DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 and 34-36 are cancelled.
In view of the amendment, filed on 06/30/2026, the following rejections are withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on 04/29/2026.
Rejection of claims 21-23, 26-28, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Balz (US 4,499,692).
New Grounds of the Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-29, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balz (US 4,499,692).
As to claim 21, Balz (US ‘692) discloses a surface equalization apparatus for smoothing manufactured parts, comprising:
- a part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) for holding a fluidized solid media (finishing media 26, 28; col. 7, lines 25-32);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (At least one diverter (11))][AltContent: textbox (Finishing media (26, 28))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An intake diverter )][AltContent: textbox (Springs (17))][AltContent: textbox (A part-containing tank (12))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An exhaust diverter (19B))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A motor (13))][AltContent: textbox (A motor (14))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A part-containing tank (12))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Springs (17))]
- springs (resilient supporting members 17 in the form of springs; col. 5, lines 60-63) supporting the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57), wherein the springs (resilient supporting members 17 in the form of springs; col. 5, lines 60-63) support the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) at a top portion thereof (see Figs. 3-4); and
- motors (vibratory motors 13 and 14; col. 5, lines 63-65) connected to the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) at an angle offset from a vertical axis of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) to impart motion to the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) at the angle offset from the vertical axis of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) to create a rotational flow of the fluidized solid media within the part-containing tank (col. 7, lines 25-32: the loose or particulate finishing media 28 on the left side of the finishing chamber lies in juxtaposition to the mass or body of finishing media 26 on the right side of the finishing chamber, and each body or mass is caused to move in an orbital or semi-orbital manner in a direction which is opposite to that of the direction of rotation of its individual vibratory motor).
Balz (US ‘692) discloses the springs (resilient supporting members 17 in the form of springs; col. 5, lines 60-63) supporting the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 5, line 57) at a top portion of the springs (17) thereof and from which the part-containing tank is suspended. Balz (US ‘692) discloses springs (17) are connected to the base plate (19) while the part-containing tank (12) is assembled on top of the base plate (19) but does not disclose that springs (17) are connected to the part-containing tank, as claimed in claim 21.
However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify a support of the part-containing tank (12) by springs (17), as taught by Balz (US ‘692), through connecting the springs to the part-containing tank (12) at their top portion instead of just supporting the part-containing tank (12) so to suspend the part-containing tank in order to provide a controlled impart of a relative motion and vibration to the part-containing tank (12).
As to claim 22, Balz (US ‘692) discloses at least one diverter (upwardly-extending finishing chamber wall section 11; col. 7, lines 8-9) located on and jutting inward from an inner surface (interior wall 19B; col. 7, lines 7-8) of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9), the at least one diverter (upwardly-extending finishing chamber wall section 11; col. 7, lines 8-9) operable to direct the fluidized solid media (finishing media 26, 28; col. 7, 25-28) in the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9) away from the inner surface (interior wall 19B; col. 7, lines 7-8) of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9).
As to claim 23, Balz (US ‘692) teach the at least one diverter (upwardly- extending finishing chamber wall section 11; col. 7, lines 8-9) comprises:
- an exhaust diverter located on one side of the inner surface (interior wall 19B; col. 7, lines 7-8) of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9); and
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An intake diverter)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An exhaust diverter)][AltContent: arrow]
- an intake diverter on a side of the inner surface (interior wall 19B; col. 7, lines 7-8) of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9) opposite the exhaust diverter.
As to claim 26, Balz (US ‘692) discloses a finisher chassis (exterior walls 19A of the base plate 19; col. 6, line 58) surrounding the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9).
[AltContent: textbox (Guide ribs (42))] As to claim 27, Balz (US ‘692) teaches guide ribs (boomerang-shaped auxiliary pieces 42 may be employed for attaching the boot 15 to end plates of the individual finishing chamber units; col. 7, lines 47-49) located on and extending along an inner side of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9), the guide ribs (boomerang-shaped auxiliary pieces 42) operable to create an inward force toward a center (the area of confluence or convergence 30; col. 7, lines 37-39) of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9) thereby preventing the manufactured parts (the part or workpiece 24 supported by carriage 22; col. 7, line 39-43) from contacting the inner side of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9). (See col. 7, line 39-44)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 28, Balz (US ‘692) discloses the guide ribs (boomerang-shaped auxiliary pieces 42) are semi-circular in shape. (See Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 29, Balz (US ‘692) discloses guide ribs (boomerang-shaped auxiliary pieces 42 may be employed for attaching the boot 15 to end plates of the individual finishing chamber units; col. 7, lines 47-49) located on and extending along an inner side of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12), however, is silent on disclosing that the guide ribs (42) comprise five guide ribs, as claimed in claim 29.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of Applicant’s invention, to multiple a number of the guide ribs, as taught by Balz (US ‘692), so to have five guide ribs in order to improve the workability of the guide ribs so to further preventing the additively manufactured parts from contacting the inner side of the part-containing tank (12). Further, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 32, Balz (US ‘692) discloses the vibratory motors 13 and 14 respectively are associated with respective finishing chamber halves 11 and 12 (col. 5, lines 64-66) in sides of the finishing chamber halves 11 and 12, each form an acute angle with the vertical axis of the respective finishing chamber halves 11 and 12, however, Balz (US ‘692) is silent on disclosing each of the vibratory motors 13 and 14 form an angle offset of 30° relative to the vertical axis of the each of the finishing chamber halves 11 and 12, respectively, as claimed in claim 32.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to rearrange the formed angle of the vibrator motors (13, 14) with respect to the finishing chamber halves 11 and 12 respectively, as taught by Balz (US ‘692), so for the angles to be offset 30 ̊ relative to the vertical axis of the finishing chamber halves 11 and 12 in order to improve a space that is occupied by the machine through compacting a volume of the machine when the angle of the vibratory motors are 30 ̊ offset relative to the vertical axis of each of the finishing chamber halves 11 and 12. Further, it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 33, Balz (US ‘692) teaches a bottom wall of the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12) is U-shaped (see Fig. 3: the lower portion where the connector 32 is located which is U-shaped).
Claim(s) 24-25 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balz (US ‘692) in view of Trahan (US 2003/0084915).
Balz (US ‘692) fail to disclose a cabinet surrounding the part containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9), as to claim 24-25, and fail to disclose a spray nozzle positioned above the part containing tank, as to claim 30, and a wastewater outlet and a wastewater removal bucket for receiving the wastewater from the wastewater outlet, as claimed in claim 31.
In the analogous art, Trahan (US ‘915) disclose an apparatus for cleaning articles in a fluid and oscillating medium, which comprises: a frame; a container (61) having a central axis perpendicular to an article inlet opening in the container and mounted to the frame so that the central axis of the container is non-perpendicular to a horizontal cross-section of the frame by means of a plurality of opposing parallel compression and tension springs having differing spring rates for enhanced oscillation of the container which holds the articles; a means for injecting (72) a cleaning fluid into the container for cleaning the articles in the container; and a means for oscillating the container within the frame. (page 3, left column, claim 1)
Therefore, as to claim 24, Trahan (US ‘915) disclose a cabinet (container 61; ¶ [0019]) surrounding the part-containing tank (a container 558, ¶ [0018]).
As to claim 25, Trahan (US ‘915) teach acoustic dampening foam located throughout the cabinet (container 61; ¶ [0019]).
As to claim 30, Trahan (US ‘915) disclose a spray nozzle (injection nozzles 72; ¶ [0019]) positioned above the part-containing tank (a container 558, ¶ [0018]) and operable to dispense fluidized solid media into the part-containing tank (a container 558, ¶ [0018]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12; col. 7, line 9), as taught by Balz (US ‘692), through surrounding the part-containing tank (12) with a cabinet in order to provide increases stability, volumetric capacity, and better rolling of the media and solids about the container, as suggested by Trahan (US ‘915): ¶ [0002].
As to claim 31, Trahan (US ‘915) teach a wastewater outlet (a drainage nozzle 576, ¶ [0018]) located on the part-containing tank (a container 558, ¶ [0018]); and a wastewater removal bucket (port opening 578 and tubing duct 574, ¶ [0018]) operable for receiving wastewater from the wastewater outlet (a drainage nozzle 576, ¶ [0018]).
Further, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the part-containing tank (a container 558, ¶ [0018]) through providing a spray nozzle positioned above the part-containing tank and a wastewater outlet located on the part-containing tank with a wastewater removal bucket operable for receiving wastewater from the wastewater outlet in order to provide an improvement for injecting a cleaning fluid into the tank for cleaning the articles in the container while draining excess debris and cleaning fluid from the articles in the container once oscillation begins, as suggested by as suggested by Trahan (US ‘915): ¶ [0035].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 06/30/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant essentially argues that Balz does not disclose “springs connected to the part-containing tank at a top portion thereof and from which the part-containing tank is suspended” as recited in Applicant’s amended claim 21.
This is not found persuasive. It is noted that provided arguments tend to discuss matters that are not necessarily captured by amended claim 21. In another words, claim interpretation of the amended claim 21 is broader than what the provided remarks arguing about. Amended claim 21 is amended to read that “springs connected to the part-containing tank at a top portion thereof and from which the part-containing tank is suspended” which per broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 21, it means springs are connected to the part-containing tank at “their top portion” and from which the part-containing tank is suspended (it should be noted that per broadest interpretation, the last phrase does not necessary limit a location of the springs relative to the tank.) therefore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, as was discussed above, in detail, in the body of rejection, Balz (US ‘692) discloses the springs (resilient supporting members 17 in the form of springs) supporting the part-containing tank (a segmented halve 12) at a top portion of the springs (17) thereof and from which the part-containing tank is suspended. Balz (US ‘692) discloses springs (17) are connected to the base plate (19) while the part-containing tank (12) is assembled on top of the base plate (19) but does not disclose that springs (17) are connected to the part-containing tank, as claimed in claim 21. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify a support of the part-containing tank (12) by springs (17), as taught by Balz (US ‘692), through connecting the springs to the part-containing tank (12) at their top portion instead of just supporting the part-containing tank (12) so to suspend the part-containing tank in order to provide a controlled impart of a relative motion and vibration to the part-containing tank (12).
Finally, after a full review of the submitted remarks in view of prior art rejections, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited reference by the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
09/04/2026