DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are under consideration.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 14, 16, and 18-20 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that dependent claims 2-13 and 15-19 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 14 and 20, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 14 and 20. Therefore for at least the reasons above presented for claim 1, the dependent claims 2-13 and 15-19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 12, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 20210385057 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 10, [0103] cellular baseband processor 1004);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 10, [0103] The cellular baseband processor 1004 may include a computer-readable medium/memory); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to ([0103] The software, when executed by the cellular baseband processor 1004, causes the cellular baseband processor 1004 to perform the various functions described supra. The computer-readable medium/memory may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the cellular baseband processor 1004 when executing software.):
select a first set of one or more default beams for full-duplex communications ([0089] At 806, the wireless device may determine the fallback FD beam pair based on a rule.), the first set of one or more default beams including at least one default uplink beam and at least one default downlink beam that are preconfigured for communications with one or more transmission reception points during one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0087] At 802, the wireless device may receive an indication from a second wireless device (base station) indicating a fallback FD beam pair (at least one default uplink beam and at least one default downlink beam). For example, referring to FIG. 7, the first wireless device 702 may receive, at 706, an indication of the fallback FD beam pair from the second wireless device 704. The fallback FD beam pair may be indicated (e.g., at 706) by one or more of an UL beam ID for an UL beam of the fallback FD beam pair, a DL beam ID for a DL beam of the fallback FD beam pair, a beam pair ID for the fallback FD beam pair, or a TCI codepoint that maps to an UL and DL TCI state for the fallback FD beam pair. Further, the indication at 706 may be communicated in one or more of DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling. [0077] Having a predetermined fallback FD beam pair for the first wireless device 702 may decrease the time period required to switch from the current FD beam pair to a different FD beam pair following a degradation. The default beams are preconfigured since they are indicated to the UE by the base station before an occurrence of a performance trigger.); and
communicate with the one or more transmission reception points using the first set of one or more default beams during at least one symbol period of the one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0077] The first wireless device 702 may utilize the fallback FD beam pair at least during the measurement and calibration period while determining a replacement beam pair for the current FD beam pair. [0092] The first wireless device 702 may use the fallback FD beam pair for one or more of a PDCCH, a PDSCH, a PUSCH, or a PUCCH. Figs. 2B and 2D show PDCCH, a PDSCH, a PUSCH, or a PUCCH are at least one symbol period. [0068] The example 620 of FIG. 6C includes a UE1 602 and a base station 604, wherein the UE1 602 is receiving a DL transmission from the base station 604 and the UE1 602 is transmitting an UL transmission to the same base station 604, e.g., in a simultaneous manner that overlaps in time. In the example 620 of FIG. 6C, FD is enabled for both the UE1 602 and the base station 604.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to communicate with the one or more transmission reception points are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
communicate with a first transmission reception point of the one or more transmission reception points, wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises one default uplink beam associated with the first transmission reception point or one default downlink beam associated with the first transmission reception point ([0072] At 706, the first wireless device 702 (the UE) may receive an indication of a fallback FD beam pair (first set of one or more default beams) from the second wireless device 704 (base station or TRP). The indication may include a beam identifier (ID) (e.g., an UL beam ID, a DL beam ID, or a beam pair ID) of the fallback FD beam pair. Additionally, or alternatively, the indication may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoint that maps to a TCI state. (This associates the default beam pair to the base station or TRP). [0073] In response to the indication of the trigger, the second wireless device 704 may indicate, at 712, to the first wireless device 702 to use the fallback FD beam pair (e.g., the fallback FD beam pair previously indicated at 706 to the first wireless device 702). At 714a-b, the first wireless device 702 and the second wireless device 704 may each use the fallback FD beam pair to maintain FD communication. Since the base station, or TRP indicated to the UE the fallback FD beams (default beams) to use in case of a trigger to maintain communication between the base station and the UE and included beam IDs and TCI codepoints that map to TCI states, the default beams are associated with that base station, or TRP.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises a default beam pair, the default beam pair comprising one default uplink beam and one default downlink beam ([0072] At 706, the first wireless device 702 may receive an indication of a fallback FD beam pair from the second wireless device 704. The indication may include a beam identifier (ID) (e.g., an UL beam ID, a DL beam ID, or a beam pair ID) of the fallback FD beam pair. [0075] As such, a secondary DL/UL beam pair (e.g., a fallback FD beam pair) may be predetermined by the wireless devices 702-704 as a backup for maintaining the FD operation in the event that the initial DL/UL beam pair (e.g., a current FD beam pair) degrades below a predefined threshold.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the default beam pair comprising the one default uplink beam and the one default downlink beam is preconfigured for the full-duplex communications with at least one transmission reception point of the one or more transmission reception points during the one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0075] As such, a secondary DL/UL beam pair (e.g., a fallback FD beam pair) may be predetermined by the wireless devices 702-704 as a backup for maintaining the FD operation in the event that the initial DL/UL beam pair (e.g., a current FD beam pair) degrades below a predefined threshold.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive a control message indicating the first set of one or more default beams, wherein the first set of one or more default beams are identified based at least in part on receiving the control message ([0072] At 706, the first wireless device 702 may receive an indication of a fallback FD beam pair from the second wireless device 704. The indication may include a beam identifier (ID) (e.g., an UL beam ID, a DL beam ID, or a beam pair ID) of the fallback FD beam pair. Additionally, or alternatively, the indication may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoint that maps to a TCI state.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, downlink control information, or any combination thereof (Further, the indication at 706 (indication of a fallback FD beam pair) may be communicated in one or more of DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the full-duplex communications are performed at a network entity during the one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0068] The example 620 of FIG. 6C includes a UE1 602 and a base station 604, wherein the UE1 602 is receiving a DL transmission from the base station 604 and the UE1 602 is transmitting an UL transmission to the same base station 604, e.g., in a simultaneous manner that overlaps in time. In the example 620 of FIG. 6C, FD is enabled for both the UE1 602 and the base station 604. [0100] For example, referring to FIG. 7, the wireless device 704 (base station or network entity) may use the fallback FD beam pair at 714b after receiving the indication, at 708, of the occurrence of the trigger. [0083] In such cases, both nodes (the UE and base station) may need to switch to the fallback FD beam pair for subsequent communications (e.g., via PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH). Figs 2B and 2D shows PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH occur during one or more symbol periods. Thus, subsequent communications with the fallback FD beam pair occur during one or more full-duplex symbol periods.).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 11, [0108] baseband unit 1104);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 11, [0108] The baseband unit 1104 may include a computer-readable medium/memory.); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to ([0108] The software, when executed by the baseband unit 1104, causes the baseband unit 1104 to perform the various functions described supra. The computer-readable medium/memory may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the baseband unit 1104 when executing software.):
transmit a control message indicating a first set of one or more default beams for full-duplex communications, the first set of one or more default beams including at least one default uplink beam and at least one default downlink beam that are preconfigured for communications with a user equipment (UE) during one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0096] At 902, the wireless device may indicate a fallback FD beam pair to a another wireless device (e.g., prior to the wireless device receiving an indication of an occurrence of a performance trigger). For example, referring to FIG. 7, the wireless device 704 may indicate, at 706, the fallback FD beam pair to another wireless device 702. The fallback FD beam pair may be indicated (e.g., at 706) by one or more of an UL beam ID for an UL beam of the fallback FD beam pair, a DL beam ID for a DL beam of the fallback FD beam pair, a beam pair ID for the fallback FD beam pair, or a TCI codepoint that maps to an UL and DL TCI state for the fallback FD beam pair. Further, the indication at 706 may be communicated in one or more of DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling.); and
communicate with the UE using the first set of one or more default beams during at least one symbol period of the one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0100] At 910, the wireless device may use the fallback FD beam pair for communication with the other wireless device in response to receiving the indication. For example, referring to FIG. 7, the wireless device 704 may use the fallback FD beam pair at 714b after receiving the indication, at 708, of the occurrence of the trigger. [0092] The first wireless device 702 may use the fallback FD beam pair for one or more of a PDCCH, a PDSCH, a PUSCH, or a PUCCH. Figs. 2B and 2D show PDCCH, a PDSCH, a PUSCH, or a PUCCH are at least one symbol period. [0068] The example 620 of FIG. 6C includes a UE1 602 and a base station 604, wherein the UE1 602 is receiving a DL transmission from the base station 604 and the UE1 602 is transmitting an UL transmission to the same base station 604, e.g., in a simultaneous manner that overlaps in time. In the example 620 of FIG. 6C, FD is enabled for both the UE1 602 and the base station 604.).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises one or more default downlink beams or one or more default uplink beams, each default downlink beam of the one or more default downlink beams or each default uplink beam of the one or more default uplink beams being associated with a respective transmission reception point ([0072] At 706, the first wireless device 702 (the UE) may receive an indication of a fallback FD beam pair (first set of one or more default beams) from the second wireless device 704 (base station or TRP). The indication may include a beam identifier (ID) (e.g., an UL beam ID, a DL beam ID, or a beam pair ID) of the fallback FD beam pair. Additionally, or alternatively, the indication may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoint that maps to a TCI state. (This associates the default beam pair to the base station or TRP). [0073] In response to the indication of the trigger, the second wireless device 704 may indicate, at 712, to the first wireless device 702 to use the fallback FD beam pair (e.g., the fallback FD beam pair previously indicated at 706 to the first wireless device 702). At 714a-b, the first wireless device 702 and the second wireless device 704 may each use the fallback FD beam pair to maintain FD communication. Since the base station, or TRP indicated to the UE the fallback FD beams (default beams) to use in case of a trigger to maintain communication between the base station and the UE and included beam IDs and TCI codepoints that map to TCI states, the default beams are associated with that base station, or TRP.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises a default beam pair, the default beam pair comprising one default uplink beam and one default downlink beam, wherein the default beam pair comprising the one default uplink beam and the one default downlink beam is preconfigured for the full- duplex communications with at least one transmission reception point during the at least one symbol period ([0072] At 706, the first wireless device 702 may receive an indication of a fallback FD beam pair from the second wireless device 704. The indication may include a beam identifier (ID) (e.g., an UL beam ID, a DL beam ID, or a beam pair ID) of the fallback FD beam pair. [0075] As such, a secondary DL/UL beam pair (e.g., a fallback FD beam pair) may be predetermined by the wireless devices 702-704 as a backup for maintaining the FD operation in the event that the initial DL/UL beam pair (e.g., a current FD beam pair) degrades below a predefined threshold. [0083] In such cases, both nodes may need to switch to the fallback FD beam pair for subsequent communications (e.g., via PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH).).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, downlink control information, or any combination thereof ([0087] Further, the indication at 706 may be communicated in one or more of DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling.).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
selecting a first set of one or more default beams for full-duplex communications ([0089] At 806, the wireless device may determine the fallback FD beam pair based on a rule.), the first set of one or more default beams including at least one default uplink beam and at least one default downlink beam that are preconfigured for communications with one or more transmission reception points during one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0087] At 802, the wireless device may receive an indication from a second wireless device (base station) indicating a fallback FD beam pair (at least one default uplink beam and at least one default downlink beam). For example, referring to FIG. 7, the first wireless device 702 may receive, at 706, an indication of the fallback FD beam pair from the second wireless device 704. The fallback FD beam pair may be indicated (e.g., at 706) by one or more of an UL beam ID for an UL beam of the fallback FD beam pair, a DL beam ID for a DL beam of the fallback FD beam pair, a beam pair ID for the fallback FD beam pair, or a TCI codepoint that maps to an UL and DL TCI state for the fallback FD beam pair. Further, the indication at 706 may be communicated in one or more of DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling. The default beams are preconfigured since they are indicated to the UE by the base station before an occurrence of a performance trigger.); and
communicating with the one or more transmission reception points using the first set of one or more default beams during at least one symbol period of the one or more full-duplex symbol periods ([0092] The first wireless device 702 may use the fallback FD beam pair for one or more of a PDCCH, a PDSCH, a PUSCH, or a PUCCH. Figs. 2B and 2D show PDCCH, a PDSCH, a PUSCH, or a PUCCH are at least one symbol period. [0068] The example 620 of FIG. 6C includes a UE1 602 and a base station 604, wherein the UE1 602 is receiving a DL transmission from the base station 604 and the UE1 602 is transmitting an UL transmission to the same base station 604, e.g., in a simultaneous manner that overlaps in time. In the example 620 of FIG. 6C, FD is enabled for both the UE1 602 and the base station 604.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20210385057 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20210377949 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to communicate with the one or more transmission reception points are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: communicate with at least two transmission reception points of the one or more transmission reception points ([0068] The example 600 of FIG. 6A includes a UE1 602 and two base station (e.g., TRPs) 604-1, 604-2, wherein the UE1 602 is sending UL transmissions to base station 604-1 and is receiving DL transmissions from base station 604-2, e.g., in a simultaneous manner that overlaps in time.).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises two or more default uplink beams, each default uplink beam of the two or more default uplink beams being associated with a respective transmission reception point of the at least two transmission reception points.
Zhang in the same field of endeavor of transmission configurations for full duplex transmissions, teaches wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises two or more default uplink beams, each default uplink beam of the two or more default uplink beams being associated with a respective transmission reception point of the at least two transmission reception points ([0092] As shown in FIG. 7B, example 710 includes a UE 602 in communication with four base stations (or TRPs) 604-1, 604-2, 604-3, and 604-4. As shown in FIG. 7B, the UE 602 may use a first beam (labeled B1 in FIG. 7B) to receive downlink transmissions from the base station 604-1 and to transmit uplink transmissions to the base station 604-3. Additionally, the UE 602 may use a second beam (labeled B2 in FIG. 7B) to receive downlink transmissions from the base station 604-2 and to transmit uplink transmissions to TRP 604-4. Accordingly, the UE 602 may support MIMO transmissions in a full duplex transmission mode. Thus, in example 710, full duplex communication is enabled for the UE 602, which may send uplink transmissions simultaneously with receiving downlink transmissions using different beams).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the two default downlink beams of Zhang to the teachings of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to send simultaneous uplink transmissions to different base stations (or TRPs) (Zhang; [0092]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to communicate with the one or more transmission reception points are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: communicate with at least two transmission reception points of the one or more transmission reception points ([0068] The example 600 of FIG. 6A includes a UE1 602 and two base station (e.g., TRPs) 604-1, 604-2, wherein the UE1 602 is sending UL transmissions to base station 604-1 and is receiving DL transmissions from base station 604-2, e.g., in a simultaneous manner that overlaps in time.).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises two or more default downlink beams, each default downlink beam of the two or more default downlink beams being associated with a respective transmission reception point of the at least two transmission reception points.
Zhang in the same field of endeavor of transmission configurations for full duplex transmissions, teaches wherein the first set of one or more default beams comprises two or more default downlink beams, each default downlink beam of the two or more default downlink beams being associated with a respective transmission reception point of the at least two transmission reception points ([0092] As shown in FIG. 7B, example 710 includes a UE 602 in communication with four base stations (or TRPs) 604-1, 604-2, 604-3, and 604-4. As shown in FIG. 7B, the UE 602 may use a first beam (labeled B1 in FIG. 7B) to receive downlink transmissions from the base station 604-1 and to transmit uplink transmissions to the base station 604-3. Additionally, the UE 602 may use a second beam (labeled B2 in FIG. 7B) to receive downlink transmissions from the base station 604-2 and to transmit uplink transmissions to TRP 604-4. Accordingly, the UE 602 may support MIMO transmissions in a full duplex transmission mode. Thus, in example 710, full duplex communication is enabled for the UE 602, which may send uplink transmissions simultaneously with receiving downlink transmissions using different beams).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the two default downlink beams of Zhang to the teachings of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to send simultaneous downlink transmissions to different base stations (or TRPs) (Zhang; [0092]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the full-duplex communications comprise sub-band full duplex communications, fully overlapping full-duplex communications, partial overlapping full-duplex communications, or any combination thereof.
Zhang in the same field of endeavor of transmission configurations for full duplex transmissions, teaches wherein the full-duplex communications comprise sub-band full duplex communications, fully overlapping full-duplex communications, partial overlapping full-duplex communications, or any combination thereof ([0099] As shown by reference number 805, the base station 604 may generate transmission configuration information, for full duplex transmissions, that includes a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals. For example, the full duplex transmissions may include an uplink and a downlink that overlap, at least partially, in frequency (e.g., a beam used for uplink and a beam used for downlink may have frequency ranges that at least partially overlap). In some aspects, the full duplex transmission may include an uplink and a downlink that fully overlap in frequency (e.g., a beam used for uplink and a beam used for downlink may share a frequency range and instead be orthogonal in a time domain).).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the overlapping full-duplex communications of Zhang to the teachings of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to improve a manner in which flexible TDD operates to support full duplex communication, which generally refers to simultaneous uplink and downlink transmissions (Zhang; [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20210385057 A1) in view of Zhou (US 20200350957 A1); hereinafter Zhou2.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes the one or more full-duplex symbol periods based at least in part on the latest slot and the one or more full-duplex symbol periods both being configured for the full-duplex communications, wherein the first set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with the lowest control resource set index value.
Zhou2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically with simultaneous multiple default beams, teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes the one or more full-duplex symbol periods based at least in part on the latest slot and the one or more full-duplex symbol periods both being configured for the full-duplex communications, wherein the first set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with a lowest control resource set index value (Fig. 4 [0110] In some cases, determining the default receive beam for each TRP 405 may include determining the CORESET with the lowest ID in each TRPs 405 CORESET in the latest monitored slot for each TRP 405. Accordingly, each unscheduled downlink symbol may have two default beams for the two TRPs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify the default beams of Zhou by determining the CORESET with the lowest index value in the latest monitored slot for each TRP, as stated in Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to incorporate improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support simultaneous multiple default beams (Zhou2; [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, a first set of one or more default beams used for communicating with the one or more transmission reception points during respective symbol periods configured for time-division duplexed uplink communications or downlink communications ([0078] In some configurations, explicit signaling from the second wireless device 704 may be used to indicate the fallback FD beam pair. The first wireless device 702 may be configured to transmit a report to the second wireless device 704 indicative of candidate beam pairs for the fallback FD beam pair and, based on the candidate beam pairs, the second wireless device 704 may signal to the first wireless device 702 one or more IDs for the fallback FD beam pair through DCI, a MAC-control element (MAC-CE), RRC signaling, etc. [0062] A wireless device may transmit and receive communication in a full-duplex (FD) mode in which the device transmits and receives communications using overlapping resources. FD operations may involve simultaneous UL and DL transmissions, for example. Flexible time division duplex (TDD) operations may support FD communication. [0038] In the examples provided by FIGS. 2A, 2C, the 5G/NR frame structure is assumed to be TDD).
Zhou does not teach wherein the first set of one or more default beams is different from a second set of one or more default beams used for communicating with the one or more transmission reception points during respective symbol periods configured for time-division duplexed uplink communications or downlink communications.
Zhou2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically with simultaneous multiple default beams, teaches wherein the first set of one or more default beams is different from a second set of one or more default beams used for communicating with the one or more transmission reception points during respective symbol periods configured for time-division duplexed uplink communications or downlink communications (Fig. 2, [0090] The wireless communications system 200 may provide an example of TRPs 205 transmitting using multiple default PDSCH transmit beams 210 and the UE 115-a receiving the communications using multiple default receive beams 215. For example, the first TRP 205-a may transmit data over a first PDCCH transmit beam 210-a and the UE 115-a may receive the data over a first default receive beam 215-a (first set of one or more default beams). A second TRP 205-b may transmit data over a second PDCCH transmit beam 210-b and the UE 115-a may receive the data over a second default receive beam 215-b (second set of one or more default beams, different from the first set of one or more default beams)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention introduce a second set of default beams of Zhou2 different from the first set of default beams of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to incorporate improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support simultaneous multiple default beams and to simultaneously buffer multiple PDSCH transmissions from multiple TRPs 205. (Zhou2; [0005] [0091]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes an uplink symbol period, a downlink symbol period, or a flexible symbol period based at least in part on the latest slot and the uplink symbol period, the downlink symbol period, or the flexible symbol period both being configured for time-division duplexed communications, wherein a second set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with the lowest control resource set index value.
Zhou2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically with simultaneous multiple default beams, teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes an uplink symbol period, a downlink symbol period, or a flexible symbol period based at least in part on the latest slot and the uplink symbol period, the downlink symbol period, or the flexible symbol period both being configured for time-division duplexed communications, wherein a second set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with a lowest control resource set index value (Fig. 4 [0110] In some cases, determining the default receive (downlink) beam for each TRP 405 may include determining the CORESET with the lowest ID in each TRPs 405 CORESET in the latest monitored slot for each TRP 405. Accordingly, each unscheduled downlink symbol may have two default beams for the two TRPs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify the default beams of Zhou by determining the CORESET with the lowest index value in the latest monitored slot for each TRP, as stated in Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to incorporate improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support simultaneous multiple default beams (Zhou2; [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, but does not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes the one or more full-duplex symbol periods based at least in part on the latest slot and the one or more full-duplex symbol periods both being configured for the full-duplex communications, wherein the first set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with a lowest control resource set index value.
Zhou2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically with simultaneous multiple default beams, teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes the one or more full-duplex symbol periods based at least in part on the latest slot and the one or more full-duplex symbol periods both being configured for the full-duplex communications, wherein the first set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with a lowest control resource set index value (Fig. 4 [0110] In some cases, determining the default receive beam for each TRP 405 may include determining the CORESET with the lowest ID in each TRPs 405 CORESET in the latest monitored slot for each TRP 405. Accordingly, each unscheduled downlink symbol may have two default beams for the two TRPs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify the default beams of Zhou by determining the CORESET with the lowest index value in the latest monitored slot for each TRP, as stated in Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to incorporate improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support simultaneous multiple default beams (Zhou2; [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 14, but does not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes an uplink symbol period, a downlink symbol period, or a flexible symbol period based at least in part on the latest slot and the uplink symbol period, the downlink symbol period, or the flexible symbol period both being configured for time-division duplexed communications, wherein a second set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with the lowest control resource set index value.
Zhou2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically with simultaneous multiple default beams, teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a lowest control resource set index value in a latest slot that precedes an uplink symbol period, a downlink symbol period, or a flexible symbol period based at least in part on the latest slot and the uplink symbol period, the downlink symbol period, or the flexible symbol period both being configured for time-division duplexed communications, wherein a second set of one or more default beams is identified based at least in part on a beam that is associated with a lowest control resource set index value (Fig. 4 [0110] In some cases, determining the default receive (downlink) beam for each TRP 405 may include determining the CORESET with the lowest ID in each TRPs 405 CORESET in the latest monitored slot for each TRP 405. Accordingly, each unscheduled downlink symbol may have two default beams for the two TRPs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify the default beams of Zhou by determining the CORESET with the lowest index value in the latest monitored slot for each TRP, as stated in Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to incorporate improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support simultaneous multiple default beams (Zhou2; [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou (US 20210153217 A1) discloses identification or determination of a common default beam for a component carrier (CC) group.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465