DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 29 Dec 2022 for application number 18/148,240. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Claims 11-35 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 Jan 2023 and 13 Aug 2026 were filed before the mailing of this Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-35, drawn to Device embodiment II., Modification A2 in the reply filed on 03 Jul 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 Jul 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xing et al. [hereinafter as Xing] (US 2023/0394291 A1).
In reference to claim 11, Xing teaches An apparatus comprising:
a magnetoelectric layer [antiferromagnetic pinning layer 111; Fig. 4, para 0076];
a first ferromagnetic layer [second ferromagnetic layer 113; Fig. 4, para 0076] positioned adjacent to the magnetoelectric layer [111];
a second ferromagnetic layer [first ferromagnetic layer 110; Fig. 4, para 0077] extending lengthwise along a first axis;
a first layer [spacer layer 114; Fig. 4, para 0076] positioned between the first ferromagnetic layer [113] and the second ferromagnetic layer [110]; and
a monolayer [spin orbit coupling layer 109; Fig. 4, para 0077] extending along a second axis substantially orthogonal to the first axis, the second ferromagnetic layer [110] positioned between the monolayer [109] and the first layer [114].
In reference to claim 14, Xing teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first ferromagnetic layer [113] comprises cobalt, iron, or nickel [para 0068 disclose that 113 may may comprise cobalt and/or iron].
In reference to claim 15, Xing teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first ferromagnetic layer [113] comprises: iron, cobalt, and boron [para 0068 discloses 113 may comprise CoFeB]; iron and cobalt [para 0068 discloses 113 may comprise iron and cobalt]; iron and nickel; iron and oxygen; lanthanum, strontium, manganese, and oxygen; or lanthanum, strontium, manganese, oxygen, and iron.
In reference to claim 16, Xing teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second ferromagnetic layer [110] comprises cobalt or iron [para 0068 discloses that 110 may comprise cobalt and/or iron].
In reference to claim 17, Xing teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second ferromagnetic layer [110] comprises: iron, cobalt, and boron; or iron and cobalt [para 0068 discloses that 110 may comprise cobalt, iron, and/or boron].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Tran et al. [hereinafter as Tran] (US 2015/0255135 A1).
In reference to claim 12, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first layer comprises: iron and oxygen; cobalt, iron, and oxygen; europium and oxygen; cobalt and oxygen; nickel, iron, and oxygen; or yttrium, iron, and oxygen.
Tran teaches wherein the first layer comprises: iron and oxygen; cobalt, iron, and oxygen; europium and oxygen; cobalt and oxygen; nickel, iron, and oxygen; or yttrium, iron, and oxygen [para 0064 discloses that a magnetic coupling layer 106 may consist of various materials, including iron and oxygen, etc.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Tran before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the coupling layer materials as disclosed by Tran into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a first layer consisting of particular materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a first layer consisting of particular materials to provide the predictable result of providing spin-orbit coupling enhancement and structural stability.
In reference to claim 13, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first layer comprises: magnesium, aluminum, iron, and oxygen; nickel, aluminum, iron, and oxygen; strontium, chromium, ruthenium, and oxygen; or strontium, iron, molybdenum, and oxygen.
Tran teaches wherein the first layer comprises: magnesium, aluminum, iron, and oxygen; nickel, aluminum, iron, and oxygen; strontium, chromium, ruthenium, and oxygen; or strontium, iron, molybdenum, and oxygen [para 0064 discloses that a magnetic coupling layer 106 may consist of various materials, including magnesium, aluminum, iron, oxygen, etc.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Tran before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the coupling layer materials as disclosed by Tran into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a first layer consisting of particular materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a first layer consisting of particular materials to provide the predictable result of providing spin-orbit coupling enhancement and structural stability.
In reference to claim 18, Xing teaches the invention of claim 17
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising an oxide layer positioned between the monolayer and the second ferromagnetic layer, the oxide layer comprising: oxygen and magnesium; or oxygen and aluminum.
Xing and Tran teach an oxide layer [oxide layer OX of Tran; paras 0038-0040] positioned between the monolayer [109 of Xing] and the second ferromagnetic layer [110 of Xing], the oxide layer [OX of Tran] comprising: oxygen and magnesium; or oxygen and aluminum [para 0040 discloses that OX may be MgO or aluminum oxide, for example].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Tran before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the oxide layer as disclosed by Tran into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with an oxide layer between a monolayer and a second ferromagnetic layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with an oxide layer between a monolayer and a second ferromagnetic layer to provide the predictable result of enhancing spin-orbit coupling, control spin polarization, and extend spin lifetime.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Yoshikawa (US 2023/0189662 A1).
In reference to claim 19, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second ferromagnetic layer comprises a stack of one or more first sub-layers comprising cobalt alternating with one or more second sub-layers comprising platinum.
Yoshikawa teaches wherein the second ferromagnetic layer comprises a stack of one or more first sub-layers comprising cobalt alternating with one or more second sub-layers comprising platinum [para 0100 discloses that a ferromagnetic layer 27e may be composed of alternating layers of cobalt and platinum].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Yoshikawa before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the ferromagnetic layer as disclosed by Yoshikawa into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a ferromagnetic layer consisting of cobalt and platinum.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a ferromagnetic layer consisting of cobalt and platinum to provide the predictable result of optimizing spin-orbit torque generation and magnetization switching while minimizing power consumption.
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Li et al. [hereinafter as Li] (US 2020/0035910 A1).
In reference to claim 20, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second ferromagnetic layer comprises: chromium, germanium, and tellurium; chromium and iodine; manganese, phosphorous, and sulfur; iron, germanium, and tellurium; or iron, phosphorous, and sulfur.
Li teaches wherein the second ferromagnetic layer comprises: chromium, germanium, and tellurium; chromium and iodine; manganese, phosphorous, and sulfur; iron, germanium, and tellurium; or iron, phosphorous, and sulfur [para 0034 discloses that a ferromagnetic memory layer 102 may comprise iron, germanium, and tellurium, for example].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Li before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the ferromagnetic layer as disclosed by Li into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a ferromagnetic layer consisting of particular materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a ferromagnetic layer consisting of particular materials to provide the predictable result of providing strong spin-orbit coupling with favorable magnetic properties for efficient spring current generation and magnetization switching.
In reference to claim 21, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the monolayer comprises: tin and sulfur; tin and selenium; tin and tellurium; tin and two of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium; germanium and sulfur; germanium and tellurium; germanium and selenium; germanium and two of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium; or tin, germanium, and one of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium.
Li teaches wherein the monolayer comprises: tin and sulfur; tin and selenium; tin and tellurium; tin and two of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium; germanium and sulfur; germanium and tellurium; germanium and selenium; germanium and two of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium; or tin, germanium, and one of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium [para 0032 discloses that a SOT generator layer, i.e. monolayer, may comprise at least one of germanium, selenium, sulfur, tin, etc.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Li before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the monolayer materials as disclosed by Li into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a monolayer consisting of particular materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a monolayer consisting of particular materials to provide the predictable result of providing large spin-orbit coupling and versatility in device design.
In reference to claim 22, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the monolayer comprises: a transition metal; and sulfur, selenium, or tellurium.
Li teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the monolayer comprises: a transition metal; and sulfur, selenium, or tellurium [para 0032 discloses that a SOT generator layer, i.e. monolayer, may comprise transition metals such as iridium, platinum, rhodium and silver, and at least one of germanium, selenium, sulfur, tellurium, etc.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Li before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the monolayer materials as disclosed by Li into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a monolayer consisting of particular materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a monolayer consisting of particular materials to provide the predictable result of providing large spin-orbit coupling and versatility in device design.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Gosavi et al. [hereinafter as Gosavi] (US 2023/0353157 A1).
In reference to claim 23, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the magnetoelectric layer comprises: boron, iron, and oxygen; boron, iron, oxygen, and lanthanum; chromium and oxygen; chromium, oxygen, and boron; bismuth, iron, and oxygen; or lanthanum, bismuth, iron, and oxygen.
Gosavi teaches wherein the magnetoelectric layer comprises: boron, iron, and oxygen; boron, iron, oxygen, and lanthanum; chromium and oxygen; chromium, oxygen, and boron; bismuth, iron, and oxygen; or lanthanum, bismuth, iron, and oxygen [para 0095 discloses that a magnetoelectric layer 122 may be formed from boron, iron , and oxygen, for example].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Gosavi before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the magnetoelectric layer as disclosed by Gosavi into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a magnetoelectric layer consisting of particular materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a magnetoelectric layer consisting of particular materials to provide the predictable result of providing efficient magnetoelectric coupling and spin-orbit transduction.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Walker et al. [hereinafter as Walker] (US 2020/0395406 A1).
In reference to claim 24, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the apparatus is an integrated circuit component.
Walker teaches wherein the apparatus is an integrated circuit component [paras 0045-0046 disclose the device incorporated into an integrated circuit].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Walker before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the integrated circuit as disclosed by Walker into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device integrated with a circuit.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device integrated with a circuit to provide the predictable result of providing the processing and storage of data at much faster speeds and significantly lower power consumption than standard transistors.
In reference to claim 25, Xing teaches the invention of claim 11.
However, Xing does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the apparatus comprises a printed circuit board and an integrated circuit component attached to the printed circuit board, the integrated circuit component comprising the monolayer and the magnetoelectric layer.
Xing and Walker teach wherein the apparatus comprises a printed circuit board and an integrated circuit component attached to the printed circuit board [Walker, paras 0045-0046 disclose the device incorporated into an integrated circuit], the integrated circuit [circuit of Walker] component comprising the monolayer [109 of Xing] and the magnetoelectric layer [111 of Xing].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Xing and Walker before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the integrated circuit as disclosed by Walker into the semiconductor device of Xing in order to obtain a semiconductor device integrated with a circuit.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device integrated with a circuit to provide the predictable result of providing the processing and storage of data at much faster speeds and significantly lower power consumption than standard transistors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-35 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 26, although the closest prior art of Xing teaches:
a magnetoelectric layer [antiferromagnetic pinning layer 111; Fig. 4, para 0076];
a first ferromagnetic layer [second ferromagnetic layer 113; Fig. 4, para 0076] adjacent to the magnetoelectric layer [111];
a second ferromagnetic layer [first ferromagnetic layer 110; Fig. 4, para 0077] extending lengthwise along a first axis;
a first layer [spacer layer 114; Fig. 4, para 0076] positioned between the first ferromagnetic layer [113] and the second ferromagnetic layer [110]; and
a monolayer [spin orbit coupling layer 109; Fig. 4, para 0077] extending along a second axis substantially orthogonal to the first axis, the second ferromagnetic layer [110] positioned between the monolayer [109] and the first layer [114], the prior art does not teach:
a first conductive trace positioned adjacent to the first ferromagnetic layer, the first ferromagnetic layer positioned between the magnetoelectric layer and the first conductive trace;
a second conductive trace positioned adjacent to the magnetoelectric layer, the magnetoelectric layer positioned between the first ferromagnetic layer and the second conductive trace;
a third conductive trace positioned adjacent to a first surface of the monolayer at a first end portion of the monolayer;
a fourth conductive trace positioned adjacent to the first surface of the monolayer at a second end portion of the monolayer, the second end portion opposite the first end portion;
a fifth conductive trace positioned adjacent to the second ferromagnetic layer; and
a sixth conductive trace positioned adjacent to the first surface of the monolayer and between the third conductive trace and the fourth conductive trace.
Dependent claims 27-35 are allowed for at least these reasons.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure as follows. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR § 1.111(0).
Chawla et al. (US-20190259935-A1) discloses a spin orbit device [Figs. 2-3].
Lin et al. (US-20190386662-A1) discloses a spin orbit device [Fig. 2A].
Wang et al. (US-20160268029-A1) discloses a spin orbit device [Fig. 3A].
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898