DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the at least one groove" in the third and fifth to last lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Applicant has used the terminology ‘plurality of grooves’ to positively recite the grooves, not ‘at least one’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARRISON, US Patent 6,900,021 B1 , and further in view of ISMAGLIOV, US Patent 7,901,939 B2.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, a kit.
Regarding Claim 1, the HARRISON reference discloses a kit, abstract, microfluidic device, 1-4C, for diagnosing a disease, the kit comprising: a micro device, Figure 1-4C, including a flow path through which a sample to be diagnosed can flow, Figure 4A-B, Column 9 line 39-60, flow path ; a planar surface that define a bottom of the flow path, Figure 1-4C, and a plurality of grooves on the bottom of the flow path for trapping the sample to be diagnosed, Figure 4B, reservoir 13 extends downwardly for capturing of cells, Column 9 line 39-60,; and an aperture having an opening corresponding with the flow path, Column 5 line 48-67, Example 1, Column 13 line 25-3; wherein each groove of the plurality of grooves is formed to have : a first cross-sectional area, which is adjacent to the flow path, Figure 1-4C, coplanar with the planar surface of the micro device, and at a top of the at least one groove, Figure 1-4C; and a second cross sectional area, Figure 1-4C, bottom of flow path between weirs, which is spaced apart from the flow path at a bottom of the at least one groove; Figure 1-4C.
Examiner’s Note: The language in the preamble recitations in claim(s) 1, “for diagnosing a disease” is solely in the preamble. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for diagnosing a disease” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The HARRISON reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to the first and second cross-sectional areas wherein the first cross-sectional area is smaller than the second cross- sectional area.
The ISMAGLIOV reference discloses a kit for diagnosing a disease, the kit comprising: a micro device, Figure 16, Column 73 line 27-32, including:
a flow path through which a sample to be diagnosed can flow, Figure 16, Column 56 line 24-43;
a planar surface that defines a bottom of the flow path, Figure 16 (see annotated Figure 16 below);
and one or more a plurality of grooves that each extend downwardly, so as to be vertically beneath the planar surface, Figure 16, from the bottom of the flow path for trapping the sample to be diagnosed, Figure 16, Column 56 line 24-43, Column 12 line 26-33; and
an aperture having an opening corresponding with the flow path, Figure 16;
wherein each groove of the plurality of grooves is formed to have:
a first cross-sectional area, which is adjacent to the flow path, coplanar with the planar surface of the micro device, and at a top of the at least one groove, Figure 16; and
a second cross-sectional area, which is spaced apart from the flow path and at a lower portion of the at least one groove, Figure 16, it is interpreted by the Examiner that any area below the bottom of the flow path with a larger cross sectional area than the cross sectional area on the bottom of the flow path is considered to be the second cross sectional area; and wherein the first cross-sectional area is smaller than the second cross- sectional area, Figure 16, see annotated Figure below.
The ISMAGLIOV reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to the a second cross-sectional area, which is spaced apart from the flow path and at a bottom of the at least one groove.
ISMAGLIOV rather teaches the second cross sectional area, in the expansion area of the channel, to be of a variety of shapes including but are not limited to oval, round, square, rectangular, or star-shaped, Column 56 line 24-43.
Since the different shapes of the groove is taught and suggested by ISMAGLIOV and the shape as seen in Figure 16 includes at least a first cross sectional area and a second cross section area and the shape of the groove in Figure 16 also performs the same function of trapping, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second cross-sectional area, which is spaced apart from the flow path and at a bottom of the at least one groove since the particular shape of a product is of no patentable significance, In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947), since the function of trapping occurs with the embodiment shown in Figure 16. In addition, the shape of the groove is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the groove was significant, In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additional Disclosures Included by the combination are : Claim 2: wherein the kit of claim 1, further comprising a flow rate adjusting device configured to adjust a flow rate of the sample flowing through the flow path of the micro device, HARRISON Column 4 line 41-50, ISMAGLIOV Column 15 line 28-29.; Claim 3: wherein the kit of claim 2, wherein the micro device comprises: an inlet through which the sample can be injected; and an outlet through which the sample can be discharged; and comprising a tube connected to the inlet and configured to inject the sample into the inlet, HARRISON Column 4 line 41-50, Column 7 line 17-49, Column 10 line 25-32, Column 10 line 64-Column 11 line 8, ISMAGLIOV Column 15 line 32-37, Figure 3, ports/channel / tube 301-306. ; Claim 4: wherein the kit of claim 3, wherein the flow rate adjusting device is coupled to the outlet to adjust the flow rate of the sample to a speed at which the sample flowing through the flow path is trapped in the plurality of grooves, HARRISON Column 4 line 41-50, Column 7 line 17-49, Column 10 line 25-32, Column 10 line 64-Column 11 line 8, Table II. ; and Claim 7: wherein the kit of claim 1, comprising a reagent configured for reacting with the sample, HARRISON Column 6 line 41-45, Column 11 line 8-23, Example II, ISMAGLIOV Column 16 line 33-38
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references of HARRISON and ISMAGLIOV disclose a method of using the kit according to claim 1, See Rejection to Claim 1, HARRISON abstract, Claim 1, ISMAGLIOV Column 2 line 51-67, the method comprising: injecting the sample into the micro device, HARRISON Column 10 line 66 – Column 11 line 8, ISMAGLIOV Figure 4, Column 19 line 36-67; injecting a reagent for reacting with the sample into the micro device, Column 11 line 8-34, ISMAGLIOV Figure 4, Column 19 line 36-67; locating the aperture over the micro device to observe the flow path, HARRISON Column 6 line 46-51, ISMAGLIOV Figure 16, Column 56 line 24-43; and inserting the micro device into a device for determining optical density to diagnose the disease, HARRISON Column 6 line 46-51, Column 8 line 43-44, Column 12 line 31-37, ISMAGLIOV Column 59 line 59-62.
Additional Disclosures Included by the combination are: Claim 9: wherein the method of claim 8, wherein injecting the sample into the micro device comprises injecting the sample at a flow rate at which the sample is trapped in the one or more grooves, HARRISON Column 4 line 41-50, Column 7 line 17-49, Column 10 line 25-32, Column 10 line 64-Column 11 line 8, Table II, ISMAGLIOV Figure 16 ; Claim 11: wherein the method of claim 9, wherein injecting the reagent into the micro device comprises injecting the reagent after the sample is trapped in the plurality of grooves, Column 11 line 8-34, Column 16 line 65-67, Claims 1 and 10 . ; and Claim 12: wherein the method of claim 11, wherein the sample is a bodily fluid of a patient, HARRISON Column 14 line 5-19, ISMAGLIOV Column 43 line 29-39.
Regarding Claims 5 and 10, the HARRISON and ISMAGLIOV references disclose the claimed invention, including where the flow rate can be adjusted, HARRISON Column 6 line 18-25, ISMAGLIOV Column 15 line 36-38, by syringe pumps, HARRISON Column 7 line 45-49, but is silent in regards to wherein sample is injected at a flow rate or flow through the flow path of about 15 mL/min or more.
20. The HARRISON reference discloses the flow rate through the device between the inlet flow paths and the main flow can be regulated, Column 6 line 18-25, by syringe pumps, Column 7 line 45-49, Column 22 line 10-42. HARRISON also teach the linear velocity, the laminar flow rate, can be calculated with the equation of:
, Column 22.
Since HARRISON and ISMAGLIOV suggests control over the flow rate into and through the device it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sample so that it is injected at a flow rate of about 15 mL/min or more to create a sufficient speed of sample through the device to trap and not clog the channel.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARRISON, US Patent 6,900,021 B1 , in view of ISMAGLIOV, US Patent 7,901,939 B2, and further in view of KANG, Sensors and Actuators B 107 (2005) 980–985.
Regarding Claim 13, the HARRISON and ISMAGLIOV references disclose the method of claim 11, but is silent in regards to wherein the device for determining optical density is with a micro plate reader.
THE KANG reference discloses the use of a microplate reader of a microfluidic device fabricated by micromolding with PDMS. Reactions within the microfluidic channels are observed with the microplate reader and the absorbance is measured, page 982, Section 2.4, page 983, Section 3.3. The absorbance is interpreted to be an optical density.
It would obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of HARRISON so that the device for determining optical density is a microplate reader as taught by KANG with the advantages of enhanced throughput and efficiency, high sensitivity and precision, reducing the need to large reagent volumes and have user friendly software and data management.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARRISON, US Patent 6,900,021 B1, in view of ISMAGLIOV, US Patent 7,901,939 B2, and further in view of over NAM, Xenopus chip for single-egg trapping, in vitro fertilization, development, and tadpole escape, Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications 569 (2021) 29-34.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method, a method of manufacturing the kit of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, the HARRISON and ISMAGLIOV references disclose the kit according to claim 1, See Rejection to Claim 1 above. HARRISON generally disclose the device to be made and manufactured directly on a silicon substrate according to well established technologies, Column 6 line 56-57. 28. NAM reference discloses a method of manufacturing a kit of claim 1, that comprises a kit for diagnosing a disease, Figure 1 and 2, comprising: a micro device , Figure 1 and 2, xenopus chip, including a flow path through which a sample to be diagnosed can flow, Figure 1, best seen in (e and f) where eggs can be seen flowing, page 30-31, Section 3, in at least Figure 1, the flow path is the serpentine looking channel/passageway/conduit in the chip, and one or more grooves at a bottom portion of the flow path, Figure 1 (e and f), the more narrow channel/groove at ; and an aperture having an opening corresponding with the flow path, Figure 2 (c-g), picture through aperture on chip viewed by microscope, Section 2.7.
Examiner’s Note: The language in the preamble recitations in claim(s) 1, “for diagnosing a disease” is solely in the preamble. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for diagnosing a disease” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
NAM discloses the method comprising manufacturing the micro device and the aperture by using a 3D printing process, Figure 1 (a-c), page 30 Section 2.1.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the well-established technologies of HARRISON with the method of manufacturing a micro device by using a 3D printing process as taught by NAM to produce various sizes of trapping sites with fine tuning of the structure over a few centimeter sized structures at 10 μm resolution, Section 1 and 2.1.
Additional Disclosure Included by the combination is: Claim 15: wherein the method of claim 14, wherein the 3D printing process comprises forming an embossed mold for the flow path and the plurality of grooves, the method further comprising attaching polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) to the mold and then detaching the PDMS to manufacture the micro device, NAM Figure 1(a-c), page 30 Section 2.1, 2.2, 3.1. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the well-established technologies of HARRISON with the method of manufacturing a micro device by using a 3D printing process as taught by NAM to produce various sizes of trapping sites with fine tuning of the structure over a few centimeter sized structures at 10 μm resolution, Section 1 and 2.1.
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797