DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites and wherein the first module terminal comprises a first terminal of a second pair of module terminals connected to the one or more first substrings, the second pair of modules terminals comprising: a third module terminal; and a fourth module terminal” it is unclear how a second pair of module terminals comprises a first terminal, a third module terminal and a fourth module, since the term “pair” in second pair means two. Further clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12-14, 21, 22, and 24-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentine (US 2015/0114444 A1) in view of Hide (JP H10319851 A, Machine Translation) in view of Yang (US 2014/0053890 A1) in view of Hattori (JP 2005224036 A, Machine Translation) with further evidence provided by Maragliano (Three-Dimensional Point-Focus Spectral Splitting Solar Concentrator System).
Regarding claims 1, 21, and 28-31, Lentine discloses a plurality of connected photovoltaic modules (see Fig. 1, 102-148 [0023]), each of the plurality of connected photovoltaic modules comprising:
a photovoltaic module comprising (see Fig. 2, 200 [0025]-[0028], 202-240 are each a group of photovoltaic cells [0025] mounted on a backsheet, the differing photovoltaic cell and at least the subset of the remaining photovoltaic cells in the group can be mounted on a common surface (e.g., same surface of as substrate) --[0010] and see Figs. 4, 5, 6 [0046] or Fig. 8 [0055] ):
a photovoltaic cell array comprising:
one or more first substrings (see Figs. 4, 5, 6 [0046]-[0051] and Fig. 8 [0055]-[0062], any of strings shown in these figures, Ge cells, for example, Ge cells in string 802 and/or 804) configured to produce a first power level/ first open circuit voltage (note than each of the strings comprise a different material of solar cell than any other string and therefore will have a different current output, even if the sum of the voltages are the same because the number of cells are altered, and therefore the power output will be different, see Maragliano, Fig. 8, Jsc, furthermore the open circuit voltage will be different since the output voltage as evidenced by Maragliano is different for a Ge cell (36x0.251V) versus as Si solar cell (18x0.6V)) under operating conditions, each of the one or more first substrings comprising a first plurality of serially connected photovoltaic cells.
In addition, Lentine discloses one or more second substrings (see Figs. 4, 5, 6 [0046]-[0051] and Fig. 8 [0055]-[0062], any of the strings shown in these figures other than the one choses for the one or more strings, Si cells for example cells in groups 806 and/or 808 and/or 810 and/or 812) configured to produce a second power level/ open circuit voltage different from the first power level/ the first open circuit voltage under the operating conditions (furthermore the open circuit voltage will be different since the output voltage as evidenced by Maragliano is different for a Ge cell (36x0.251V) versus as Si solar cell (18x0.6V)), each of the one or more second substrings comprising a second plurality of serially connected photovoltaic cells.
In addition, Lentine discloses wherein the one or more second substrings further comprise (806, 808, 810, 812 see Fig. 8, Si cells, 806, 808, 810, 812 are separate strings of the same type of cell and strings are interconnected in parallel [0057][0058]): a second pair of module terminals connected to the one or more second substrings (See wiring terminal output below 806 and See wiring terminal output below 812) and wherein the first substring group (802 see Fig. 8, Ge cells,) further comprises a first pair of module terminals connected to the one or more first substrings (see terminal outputs of 802).
However, Lentine does not disclose that the two pairs of terminals are configured to be connected to a second module.
Hide discloses a photovoltaic module (see Figs. 2A and 2B) wherein the photovoltaic modules comprises two different strings (see Fig. 2B, circuit 4A and circuit 4B) with different current outputs (see pg. 2, para. 4-5 and last two para. description of output currents of different cells), and furthermore discloses that each of the outputs can be separately applied (see pg. 3, first two paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the outputs of the different substrings of modified Lentine so that they can be separately applied as disclosed by Hide because it is a known electrical arrangement for different current output strings.
Yang discloses two solar cell strings (see Fig. 2A, 100a and 102a [0035]) mounted within the same panel wherein each of the strings are not electrically interconnected with each other and each string comprises its own pair of terminals.
Yang discloses that the first substring can comprise solar cells (100a) connected in series and the second string (102a) can comprise solar cells connected in series or in parallel ([0035]-[0037]) and these terminals are configured to be interconnected to an identical string to an adjacent module ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing to modify the module pairs of terminals of modified Lentine to have the ability to be interconnected to an adjacent module as disclosed by Yang because Yang discloses that electrically separated strings within the same module which comprise their own pair of terminals can be configured to be interconnected to an adjacent module and furthermore allowing modules to be interconnected will increase the amount of solar energy harnessed.
The first substring of Lentine comprises Ge solar cells interconnected in series/parallel, the second substring of Lentine comprises Si cells, 806, 808, 810, 812 are separate strings of the same type of cell and strings are interconnected in parallel.
Hattori discloses that output terminals from solar modules can be interconnected in parallel ([0017]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interconnection of the terminals between adjacent modules of the second substrings of modified Lentine so that they are connected in parallel as disclosed by Hattori because Hattori discloses that such interconnection between solar terminals on a solar module can be formed in parallel.
The modification of Lentine with Yang will therefore result in a first pair of module terminal connected to the one or more first substrings and configured to connect the one or more first substrings to one or more first substrings of a second photovoltaic module; and a second pair of module terminals with modification Yang and Hattori connected to the one or more second substrings is connected in parallel, the one or more second substrings to one or more second substrings of the second photovoltaic module (Please see annotated drawing below which shows the first and second substrings of the first module modified with Yang to add interconnection terminals).
Regarding claims 10, 12, and 22, modified Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lentine discloses wherein the one or more first substrings comprise at least two first substring portions (802 804 see Fig. 8, Ge cells, separate strings of the same type of cell and strings are interconnected in parallel [0057]) wherein the at least two first substring portions are disposed adjacent to each other, and wherein the one or more second substrings (806, 808, 810, 812 see Fig. 8, Si cells, 806, 808, 810, 812 are separate strings of the same type of cell and strings are interconnected in parallel [0057][0058]).
However, modified Lentine does not disclose second substrings are disposed adjacent to one of the at least two first substring portions.
Lentine discloses that the number of submodules shown in the embodiments can be adjusted depending on the application which will necessarily lead to an adjustment in the arrangement ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the number and the arrangement of the submodules of modified Lentine so that the claimed arrangement is present because Lentine discloses that adjustments are possible depending on application.
Regarding claims 25 and 26, modified Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
The modification of Lentine with Yang will therefore result in a first pair of module terminal connected to the one or more first substrings and configured to connect the one or more first substrings to one or more first substrings of a second photovoltaic module; and a second pair of module terminals with modification Yang and Hattori connected to the one or more second substrings is connected in parallel, the one or more second substrings to one or more second substrings of the second photovoltaic module (Please see annotated drawing below which shows the first and second substrings of the first module modified with Yang to add interconnection terminals).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lentine discloses wherein the pair of module terminals (See annotated figure above) a first module terminal; and
a second module terminal,
and wherein the first module terminal (See annotated figure above) comprises a first terminal of a second pair of module terminals connected to the one or more first substrings, the second pair of modules terminals comprising:
a third module terminal; and
a fourth module terminal.
In addition, Maragliano provides evidence wherein an open-circuit voltage across the first and second module terminals is greater than an open-circuit voltage across the third and fourth module terminals (see rejection of claim 1, Si solar cells higher open circuit voltage than Ge cells).
Regarding claims 14 and 24, modified Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lentine does not disclose wherein each of the one or more first substrings comprises a lesser quantity of photovoltaic cells than each of the one or more second substrings.
Lentine discloses that different submodules can be used including used GaAs ([0037][0023]) solar cells depending on application and as shown in Fig. 8, GaAs strings (818-822) show a lesser quantity of photovoltaic cells than each of the one or more second substrings (Si substrings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the first substrings by using GaAs substrings as disclosed by Lentine because Lentine discloses that alternate types of cells in different amounts are known to use and dependent on application.
Regarding claim 27, modified Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Lentine does not disclose that the terminals that are interconnected comprise a connector.
Hattori discloses terminals that are interconnected of solar cell strings that are in separate modules can comprise couplers/connectors (60 and 40 [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the connection portion of the terminals of modified Lentine to have couplers as disclosed by Hattori because Hattori discloses that these type of couplers allow for interconnection of solar cell strings that are in separate modules to be interconnected to one another.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentine (US 2015/0114444 A1) in view of Hide (JP H10319851 A, Machine Translation) in view of Yang (US 2014/0053890 A1) in view of Hattori (JP 2005224036 A, Machine Translation) with further evidence provided by Maragliano (Three-Dimensional Point-Focus Spectral Splitting Solar Concentrator System) as applied to claims 1, 10, 12-14, 21, 22, and 24-31 above and in further view of Chung (US 2011/0300664 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lentine does not disclose the front and rear contacts on the solar cells.
Chung discloses that a solar cell can have front and rear contacts ([0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the solar cells of Lentine by having front and back contacts on the solar cells as disclosed by Chung because this is a common electrode structure and will allow one to harness electrical power.
Regarding claim 6, Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lentine does not disclose how the solar cells are interconnected.
Chung discloses a conductive backsheet (300) comprising a plurality of conductive (310) regions configured to electrically serially connect at least a portion of the photovoltaic cells (400) ([0052]-[0053]) and using these type of interconnection sheets speeds up manufacturing of modules ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the backsheet of Lentine to be a conductive backsheet comprising a plurality of conductive regions configured to electrically serially connect at least a portion of the second plurality of serially connected photovoltaic cells as disclosed by Chung because it will speed up manufacturing of the module.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentine (US 2015/0114444 A1) in view of Hide (JP H10319851 A, Machine Translation) in view of Yang (US 2014/0053890 A1) in view of Hattori (JP 2005224036 A, Machine Translation) with further evidence provided by Maragliano (Three-Dimensional Point-Focus Spectral Splitting Solar Concentrator System) as applied to claims 1, 10, 12-14, 21, 22, and 24-31 above and in further view of Van Roosmalen (US 2017/0148942 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Lentine discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lentine does not disclose a backsheet, wherein one or more first portions of the backsheet have a first degree of transparency and one or more second portions of the backsheet have a second degree of transparency that is less than the first degree of transparency, and wherein the one or more first substrings are disposed above the one or more first portions of the backsheet, and the one or more second substrings are disposed above the one or more second portions of the backsheet.
Van Roosmalen discloses that a rear side plate (6) can be transparent (See claim 25) and is preferable when bifacial solar cells ([0082]) are used and furthermore can comprises regions (24) under each photovoltaic cell (2) which reflect light which improve the conversion efficiencies of the solar cell above the reflection area ([0079]-[0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify two or more of the strings of different types of solar cells to be bifacial solar cell strings of different types because Van Roosmalen discloses that these types of solar cells can form strings and Lentine discloses that different types of strings of solar cells can be grouped together to improve spectral conversion.
Furthermore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the back sheet of modified Lentine to have a degree of transparency (due to bifacial solar strings present) and have one or more reflective/different transparency areas below the solar cells because it will improve output from the panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726