DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following reason:
Applicant argues that:
Claim 16 recites in part, "receiving, from an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity, a signal representative of an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity; and adjusting, based at least in part upon the received signal from the electromagnetic probe, a parameter of at least one of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier." (Emphasis added).
The Office Action acknowledges that Ammar does not discuss these recitations, and instead relies on Drogi to bridge this substantial gap. (Office Action at p. 4). However, Applicant respectfully submits that Drogi appears to be entirely silent with respect to receiving a signal from an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity, as recited in claim 16. Drogi appears to be directed to an RF power amplifier controller circuit for cellular telephone applications (Drogi at para. [0003]), and does not appear to discuss any waveguide structure, any microstrip-to- waveguide transition, or any transition cavity anywhere in its disclosure. (See Drogi).
The Office Action states "In the same field of endeavor, Drogi discloses, receiving, from an electromagnetic probe (Note that FIG. 11A also shows that the RF input signal 204 and the RF output signal 110 can be sensed through couplers 1010, 1012, [0082])." (Office Action at p. 4). Accordingly, it appears the Office Action equates couplers 1010 and 1012 with an "electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity" as recited in claim 16. However, Drogi appears to be entirely silent with respect to an electromagnetic probe and one of skill in the art would readily appreciate that the couplers 1010 and 1012 of Drogi sample a signal from a transmission line, not a field in a transition cavity, as recited in claim 16. (Drogi at FIG. 11A and para. [0082]). Instead of sampling a signal in a transition cavity using an electromagnetic probe, as recited in claim 16, Drogi samples an output signal in a transmission line directly, which is technically and functionally distinct from the claim recitation.
Furthermore, Drogi does not appear to discuss "adjusting, based at least in part upon the received signal from the electromagnetic probe, a parameter of at least one of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier," as recited in claim 16, because Drogi does not discuss an electromagnetic probe at all.
Accordingly, for at least the above reasons, claim 16 is not obvious in view of the references as applied. Claims 17-19, which depend from claim 16, are not obvious by virtue of their dependence. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the § 103 rejection are respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
Applicant's about arguments have been fully considered, but they do not overcome the rejection of claim 16.
Applicant argues that Drogi is silent with respect to “receiving, from an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity, a signal representative of an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity.” Applicant also argues that Drogi's couplers 1010 and 1012 merely sample a signal from a transmission line, rather than a field in a transition cavity. These arguments are not persuasive.
First, claim 16 uses broad language. It recites a signal “representative of” an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity. The claim does not require the probe to be physically located inside the transition cavity, does not require a direct field measurement from a particular point inside the transition cavity, and does not require a particular probe shape or probe structure. A signal sampled from an RF output path electrically coupled to the transition cavity can be representative of the field because that RF output signal corresponds to the RF energy that drives and produces the field in the transition cavity.
Also, describing the sensed signal as being taken from a transmission path does not remove it from the scope of the claim. RF energy in a transmission path is electromagnetic energy, and a directional coupler samples that RF electromagnetic energy. Claim 16 recites an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity, it does not require a probe disposed inside the cavity or exclude a coupler that samples the RF energy delivered to the cavity.
Examiner also respectfully submits that Drogi's sensing structure is not an unrelated transmission-line tap. Drogi teaches that PA 104 amplifies RF signal 206 to output amplified RF output signal 110, and that RF output signal 110 is provided as a feedback signal back to PA controller 202. Drogi further teaches that adjusted supply voltage 208 is generated based on an amplitude correction signal indicating the difference between the attenuated amplitude of the feedback RF output signal 110 and the amplitude of RF input signal 204. See Drogi paragraph [0047]. Drogi also teaches that, if a directional coupler is used to feed the attenuated amplitude of the signal, PA controller 202 can adjust forward power while controlling the PA operating point. See Drogi paragraph [0048].
Figure 11A makes the sensing even more explicit. Drogi states that RF input signal 204 and RF output signal 110 can be sensed through couplers 1010 and 1012, and that coupled signals 1016 and 1020 are treated as equivalent to RF input signal 204 and RF output signal 110, respectively. See Drogi paragraph [0082] and Fig. 11A. Thus, coupler 1012 senses the RF output signal from PA 104 and provides a coupled signal corresponding to that RF output. A coupler that senses or samples RF electromagnetic energy from an RF path is reasonably treated as an electromagnetic sensing/probing structure. The claim does not require the prior art to use the exact words “electromagnetic probe” and it does not exclude a coupler-based sensing structure.
Applicant's statement that Drogi samples a transmission line, not a transition cavity, is not enough to distinguish the claim. The claim requires a signal representative of the electromagnetic field in the transition cavity. It does not require the received signal to be a direct cavity-field measurement. In the claimed RF signal path, the sensed RF output signal is the signal used to excite the field in the transition cavity.
Therefore, a coupled sample of that RF output signal is equated as representative of the electromagnetic field that is produced in the transition cavity, as recited in claim 16.
Applicant also states that Drogi is directed to cellular telephone applications. That characterization is too narrow. Drogi explains that RF transmitters and RF power amplifiers are widely used in portable electronic devices such as cellular phones, laptop computers, and other electronic devices. Drogi also states that the RF transmitter circuit may be included in any other type of RF electronic device, and describes the cellular telephone example as being used for purposes of illustration. See Drogi paragraphs [0005]-[0006]. Thus Drogi's PA feedback and control teachings are not limited to a cellular handset environment
Applicant further argues that Drogi does not disclose adjusting a parameter of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier based on the received signal from the electromagnetic probe. This argument is also not persuasive. Claim 16 only requires adjusting a parameter of at least one of the recited power amplifiers. Drogi's teaching of adjusting PA 104 is sufficient for the claimed concept of adjusting at least one power amplifier parameter.
Drogi's Summary states that the PA controller circuit includes an amplitude control loop that determines an amplitude correction signal, also called an amplitude error signal, indicative of the difference between the amplitude of the input signal and the attenuated amplitude of the output signal. Drogi then states that the amplitude control loop adjusts the supply voltage to the power amplifier based upon that amplitude
correction signal. See Drogi paragraphs [0014]-[0016].
Drogi's also clearly discloses In FIG. 3A, the amplitude of RF input signal 204 is monitored through amplitude detector 302 and compared by comparator 308 with the amplitude at output 110 of PA 104, as attenuated by RFFA 306 and seen through matched amplitude detector 304. Comparator 308 generates amplitude correction signal 309 indicating the difference between the input RF signal and the attenuated RF output signal. The amplitude correction signal 309 is fed into SMPS 310, which generates adjusted supply voltage 208 provided to one or more supply voltage pins of PA 104. Drogi expressly states that adjusted supply voltage 208 operates as a bias control signal that controls the operating point of PA 104. See Drogi paragraph [0055].
Drogi also provides additional support for adjusting other PA operating parameters based on the same feedback/control information. Drogi paragraph [0071] teaches adding gain control block 506 and variable gain amplifier 502 to provide an additional means to control the efficiency of PA 104 and the overall RF transmitter system. Drogi paragraph [0072] states that gain control block 506 receives amplitude correction signal 309 and adjusts the gain of variable gain amplifier 502 based upon that amplitude correction signal. Drogi paragraph [0073] teaches dynamic adjustment of both the input level and the supply voltage of PA 104. Drogi paragraph [0074] further explains that the gain control block adjusts the compression point while the gain loop remains closed through the variable gain amplifier, and that both supply voltage 208 and input 508 to PA 104 can be adjusted.
Accordingly, Drogi teaches more than merely measuring a signal. Drogi teaches sensing the RF output signal through a coupler, using the sensed output as feedback in a closed-loop PA control system, generating an amplitude correction signal from the sensed output, and adjusting PA operation based on that correction signal. The adjusted PA parameters include supply voltage, bias or operating point, gain, input level, and compression point.
For these reasons, Applicant's arguments do not overcome the rejection. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Drogi teaches receiving a sensed RF output signal through a coupler, with the coupler functioning as an electromagnetic sensing/probing structure, and using that sensed signal to adjust a parameter of PA 104. In the claimed RF signal path, the sensed RF output signal is representative of the electromagnetic field produced in the transition cavity because it corresponds to the RF energy that drives that field. Claim 16 therefore remains rejected. Claims 17-19 remain rejected for the same reasons and because they depend from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammar (US 20040140863, hereinafter “Ammar”), and further in view of Drogi et al. (US 20110140777, hereinafter “Drogi”).
Regarding claim 16, Ammar discloses,
A method of operating an electronic device package (see Fig. 7 and Fig. 8A), the method comprising:
driving a first antenna and a second antenna using a first power amplifier and a second power amplifier respectively (FIGS. 7 and 8A are respective plan and fragmentary side elevation views of a power amplifier, such as shown in FIG. 5. The power amplifiers 54, 62, 66 are illustrated as preferably formed as microwave monolithic integrated circuits (MMIC) and connected to the respective microstrip transmission lines 60, 64, [0038]), wherein the first antenna and the second antenna (92 and 122) are positioned to excite a transition cavity (see Figs. 7-8A and pars. 38, 41, i.e. two opposing microstrip launchers 92 that extend into the waveguide transition 68 and are connected to the amplifiers 62 and 66, wherein each microstrip launcher 92 is a probe according to fig. 8B and [0042]), the transition cavity defined by a dielectric medium, the transition cavity sized and shaped (98; figs. 8A-8B and [0039]) for mechanical coupling with a waveguide structure (68 in fig. 7 and par. 38; and 90A in fig. 88 and par. 42).
However, Ammar does not disclose, receiving, from an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity, a signal representative of an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity; and adjusting, based at least in part upon the received signal from the electromagnetic probe, at least one of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier. In the same field of endeavor, Drogi discloses, receiving, from an electromagnetic probe (Note that FIG. 11A also shows that the RF input signal 204 and the RF output signal 110 can be sensed through couplers 1010, 1012, [0082]) electrically coupled with the transition cavity (Fig. 11A shows coupler 1012 a PA output, which samples RF output signal from PA 104), a signal representative of an electromagnetic field (Referring to FIG. 3A, the amplitude of the RF input signal 204 is monitored through the amplitude detector 302 and compared by the comparator 308 with the amplitude at the output 110 of the PA 104 as attenuated 326 by the adjusted variable attenuator (RFFA) 306, seen through a matched amplitude detector 304, [0055]) in the transition cavity (i.e., at output 110 of PA 104 in transmission path); and adjusting, based at least in part upon the received signal from the electromagnetic probe, a parameter of at least one of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier (adjust the supply voltage of the PA 104 [0073] and the variable gain amplifier 502 are added to provide an additional means to control the efficiency of the PA 104 and the overall RF transmitter system [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ammar by specifically providing receiving, from an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity, a signal representative of an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity; and adjusting, based at least in part upon the received signal from the electromagnetic probe, at least one of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier, as taught by Drogi for the purpose of providing a PA controller that can correct the AM to PM effects, while not relying on a PA specially designed for low AM to PM at the expense of efficiency [0013].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ammar and Drogi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), further Ammar discloses, wherein the first power amplifier and the second power amplifier respectively include multiple output ports, and wherein respective output signals associated with the multiple output ports are combined using respective planar power combiners, and using spatial combination of the fields established by the first antenna and the second antenna in the transition cavity (the power amplifiers 54, 62, 66 are formed as MMIC chips or other amplifiers and associated with respective microstrip transmission lines. The power amplifiers have a phase that is adjusted based on the location of microstrip launchers (probes) 92 at the transition 68. For example, in the example of FIGS. 7 and 8 as shown in the schematic circuit diagram of FIG. 5, two microstrip launchers 92 are opposed to each other, i.e., positioned 180 degrees apart, and the power amplifiers are phase adjusted for 180 degrees, [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ammar and Drogi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), further Ammar discloses, wherein the two or more channels of the first power combiner are independently operable, wherein the two or more channels of the second power combiner are independently operable (the power amplifiers 54, 62, 66 are formed as MMIC chips or other amplifiers and associated with respective microstrip transmission lines. The power amplifiers have a phase that is adjusted based on the location of microstrip launchers (probes) 92 at the transition 68. For example, in the example of FIGS. 7 and 8 as shown in the schematic circuit diagram of FIG. 5, two microstrip launchers 92 are opposed to each other, i.e., positioned 180 degrees apart, and the power amplifiers are phase adjusted for 180 degrees, [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ammar and Drogi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 18), further Ammar discloses, tuning one or more channels of the first power amplifier or the second power amplifier by operating a single channel at a time and using the signal representative of the electromagnetic field in the transition cavity to adjust one or more parameters of the channel being tuned (the power amplifiers 54, 62, 66 are formed as MMIC chips or other amplifiers and associated with respective microstrip transmission lines. The power amplifiers have a phase that is adjusted based on the location of microstrip launchers (probes) 92 at the transition 68. For example, in the example of FIGS. 7 and 8 as shown in the schematic circuit diagram of FIG. 5, two microstrip launchers 92 are opposed to each other, i.e., positioned 180 degrees apart, and the power amplifiers are phase adjusted for 180 degrees, [0038]-[0043]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-15, 20 and 21 are allowed.
Statement of Reasons for Allowance
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to the allowed independent claim 1:
The closest prior art, Ammar (US 20040140863, hereinafter “Ammar”), teaches:
“An electronic device package (see Fig. 7 and Fig. 8A), comprising: a substrate comprising a dielectric medium (dielectric substrate 90, Fig. 7 and [0038]); a transition cavity (68 in fig. 7 and par. 38; and 90A in fig. 88 and par. 42) defined by the dielectric medium (Fig. 8A; 90), the transition cavity sized and shaped for mechanical coupling with a waveguide structure (98; figs. 8A-8B and [0039]); a first antenna and a second antenna (see Figs. 7-8A and pars. 38, 41, i.e. two opposing microstrip launchers 92 that extend into the waveguide transition 68 and are connected to the amplifiers 62 and 66, wherein each microstrip launcher 92 is a probe according to fig. 8B and [0042]), the first antenna and the second antenna (92 and 122) positioned to excite the transition cavity (68, 90A), the first antenna fed by a first transmission line and the second antenna fed by a second transmission line (see figs. 7-8A and [0038], i.e. the transmission lines that connect the amplifiers 62 and 66 to the corresponding launchers 92 of the waveguide transition 68, wherein, according to fig. 88 and [0042], each transmission line is a microstrip transmission line 120 formed by a planar conductor on the dielectric substrate 90).”
However, Ammar, does not teach or suggest the following novel features:
“the device comprising an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity; wherein the electromagnetic probe interacts with an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity and provides an electrical signal representative of the electromagnetic field in the transition cavity; wherein the first transmission line comprises a first planar conductor and the second transmission line comprises a second planar conductor, the first planar conductor and the second planar conductor supported by at least one dielectric layer defining the dielectric medium, wherein the first planar conductor and the second planar conductor are buried within the dielectric medium between respective dielectric layers defining the dielectric medium” in combination with all the recited limitations of the claim 1.
Dependent claims 3-15 and 21 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 1.
With respect to the allowed independent claim 21:
The closest prior art, Ammar (US 20040140863, hereinafter “Ammar”), teaches:
“An electronic device package (see Fig. 7 and Fig. 8A), comprising: a substrate comprising a dielectric medium (dielectric substrate 90, Fig. 7 and [0038]); a transition cavity (68 in fig. 7 and par. 38; and 90A in fig. 88 and par. 42) defined by the dielectric medium (Fig. 8A; 90), the transition cavity sized and shaped for mechanical coupling with a waveguide structure (98; figs. 8A-8B and [0039]); a first antenna and a second antenna (see Figs. 7-8A and pars. 38, 41, i.e. two opposing microstrip launchers 92 that extend into the waveguide transition 68 and are connected to the amplifiers 62 and 66, wherein each microstrip launcher 92 is a probe according to fig. 8B and [0042]), the first antenna and the second antenna (92 and 122) positioned to excite the transition cavity (68, 90A), the first antenna fed by a first transmission line and the second antenna fed by a second transmission line (see figs. 7-8A and [0038], i.e. the transmission lines that connect the amplifiers 62 and 66 to the corresponding launchers 92 of the waveguide transition 68, wherein, according to fig. 88 and [0042], each transmission line is a microstrip transmission line 120 formed by a planar conductor on the dielectric substrate 90); and a conductive cap (Fig. 7-8A; 94, 96, 100) located on a surface of the dielectric medium (Fig. 7-8A; 90) overlapping with the transition cavity (Fig. 7-8A; 68) opposite a surface of the dielectric medium (Fig. 7-8A; 90) defining an output of the transition cavity (Fig. 7-8A; 68) used for mechanical coupling with a waveguide structure (Fig. 7-8A; 98, 98a, 99).”
However, Ammar, does not teach or suggest the following novel features:
“the device comprising an electromagnetic probe electrically coupled with the transition cavity; wherein the electromagnetic probe interacts with an electromagnetic field in the transition cavity and provides an electrical signal representative of the electromagnetic field in the transition cavity; wherein the first transmission line comprises a first planar conductor and the second transmission line comprises a second planar conductor, the first planar conductor and the second planar conductor supported by at least one dielectric layer defining the dielectric medium, wherein the first planar conductor and the second planar conductor are buried within the dielectric medium between respective dielectric layers defining the dielectric medium” in combination with all the recited limitations of the claim 21.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20250149457: he present disclosure relates to an electronic device that includes a first electronic component, a second electronic component, an interconnection structure below the first electronic component and the second electronic component and electrically connecting the first electronic component to the second electronic component, and a first waveguide below the first electronic component and the second electronic component and configured to transmit electromagnetic waves.
US 20240322775: An electronic assembly may include a first die, comprising a first transmission line, and a second die, comprising a second transmission line. Each die includes a first face and an opposing second face, and the second die is stacked above the first die so that the first face of the second die is coupled to the second face of the first die.
US 20240275061: The present disclosure provides an electronic device. The electronic device includes a radio frequency (RF) circuit region and an antenna region. The RF circuit region has a first circuit density. The antenna region includes a circuit structure. The circuit structure defines a waveguide. The circuit structure has a second circuit density less than the first circuit density.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641