DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed June 3rd, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11-13, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined. Applicants amendments to the specification and claims have overcome all objections previously set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 reads “wherein the neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem and is coupled to the DSP”, but should read “wherein the neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem is coupled to the DSP”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "spike generator" in claims 1-3, 16, and 17.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the term “spike generator” is being interpreted as corresponding to the description in [0057]-[0060] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0115011 A1 hereinafter Khellah), in view of Andreopoulos et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0164970 A1 hereinafter Andreopoulos) and Boahen et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0019839 A1 hereinafter Boahen).
Regarding claim 1, Khellah discloses an apparatus comprising: a spike generator comprising hardware to generate a set of input spikes based on acoustic signal data generated by a microphone of a computing device (Khellah, Fig. 5, 504; [0057]: "At block 504, the processor transduces the audio into a plurality of spikes."; [0020]: "the system 100 may receive audio input from an audio source 102 and output a single output spike 112 corresponding to a detected keyword in the received audio input. For example, the audio source 102 may be a microphone."); a neuromorphic compute block to: implement a spiking neural network (SNN) (Khellah, [0030]: "In some examples, the spiking neural network 300 may be a sparsely active network (SAN). For example, a SAN may be a deep spiking neural network formed by an input layer 302, one or many hidden layers 304, and an output layer 306. The network architecture may include layers of spiking neurons 216, with each neuron 216 operating independently."; [0028]: "the spiking neural network 300 can be the spiking neural network 110 of the system of FIG. 1, the spiking neural network 636 of the computing device 600 of FIG. 6 below, or the spiking neural network module 712 of the computer readable media 700 of FIG. 7 below."; [0055]: "The example method is generally referred to by the reference number 500 and can be implemented in the system 100 of FIG. 1 above, the processor 702 of the computing device 700 of FIG. 7 below, or the computer readable media 800 of FIG. 8 below."); receive the set of input spikes as an input to the SNN (Khellah, Fig. 5, 506; [0058]: "At block 506, the processor sends one or more of the spikes to a spiking neural network."); generate a set of output spikes from the SNN based on the input; threshold logic to: determine that the set of output spikes [correspond] to a result of an acoustic recognition task; and generate result data to identify the result (Khellah, Fig. 5, 508; [0059]: "At block 508, the processor receives a spike corresponding to a detected keyword from the spiking neural network. For example, the single spike received from the output of the spiking neural network may correspond to a keyword or a key-phrase."; [0035]: "the example spiking neural network 300 can be implemented using fewer or additional components not illustrated in FIG. 3 (e.g., additional inputs, layers, spikes, outputs, etc.). For example, although one output node is shown for each key-phrase in the example of FIG. 3, in some examples, multiple output nodes may exist for each key phrase."). However, Khellah fails to expressly recite a neuromorphic compute block comprising a network of interconnected neuromorphic cores to: implement a spiking neural network (SNN), each neuromorphic core to implement a subset of a plurality of neurons in the SNN; and threshold logic to: accumulate the set of output spikes over a range; and determine that the set of output spikes meet a selected threshold.
Andreopoulos teaches a neuromorphic compute block comprising a network of interconnected neuromorphic cores to: implement a spiking neural network (SNN), each neuromorphic core to implement a subset of a plurality of neurons in the SNN (Andreopoulos, Fig. 3, [0030]: "In some embodiments a plurality of neurosynaptic cores are tiled on a chip. In an exemplary embodiment, a 64 by 64 grid of cores is tiled, yielding 4,096 cores, for a total of 1,048,576 neurons and 268,435,456 synapses. In such embodiments, neurons, synapses, and short-distance connectivity are implemented by the core circuit. Long-distance connectivity is logical. An exemplary embodiment is depicted in FIG. 3. Mesh router 301 provides communication between cores. Also on a given core, neuron to core 302 and core to axon 303 communication links are provided.").
Khellah and Andreopoulos are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of neuromorphic processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah to incorporate the teachings of Andreopoulos to include a network of interconnected neuromorphic cores and routers. This provides a low power solution for solving big data problems (Andreopoulos, [0017]). As such, the system is able to be used in small form factor devices or while a device is operating in a low power mode. However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, fails to expressly recite threshold logic to: accumulate the set of output spikes over a range; and determine that the set of output spikes meet a selected threshold.
Boahen teaches threshold logic to: accumulate the set of output spikes over a range; and determine that the set of output spikes meet a selected threshold (Boahen, [0123]: “As each soma 702 generates spikes, the spikes are multiplexed together by the multiplexor 703 into a spike train that includes origination information (e.g., a spike from soma 702A is identified S.sub.A).”; [0124]: “In slightly more detail, the weighted spike train is accumulated within the thresholding accumulator 706 via addition or subtraction according to weights stored within the decode weight memory 704; once the accumulated value breaches a threshold value (+C or −C), an output spike is generated for transmission via the assigned connectivity to synapses 708 and tap-points within the dendrite 710, and the accumulated value is decremented (or incremented) by the corresponding threshold value. In other variants, when the accumulated value breaches a threshold value, an output spike is generated, and the thresholding accumulator returns to zero.”).
Khellah, Andreopoulos, and Boahen are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of neuromorphic processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos, to incorporate the teachings of Boahen to accumulate the output spikes and determine if they meet a threshold. This helps enable mixed-signal neuromorphic circuitry to compensate for component mismatches and temperature variability, thereby enabling low-power operations (Boahen, [0010]). As such, the low-power processing can be effectively introduced to the system.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses wherein the acoustic recognition task comprises one of a wake-on-voice task, a keyword spotting task, an acoustic context awareness task, an acoustic event detection task, an instant speech detection tasks, or a dynamic noise suppression task (Khellah, [0016]: "The present disclosure relates generally to techniques for detecting keywords in audio using a spiking neural network.").
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses wherein the computing device comprises one of a laptop computing device, a smartphone device, a home monitor device, or a personal digital assistant device (Khellah, [0066]: "a block diagram is shown illustrating an example computing device that can detect keywords using a spiking neural network. The computing device 700 may be, for example, a laptop computer, desktop computer, tablet computer, mobile device, or wearable device, among others.").
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, fails to expressly recite wherein the neuromorphic compute block comprises a set of internal routers to route spike messages between the plurality of neurons during operation of the SNN.
Andreopoulos teaches wherein the neuromorphic compute block comprises a set of internal routers to route spike messages between the plurality of neurons during operation of the SNN (Andreopoulos, Fig. 3, [0030]: "In some embodiments a plurality of neurosynaptic cores are tiled on a chip. In an exemplary embodiment, a 64 by 64 grid of cores is tiled, yielding 4,096 cores, for a total of 1,048,576 neurons and 268,435,456 synapses. In such embodiments, neurons, synapses, and short-distance connectivity are implemented by the core circuit. Long-distance connectivity is logical. An exemplary embodiment is depicted in FIG. 3. Mesh router 301 provides communication between cores. Also on a given core, neuron to core 302 and core to axon 303 communication links are provided."). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Khellah discloses a method comprising: receiving a digital audio signal generated by a microphone of a computing device (Khellah, [0020]: "the system 100 may receive audio input from an audio source 102 and output a single output spike 112 corresponding to a detected keyword in the received audio input. For example, the audio source 102 may be a microphone."); converting, using a spike generator, the digital audio signal into a train of input spikes (Khellah, Fig. 5, 504; [0057]: "At block 504, the processor transduces the audio into a plurality of spikes."; [0028]: "the spiking neural network 300 can be the spiking neural network 110 of the system of FIG. 1, the spiking neural network 636 of the computing device 600 of FIG. 6 below, or the spiking neural network module 712 of the computer readable media 700 of FIG. 7 below."; [0055]: "The example method is generally referred to by the reference number 500 and can be implemented in the system 100 of FIG. 1 above, the processor 702 of the computing device 700 of FIG. 7 below, or the computer readable media 800 of FIG. 8 below."); sending the train of input spikes to a spiking neural network (SNN) implemented in a neuromorphic computing device (Khellah, Fig. 5, 506; [0058]: "At block 506, the processor sends one or more of the spikes to a spiking neural network."); generating a set of output spikes as an output of the SNN based on the train of input spikes (Khellah, Fig. 5, 508; [0059]: "At block 508, the processor receives a spike corresponding to a detected keyword from the spiking neural network. For example, the single spike received from the output of the spiking neural network may correspond to a keyword or a key-phrase."; [0035]: "the example spiking neural network 300 can be implemented using fewer or additional components not illustrated in FIG. 3 (e.g., additional inputs, layers, spikes, outputs, etc.). For example, although one output node is shown for each key-phrase in the example of FIG. 3, in some examples, multiple output nodes may exist for each key phrase."); summing the set of output spikes [to determine that a particular threshold is met]; and generating a result of an acoustic recognition task based on meeting the selected threshold (Khellah, [0022]: "a neuron may be activated when a membrane potential exceeds a threshold value and send out a spike. As used herein, a membrane potential refers to a score associated with each neuron that can be modified by the spikes produced by other neurons. In some examples, when a neuron of the neural network fires, the neuron may generate information that travels to other neurons. The signal sent to other neurons, in turn, may increase or decrease the membrane potentials of the other neurons when the weight is positive or negative, respectively. As described in greater detail with respect to FIG. 2 below, the spikes from the spike transducer 108 can be input into an input layer of the spiking neural network 110. The spiking neural network 110 may be trained to output a single output spike 112. For example, the output spike 112 may correspond to a detected keyword. In some examples, a system can then use the corresponding detected keyword in any suitable application."). However, Khellah fails to expressly recite sending the train of input spikes to a spiking neural network (SNN) implemented in a neuromorphic computing device comprising a network of interconnected neuromorphic cores, each neuromorphic core to implement a subset of a plurality of neurons in the SNN; summing, at threshold logic, the set of output spikes over a range; and determining that the set of spikes meet a selected threshold.
Andreopoulos teaches sending the train of input spikes to a spiking neural network (SNN) implemented in a neuromorphic computing device comprising a network of interconnected neuromorphic cores, each neuromorphic core to implement a subset of a plurality of neurons in the SNN (Andreopoulos, Fig. 3, [0030]: "In some embodiments a plurality of neurosynaptic cores are tiled on a chip. In an exemplary embodiment, a 64 by 64 grid of cores is tiled, yielding 4,096 cores, for a total of 1,048,576 neurons and 268,435,456 synapses. In such embodiments, neurons, synapses, and short-distance connectivity are implemented by the core circuit. Long-distance connectivity is logical. An exemplary embodiment is depicted in FIG. 3. Mesh router 301 provides communication between cores. Also on a given core, neuron to core 302 and core to axon 303 communication links are provided.").
Khellah and Andreopoulos are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of neuromorphic processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah to incorporate the teachings of Andreopoulos to include a network of interconnected neuromorphic cores and routers. This provides a low power solution for solving big data problems (Andreopoulos, [0017]). As such, the system is able to be used in small form factor devices or while a device is operating in a low power mode. However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, fails to expressly recite summing, at threshold logic, the set of output spikes over a range; and determining that the set of spikes meet a selected threshold.
Boahen teaches summing, at threshold logic, the set of output spikes over a range; and determining that the set of spikes meet a selected threshold (Boahen, [0123]: “As each soma 702 generates spikes, the spikes are multiplexed together by the multiplexor 703 into a spike train that includes origination information (e.g., a spike from soma 702A is identified S.sub.A).”; [0124]: “In slightly more detail, the weighted spike train is accumulated within the thresholding accumulator 706 via addition or subtraction according to weights stored within the decode weight memory 704; once the accumulated value breaches a threshold value (+C or −C), an output spike is generated for transmission via the assigned connectivity to synapses 708 and tap-points within the dendrite 710, and the accumulated value is decremented (or incremented) by the corresponding threshold value. In other variants, when the accumulated value breaches a threshold value, an output spike is generated, and the thresholding accumulator returns to zero.”).
Khellah, Andreopoulos, and Boahen are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of neuromorphic processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos, to incorporate the teachings of Boahen to accumulate the output spikes and determine if they meet a threshold. This helps enable mixed-signal neuromorphic circuitry to compensate for component mismatches and temperature variability, thereby enabling low-power operations (Boahen, [0010]). As such, the low-power processing can be effectively introduced to the system.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses wherein the spike generator, the neuromorphic compute block, and the threshold logic are comprised in a neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem of the computing device (Khellah, [0075]: “The computing device 700 further includes a keyword detector 728…The keyword detector 728 can include an audio receiver 730, a feature generator 732, a spike transducer 734, and a spiking neural network 736. For example, the spiking neural network may be a sparsely active network.”), and further comprising offloading the acoustic recognition task from another processing device to the neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem while the other processing device is in a low power mode (Khellah, [0017]: "The techniques described herein thus enable a low-power solution for keyword spotting using a sparsely active network based on spikes. The techniques described herein can be used to improve the ability of an always-on keyword spotting system with the ability to recognize more keywords. In particular, the spiking neural network may be a type of sparsely active neural (SAN) network that only processes data as needed. Such an event-driven approach may keep the system inactive unless there is a speech stimulus, thus reducing the power consumption during inactivity.").
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, as applied to claims 1 and 9-13 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0216751 A1 hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses provide the acoustic signal data to the spike generator (Khellah, Fig. 5, 506; [0058]: "At block 506, the processor sends one or more of the spikes to a spiking neural network."). However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, fails to expressly recite direct memory access (DMA) circuitry to: retrieve the acoustic signal data from memory of the computing device; and copy the result data to the memory.
Kim teaches direct memory access (DMA) circuitry to: retrieve the acoustic signal data from memory of the computing device; and copy the result data to the memory (Kim, [0047]: "The main DMA controller 201 may directly access audio data stored in the storage unit 315, may communicate the audio data to the CPU 100 via the system bus 600, and may thereafter communicate decoded audio data from the CPU 100 to the storage unit 315.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos and the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to use direct memory access circuitry to retrieve and store data in the memory. A direct memory access circuit acts as a dedicated system that can access the device’s storage directly (Kim, [0047]). This allows the storage to be accessed even if a portion of the device is in a low power mode.
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses receiving a programming input to configure: the SNN to perform an inference related to the acoustic recognition task (Khellah, [0030]: "In some examples, the spiking neural network 300 may be a sparsely active network (SAN). For example, a SAN may be a deep spiking neural network formed by an input layer 302, one or many hidden layers 304, and an output layer 306. The network architecture may include layers of spiking neurons 216, with each neuron 216 operating independently."; [0032]: "In some examples, the execution of the SAN may include a transduction and an inference."). However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, fails to expressly recite a first direct memory access (DMA) controller to copy the digital audio signal to memory while the other processing device is in the low power mode; and a second direct memory access (DMA) controller to retrieve the digital audio signal from the memory for the computing hardware while the other processing device is in the low power mode.
Kim teaches a first direct memory access (DMA) controller to copy the digital audio signal to memory while the other processing device is in the low power mode (Kim, [0047]: "The main DMA controller 201 may directly access audio data stored in the storage unit 315, may communicate the audio data to the CPU 100 via the system bus 600, and may thereafter communicate decoded audio data from the CPU 100 to the storage unit 315."); and a second direct memory access (DMA) controller to retrieve the digital audio signal from the memory for the computing hardware while the other processing device is in the low power mode (Kim, [0059]: "The second DMA unit 450 may directly access the system memory unit 305 and communicate audio data stored in the stream buffer 330 to the audio buffer 460 under the control of the CPU 100 and/or control logic 430.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos and the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to use direct memory access circuitry to retrieve and store data in the memory. A direct memory access circuit acts as a dedicated system that can access the device’s storage directly (Kim, [0047]). This allows the storage to be accessed even if a portion of the device is in a low power mode.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim, as applied to claim2 and 14 above, and further in view of Krishnamurthy et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0042910 A1 hereinafter Krishnamurthy).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim, fails to expressly recite an interconnect fabric to enable point-to-point communication between the DMA circuitry, the spike generator, and the neuromorphic compute block.
Krishnamurthy teaches an interconnect fabric to enable point-to-point communication between the DMA circuitry, the spike generator, and the neuromorphic compute block (Krishnamurthy, [0032]: "Neuromorphic hardware implements SNNs as multi-core neuro-processors (e.g., neuro-synaptic cores, neural-cores, neural-core structures, etc.). Neuro-cores often implement several neurons that are colocated with synapse memory blocks to hold synapse weights. The colocation of the synapse memory on the core is used to overcome data-memory bandwidth bottlenecks. Generally, neural-cores are tiled and connected with a Network on Chip (NoC) or other interconnect fabric."; [0130]: "an interconnect unit(s) 2202 is coupled to: an application processor 2210 which includes a set of one or more cores 502A-N and shared cache unit(s) 1806; a system agent unit 1810; a bus controller unit(s) 1816; an integrated memory controller unit(s) 1814; a set or one or more coprocessors 2220 which may include integrated graphics logic, an image processor, an audio processor, and a video processor; an static random access memory (SRAM) unit 2230; a direct memory access (DMA) unit 2232; and a display unit 2240 for coupling to one or more external displays.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, Kim, and Krishnamurthy are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of signal processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos, the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, and the audio processing system of Kim, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnamurthy to use an interconnect fabric to enable communication between different portions of the device. Using an interconnect fabric allows for many neuro-cores to be connected with each other and with other components (Krishnamurthy, [0032]). This ensures that the device components can communicate effectively and efficiently.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim, as applied to claims 2 and 14 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0135047 A1 hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses waking the other processing device from the low power state based on the result (Khellah, [0017]: "The techniques described herein thus enable a low-power solution for keyword spotting using a sparsely active network based on spikes. The techniques described herein can be used to improve the ability of an always-on keyword spotting system with the ability to recognize more keywords. In particular, the spiking neural network may be a type of sparsely active neural (SAN) network that only processes data as needed. Such an event-driven approach may keep the system inactive unless there is a speech stimulus, thus reducing the power consumption during inactivity."); and performing additional processing of data using the other processing device based on the result (Khellah, [0059]: "In some examples, the processor may then send the spike to an application. For example, the application may be a voice controlled application. In some examples, the processor may activate an idle mode in response to generating the spike corresponding to the detected keyword."; [0066]: “In some examples, the CPU 702 can be a specialized digital signal processor (DSP) used for image processing.”). However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Kim, fails to expressly recite performing additional processing of audio data using the other processing device based on the result.
Park teaches performing additional processing of audio data using the other processing device based on the result (Park, [0061]: "The DSP 241 in the wakeup mode receives the digital voice signal of the user from the memory 231. The DSP 241 determines whether to unlock the user terminal 200 based on the text extracted from the digital voice signal of the user through the voice recognition.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, Kim, and Park are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos, the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, and the audio processing system of Kim, to incorporate the teachings of Park to perform additional acoustic processing with a digital signal processor. Performing further processing with the audio data allows the system to take additional actions or derive additional information from the audio data, such as if the device should be unlocked based on the user’s voice or not (Park, [0061]). This ensures that the device can perform additional processing with the audio data once it has been activated from a low power mode.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, as applied to claims 1 and 9-13 above, and further in view of Park.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses wherein the spike generator, the neuromorphic compute block, and the threshold logic are comprised in a neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem of the computing device (Khellah, [0075]: “The computing device 700 further includes a keyword detector 728…The keyword detector 728 can include an audio receiver 730, a feature generator 732, a spike transducer 734, and a spiking neural network 736. For example, the spiking neural network may be a sparsely active network.”), and wherein the computing device further comprises a digital signal processor (DSP) to perform at least one other task (Khellah, [0059]: "In some examples, the processor may then send the spike to an application. For example, the application may be a voice controlled application. In some examples, the processor may activate an idle mode in response to generating the spike corresponding to the detected keyword."; [0066]: “In some examples, the CPU 702 can be a specialized digital signal processor (DSP) used for image processing.”). However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, fails to expressly recite wherein the computing device further comprises a digital signal processor (DSP) to perform at least one other acoustic recognition task.
Park teaches wherein the computing device further comprises a digital signal processor (DSP) to perform at least one other acoustic recognition task (Park, [0061]: "The DSP 241 in the wakeup mode receives the digital voice signal of the user from the memory 231. The DSP 241 determines whether to unlock the user terminal 200 based on the text extracted from the digital voice signal of the user through the voice recognition.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Park are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos and the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of Park to perform additional acoustic processing with a digital signal processor. Performing further processing with the audio data allows the system to take additional actions or derive additional information from the audio data, such as if the device should be unlocked based on the user’s voice or not (Park, [0061]). This ensures that the device can perform additional processing with the audio data once it has been activated from a low power mode.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Park, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses wherein the DSP is in an inactive state when the acoustic recognition task is performed by the neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem (Khellah, [0017]: "The techniques described herein thus enable a low-power solution for keyword spotting using a sparsely active network based on spikes. The techniques described herein can be used to improve the ability of an always-on keyword spotting system with the ability to recognize more keywords. In particular, the spiking neural network may be a type of sparsely active neural (SAN) network that only processes data as needed. Such an event-driven approach may keep the system inactive unless there is a speech stimulus, thus reducing the power consumption during inactivity.").
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Park, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses wherein the result is to trigger activation of the DSP (Khellah, [0059]: "In some examples, the processor may activate an idle mode in response to generating the spike corresponding to the detected keyword.").
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Park, as applied to claims 4-6 above, and further in view of Krishnamurthy.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Park, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos, Boahen, and Park, fails to expressly recite wherein the neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem [[and]] is coupled to the DSP by an interconnect.
Krishnamurthy teaches wherein the neuromorphic acoustic processing subsystem [[and]] is coupled to the DSP by an interconnect (Krishnamurthy, [0032]: "Neuromorphic hardware implements SNNs as multi-core neuro-processors (e.g., neuro-synaptic cores, neural-cores, neural-core structures, etc.). Neuro-cores often implement several neurons that are colocated with synapse memory blocks to hold synapse weights. The colocation of the synapse memory on the core is used to overcome data-memory bandwidth bottlenecks. Generally, neural-cores are tiled and connected with a Network on Chip (NoC) or other interconnect fabric."; [0130]: "an interconnect unit(s) 2202 is coupled to: an application processor 2210 which includes a set of one or more cores 502A-N and shared cache unit(s) 1806; a system agent unit 1810; a bus controller unit(s) 1816; an integrated memory controller unit(s) 1814; a set or one or more coprocessors 2220 which may include integrated graphics logic, an image processor, an audio processor, and a video processor; an static random access memory (SRAM) unit 2230; a direct memory access (DMA) unit 2232; and a display unit 2240 for coupling to one or more external displays."; [0132]: "For purposes of this application, a processing system includes any system that has a processor, such as, for example; a digital signal processor (DSP), a microcontroller, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or a microprocessor.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, Park, and Krishnamurthy are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of signal processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos, the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, and the unlocking method of Park, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnamurthy to use an interconnect fabric to enable communication between different portions of the device. Using an interconnect fabric allows for many neuro-cores to be connected with each other and with other components (Krishnamurthy, [0032]). This ensures that the device components can communicate effectively and efficiently.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, as applied to claims 1 and 9-13 above, and further in view of van der Made et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0229117 A1 hereinafter van der Made).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Khellah, in view of Andreopoulos and Boahen, fails to expressly recite wherein the spike generator comprises a cochlear fixed function block to model function of a biological ear, wherein the cochlear fixed function block includes hardware circuitry to convert the acoustic signal data into the set of input spikes without fast Fourier transforms and without Mel-frequency cepstral coefficients.
Van der Made teaches wherein the spike generator comprises a cochlear fixed function block to model function of a biological ear, wherein the cochlear fixed function block includes hardware circuitry to convert the acoustic signal data into the set of input spikes without fast Fourier transforms and without Mel-frequency cepstral coefficients (van der Made, [0030]: "The present invention mimics the biological auditory system and thus has higher hit rate performance than existing solutions. As the neuromorphic voice activation system 200 is specifically focused on detecting speech activity, it provides a better performance in noisy environment.").
Khellah, Andreopoulos, Boahen, and van der Made are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the neuromorphic hardware of Andreopoulos and the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of van der Made to include a cochlear fixed function block to model function of a biological ear. This focuses the system to detect speech activity, which provides better performance in a noisy environment (van der Made, [0030]). This ensures a good user experience even in noisy environments.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Boahen.
Regarding claim 16, Khellah discloses a system comprising: a processor; a memory (Khellah, [0066]: "The computing device 700 may include a central processing unit (CPU) 702 that is configured to execute stored instructions, as well as a memory device 704 that stores instructions that are executable by the CPU 702."); a microphone to generate digital acoustic data (Khellah, [0020]: "the system 100 may receive audio input from an audio source 102 and output a single output spike 112 corresponding to a detected keyword in the received audio input. For example, the audio source 102 may be a microphone."); a neuromorphic processing block comprising: a spike generator comprising circuitry to: receive the digital acoustic data; and generate a set of input spikes based on the digital acoustic data (Khellah, Fig. 5, 504; [0057]: "At block 504, the processor transduces the audio into a plurality of spikes."); a neuromorphic compute block to: receive the set of input spikes from the spike generator (Khellah, Fig. 5, 506; [0058]: "At block 506, the processor sends one or more of the spikes to a spiking neural network."); provide the set of input spikes to a spiking neural network implemented in a network of neuromorphic cores of the neuromorphic compute block; generate output spikes based on the set of input spikes; threshold detection circuitry to determine, from the output spikes, that the output spikes indicate a particular result for an acoustic recognition task (Khellah, Fig. 5, 508; [0059]: "At block 508, the processor receives a spike corresponding to a detected keyword from the spiking neural network. For example, the single spike received from the output of the spiking neural network may correspond to a keyword or a key-phrase."; [0035]: "the example spiking neural network 300 can be implemented using fewer or additional components not illustrated in FIG. 3 (e.g., additional inputs, layers, spikes, outputs, etc.). For example, although one output node is shown for each key-phrase in the example of FIG. 3, in some examples, multiple output nodes may exist for each key phrase."). However, Khellah fails to expressly recite accumulate the set of output spikes over a range; determine that the set of output spikes meet a selected threshold.
Boahen teaches accumulate the set of output spikes over a range; determine that the set of output spikes meet a selected threshold (Boahen, [0123]: “As each soma 702 generates spikes, the spikes are multiplexed together by the multiplexor 703 into a spike train that includes origination information (e.g., a spike from soma 702A is identified S.sub.A).”; [0124]: “In slightly more detail, the weighted spike train is accumulated within the thresholding accumulator 706 via addition or subtraction according to weights stored within the decode weight memory 704; once the accumulated value breaches a threshold value (+C or −C), an output spike is generated for transmission via the assigned connectivity to synapses 708 and tap-points within the dendrite 710, and the accumulated value is decremented (or incremented) by the corresponding threshold value. In other variants, when the accumulated value breaches a threshold value, an output spike is generated, and the thresholding accumulator returns to zero.”).
Khellah and Boahen are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of neuromorphic processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah to incorporate the teachings of Boahen to accumulate the output spikes and determine if they meet a threshold. This helps enable mixed-signal neuromorphic circuitry to compensate for component mismatches and temperature variability, thereby enabling low-power operations (Boahen, [0010]). As such, the low-power processing can be effectively introduced to the system.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses a personal computing device to comprise the processor, memory, microphone, and neuromorphic processing block (Khellah, [0066]: "a block diagram is shown illustrating an example computing device that can detect keywords using a spiking neural network. The computing device 700 may be, for example, a laptop computer, desktop computer, tablet computer, mobile device, or wearable device, among others. In some examples, the computing device 700 may be a smart camera or a digital security surveillance camera. The computing device 700 may include a central processing unit (CPU) 702 that is configured to execute stored instructions, as well as a memory device 704 that stores instructions that are executable by the CPU 702. The CPU 702 may be coupled to the memory device 704 by a bus 706. Additionally, the CPU 702 can be a single core processor, a multi-core processor, a computing cluster, or any number of other configurations. Furthermore, the computing device 700 may include more than one CPU 702. In some examples, the CPU 702 may be a system-on-chip (SoC) with a multi-core processor architecture. In some examples, the CPU 702 can be a specialized digital signal processor (DSP) used for image processing. The memory device 704 can include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), flash memory, or any other suitable memory systems. For example, the memory device 704 may include dynamic random access memory (DRAM).").
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Boahen, as applied to claims 16 and 20 above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses provide the digital acoustic data to the spike generator (Khellah, Fig. 5, 506; [0058]: "At block 506, the processor sends one or more of the spikes to a spiking neural network."). However, Khellah, in view of Boahen, fails to expressly recite a first direct memory access (DMA) controller external to the neuromorphic processing block to copy the digital acoustic data to the memory; a DMA controller in the neuromorphic processing block to: access the digital acoustic data from the memory; and write the particular result to the memory.
Kim teaches a first direct memory access (DMA) controller external to the neuromorphic processing block to copy the digital acoustic data to the memory (Kim, [0047]: "The main DMA controller 201 may directly access audio data stored in the storage unit 315, may communicate the audio data to the CPU 100 via the system bus 600, and may thereafter communicate decoded audio data from the CPU 100 to the storage unit 315."); a DMA controller in the neuromorphic processing block to: access the digital acoustic data from the memory; and write the particular result to the memory (Kim, [0059]: "The second DMA unit 450 may directly access the system memory unit 305 and communicate audio data stored in the stream buffer 330 to the audio buffer 460 under the control of the CPU 100 and/or control logic 430.").
Khellah, Boahen, and Kim are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to use direct memory access circuitry to retrieve and store data in the memory. A direct memory access circuit acts as a dedicated system that can access the device’s storage directly (Kim, [0047]). This allows the storage to be accessed even if a portion of the device is in a low power mode.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khellah, in view of Boahen, as applied to claims 16 and 20 above, and further in view of Park.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses digital signal processing logic executable by the processor to: identify the particular result (Khellah, Fig. 5, 508; [0059]: "At block 508, the processor receives a spike corresponding to a detected keyword from the spiking neural network. For example, the single spike received from the output of the spiking neural network may correspond to a keyword or a key-phrase."). However, Khellah, in view of Boahen, fails to expressly recite perform further acoustic recognition tasks based on acoustic data generated by the microphone and the particular result.
Park teaches perform further acoustic recognition tasks based on acoustic data generated by the microphone and the particular result (Park, [0061]: "The DSP 241 in the wakeup mode receives the digital voice signal of the user from the memory 231. The DSP 241 determines whether to unlock the user terminal 200 based on the text extracted from the digital voice signal of the user through the voice recognition.").
Khellah, Boahen, and Park are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of Park to perform additional acoustic processing with a digital signal processor. Performing further processing with the audio data allows the system to take additional actions or derive additional information from the audio data, such as if the device should be unlocked based on the user’s voice or not (Park, [0061]). This ensures that the device can perform additional processing with the audio data once it has been activated from a low power mode.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated. Khellah, in view of Boahen, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Khellah further discloses the neuromorphic processing block is to perform the acoustic recognition task without the DSP when the DSP is in a low power mode (Khellah, [0017]: "The techniques described herein thus enable a low-power solution for keyword spotting using a sparsely active network based on spikes. The techniques described herein can be used to improve the ability of an always-on keyword spotting system with the ability to recognize more keywords. In particular, the spiking neural network may be a type of sparsely active neural (SAN) network that only processes data as needed. Such an event-driven approach may keep the system inactive unless there is a speech stimulus, thus reducing the power consumption during inactivity."). However, Khellah, in view of Boahen, fails to expressly recite wherein the processor comprises a digital signal processor (DSP), the DSP is to perform the acoustic recognition task in a full power mode.
Park teaches wherein the processor comprises a digital signal processor (DSP), the DSP is to perform the acoustic recognition task in a full power mode (Park, [0061]: "The DSP 241 in the wakeup mode receives the digital voice signal of the user from the memory 231. The DSP 241 determines whether to unlock the user terminal 200 based on the text extracted from the digital voice signal of the user through the voice recognition.").
Khellah, Boahen, and Park are analogous arts because they each belong to the same field of audio processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spiking neural network of Khellah, as modified by the threshold accumulation method of Boahen, to incorporate the teachings of Park to perform additional acoustic processing with a digital signal processor. Performing further processing with the audio data allows the system to take additional actions or derive additional information from the audio data, such as if the device should be unlocked based on the user’s voice or not (Park, [0061]). This ensures that the device can perform additional processing with the audio data once it has been activated from a low power mode.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2657
/DANIEL C WASHBURN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657