DETAILED ACTION
Claims 3 and 13 have been cancelled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/18/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because they recite the limitation “the first TB and the second TB correspond to the same HARQ process number and the first TB is different from the second TB, and via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, the UE is indicated to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB”. The term “expect” in the “…to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB” is ambiguous, indefinite, and may lead to different interpretation and is not clear enough to define the metes and bonds of the claim invention.
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of their dependency from claim 1.
Claims 7-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of their dependency from claim 6.
Claims 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of their dependency from claim 11.
Claims 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of their dependency from claim 16.
Note: The “the UE is indicated to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB” is intended use not considered for examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0050957 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0393803 A1).
For claim 1 Khoshnevisan teaches a method of communication of a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 10 “UE”), comprising:
receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) from a base station, wherein the first DCI is used to schedule a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (paragraph 10 “receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a physical downlink shared channel (POSCH) transmission for a first hybrid automatic
repeat request (HARQ) process ID (number)”); and
receiving a second PDSCH from the base station before transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information of the first PDSCH and after receiving the first PDSCH or after the first DCI, wherein the second PDSCH is scheduled by a second DCI and the second PDSCH is corresponding to the HARQ process number, the first TB and the second TB correspond to the same HARQ process number and the first TB is different from the second TB, and via a eadio resource control (RRC) configuration, the UE is indicated to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB (paragraph 72 “a UE may operate in various RRC configurations-well known in the art”, pargraph 73 “DCI configuration for the same HARQ ID process”, paragraph 75 “RRC or DCI configuration”, and paragraph 97 “configuring a new (different) TB having the same HARQ-ID”),
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach the first TB and second TB are different in the same HARQ process number.
However, Chen teaches in a design of an embodiment of the present disclosure, a HARQ process of the terminal may be classified into a process that needs HARQ feedback (all TBs corresponding to this process need HARQ feedback) and a process that does not need HARQ feedback (all TBs corresponding to this process do not need HARQ feedback). Alternatively, different TBs in a same process may be classified into a TB that needs HARQ feedback and a TB that does not need HARQ feedback (Chen: paragraph144). In addition, Chen teaches HARQ can be either configured via RRC or MAC CE-design choice (Chen: paragraph 157). In addition, Chen teaches each HARQ process has a corresponding process number (Chen: paragraph 199).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Chen in the feedback system of Khoshnevisan in order to classify TBs based on the their need for HARQ feedback in the same HARQ Process according to a design requirement (Chen: paragraph144).
For claim 2 Khoshnevisan teaches the method, wherein
the HARQ-ACK information of the first PDSCH is transmitted in a PUCCH transmission (paragraph 76 “PUCCH carries HARQ-ACK”); or
or
or
For claim 4 Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first DCI comprises a first indication field having a first new data indicator (NDI), and the second DCI comprises a second indication field having a second NDI (paragraph 97 “Another challenge presented by non-numeric Kl values is when a UE is allowed to receive scheduling for a given HARQ ID process, before sending HARQ-ACK feedback for a previous PDSCH for the same HARQ-ID. In certain systems, a UE may not be allowed to receive a DCI scheduling PDSCH for the same HARQ ID before sending an ACK/NACK transmission. In such circumstances, the UE may not be expected to receive another PDSCH transmission for a given HARQ process until after the end of the expected transmission of HARQ-ACK for that HARQ process. This may be the case for both retransmission with the same HARQ process ID and a new data indicator (NDI) set to indicate no new data, as well as an original transmission of a new TB having the same HARQ process ID and NDI toggled to indicate new data”); or
or
or
or
or
For claim 5 Khoshnevisan teaches the method, wherein
the first DCI comprises a first DCI format, and the second DCI comprises a second DCI format (paragraph 75 “DCI format (1_0) or a regular DCI form1 1_1”); or
or
For claim 6 Khoshnevisan in view of Chen teaches a user equipment (UE) of communication, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 4 “Memory 482”);
a transceiver (Fig. 4 “Memory 458 & 464”); and
a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Fig. 4 “processor 480”);
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a first downlink control information (DCI) from a base station, wherein the first DCI is used to schedule a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (as discussed in claim 1); and
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a second PDSCH from the base station before transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information of the first PDSCH and after receiving the first PDSCH or after the first DCI, wherein the second PDSCH is scheduled by a second DCI and the second PDSCH is corresponding to the HARQ process number (as discussed in claim 1),
wherein the first PDSCH carries a first transport block (TB) corresponding to the HARQ process number, the second PDSCH carries a second TB corresponding to the HARQ process number, the first TB and the second TB correspond to the same HARQ process number and the first TB is different from the second TB, and via a eadio resource control (RRC) configuration, the UE is indicated to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 7 Khoshnevisan teaches the UE, wherein
the first DCI indicates the processor to feedback the HARQ-ACK information of the first PDSCH (paragraph 10 “receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a physical downlink shared channel (POSCH) transmission for a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process ID”); or
or
or
or
For claim 8 Khoshnevisan teaches the UE, wherein
the processor is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB) (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
the processor is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), and the HARQ-ACK CB has a semi-static size (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
the processor is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), and the HARQ-ACK CB comprises a type 1 HARQ-ACK CB (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
or
or
For claim 9 Khoshnevisan teaches the UE, wherein
the processor is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the HARQ-ACK CB comprises one or more HARQ-ACK information corresponding to one or more PDSCH candidate locations, and the first PDSCH is received in a first one of the PDSCH candidate locations (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
or
For claim 10 Khoshnevisan teaches the UE, wherein
the processor is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the HARQ-ACK CB comprises one or more HARQ-ACK information corresponding to one or more PDSCH candidate locations, and the second PDSCH is received in a second one of the PDSCH candidate locations (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
or
For claim 11 Khoshnevisan in view of Chen teaches a method of communication of a base station (as discussed in claim 1), comprising:
transmitting a first downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE), wherein the first DCI is used to schedule a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (as discussed in claim 1); and
transmitting a second PDSCH to the UE before the UE transmits a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information of the first PDSCH and after receiving the first PDSCH or after the first DCI, wherein the second PDSCH is scheduled by a second DCI and the second PDSCH is corresponding to the HARQ process number (as discussed in claim 1), wherein the first PDSCH carries a first transport block (TB) corresponding to the HARQ process number, the second PDSCH carries a second TB corresponding to the HARQ process number, the first TB and the second TB correspond to the same HARQ process number and the first TB is different from the second TB, and via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, the UE is indicated to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 12 Khoshnevisan teaches the method, wherein
the HARQ-ACK information of the first PDSCH is transmitted in a PUCCH transmission (paragraph 76 “PUCCH carries HARQ-ACK”); or
or
or
For claim 14 Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 13, wherein
the first DCI comprises a first indication field having a first new data indicator (NDI), and the second DCI comprises a second indication field having a second NDI (as discussed in claim 4); or
or
or
or
For claim 15 Khoshnevisan teaches the method, wherein
the first DCI comprises a first DCI format, and the second DCI comprises a second DCI format (as discussed in claim 5); or
or
For claim 16 Khoshnevisan in view of Chen teaches a base station of communication, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 4 “memory 442”);
a transceiver (Fig. 4 “420 & 438”); and
a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Fig. 4 “processor 440”);
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a first downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE), wherein the first DCI is used to schedule a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (as discussed in claim 1); and
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a second PDSCH to the UE before the UE transmits a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information of the first PDSCH and after receiving the first PDSCH or after the first DCI, wherein the second PDSCH is scheduled by a second DCI and the second PDSCH is corresponding to the HARQ process number (as discussed in claim 1),
wherein
the first PDSCH carries a first transport block (TB) corresponding to the HARQ process number, the second PDSCH carries a second TB corresponding to the HARQ process number, the first TB and the second TB correspond to the same HARQ process number and the first TB is different from the second TB (as discussed in claim 1), and
the processor is further configured to cause the base station to use a radio resource control (RRC) configuration to indicate the UE to expect that the second TB is different from the first TB (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 17 Khoshnevisan teaches the base station, wherein
the first DCI indicates the UE to feedback the HARQ-ACK information of the first PDSCH (Fig. 8 “DCI indicates Timing for HARQ-Ack feedback for the first PDSCH is indicated”); or
or
or
or
or
For claim 18 Khoshnevisan teaches the base station, wherein
the UE is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB) (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
the UE is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), and the HARQ-ACK CB has a semi-static size (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
the UE is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), and the HARQ-ACK CB comprises a type 1 HARQ-ACK CB (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
or
or
For claim 19 Khoshnevisan teaches the base station, wherein
the UE is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the HARQ-ACK CB comprises one or more HARQ-ACK information corresponding to one or more PDSCH candidate locations, and the first PDSCH is received in a first one of the PDSCH candidate locations (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
or
For claim 20 Khoshnevisan teaches the base station, wherein
the UE is configured to report a HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the HARQ-ACK CB comprises one or more HARQ-ACK information corresponding to one or more PDSCH candidate locations, and the second PDSCH is received in a second one of the PDSCH candidate locations (paragraphs 94-95 “HARQ-ACK codebook”); or
or
.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang et al. (US 2022/0173840 A1), Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0014883 A1), and Li et al. (US 11,563,545 B2).
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415