Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 2/25/2026. Claim 5 is canceled. Claim 18 is new. Claims 1-4, 6-18 are pending. Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claims 1-4, 6-18 are non-finally rejected for reasons of stated herein below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 5/25/2026, 6/4/2026 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ayub (US 2013/0295434) in view of Phillips (US 2005/0253553), Miyamoto (US 2004/0009334), Nakano (JP 2019-032923), Muto (US 2016/0072105), Kim (KR-2019-0042369), and Ota (US 2019/0044197).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, Ayub discloses a conformal wearable battery comprising:
a plurality of battery cells 1 connected to the flexible trace grid in a grid-like pattern, wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprising a front side, a rear side opposite the front side, a first side extending between the front side and the rear side, a second side opposite the first side, a third side extending between the first side and the second side, and a fourth side opposite the third side and wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is a non-cylindrical lithium-ion pouch cell comprising a seal on the first side of each battery cell.
. Regarding claim 13, Ayub discloses the rear side of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is physically affixed to the trace grid,
a first group of battery cells of the plurality of battery cells electrically connected in parallel forming a first battery cell string;
a second group of battery cells of the plurality of battery cells electrically connected in parallel forming a second battery cell string;
wherein the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells are connected in series [0027].
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, further comprises a housing that includes a housing member and an interior cavity that receives the PCBA, wherein a wall of the housing member includes a first channel and a second channel oriented parallel to each other, and a third channel and a fourth channel that intersect the first and second channels, wherein the first channel, the second channel, the third channel, and the fourth channel have interior surfaces that form a perimeter wall around an internal receiver in the housing member that receives the first battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, and regarding claim 13, an upper housing member, and a lower housing member that connects to the upper housing member forming an interior cavity, Ayub discloses as shown for example in FIG. 8, the battery cells 1 mounted upon the trace grids forming the battery matrix 5 may be encapsulated in a jacket 100 of, for example, polymer material to further increase the overall strength, shock and vibration failure characteristics of the battery matrix 5. Where the battery cells 1 are provided in a single layer and/or aligned back to back, flexure joints 105 may be applied to the jacket 100 between columns and/or rows of the battery cells 1 to provide the battery matrix 5 with a limited bend characteristic there along to enable close conformity of the battery matrix 5 to the contours of the user, for example mounted to a side panel or the like of a soldier and/or law enforcement officer's body armor assembly [0029]. It is noted that the flexure joints form the first channel, the second channel, the third channel, and the fourth channel of Applicant’s claims 1, 8, 13, 17.
Regarding claims 12, 16, a perimeter wall height is within a range of 35 percent and 65 percent of a height of the first battery cell, Ayub teaches a battery housing having flexure joints 105 to form a flexible battery matrix. The flexure joints form an interior wall that receives each battery cell. See figure 8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the perimeter wall height of Ayub depending on the desired flexibility of the battery matrix.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, Ayub discloses trace grids to connect the battery cells in parallel and in series, but does not disclose a flexible printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) comprising a flexible printed circuit board (PCB); a plurality of battery cells 1 connected to the flexible PCB. Regarding claim 13, Ayub discloses the rear side of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is physically affixed to the trace grid, and not a PCB. Miyamoto teaches a flexible printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) comprising a flexible printed circuit board (PCB); a plurality of battery cells 1 connected to the flexible PCB. Miyamoto teaches discloses the rear side of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is physically affixed to the flexible PCB. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to connect the batteries with the PCB of Miyamoto instead of trace grids for the benefit of forming secure physical connections and electrical pathways. It is noted that a printed circuit board is a commonly known platform for forming electrical connections, and substituting trace grids for printed circuit boards would obtain predictable results of forming electrical connections. It has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results would have been within the skill of an ordinary artisan. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 4, a first battery terminal and a second battery terminal extend from the first side of each battery cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the terminals of Ayub to extend from the same side of each cell depending on the desired configuration of the electrical connection.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, a first battery cell spacing from the fourth side of the first battery cell to the third side of a second battery cell adjacent to the first battery cell is within a range of 6 percent and 11 percent of a width of the first battery cell, Miyamoto teaches in the first embodiment, the adjacent cells are disposed spaced apart (figure 1). In the cell assembly 1a of the second embodiment, the joint portions 16 of the first to fourth single cells 10a to 10d and 10a' to 10d' are overlapped with one another in addition to the functions of the first embodiment. Accordingly, the outer dimension of the cell assembly 1a can be shortened in the array direction of the single cells (right-and-left direction in FIG. 8). Therefore it is possible to enhance the volume efficiency of the single cells 10a to 10d and 10a' to 10d' and to achieve miniaturization of the cell assembly 1a [0086]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to space adjacent batteries of Ayub apart within a certain range depending on the desired miniaturization of the cell assembly.
Regarding claims 1 8, 13, further comprises a housing that receives the PCBA, wherein the housing is formed from a polymeric material comprising a flame-retardant additive, an upper housing member, and regarding claim 13, wherein the upper housing member and the lower housing member are formed from a polymeric material comprising a flame retardant additive, and regarding claim 18, the flame-suppressant grease comprises an intumescent material that expands when heated to take up oxygen within a space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell, Ayub discloses a housing made of polymeric material [0029]. Phillips teaches a battery pack housing may be fabricated from a non-flammable material to contain combustion within housing or a housing part. Further, by providing a more durable housing, potential for damage to the batteries can be lessened, thereby reducing potential combustion issues. For example, plastic resin pellets may be combined with intumescent material pellets and injection molded to form a battery pack housing that retards flame or prevents combustion [0010, 0034]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the housing of Ayub with a flame retardant material, as taught by Phillips, for the benefit of protecting the cell assembly from potential combustion.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, Miyamoto modified by Ayub does not teach a plurality of fire-blocking foam members, wherein each fire-blocking foam member of the plurality of fire-blocking foam members is located adjacent to the seal on the first side of a corresponding battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, Nakano teaches a flameproof sheet coated on a top surface of a battery cell. The flameproof sheet has flexibility. The flameproof sheet may have a multilayer structure. A surface of a flameproof fiber layer can be covered on both sides with a second coating layer having insulating properties and fire resistance. The second coating layer is preferably formed to be slightly larger than the flameproof fiber than is a core material, and the second coating layer is thermally welded together to seal the flameproof fiber. Page 4 of translation.
Regarding claim 2, the fire-blocking member has a generally cuboid shape (figure 4).
Regarding claim 1, 8, 13, 17, each fire-blocking foam member is both thermally insulating and electrically insulating.
Regarding claim 1, 8, 13, 17, wherein each fire-blocking foam member has a surface area that is at least 90 percent of a surface area of the first side of the first battery cell, the flameproof layer has a slightly larger surface area than the surface of the battery assembly. Page 4 of translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to dispose the flameproof sheet on the first surface of each of the battery cells of Ayub modified by Phillips and Miyamoto, as taught by Nakano, for the benefit of having an improved thermally safe structure.
Nakano teaches a flameproof sheet, not a foam. Nakano teaches that the flameproof sheet may have elasticity and buffering properties. The flameproof sheet can be brought into close contact along the unevenness of the surface of the battery assembly. Page 4 of translation. Muto teaches a battery container having a heat-insulating foam layer 39 around a battery periphery.
Regarding claim 7, Muto teaches that the foam layer is a silicone foam, which allows for the battery cover to expand outwardly when inserting the battery to the battery cover, making the insertion of the battery easy [0134].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the flameproof layer of Nakano made of silicone in the form of a foam having flame retardant to the planar part of the battery of Ayub, as taught by Nakano, for the benefit of having close contact between the flameproof layer and the battery cell.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, wherein each first fire- blocking foam member has an inward facing surface that faces the first side of the corresponding battery cell and an outward facing surface opposite the inward facing surface defining a foam thickness, and regarding claim 1, 8, 13, 17 a second battery cell spacing defined as a shortest distance between the first side of the first battery cell to a second side of a second adjacent battery cell, and the foam thickness is within a range of 25 percent and 75 percent of the second battery cell spacing, Muto teaches the foam layer has a thickness of, for example, 1 mm or more, preferably 5 mm or more, and for example, 20 mm or less, preferably 15 mm or less [0135]. Adjacent to the heat insulating foam is enclosed space (air layer) 37 between the heat insulating foam 39 and the battery [0171]. See figures 5 and 6. The space 37 has a distance of, for example, 1 mm or more, preferably 3 mm or more, and for example, 15 mm or less, preferably 10 mm or less [0165]. The heat conducted to the side walls 2 of the battery cover 1 from outside is not directly conducted to the side faces of the battery 31 through the battery cover 1. As a result, the battery cover 1 has excellent heat-insulating properties, and can protect the battery 31 from outside heat effectively [0172].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the foam thickness depending on the desired amount of insulation and the space available between the battery cell and the housing, for the benefit of providing appropriate heat insulation.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, a flame-suppressant grease located between the first battery cell of the plurality of battery cells and the second battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, and regarding claims 6, 11, wherein the flame-suppressant grease is a Teflon based grease, Kim ‘369 teaches a battery case coated with a flame-suppressant grease. Kim ‘369 teaches combustables are already contained inside the battery cell, and the ignition source comes from the outside, so ignition can be prevented more easily by blocking the inflow of oxygen than by removing them. Kim ‘369 discloses that safety of the battery from ignition can be secured by blocking the inflow of oxygen, and prevention of the inflow of oxygen into the battery cell can be achieved by coating the battery case with a fluid material [0017]. The fluid material includes polytetrafluoroethylene grease [0024, 0029].
Regarding claims 3, 10, the flame-suppressant grease is chemically inert and non-flammable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add polytetrafluoroethylene grease to the battery cell casing of Ayub, as taught by Kim ‘369, for the benefit of preventing combustion within the battery cell.
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that the perimeter wall helps retain the flame-suppressant grease around the first battery cell module.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, a fuse arranged on the PCB for each battery cell connected to the PCB, wherein when the first battery cell has a current flow greater than a predetermined current flow limit, a first fuse corresponding to the first battery cell opens to shut off an electrical connection between the first battery cell and the PCB, Ota teaches fuses arranged on a flexible printed circuit board [0027]. The fuse electrically protects the battery module monitoring unit and blocks the electrical connection via the wiring between the bus bar and the terminating bus bar, and the battery module monitoring unit when an overcurrent flows to the wiring [0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a fuse on the circuit board for each cell for the benefit of protecting each battery from overcurrent flows.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 17, wherein each fire-blocking foam member is configured to prevent flammable gases that escape through the seal of the corresponding battery cell from affecting an adjacent battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, it is noted that the combination of Nakano, Muto, and Kim ‘369 read on Applicant’s limitation of “fire-blocking foam members”. Hence, the presence of the fire-blocking members as combined by the prior art is capable of “prevent[ing] flammable gases that escape through the seal of the corresponding battery cell from affecting an adjacent battery cell of the plurality of battery cells”.
Response to Arguments
Arguments dated 10/15/2025 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751