DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the December 19th, 2025 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”). The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the December 19th, 2025 on March 7th, 2025:
Claims 1-10 and 19-27 are pending in the current application. Claim 21 is amended.
Claim 21 is amended to clarify the indefinite term “far away” and the intended spatial relationship. Therefore, the rejections of Claims 21-22 under 35 USC § 112 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to Claim 21.
Support for the amended claim language is provided by the originally filed disclosure including the original specification and figures.
All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 19-27 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as described below:
Claims 1-6 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), and further in view of Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1). The rejections are maintained.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1) and further in view of Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) and Zhao et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 107275532 A). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), and Zhao et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 107275532 A) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Friesen et al. (C.A. Pat. No. 2694960 A1). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), Zhao et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 107275532 A), and Friesen et al. (C.A. Pat. No. 2694960 A1) as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), and further in view of Park (K.R. Pat. No. 20160013758 A). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and further in view of Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) as further evidenced by Kingston et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20030039118A1 A1). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1), and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) as further evidenced by Kingston et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20030039118A1 A1) as applied to Claim 21 above, and further in view of Hong Wang (C.N. Pat. No. 201813186 U). The rejection is maintained.
Claims 23 and 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1), and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U). The rejections are maintained.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and further in view of Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U). The rejection is maintained.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) as applied to Claim 26 above, and further in view of Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1). The rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed December 19th, 2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19, and Claim 26 based upon Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1), and Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) applied under 35. U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Applicant appears to provide opinion and/or allegations without providing factual evidence; expert opinion and conclusory opinion are inadequate to overcome a rejection without factual evidence supporting the statement (see MPEP 716.01(c)(III), In re Carroll, 601 F.2d 1184, 202 USPQ 571 (CCPA 1979).
Applicant argues that there is a fundamental difference between EV traction batteries and consumer portable energy storage; applicant appears to suggest that the differences would deter a person of ordinary skill in the art from utilizing teachings related to an EV battery module to form a portable energy storage device.
Existing prior art teaches that battery modules for smaller, portable devices can also be formed as a battery pack for use in electric vehicles (Park et al., para. 4). Additionally, prior art teaches a secondary battery in which is designed for both a portable electronic device and an electric vehicle, further providing a method and system for rapidly cooling the secondary battery (Kim et al. para. 2). Therefore, existing prior art shows that a battery can be used for both a small, handheld portable device and an electric vehicle by adjusting the size of the battery pack/module for design needs. Further, the use of cooling systems in both EV and portable devices is also known; although Bian is directed to thermal management of a battery module for an electric vehicle, the cited prior art shows that a portable device can also include thermal management capabilities. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive as prior art shows the compatibility of batteries for both EV and portable energy storage devices.
Further, applicant argues that the modification of Bian in view of Fuhr would render Bian inoperative for its intended purpose. Applicant fails to provide a citation from the prior art, direct comparison between the prior art and the claimed invention, or factual evidence to support. When performing the modification of Bian by Fuhr, it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the cylindrical walls (401a) of Bian to completely receive or cover the entirety of the battery cell; contrary to the applicant’s opinion, a PHOSITA would consider the modification to improve Bian’s cooling function as the coolant would be in contact with the entire battery cell rather than providing only partial coverage of the battery cell. Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding the inoperability of the combination are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed openings are intentional access openings configured for plug-in insertion and removal of battery cells, rather than incidental internal cavities for thermal management.
In response, the recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (see MPEP 2114 and 707.07(f)). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Bian teaches hollow cylindrical walls (401a) in which are transparent on both ends each in which the battery cell can be inserted (para. 59, Fig. 6). There is clear indication that the battery cell can be inserted or removed through either end of the cylindrical wall due to its hollow/transparent structure forming analogous cell compartments. The claim language does not require the battery compartments to be independent of liquid-cooling and thermal-management requirements as applicant suggests. Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding the intended use of the claimed openings are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant further declares that there is a difference between the claimed elastic wall and the retention elements of the cited references.
As applied in the rejection, the cell compartment of Bian is modified to include an elastic member configured to form an elastic wall of each cell compartment as taught by Didier. Didier clearly teaches a battery cell compartment for receiving the plurality of battery cells comprising “elastically bendable wedge members” (para. 4). The battery cell compartment includes a plurality of insertion holes in which can be considered individual cell compartments by a skilled artisan. Each individual cell compartment includes an elastically bendable wedge member forming an elastic wall of each cell compartment (para. 4, Fig. 21). Therefore, a skilled artisan would consider the elastically bendable wedge member to be analogous to a compartment-forming wall. Therefore, all claim limitations are met. Examiner recommends further defining the cell compartment to show the features thereof in which are distinguishable from the prior art.
Further, applicant argues that the integrated handle, hanging portion, and strap involves coordinated structural and ergonomic design considerations and is not a matter of transport convenience.
The purpose of the integrated handle, hanging portion, and strap does not impart structural differences between the claimed invention and the prior art (see MPEP 2114). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed in the “Remarks” on December 19th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for reasons described below:
Applicant argues that the channels of Bian are not configured to permit battery insertion or removal through the channel ends as required by Claim 1 and solely exist as part of a liquid cooling architecture (see pgs. 10-11 of the “Remarks”).
"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ" Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (see MPEP 2141.03.I).
Note that “configured to permit battery insertion or removal through channel ends” is not included in the claim language. However, Bian teaches hollow cylindrical walls (401a) in which are transparent on both ends each in which the battery cell can be inserted (para. 59, Fig. 6). There is clear indication that the battery cell can be inserted or removed through either end of the cylindrical wall due to its hollow/transparent structure forming analogous cell compartments.
In response to applicant’s argument that the channel ends are incidental to coolant flow and are not provided for cooperation between opposed insertion openings and electrode plates, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (see MPEP 2114). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As described in the rejection below, Bian teaches that an equivalent first opening is covered by an equivalent first electrode plate (202); and an equivalent second opening is covered by a second electrode plate (para. 41-42, Fig. 6). Therefore, as Bian teaches all structural limitations, the channels (cell compartments) of Bian are capable of functioning to allow battery insertion or removal.
Applicant argues that cooperation with the openings and electrode plates is not disclosed by Bian.
In response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As described in the previous rejection, the cell compartment of Bian is modified by Fuhr et al. to completely receive the battery cells in which cooperation between the openings and corresponding electrode plates would be inherent with a motivation to protect the battery cell and provide further security within the cell compartment. Therefore, in view of Bian as modified by Fuhr, the claimed first and second openings are deemed obvious.
Applicant argues that Bian does not disclose battery compartments for plug-in battery accommodation; further, applicant argues that the cells of Bian are permanently arranged and surrounded by coolant structures. However, there is no indication in Bian that the cells cannot be removed and are permanently fixed; applicant does not provide citations from Bian to support said argument. Further, applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims; the claim language does not require the battery compartments to be independent of liquid-cooling and thermal-management requirements as applicant suggests. As described above, Bian as modified by Fuhr teaching all structural limitations including the compartment structure as claimed.
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, applicant argues that the modification of Bian and Fuhr relies on hindsight (see pgs. 12 and 16-17 of the “Remarks”). Regarding Claim 26, applicant argues that the combination of Bian, Fuhr, Wang, and Peng also relies on hindsight (see pg. 20 of the “Remarks”).
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In this case, Fuhr teaches cell compartments in which cells are completely received and covered (para. 88, Fig. 15) (as suggested by the claim language describing the openings being exposed to electrode plates). As recited in the rejection, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Bian to include the cell compartment structure of Fuhr to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure the battery cell within the cell compartment. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Regarding Claim 26, Wang teaches a battery unit comprising an accommodating cavity in which comprises a control circuit board connected to a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 3, para. 16 of “Detailed Description,” para. 15-16 of “Claims”). It would be obvious to modify Bian to include a control circuit board as taught by Wang in which rearrangement of the control circuit board to be located as claimed is deemed obvious without new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04). Wang provides clear motivation for performing the modification such as providing a battery with reduced production costs and improved reliability (para. 15 of “Summary of the Invention”).
Further, Bian is modified by Peng to include a plurality of power ports exposed to an outside, an upward protruding handle from the energy storage housing with power ports and handle located at two adjacent sides in which are features explicitly disclosed by Peng (para. 41, 46-47, Fig. 5). Making elements integral is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.V.B. Further, Peng provides clear motivation in performing the modification to provide improved portability and allow a user to easily carry the housing (para. 41).
Therefore, the claimed invention is deemed obvious in view of the knowledge within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s arguments regarding impermissible hindsight reconstruction are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues in view of the filed declaration, that the modification “would defeat Bian's stated cooling purpose by reducing or eliminating required coolant contact and thermal pathways. A combination that renders the primary reference inoperative for its intended purpose cannot support an obviousness rejection.” Applicant fails to provide a citation from the prior art, direct comparison between the prior art and the claimed invention, or factual evidence to support. When performing the modification of Bian by Fuhr, it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the cylindrical walls (401a) of Bian to completely receive or cover the entirety of the battery cell; the modification would improve Bian’s cooling function as the coolant would be in contact with the entire battery cell rather than providing only partial coverage. Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding the inoperability of the combination are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed meaning of openings in consumer portable energy storage devices differentiates from the prior art (Argument (5) of the Declaration). Although the internal cavities or compartments of Bian are used for thermal management, the compartments structurally form first and second openings in which are capable of plug-in insertion and removal of battery cells. The functional limitations do not impart any structural differences between the claimed invention and prior art (see MPEP 2114).
Applicant suggests that Didier teaches away from Bian’s cooling-dependent design (see pg. 13 of the “Remarks”); applicant does not point to specific citations of Didier to support applicant’s assertion of a teaching away. "(‘A reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.’) (internal quotations omitted) (quoting DePuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009)” (emphasis in original) (see MPEP 2145.X.D.1).
Applicant argues that the elastic wall forming the compartment is not disclosed by Didier (see pg. 13 of the “Remarks”). Applicant argues that the pre-existing rigid compartment of Didier is not equivalent to a compartment-forming wall.
Didier clearly teaches a battery cell compartment for receiving the plurality of battery cells comprising “elastically bendable wedge members” (para. 4). The battery cell compartment includes a plurality of insertion holes in which can be considered individual cell compartments by a skilled artisan. Each individual cell compartment includes an elastically bendable wedge member forming an elastic wall of each cell compartment (para. 4, Fig. 21). Therefore, a skilled artisan would consider the elastically bendable wedge member to be analogous to a compartment-forming wall. Therefore, all claim limitations are met. Examiner recommends further defining the elastic compartment to show the features in which are distinguishable from the prior art.
Further, applicant argues that Didier’s retention structure is incompatible with Bian and would obstruct coolant flow paths and defeat Bian’s stated coolant purpose; applicant argues that Didier teaches away from Bian’s cooling-dependent design. In response, applicant’s arguments are mere allegations in which are not factually supported by evidence. As Bian teaches the cell compartments, a modification by Didier is used to show that cell compartments can include a flexible or elastic wall. Expert opinion and conclusory opinion are inadequate to overcome a rejection without factual evidence supporting the statement (see MPEP 716.01(c)).
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, applicant argues that Schraff is non-analogous art and cannot supply the missing claimed elements. Applicant states that the technical problem solved by Claim 1 is not addressed by Schraff (see pgs. 13-14 and 18 of the “Remarks”).
“A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention)” (see MPEP 2141.01(a)).
In this case, the reference Schraff is in the same field of endeavor. Schraff relates to a battery module for use in a portable energy storage device comprising an energy storage power supply comprising a handle, hanging portion, and strap in which are major components of Claim 1 (Schraff: Abstract, para. 33). Based on the broad construction of Claim 1 and its relation to an energy storage power supply, there is no indication of incompatibility between the claimed energy storage power supply and an industrial welding device. Schraff states the handle and strap allow a user to easily carry, transport, and support the housing (para. 33) giving clear motivation to perform the modification.
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the references as the references do not address the same problem (see pgs. 14-15 and 18)
“Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006)” (emphasis in original) (see MPEP 2143.01).
Examiner has not relied upon generic assertions such as “design choice” or “mere rearrangement of parts” without providing motivation as applicant suggests. The motivation is recited below for clarification:
Motivation for modifying by Fuhr: to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure the battery cell within the cell compartment. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Motivation for modifying by Didier: to provide an effective method in securing the battery cells in place within the internal frame (Didier, para. 10).
Motivation for modifying by Schraff: to provide improved portability to allow a user to easily carry the housing (Schraff, para. 33).
Regarding Claim 19, applicant further argues that the control circuit board placement is not taught by Wang.
As recited in the rejection, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to position the control circuit board as described to allow electrical connection between the second electrode plate and rear shells. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Wang et al. useful in providing a battery with reduced production costs and improved reliability (Wang et al., para. 15 of "Summary of the Invention").
The applicant has the option to demonstrate unexpected results for the circuit board arrangement in which must be factually supported by an affidavit or declaration (an affidavit or declaration comprising solely opinion and mere allegations of patentability are not given significant weight (see MPEP 716):
“Objective evidence which must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value includes evidence of unexpected results … See, for example, In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984)” (see MPEP 716.01(c)).
“An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979)” (see MPEP 716.02(e)).
Regarding Claim 26, applicant argues that the two-shell housing and internal component arrangement is not disclosed by the cited references. Applicant further argues that the coordinated arrangement of power ports and handle is not disclosed by the prior art (see pg. 20-21 of the “Remarks”).
“One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)” (see MPEP 2145.IV).
“‘[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA].’ In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012)” (see MPEP 2145.IV).
Applicant attacks Bian, Fuhr, Wang, and Peng individually rather than addressing the combined teachings as proposed in the modification (see pg. 20 of the “Remarks”). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Regarding Claim 26, applicant argues that the coordinated arrangement of power ports and handle is not disclosed by the prior art. As applied in the rejection, the energy storage power supply of Bian is modified to include a plurality of power ports exposed outside, a handle protruding upwards from the energy storage housing along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing with the power ports and handle located at two adjacent sides (rear side, upper side) of the energy storage housing as taught by Peng. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrally form the handle with the energy storage housing as doing so involves making elements integral. Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347,349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP 2144.04.V.B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to improve portability and to allow a user to easily carry the housing (Peng, para. 41). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Further, applicant suggests that the prior art does not teach a detachable two-shell housing with an accommodating activity (see pg. 22 of the “Remarks”). As described in the rejection, Bian teaches a front shell (first shell (301)) in which is detachably covered at the rear shell (second shell (302)) (para. 45, Fig. 2) by a cover unit (300) and further comprising an air guide unit (500) forming a housing unit or accommodating cavity comprising the plurality of cell compartments, the first electrode plate, and the second electrode plate (para. 65, Fig. 8). Applicant has not provided evidence to support an improper interpretation of the prior art, but rather solely states that the structural limitations are not taught by the cited references. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Cited Prior Art
Previously Cited Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) (“Bian”)
Previously Cited Friesen et al. (C.A. Pat. No. 2694960 A1) (“Friesen et al.”)
Previously Cited Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) (“Wang et al.”)
Previously Cited Park (K.R. Pat. No. 20160013758 A) (“Park”)
Previously Cited Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) (“Fuhr et al.”)
Previously Cited Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1) (“Didier”)
Previously Cited Kingston et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20030039118 A1) (“Kingston et al.”)
Previously Cited Hong Wang (C.N. Pat. No. 201813186 U) (“Hong Wang”)
Previously Cited Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259) (“Schraff et al.”)
Previously Cited Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) (“Peng”)
Previously Cited Chen et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 108321902 A) (“Chen et al.”)
Park et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20210278479 A1) (“Park et al.”)
Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130065094 A1) (“Kim et al.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Figures included in previous office actions may not be included below.
[AltContent: textbox (Bian (Fig. 2))][AltContent: textbox (Bian (Fig. 6))]
Claims 1-6 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), and further in view of Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bian teaches a battery module (energy storage unit) comprising a liquid cooling unit (400) analogous to an energy storage housing in which houses the several battery cells (100) (para. 57, Fig. 2). It is known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a battery module is an energy storage unit in which can be used as a power supply. The battery module comprises a negative electrode current carrying sheet (202) analogous to a first electrode plate and a positive electrode current carrying sheet (201) analogous to a second electrode plate (para. 41, Fig. 6). The liquid cooling unit (energy storage housing) includes a cavity (401) in which hollow cylindrical walls (401a) forming cell compartments are arranged on the surface (para. 60, Fig. 6). Each cell compartment includes a channel (401a-1) in which is open at both ends corresponding to a first opening at one end and a second opening at the opposite end (para. 59, Fig. 6). When the battery cells are inserted or plugged into the cell compartments, the first opening is covered by the first electrode plate (202) in which is connected to the negative electrode (anode) of each battery cell (para. 42, Fig. 2). Further, the second electrode plate (201) covers a second opening of the cell compartment and is connected with a positive electrode (cathode) of each battery cell (para. 41, Fig. 2). The first opening and the second opening are along a widthwise direction of the energy storage housing as shown in annotated Figure 2 above.
Bian does not teach the first electrode plate arranged adjacent to the first opening and the first opening exposed to the first electrode plate while the second electrode plate is arranged adjacent to the second opening in which the second opening is exposed to the second electrode plate.
Bian does not teach an elastic member provided and configured as an elastic wall of each cell compartment.
Bian does not teach the energy storage power supply further comprises a handle, a hanging portion and a strap, the handle and the hanging portion integrally formed with the energy storage housing, protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing, and the handle is along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing, and the strap is detachably connected to the hanging portion.
[AltContent: textbox (Fuhr et al. (Fig. 15))][AltContent: textbox (Didier (Fig. 21))]
Fuhr et al. teaches a shell (826) forming a cell compartment in which the cells are completely received in the plurality of cell compartments (para. 88, Fig. 15).
Didier teaches an elastic member (wedge members formed of flexible material, 126) forming an elastic wall of each cell compartment (Fig. 21, para. 66-68).
[AltContent: textbox (Schraff et al. (Fig. 1-2))]
Schraff et al. teaches an energy storage device comprising a battery (energy storage power supply) further comprising a handle 83, a pair of connecting rings 90 (hanging portion), and a strap 88; the handle and hanging portion are connected to or formed with the housing 22 (energy storage housing), protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing (para. 33, Fig. 1). The handle is position along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing and the strap is removably (detachably) connected to the hanging portion (para. 33, Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell compartment of Bian to completely receive and cover the battery cell exterior as taught by Fuhr et al. and to further include an elastic member configured to form an elastic wall of each cell compartment as taught by Didier. When performing the described modification by Fuhr et al., the configuration of Bian will comprise the first electrode plate arranged adjacent to the first opening with the first opening exposed to the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate arranged adjacent to the second opening with the second opening exposed to the second electrode plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment. Further, Didier specifies the elastic member provides an effective method in securing the battery cells in place within the internal frame (Didier, para. 10).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include a handle along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing, a hanging portion, and a strap detachably connected to the hanging portion, with the handle and hanging portion protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing as taught by Schraff et al. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrally form the handle and hanging portion with the energy storage housing as doing so involves making elements integral. Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347,349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP 2144.04.V.B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to improve portability and to allow a user to easily carry the housing (Schraff et al., para. 33).
Regarding Claim 2, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. When the battery cells are inserted or plugged into the cell compartment through the first opening or second opening, the first electrode plate (202) is connected with one side of the energy storage housing (400) in which the first electrode plate is covering the first opening and is connected with an anode of the cell (para. 42, Fig. 2). Further, the second electrode plate (201) is connected with the opposing side of the energy housing in which the second electrode plate is covering the second opening and is connected with the cathode of the cell (para. 42, Fig. 2). Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Regarding Claim 3, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Bian further teaches a protective casing (300) including a first shell (301) (front shell) and a second shell (302) (rear shell); the front and rear shells are detachably connected with screws (para. 45, Fig. 2). The front shell covers the positive current carrying sheet (second electrode plate) on one side of the energy storage housing and the rear shell covers the negative current carrying sheet (first electrode plate) on the opposing side of the energy storage housing (para. 45, Fig. 2). There is a gap disposed between the front shell and rear shell in which the energy storage housing is disposed there between (para. 45, Fig. 2). The protective case (300) further includes a top cover (304) and a bottom cover (305) detachably connected to and covering upper and lower portions of the front and rear shells (para. 49, Fig. 2). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the front shell to be detachably covered at the rear shell.
[AltContent: textbox (Bian (Fig. 8))]
Regarding Claim 4, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 3 above. Bian teaches the front and rear shells including a cover unit and further comprising an air guide unit (500) in which the front shell can be considered detachably covered at the rear shell, forming a housing unit or accommodating cavity comprising the plurality of cell compartments (para. 65, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 5, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Further, one of ordinary skill in the cart would consider the cell compartments (401a) as taught by Bian to be arranged in a honeycomb-shaped manner (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 5 above. Bian teaches the cell compartments being spaced apart by partition plates (401b) in which are provided between two vertical cylindrical walls or cell compartments (para. 61, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 25, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. The cell compartment of Bian is modified by Didier to further include an elastic member configured to form an elastic wall of each cell compartment as taught by Didier. Further, the elastic member of Didier is provided with gaps or slots on two sides to allow the elastic deformation of the elastic member (Fig. 21, para. 9, 68). When performing the described modification, it would be obvious to include the slots on two sides of the elastic member to provide the bending capabilities to effectively secure the battery cells in place with the internal frame (Didier, para. 10).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1) and further in view of Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) and Zhao et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 107275532 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Bian further teaches the formed accommodating cavity including an air inlet duct (501) on one side and an air outlet on the opposite side (para. 49, Fig. 8). The front and rear shells include heat dissipation holes or channels in which are arranged in a location between the air inlet and air outlet (para. 48, Fig. 6).
Bian does not teach a heat dissipation fan arranged at the air outlet.
Zhao et al. teaches a heat dissipation fan arranged at the air outlet of a battery box for an electric vehicle (para. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Bian to include the heat dissipation fan of Zhao et al. arranged at the air outlet. The motivation for doing so would be to allow transfer of air from the air inlet to the dissipation channels and to the air outlet of Bian, allowing dissipation of heat of the cells and cell compartments. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Zhao et al. useful in providing a battery box for a vehicle in which has improved heat dissipation and space utilization (Zhao et al., para. 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), and Zhao et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 107275532 A) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Friesen et al. (C.A. Pat. No. 2694960 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Zhao et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 7 above. Bian further teaches a connecting edge (402) provided on the liquid cooling unit (energy storage housing) (400) in which one of ordinary skill in the art would consider analogous to a guard plate (para. 58, Fig. 6). The connecting edge or guard plate surrounds the cell compartments including the area below the cell compartments (Fig. 6).
Bian does not teach an inverter arranged above the cell compartments and electrically connected to the cells and including heat dissipation sheets thereon.
Friesen et al. teaches an inverter arranged above battery cells in which electrical connectors are provided to electrically connect the inverter to the battery cells (para. 2 of “Summary of the Invention”). Cooling fins analogous to heat dissipations sheets are arranged on the inverter housing or inverter (para. 15 of “Detailed Description”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Bian to include an inverter arranged above the battery cells and electrically connected with battery cells with cooling fins (heat dissipation sheets) arranged thereon as taught by Friesen et al. When modifying Bian as described, the inverter as taught by Friesen et al. will be placed above the battery cells and also above the cell compartments which house the battery cells. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Friesen et al. useful in determining methods of providing portable power at large capacity (Friesen et al., para. 3 of “Summary of the Invention”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), Zhao et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 107275532 A), and Friesen et al. (C.A. Pat. No. 2694960 A1) as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, Schraff et al., Zhao et al. and Friesen et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 8 above.
Bian et al. does not teach a control circuit board.
[AltContent: textbox (Wang et al. (Fig. 3))]
Wang et al. teaches a battery unit (100) comprising an accommodating cavity (111) in which includes a control circuit board (21) (Fig. 3, para. 16 of “Detailed Description”). The control circuit is electrically connected to a plurality of battery cells (para. 15-16 of “Claims”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Bian to include a control circuit board in which is electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells as taught by Wang et al. When modifying Bian with Wang et al. as described, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the control circuit board to also be connected with the energy storage housing and front and rear shells in which are connected to the plurality of the battery cells and further be located in the accommodating cavity. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Wang et al. useful in providing a battery with reduced production costs and improved reliability (Wang et al., para. 15 of “Summary of the Invention”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1), and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1), and further in view of Park (K.R. Pat. No. 20160013758 A).
[AltContent: textbox (Bian (Fig. 3))]
Regarding Claim 10, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Didier, and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Further, Bian teaches the first and second electrode plate comprising a connecting piece (203) made of nickel in which is in contact with the negative and positive electrode, respectively (para. 54, Fig. 3). The first and second electrode plate further include an electrode tab (202c-201c) in which is also made of nickel (para. 43). Therefore, the first electrode plate (202) can be considered a first nickel strap and the second electrode plate (201) can be considered a second nickel strap. Further, when the cell is inserted or plugged into the cell compartment, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the first nickel strap to be covered at the first opening and connected with an anode of the cell while the second nickel strap is covered at the second opening and connected with the cathode of the cell.
Bian does not teach welding the electrode plates.
Park teaches a battery pack in which components such as electrode plates are fixed by welding (para. 10 of “Detailed Description”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Bian to include welding the electrode plates as taught by Park. When modifying the battery module of Wang et al. as described, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the welding technique of Park to fix the first and second electrode plate or nickel strap to corresponding sides of the energy storage housing via the electrode tab or connecting piece as taught by Bian. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Park useful in providing a fixation method of components of a battery module in which damage is prevented (Park, para. 1).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and further in view of Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Bian teaches an energy storage power supply (battery module) comprising an energy storage housing (liquid cooling unit (400) in which houses the battery cells (100)) (para. 57, Fig. 2). It is known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a battery module is an energy storage unit in which can be used as a power supply. The battery module comprises a first electrode plate (negative electrode current carrying sheet (202)), a second electrode plate (positive electrode current carrying sheet (201)) (para. 41, Fig. 6). The energy storage housing (liquid cooling unit) includes cell compartments (cylindrical walls (401a)) arranged inside (para. 60, Fig. 6). Each cell compartment includes a channel (401a-1) in which is open at both ends corresponding to a first opening at one end and a second opening at the opposite end (para. 59, Fig. 6).
When the battery cells are inserted or plugged into the cell compartments, the first opening is covered by the first electrode plate (202). Further, the second electrode plate (201) covers a second opening of the cell compartment (para. 41, Fig. 2). Bian teaches a front shell (first shell (301)) in which is detachably covered at the rear shell (second shell (302)) (para. 45, Fig. 2) by a cover unit (300) and further comprising an air guide unit (500) forming a housing unit or accommodating cavity comprising the plurality of cell compartments, the first electrode plate, and the second electrode plate (para. 65, Fig. 8). The first opening and the second opening are along a widthwise direction of the energy storage housing as shown in annotated Figure 2 above.
Bian does not teach the first electrode plate arranged adjacent to the first opening and the first opening exposed to the first electrode plate while the second electrode plate is arranged adjacent to the second opening in which the second opening is exposed to the second electrode plate.
Bian does not teach a control circuit board located in the accommodating cavity in which the control circuit board is located between the second electrode plate and the rear shell.
Bian does not teach the energy storage power supply further comprises a handle, a hanging portion and a strap, the handle and the hanging portion integrally formed with the energy storage housing, protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing, and the handle is along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing, and the strap is detachably connected to the hanging portion.
Fuhr et al. teaches a shell (826) forming a cell compartment in which the cells are completely received in the plurality of cell compartments (para. 88, Fig. 15).
Wang et al. teaches a battery unit (100) comprising an accommodating cavity (111) in which includes a control circuit board (21) (Fig. 3, para. 16 of “Detailed Description”). The control circuit is electrically connected to a plurality of battery cells (para. 15-16 of “Claims”).
Schraff et al. teaches an energy storage device comprising a battery (energy storage power supply) further comprising a handle 83, a pair of connecting rings 90 (hanging portion), and a strap 88; the handle and hanging portion are connected to or formed with the housing 22 (energy storage housing), protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing (para. 33, Fig. 1). The handle is position along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing and the strap is removably (detachably) connected to the hanging portion (para. 33, Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell compartment of Bian to completely receive and cover the battery cell exterior as taught by Fuhr et al. When performing the described modification by Fuhr et al., the configuration of Bian will comprise the first electrode plate arranged adjacent to the first opening with the first opening exposed to the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate arranged adjacent to the second opening with the second opening exposed to the second electrode plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Bian to include a control circuit board as taught by Wang et al. When modifying Bian by Wang et al. as described, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the control circuit board to further be located in the accommodating cavity specifically between the second electrode plate and the rear shell. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to position the control circuit board as described to allow electrical connection between the second electrode plate and rear shells. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Wang et al. useful in providing a battery with reduced production costs and improved reliability (Wang et al., para. 15 of “Summary of the Invention”).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include a handle along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing, a hanging portion, and a strap detachably connected to the hanging portion, with the handle and hanging portion protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing as taught by Schraff et al. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrally form the handle and hanging portion with the energy storage housing as doing so involves making elements integral. Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347,349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP 2144.04.V.B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to improve portability and to allow a user to easily carry the housing (Schraff et al., para. 33).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Didier (U.S. Pat. No. 20200099022 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Wang et al., and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 19 above.
Bian does not teach an elastic member.
Didier teaches an elastic member (126) (elastically bending wedge members) forming an elastic wall of each cell compartment provided with gaps or slots on two sides to allow the elastic deformation of the elastic member (Fig. 21, para. 9, 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell compartment of Bian to include an elastic member configured to form an elastic wall of each cell compartment provided with slots on two sides to allow elastic deformation of the elastic member as taught by Didier. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide an effective method in securing the battery cells in place with the internal frame of the cell compartment (Didier, para. 10).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) as further evidenced by Kingston et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20030039118A1 A1).
Claim Interpretation: “The meaning given to a claim term must be consistent with the ordinary and customary meaning of the term (unless the term has been given a special definition in the specification), and must be consistent with the use of the claim term in the specification and drawings. Further, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims must be consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1999)” (See MPEP 2111). As the specification does not provide a special definition for the term “flashlight,” the ordinary and customary meaning is applied to the claim term. Flashlight is interpreted to mean a battery-operated portable electric light (Merriam-Webster). A lampshade is interpreted as a cover that softens or directs the light of a lamp (Merriam-Webster).
Regarding Claim 21, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Wang et al., and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 19 above.
Bian does not teach a flashlight, and a night lamp with a light-transmitting lampshade, the flashlight and the night lamp with the light-transmitting lampshade arranged at the same side of the energy storage housing along the lengthwise direction, and the flashlight and the night lamp with the light-transmitting lampshade exposed to the front shell and the rear shell. Bian does not teach an emitting surface of the flashlight is spaced apart from the energy storage housing such that the emitting surface is non-adjacent to the energy storage housing, the light-transmitting lampshade located above the flashlight, and the night lamp arranged in the light-transmitting lampshade.
[AltContent: textbox (Peng (Fig. 5))]
Peng teaches a portable charge bag (energy storage power supply) (para. 3) comprising an LED lamp for lighting (para. 3, 14). An LED lamp can function as a flashlight or a night lamp as further evident by Kingston et al.; specifically, Kingston et al. teaches a portable lighting device (energy storage power supply) comprising a light source such as a bulb, lamp, or LED arranged on one side of a battery compartment (energy storage housing) with a function as a night light or a flashlight (para. 2, 34, 42, Fig. 7A, 7B). Peng teaches the LED lamp (flashlight/night lamp) arranged in the lampshade 17 (para. 14, Fig. 5). Based on the ordinary and customary meaning of lampshade provided above, a lampshade is designed to be light-transmitting. The LED lamp (flashlight/night lamp) is arranged at one side of the energy storage power supply and battery 2 (energy storage housing) along a lengthwise direction. The LED lamp (flashlight/night lamp) is exposed at portions equivalent to a front shell and a rear shell as shown in Figure 5; the emitting surface of the flashlight is in a direction emitting surface of the flashlight is spaced apart from the energy storage housing such that the emitting surface is non-adjacent to the energy storage housing from the energy storage housing as taught by Peng (the energy storage housing is covered by the front and rear shell in which the emitting surface of the flashlight is located on an outer surface of the shell and is therefore, spaced apart from the energy storage housing, see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage supply of Bian to include a LED lamp arranged in a light-transmitting lampshade (capable of functioning as a night light or a flashlight as further evident by Kingston et al.) arranged at one side of an energy storage housing along the lengthwise direction, exposed to the front and rear shell, wherein the emitting surface of the flashlight is emitting surface of the flashlight is spaced apart from the energy storage housing such that the emitting surface is non-adjacent to the energy storage housing from the energy storage housing as taught by Peng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide a portable lighting device allowing quick illumination for carrying out essential tasks. When performing the described modification, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the LED lamp to include a separate night lamp and flashlight structure. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 4 7 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to duplicate the LED lamp to provide additional lighting. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to change the size of the duplicated LED lamp to provide an additional light intensity to allow the user to select an intensity appropriate for their activity or needs. Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the flashlight and the night lamp with the light-transmitting lampshade on the same side of the energy storage housing when performing the duplication. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to place the flashlight and night lamp on the same side of the energy storage housing to improve connection with the battery and increase illumination in one direction.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1), and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) as further evidenced by Kingston et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20030039118A1 A1) as applied to Claim 21 above, and further in view of Hong Wang (C.N. Pat. No. 201813186 U).
Regarding Claim 22, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Wang et al., Schraff et al., and Peng teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 21 above.
[AltContent: textbox (Hong Wang (Fig. 1))]
Bian does not teach a foldable light-transmitting lampshade.
Hong Wang teaches a power supply including an illuminating lamp comprising a foldable lampshade (5) (Fig. 1, para. 5-7). As shown in Figure 1, the lampshade is a waveform and can be considered foldable at a wave crest and wave trough of the waveform; further, the longitudinal direction can be considered perpendicular to a central axis of the flashlight (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the light-transmitting lampshade of Bian as modified by Peng to include a foldable light-transmitting lampshade having a waveform along a longitudinal cross section perpendicular to a central axis of the flashlight with folds at a wave crest and wave trough of the waveform as taught by Hong Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to conveniently retract the lampshade to reduce space utilization (Hong Wang, para. 21).
Claims 23 and 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1), and Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U).
Regarding Claim 23, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Wang et al., and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 19 above. Bian further teaches the formed accommodating cavity including an air inlet duct (501) on one side and an air outlet on the opposite side (para. 49, Fig. 8). The front and rear shells include heat dissipation holes or channels in which are arranged in a location between the air inlet and air outlet (para. 48, Fig. 6).
Bian does not teach a heat dissipation fan arranged at the air outlet.
Peng teaches an energy storage power supply comprising a radiating fan (in which is used to dissipate heat analogous to a heat dissipation fan) arranged at an air outlet at an end of the energy storage housing, with the end located at the lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing (para. 45, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include the heat dissipation fan disposed at the air outlet, at an end of the energy storage housing located at the lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing as taught by Peng. The motivation for doing so would be to allow transfer of air from the air inlet to the dissipation channels and to the air outlet of Bian, allowing dissipation of heat of the cells and cell compartments. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Peng useful in providing a method of efficiently radiating heat out of an energy storage power supply (Peng, para. 44-45).
Regarding Claim 24, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Wang et al., and Schraff et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 19 above.
Bian does not teach a plurality of USB ports exposed at the rear shell and the power ports and the handle are located at two adjacent sides of the energy storage housing.
Peng teaches the energy storage power supply comprising power ports (AC output interface 5, USB charge output interfaces 6) exposed outside via a plurality of holes of an equivalent rear shell, the power ports and the handle 4 are located at two adjacent sides (upper side, rear side) of the energy storage housing (Fig. 5, para. 46-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply of Bian to further include a plurality of power ports exposed outside via a plurality of holes of the rear shell, and the power ports and handle located at two adjacent sides of the energy storage housing as taught by Peng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide portable charging capabilities and a handle for easy carrying (Peng, Abstract).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and further in view of Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U).
Regarding Claim 26, Bian teaches an energy storage power supply (battery module) comprising an energy storage housing (liquid cooling unit (400) in which houses the battery cells (100)) (para. 57, Fig. 2). It is known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a battery module is an energy storage unit in which can be used as a power supply. The battery module comprises a first electrode plate (negative electrode current carrying sheet (202)), a second electrode plate (positive electrode current carrying sheet (201)) (para. 41, Fig. 6). The energy storage housing (liquid cooling unit) includes cell compartments (cylindrical walls (401a)) arranged inside (para. 60, Fig. 6). Each cell compartment includes a channel (401a-1) in which is open at both ends corresponding to a first opening at one end and a second opening at the opposite end (para. 59, Fig. 6).
When the battery cells are inserted or plugged into the cell compartments, the first opening is covered by the first electrode plate (202). Further, the second electrode plate (201) covers a second opening of the cell compartment (para. 41, Fig. 2). Bian teaches a front shell (first shell (301)) in which is detachably covered at the rear shell (second shell (302)) (para. 45, Fig. 2) by a cover unit (300) and further comprising an air guide unit (500) forming a housing unit or accommodating cavity comprising the plurality of cell compartments, the first electrode plate, and the second electrode plate (para. 65, Fig. 8). The first opening and the second opening are along a widthwise direction of the energy storage housing as shown in annotated Figure 2 above.
Bian does not teach the first electrode plate arranged adjacent to the first opening and the first opening exposed to the first electrode plate while the second electrode plate is arranged adjacent to the second opening in which the second opening is exposed to the second electrode plate.
Bian does not teach a control circuit board located in the accommodating cavity in which the control circuit board is located between the second electrode plate and the rear shell.
Bian does not teach a plurality of USB ports exposed outside.
Bian does not teach the energy storage power supply further comprises a handle, the handle integrally formed with the energy storage housing and protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing, and the handle is along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing, and the power ports and handle are located at two adjacent sides of the energy storage housing.
Fuhr et al. teaches a shell (826) forming a cell compartment in which the cells are completely received in the plurality of cell compartments (para. 88, Fig. 15).
Wang et al. teaches a battery unit (100) comprising an accommodating cavity (111) in which includes a control circuit board (21) (Fig. 3, para. 16 of “Detailed Description”). The control circuit is electrically connected to a plurality of battery cells (para. 15-16 of “Claims”).
Peng teaches an energy storage power supply comprising a plurality of power ports (AC output interface 5, USB charge output interfaces 6) exposed outside via a plurality of holes of the rear shell (Fig. 5, para. 41). A handle 4 protrudes upwards along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing formed from a front and rear shell (para. 41, Fig. 5). The power ports and handle are located at two adjacent sides (rear side, upper side) of the energy storage housing (Fig. 5, para. 46-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell compartment of Bian to completely receive and cover the battery cell exterior as taught by Fuhr et al. When performing the described modification by Fuhr et al., the configuration of Bian will comprise the first electrode plate arranged adjacent to the first opening with the first opening exposed to the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate arranged adjacent to the second opening with the second opening exposed to the second electrode plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Bian to include a control circuit board as taught by Wang et al. When modifying Bian by Wang et al. as described, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the control circuit board to further be located in the accommodating cavity specifically between the second electrode plate and the rear shell. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to position the control circuit board as described to allow electrical connection between the second electrode plate and rear shells. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Wang et al. useful in providing a battery with reduced production costs and improved reliability (Wang et al., para. 15 of “Summary of the Invention”).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include a plurality of power ports exposed outside, a handle protruding upwards from the energy storage housing along a lengthwise direction of the energy storage housing with the power ports and handle located at two adjacent sides (rear side, upper side) of the energy storage housing as taught by Peng. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrally form the handle with the energy storage housing as doing so involves making elements integral. Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347,349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP 2144.04.V.B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to improve portability and to allow a user to easily carry the housing (Peng, para. 41).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Wang et al. (W.O. Pat. No. 2018113158 A1) and Peng (C.N. Pat. No. 201948222 U) as applied to Claim 26 above, and further in view of Schraff et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170050259 A1).
Regarding Claim 27, Bian is modified by Fuhr et al., Wang et al., and Peng teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 26 above.
Bian does not teach the energy storage power supply further comprises a hanging portion and a strap, the hanging portion integrally formed with the energy storage housing, protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing, and the strap is detachably connected to the hanging portion.
Schraff et al. teaches an energy storage device comprising a battery (energy storage power supply) further comprising connecting rings 90 (hanging portion), and a strap 88; the hanging portion is connected to or formed with the housing 22 (energy storage housing), protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing (para. 33, Fig. 1). The strap is removably (detachably) connected to the hanging portion (para. 33, Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include a hanging portion and a strap detachably connected to the hanging portion, with the hanging portion protruding upwards away from the energy storage housing as taught by Schraff et al. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrally form the hanging portion with the energy storage housing as doing so involves making elements integral. Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347,349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP 2144.04.V.B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to improve portability and to allow a user to easily carry the housing (Schraff et al., para. 33).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729