CTFR 18/148,490 CTFR 100419 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Sakakibara JP 2014187766 (hereinafter Saka) . With regards to claim 1 Saka discloses, a server [fig 1 charging stand 1] that controls a vehicle group including a plurality of vehicles [vehicles 71-7n] configured to be electrically connectable to an external power source [power supply unit 60] separate from the plurality of vehicles [power supply is separate from the vehicles] , wherein: each vehicle included in the vehicle group includes a power accumulation device [power storage units 151-15n] ; the server comprising: a selection unit [power distribution unit 30] configured to select a plurality of target vehicles from among the vehicle group before a start of a predetermined adjustment period [fig 6 and 7 disclose charging periods] during which power is exchanged between one or more of the power accumulation devices in the vehicles and the external power source [abstract “charging the respective vehicles whose charge periods overlap with each other with composite power obtained by adding discharge power output from batteries mounted by vehicles whose charge periods do not overlap with each other to charge” reasonably reads on the power exchange] ; and a charging control unit [fig 1 control unit 10] ; wherein the selection unit is configured to select the target vehicles from among the vehicle group one day before or two days before the adjustment period [¶9 “The power distribution unit switches between transmission and reception of charging power output from the charging device and discharging power output from the batteries mounted in each vehicle. When multiple vehicles are connected to the charging device, the acquisition unit acquires a requested start time, which is the start time of charging requested by each vehicle, and a requested end time, which is the end time of charging requested by each vehicle” which reads that if the user plugs their vehicle in on a Friday for the weekend and does not need to utilize the vehicle until Monday morning there would be a day or two before the “adjustment period”] ; and the charging control unit is configured to: before the start of the adjustment period, distinguish a first vehicle [fig 6a 1 st column is the vehicle] from among the target vehicles and advance a start of a charging [fig 6a 2 nd column is the charging start time] of the power accumulation device included in the first vehicle [¶9 and fig 6a above reasonably read on the distinguishing of a “first vehicle” from among the other vehicles where the first vehicle’s start time is adjusted followed by the charging targets of the other vehicles] , wherein a charging end time [fig 6a 3 rd column is the end time] for the power accumulation device of the first vehicle is reserved within the adjustment period, and then sequentially receive target values for the power charged to the power accumulation device [¶9 and fig 6a above reasonably read on the distinguishing of a “first vehicle” from among the other vehicles where the first vehicle’s start time is adjusted followed by the charging targets of the other vehicles] , wherein the target values fall within a power range set in advance within the adjustment period [fig 4 discloses target values which fall within a power range] ; and control at least one of the target vehicles such that a total charging power of the power accumulation device included in each of the target vehicles electrically connected to the external power source follows a target value within the adjustment period [fig 4 charge request table discloses a target value and fig 7 vehicles A-C fully charged represented by the star] . With regards to claim 2 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 1, wherein the charging control unit is configured to advance the start of the charging of the power accumulation device included in the first vehicle such that the charging is completed before the start of the adjustment period [¶28 “The time calculation unit 103 uses the following equation (7) to calculate a change start time that is a time at which the discharge vehicle starts charging instead of the request start time”] . 3. (Cancelled) With regards to claim 4 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 1, wherein; each vehicle included in the vehicle group is configured to reserve the charging end time and a target state of charge (SOC) [¶21 “The identifier, priority, request start time, request end time, and remaining battery level value may be input by the user using an input device (not shown) connected to the input unit” where the remaining battery level is the SOC] ; and the charging control unit is configured to acquire, for the target vehicle of which the charging end time and the target SOC are reserved, a charging start time at which a SOC of the power accumulation device included in the target vehicle reaches the target SOC at the charging end time [¶21 above] . With regards to claim 5 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 4, wherein the charging control unit is configured to: distinguish a second vehicle of which the charging start time is after an end of the adjustment period and which is electrically connected to the external power source before the start of the adjustment period from among the target vehicles; and execute charging control of a power accumulation device included in the second vehicle such that the total charging power follows the target value within the adjustment period [¶21 “The acquisition unit 102 acquires, via the communication unit 101 , the identifier, priority, request start time, request end time, and remaining battery level value from the vehicles 71 to 7 n connected to the charging station 1” where the a 2 nd vehicle is distinguished and charging is executed] . With regards to claim 6 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 4, wherein the charging control unit is configured to: distinguish a third vehicle of which the charging end time is after an end of the adjustment period and which is electrically connected to the external power source before the start of the adjustment period and after the charging start time from among the target vehicles; and continue charging of a power accumulation device included in the third vehicle from a time when the third vehicle is electrically connected to the external power source to the charging end time [¶21 above where the 3 rd vehicle is among the 71-7n vehicles] . With regards to claim 7 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 4, wherein the charging control unit is configured to: distinguish a fourth vehicle of which the charging start time is within the adjustment period and which is electrically connected to the external power source before the start of the adjustment period from among the target vehicles; and continue charging of a power accumulation device included in the fourth vehicle from a time when the fourth vehicle is electrically connected to the external power source to a start time of the adjustment period [¶21 above where the 4 th vehicle is among the 71-7n vehicles] . With regards to claim 8 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 4, wherein the charging control unit is configured to: distinguish a fifth vehicle of which the charging start time is after an end of the adjustment period and which is electrically connected to the external power source during the adjustment period from among the target vehicles; and execute charging control of a power accumulation device included in the fifth vehicle such that the total charging power follows the target value within the adjustment period [¶21 above where the 5 th vehicle is among the 71-7n vehicles] . With regards to claim 9 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 4, wherein the charging control unit is configured to: distinguish a sixth vehicle which is electrically connected to the external power source within the adjustment period and after the charging start time from among the target vehicles; and immediately start charging of a power accumulation device included in the sixth vehicle when the sixth vehicle is electrically connected to the external power source [¶21 above where the 6 th vehicle is among the 71-7n vehicles] . With regards to claim 10 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 4, wherein the charging control unit is configured to: distinguish a seventh vehicle which is electrically connected to the external power source before the charging start time within the adjustment period and after the start of the adjustment period from among the target vehicles; and execute charging control of a power accumulation device included in the seventh vehicle such that the total charging power follows the target value in a period from a time when the seventh vehicle is electrically connected to the external power source to a time when the charging start time arrives [¶21 above where the 7 th vehicle is among the 71-7n vehicles] . With regards to claim 11 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 1, wherein the selection unit is configured to preferentially select a vehicle reserved for timer charging as the target vehicle [fig 6 4 th column discloses the charging start, end, and total charging time] . With regards to claim 12 Saka discloses, the server according to claim 1, wherein: the server further includes a prediction unit [fig 1 plan generating unit 105] configured to execute movement prediction of each vehicle included in the vehicle group [¶45 “The charging plan table 112 stores, in association with each other, charging plan information such as the identifier of each vehicle 7, the set start time, the set end time, the charging time, the remaining battery level value, and the discharge power value, as shown in, for example, Figures 6(a) and 6(b). The set start time is the time at which charging of the vehicle 7 is to start, which is set by the plan generating unit 105. The set end time is the charging end time of the vehicle 7 set by the plan generating unit 105”] ; and the selection unit is configured to preferentially select, as the target vehicle, a vehicle predicted to maintain a state of being electrically connected to the external power source throughout the adjustment period, using a result of the movement prediction by the prediction unit [fig 6, ¶21, and ¶45 above where the selected vehicle is connected to the external power source and charged based on the time frames of use] . With regards to claim 13 Saka discloses, a charging control method comprising: selecting a plurality of target vehicles from among a vehicle group [fig 1 vehicles 71-7n] one day before or two days before a start of a predetermined adjustment period [fig 6 and 7 discloses charging periods and ¶9 “The power distribution unit switches between transmission and reception of charging power output from the charging device and discharging power output from the batteries mounted in each vehicle. When multiple vehicles are connected to the charging device, the acquisition unit acquires a requested start time, which is the start time of charging requested by each vehicle, and a requested end time, which is the end time of charging requested by each vehicle” which reads that if the user plugs their vehicle in on a Friday for the weekend and does not need to utilize the vehicle until Monday morning there would be a day or two before the “adjustment period”] during which power is exchanged between one or more of power accumulation devices in the vehicles and an external power source separate from the vehicles [abstract “charging the respective vehicles whose charge periods overlap with each other with composite power obtained by adding discharge power output from batteries mounted by vehicles whose charge periods do not overlap with each other to charge” reasonably reads on the power exchange] ; advancing a start of charging [¶28 “The time calculation unit 103 uses the following equation (7) to calculate a change start time that is a time at which the discharge vehicle starts charging instead of the request start time”] of a power accumulation device [power storage units 151-15n] included in a first target vehicle reserved for a charging end time within the adjustment period from among the selected target vehicles [fig 6 and 7 disclose charging start and end times] , and then sequentially receiving target values for the power charged to the power accumulation device [¶9 and fig 6a above reasonably read on the distinguishing of a “first vehicle” from among the other vehicles where the first vehicle’s start time is adjusted followed by the charging targets of the other vehicles] , wherein the target values fall within a power range set in advance within the adjustment period [fig 4 discloses target values which fall within a power range] ; and controlling at least one of the target vehicles such that a total charging power of the power accumulation device included in each of the target vehicles electrically connected to the external power source follows a target value within the adjustment period [fig 4 charge request table discloses a target value and fig 7 vehicles A-C fully charged represented by the star] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara JP 2014187766 (hereinafter Saka) in view of Harirchi et al. US 20220258638 . With regards to claim 14 and 15 Saka fails to disclose, the charging control method according to claim 13, further including: executing market transactions; determining the adjustment period based on auction results and subsequently selecting the first target vehicle and performing charging control of power exchanged between the first target vehicle and the external power source. However, Harirchi discloses, the charging control method according to claim 13, further including: executing market transactions; determining the adjustment period based on auction results [figs 3-4 energy market and bidding] ; and subsequently selecting the first target vehicle and performing charging control of power exchanged between the first target vehicle and the external power source [figs 3 and 4 and ¶33 which discloses the system that works with both the external power source (electricity provider) and the consumer in order to facilitate the transaction for the required power/electricity and execution of charging] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging systems of Saka with Harirchi to include the bidding/transactional system in order to provide cost savings for the user and improve energy management. Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 14 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nathaniel Instone whose telephone number is (571)272-1563. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/148,490 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859