DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a Non-Final Detailed Action in response to amendment filed on 06 June 2025. The present application claims 1-12, submitted on 06 June 2025 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thorson (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0318165).
Regarding claim 1, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) a screw driving device (10) comprising:- a case (14); a motor (18) provided with a rotor (3188); - an output member (26) capable of driving in rotation an element (1026) for driving an element to be screwed (see Paragraph 0074); - a transmission (22; 1022) connecting said rotor (3188) to said output member (26), said transmission (22; 1022) comprising at least one additional gear train (42; 46) capable of being engaged/disengaged (see Paragraph 0088); a motor controller (58) which controls said motor (see Paragraph 0068); said device (10) comprising a selection member (1158; 1162), which engages and disengages said additional gear train (42; 46), said selection member (1158; 1162) being capable of being in at least:- an engagement state in which said additional gear train (42; 46) is engaged (see Paragraph 0081), and a disengagement state in which said additional gear train (42; 46) is not engaged, a reduction ratio of said transmission (22; 1022) between said rotor (3188) and said output member (26) being different according to whether or not said additional gear train (42; 46) is engaged (see Paragraph 0082), said reduction ratio being greater when said additional gear train (42; 46) is engaged, wherein, when said at least one additional gear train (42; 46) is disengaged: if said transmission (22; 1022) does not comprise any permanent gear train, the reduction ratio of said transmission (22; 1022) is equal to 1, or if said transmission (22; 1022) comprises one or more permanent gear train(s) (42; 46), the reduction ratio of said transmission (22; 1022) is equal to the reduction ratio of said one permanent gear train (42; 46) or to their product if said transmission (22; 1022) comprises several permanent trains (42; 46),- when said at least one additional gear train (42; 46) is engaged:- if said transmission (22; 1022) does not comprise any permanent gear train (42; 46), the reduction ratio of said transmission (22; 1022) is equal to the reduction ratio of said at least one additional gear train (42; 46), or - if said transmission (22; 1022) comprises one or more permanent gear train(s) (42; 46), the reduction ratio of said transmission (22; 1022) is equal to the product of the reduction ratio of said at least one additional gear train (42; 46) with the reduction ratio(s) of the permanent gear train(s) (42; 46) implemented wherein said motor controller (58) is configured to generate a predetermined acceleration or deceleration of said rotor (3188), said predetermined acceleration or deceleration acting on said selection member (1158; 1162) to make the selection member (1158; 1162) go from one to the other of its states (see Paragraph 0069 and Paragraph 0099).
Regarding claim 2, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) said selection member (1158; 1162) is mobile in rotation with respect to said rotor (3188) between at least two positions of engagement/disengagement of said additional gear train (42; 46), said predetermined acceleration or deceleration acting on said selection member (1158; 1162) to make it go from one to the other of its positions (see Paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 3, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) comprising means for rotationally linking (2162; 2164) said selection member (1158; 1162) to said rotor (3188), said rotational-linking means (2162; 2164) ensuring, when said selection member (1158; 1162) occupies one of its positions, a link in rotation of said selection member (1158; 1162) to said rotor (3188) as long as said motor (18) delivers an acceleration-deceleration lower than a predetermined change of speed acceleration-deceleration threshold, the delivery by said motor (18) of an acceleration/deceleration greater than said predetermined change of speed acceleration- deceleration threshold causing the rotation of said selection member (1158; 1162) from one to the other of its positions (see Paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 4, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) wherein said rotational-linking means (2162; 2164) comprise at least one blocking element (3190) constrained to rotate with said rotor (3188) and capable of being housed alternatingly in two housings (14; 2160) having a complementary shape made in said selection member (1158; 1162), said blocking element (3190) being mobile according to an axis orthogonal to the axis of said rotor (3188), against the effect of resilient return means, between at least:- a rotational-linking position in which said blocking element (3190) is housed in one or the other of said housings (14; 2160) so that said rotor (3188) and said selection member (1158; 1162) are linked in rotation, and - a release position in which said blocking element (3190) is not housed in any of said housings (14; 2160) so that said rotor (3188) and said selection member (1158; 1162) are not linked in rotation (see Paragraph 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) wherein:- said rotational-linking means (2162; 2164) are capable of transmitting a predetermined limit torque Cl beyond which said rotor (3188) and said selection member (1158; 1162) are no longer linked in rotation and can no longer transmit torque (see Paragraph 0081), - said selection member (1158; 1162) has an inertia Jos according to its axis of rotation; - a value of said change of speed acceleration-deceleration being equal to the quotient of said limit torque Cl divided by said inertia Jos (see Paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 6, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) wherein said transmission (22; 1022) comprises at least one planetary gearset (42; 46) comprising a sun gear constrained to rotate with said rotor (3188), a carrier (50) constrained to rotate with said output member (26), and an inner toothed ring gear (38) meshing with planet gears carried by said carrier (50), said ring gear (38) being:- mobile in rotation with respect to said case (14) in said state of disengagement of said additional gear train (42; 46), and - blocked in rotation with respect to said case (14) in said state of engagement of said additional gear train (see Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 7, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) a first pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) comprising said case (14) and said inner ring gear (38).
Regarding claim 8, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) a second pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) comprising said rotor (3188) and a ring (38) for driving in rotation, said second pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) meshing said rotor (3188) with said ring (38) for driving in rotation when selection member (1158; 1162) is in said state of disengagement of said additional gear train (42; 46) and said rotor (3188) rotates in the screwing direction (see Paragraph 0081), said first pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) leaving said inner toothed ring gear (38) free in rotation, said second pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) not meshing said rotor (3188) with said drive ring (38) when said selection member (1158; 1162) is in said state of engagement of said additional gear train (42; 46) and said rotor (3188) rotates in the screwing direction, said first pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) blocking said inner toothed ring gear (38) in rotation (see Paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 9, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) said second pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) does not mesh said rotor (3188) with said drive ring (38) when said selection member (1158; 1162) is in said state of disengagement of said additional gear train (42; 46) and said rotor (3188) rotates in the unscrewing direction (see Paragraph 0081), said first pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) blocking said inner toothed ring gear (38) in rotation, said second unidirectional clutch (1154) does not mesh said rotor (3188) with said drive ring (38) when said selection member (1158; 1162) is in said state of engagement of said additional gear train (42; 46) and said rotor (3188) rotates in the unscrewing direction, said first pair of unidirectional clutches (1154) leaving said inner toothed ring gear (38) free in rotation (see Paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 10, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) at least one member (1158; 1162) for locking in rotation, constrained to rotate with said rotor (3188), and mobile between:- a rotational-blocking position, occupied when said selection member (1158; 1162) is in said state of disengagement of said additional gear train (42; 46), in which it cooperates with a blocking housing (2170) made in said drive ring (2178) in such a way that said ring and said rotor are linked in rotation (see Paragraph 0094), and - a rotational-unblocking position, occupied when said selection member (1158; 1162) is in said state of selection of said additional gear train (42; 46), in which it does not cooperate with said blocking housing made (2170) in said drive ring (2178) in such a way that said ring (2178) and said rotor (3188) are not linked in rotation (see Paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 11, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) wherein:- when said rotational-locking member (1158; 1162) occupies said rotational-blocking position and said rotor (3188) rotates in the screwing direction, said first unidirectional clutch (1154) leaves said inner toothed ring gear (38) free in rotation (see Paragraph 0081), - when said rotational-locking member (1158; 1162) occupies said rotational-unblocking position and said rotor (3188) rotates in the screwing direction, said first unidirectional clutch (1154) blocks said inner toothed ring gear (38) in rotation (see Paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 12, Thorson discloses (see Figure 2 and Figure 19) wherein:- when said rotational-locking member (1158; 1162) occupies said rotational-blocking position and said rotor (3188) rotates in the unscrewing direction, said first unidirectional clutch (1154) leaves said inner toothed ring gear (38) free in rotation (see Paragraph 0081), - when said rotational-locking member (1158; 1162) occupies said rotational-unblocking position and said rotor (3188) rotates in the unscrewing direction, said first unidirectional clutch blocks (1154) said inner toothed ring gear (38) in rotation (see Paragraph 0096).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 June 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts prior art Thorson fail to disclose implementation of additional gear train capable of being engaged/disengaged.
In response to Applicant's argument that prior art Thorson fails to disclose implementation of additional gear train capable of being engaged/disengaged, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant also asserts prior art Thorson fail to disclose to generate a predetermined acceleration or deceleration of the rotor to engage or disengage an additional gear train.
In response to applicant's argument prior art Thorson describes (see Paragraph 0069) a motor controller configured to monitor signal outputs of varies gauges within the power tool to control the power tools motor reach a predetermined torque value by decelerating the motor to ensure desired torque values are reached.
Therefore, with the Examiners broadest reasonable interpretation of the presented claim the Examiner has deem the prior art to meet the limitations set forth by the metes and bound of the claim, thereby rendering the rejection proper and to be sustained.
Conclusion
/XAVIER A MADISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731