it realistically teaches and is not limited to the disclosure in its preferred embodiments" See In re Van Marter, 144 USPQ 421). As applicant states that the density of the conductive small balls (e.g., core-shell particles) is required to be close to that of the ceramic medium of the filter. See paragraph [0003] in Shi. But it does not requires only using density higher than AlN density metals. In fact that SiN (3.17 g/cm 3 ) and SiC (3.21 g/cm 3 ) all have the densities lower than AlN. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHUANGYI ABU ALI whose telephone number is (571)272-6453. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00 am- 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amber Orlando can be reached at (571)270-3149. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731 Application/Control Number: 18/147,803 Page 2 Art Unit: 1731 Application/Control Number: 18/147,803 Page 3 Art Unit: 1731 Application/Control Number: 18/147,803 Page 4 Art Unit: 1731 Application/Control Number: 18/147,803 Page 5 Art Unit: 1731 Application/Control Number: 18/147,803 Page 6 Art Unit: 1731 Application/Control Number: 18/147,803 Page 7 Art Unit: 1731