FINAL DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s response filed on February 18, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 15, 17-21, 24-27 and 30 are currently pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 30 was previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 15, 17-21, and 24-27 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 18, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached hereto.
Objections Withdrawn
3. In view of Applicant’s amendment, the objection to claim 1 for informalities is withdrawn.
Rejections Withdrawn
4. In view of Applicant’s amendment, the rejection of claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12, 15, 17, 20, 21, and 24-27 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pregibon et al., US 2016/0060682 A1; Published: 03/03/16 is withdrawn.
Objections Maintained
Claim Objections
5. The objection to claim 19 and as a result of the amendment claim 20 for depending upon a rejected based claim is maintained. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejections Maintained
Double Patenting
6. The rejection of claims 1, 5-10, 12, 15, 18, 21 and 24-25 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,795,500 B2 is maintained for the reasons set forth in the previous Office action.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are drawn to a method of identifying an RNA modification targets from a gene, the method comprising: contacting an RNA sample containing at least one modified nucleic acid with one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities; ligating any RNA targets in the RNA sample to the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities by proximity-based ligation to form one or more chimeric RNA molecules; and identifying any RNA modification targets in the RNA sample based on the one or more chimeric RNA molecules.
Meanwhile, the combination of patented claims 1 and 20 anticipate and/or make obvious the pending claims.
1. A method of identifying RNA targets of RNA binding proteins, the method comprises:
contacting an RNA sample with one or more RNA binding proteins and an entity configured to bind the RNA binding protein to form a RNA-protein complex, the entity comprising one or more conjugated proximity oligonucleotides; and
ligating any RNA targets in the RNA sample to the one or more proximity oligonucleotides with proximity-based ligation to form one or more chimeric RNA molecules.
20. The method of claim 1, further comprising identifying a computationally chimeric RNA molecule of interest.
Applicant’s request to hold this rejection in abeyance is granted. The request for a terminal disclaimer remains in place until the claims are either amended or the claims are allowed and an approved terminal disclaimer has been filed. Until that time, the rejection is maintained.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 15, 17, 18 and 24-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 12, 15, 17, 18, 24-27 of copending Application No. 18/148,039 (reference application US20230250417). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are drawn to a method of identifying RNA modification targets from a gene, the method comprising: contacting an RNA sample containing at least one modified nucleic acid with one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities comprising an antibody conjugated to an oligonucleotide barcode, the antibody targeting RNA modification targes; ligating any RNA targets in the RNA sample to the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities by proximity-based ligation to form one or more chimeric RNA molecules by ligating the RNA sample to the oligonucleotide barcode conjugated to the antibody; and identifying any RNA modification targets in the RNA sample based on the one or more chimeric RNA molecules.
Meanwhile the combination of co-pending claims anticipate or makes obvious the co-pending invention.
1. A method of identifying RNAs associated with translational machinery, the method comprising: contacting an RNA sample containing at least one component of a translational machinery with one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities;
ligating any RNA targets in the RNA sample to the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities by proximity-based ligation to form one or more chimeric RNA molecules; and
identifying any RNA in the RNA sample associated with the translational machinery based on the one or more ligated chimeric RNA molecules.
27. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities comprises an oligo-barcoded sequence.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1, 3, 4-7, 12, 15, 17, 18 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lewis et al., US 2015/0011398; Published: 1/8/15.
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a method of identifying RNA modification targets from a gene, the method comprising: contacting an RNA sample containing at least one modified nucleic acid with one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities comprising an antibody conjugated to an oligonucleotide barcode, the antibody targeting RNA modification targes; ligating any RNA targets in the RNA sample to the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities by proximity-based ligation to form one or more chimeric RNA molecules by ligating the RNA sample to the oligonucleotide barcode conjugated to the antibody; and identifying any RNA modification targets in the RNA sample based on the one or more chimeric RNA molecules.
Lewis teaches a method for identifying RNAs bound by RNA binding proteins comprising:
contacting an RNA sample with one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities; ligating any RNA targets in the RNA sample to the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities by proximity-based ligation to form one or more chimeric RNA molecules; and identifying any RNA in the RNA sample associated with the RNA binding protein based on the one or more ligated chimeric RNA molecules (see Example 3 and paragraph 0055). Lewis teaches that the oligonucleotide conjugated entities comprise barcode sequences capable of identifying the one or more chimeric RNA molecules (see paragraphs 0054-55). Lewis teaches that the method can be carried out with as few as two or as many as 50,000 different proteins (see paragraph 0037), and that the antibodies each have a unique oligo (see paragraph 0054-55). Lewis teaches isolating the ligated RNA (see paragraph 0055).
Lewis teaches identifying a computationally chimeric RNA molecule of interest .The instant specification does not define what it means for a chimeric RNA to be “computationally” chimeric, and this is not a term of art. As Lewis teaches identifying the sequence of the chimeric oligonucleotides and using this to identify the RNA binding protein via the signature oligo, which identifies the antibody, which identifies the protein and the RNA sequence where it binds (see paragraph 0055). This chimeric molecule taught by Lewis is a “computationally” chimeric molecule since it is a chimera of the signature oligo and the sequence of the bound RNA.
Moreover, the sample is UV cross-linked (see paragraph 0055). Said method amplifies the chimeric RNA molecules to produce an amplified product (see paragraph 0052). Lewis teaches identifying the sequence of the chimeric oligonucleotides and using this to identify the RNA binding protein via the signature oligo, which identifies the antibody, which identifies the protein and the RNA sequence where it binds (see paragraph 0055). Lewis teaches wherein the one or more oligonucleotide conjugated entities comprises an oligo-barcoded sequence (see paragraph 0054-55).
Regarding claim 17, the claim only appears to require the recited RNA binding proteins are present, there is no action required such as binding the RNA binding proteins. As these are ubiquitously expressed binding proteins, it would have been inherent that they were present in the HEK293 cells taught by Lewis.
Conclusion
9. No Claim is allowed.
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKIA J JACKSON-TONGUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1645 June 13, 2026
/BRIAN GANGLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645