DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous final office action is withdrawn and a new non-final office action is set forth the below based on the claims filed on 1/29/2026. Note that claims filed after-final on 5/11/2026 have not been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoflich (DE102020207700) in view of Hordos (8372223).
Regarding claims 5-19, Hoflich discloses a gas generating composition with autoignition temperature from 160-220 deg. C (0020) and include guanidine nitrate from 7-70 % (0016 and 0017), potassium nitrate from 2-75 % (0014 and 0017), alkyl tetrazole fuel from 10-90 % (0012 and 0017), and boron carbide from 5-20 % (0015 and 0018).
Hordos discloses a gas generating composition with guanidine nitrate and postassium nitrate and includes an additional tetrazole fuel including bitetrazole methane and amine (col. 2, lines 8-15) and (col. 3, lines 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the bitetrazole fuels in the composition of Hoflich since both disclose gas generating compositions and since Hoflich discloses the use of alkyl tetrazoles. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute one known tetrazole fuel for another.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims as set forth in the last Office action. The declaration does not set forth evidence to support the allegations that the prior art would not inherently have the same claim autoignition temperature. The declaration also argues specific amounts that are outside the scope of the claims. The prior art teaches the same claimed amounts and thus will have the same properties. Further, one of skill in the art would have an expectation of success to substitute one known additive in a gas generating composition for another. This is especially true in light of the teaching that both boron nitride and boron carbide are known slag formers. The two compounds are indeed structurally different but the prior art identifies them both as performing a similar and equivalent function, i.e. slag forming. The arguments regarding additional benefits provided by the boron carbide are not persuasive since the inclusion of the boron carbide in the Hodos composition will inherently have those same claimed benefits. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The declaration also indicates that the specific examples in Hordos include boron nitride at 1 % but note that the prior art is not limited to the examples. The disclosure clearly recites boron nitride from .1-15 %. See MPEP 2123 which recites: The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In addition, the claims do not require a specific amount of boron carbide so one of skill in the art would presume that even a 1% addition would achieve the claimed autoignition temperature. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., amount of boron carbide) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734